yes, therapy helps!
1 in 5 CEOs are psychopaths, according to a study

1 in 5 CEOs are psychopaths, according to a study

May 6, 2021

Many people already intuited that to be a high position in an organization it is necessary to be made of a special wood , but there are always investigations on the subject that may surprise us.

There is a very recent one, in particular, that is totally shocking, since it indicates that among the general directors the proportion of psychopaths is around 21%, almost the same as that found among inmates in American prisons.

An investigation on psychopaths at the controls

The study, conducted by a team of researchers led by Bond University forensic psychologist Nathan Brooks, used for their analysis a group of 261 senior US managers who work today in companies from different sectors. These senior profiles included CEOs, presidents and CEOs, which allowed for the opportunity to study the psychological characteristics of people with high decision-making power in organizations.


It is in this group of people that it has been estimated that 1 out of 5 presents the characteristics that define psychopathy , something that is even more curious considering that, when we talk about the amount of psychopaths that there are in the population in general, the proportion drops to approximately 1%.

When success and power is everything

The Telegraph collects the statements of Nathan Brooks Regarding how it is possible that such a proportion of people with psychopathic traits have been detected among senior officials. According to him, this is due to a flaw in the style of personnel selection: Human Resources members tend to value more the work and academic experience than the data related to the personality of the candidates, which makes successful psychopaths can access to positions of high responsibility manipulating, harming potential competitors in the search for promotions and making the events that occur in the company play in their favor.


However, there is another possible explanation for this fact: that the activities that have to be done when a senior manager of a large company is in charge fit well with the way of being of people with psychopathic traits. In a competitive market and in which self-interest prevails, little or no capacity to empathize and the ability to manipulate psychopaths can be an advantage that helps to access good salaries and to stay in important positions.

After all, psychopaths, unlike sociopaths, are able to hide their disinterest in the rules and feelings of others and make these characteristics useful without getting into trouble, or directly meet social standards more basic to not enter into conflict with the law and make their lives without harming others to a greater extent than it does the rest of their fellow citizens. This makes it possible for them to win the sympathy of others and build a positive public image.


There are precedents

Of course, these results can be questioned with total legitimacy; after all, in psychology a single study does not serve to find a universal and unquestionable truth , and it is necessary to contrast this information with other investigations.

However, this study, which will be published soon in the journal European Journal of Psychology, is not the first to suggest that among the groups that run medium and large companies, the relative number of psychopaths is much greater than that distributed by the population in general. In a research conducted in 2010, for example, the results pointed to the number of psychopaths that can be found among corporate positions is 4%, that is, 4 times more than what is normal in the total population .


Could Your Boss Be a Psychopath?! (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Un PDG sur 5 est un psychopathe, selon une étude

Un PDG sur 5 est un psychopathe, selon une étude

Janvier 20, 2023

Beaucoup de gens ont déjà eu l’impression que pour occuper un poste élevé dans une organisation, il faut être fait d’un bois spécial. , mais il y a toujours des enquêtes sur le sujet qui peuvent nous surprendre.

Il y en a une très récente, en particulier, qui est totalement choquante, car elle indique que parmi les directeurs généraux, la proportion de psychopathes avoisine les 21%, ce qui est presque identique à celle observée chez les détenus dans les prisons américaines.

Une enquête sur les psychopathes aux commandes

L'étude, menée par une équipe de chercheurs dirigée par le psychologue légiste Nathan Brooks de la Bond University, a utilisé pour l'analyse un groupe de 261 cadres supérieurs américains qui travaillent aujourd'hui dans des entreprises de différents secteurs. Ces profils de haut niveau comprenaient des PDG, des présidents et des PDG, ce qui leur permettait d'étudier les caractéristiques psychologiques des personnes disposant d'un pouvoir décisionnel élevé dans des organisations.


C’est dans ce groupe de personnes qu’il a été estimé que 1 sur 5 présente les caractéristiques qui définissent la psychopathie , ce qui est encore plus curieux, étant donné que lorsque nous parlons de la quantité de psychopathes dans la population en général, cette proportion tombe à environ 1%.

Quand le succès et le pouvoir sont primordiaux

Le Telegraph recueille les déclarations de Nathan Brooks En ce qui concerne la possibilité qu’une telle proportion de personnes présentant des traits psychopathiques ait été détectée parmi les hauts fonctionnaires. Selon lui, cela est dû à une faille dans le style de sélection du personnel: les membres des ressources humaines valorisent davantage le travail et l'expérience académique que les données relatives à la personnalité des candidats, ce qui permet aux psychopathes à succès d'accéder à des postes à haute responsabilité manipulant, blessant des concurrents potentiels dans la recherche de promotions et faisant en sorte que les événements qui se produisent dans l'entreprise jouent en leur faveur.


Cependant, il existe une autre explication possible à ce fait: les activités à mener lorsqu'un responsable d'une grande entreprise est en charge correspondent bien à la manière d'être de personnes présentant des traits psychopathes. Sur un marché concurrentiel et dans lequel l’intérêt personnel prévaut, la capacité de faire preuve d’empathie et la capacité de manipuler des psychopathes peut être un avantage qui aide à avoir de bons salaires et de rester dans des positions importantes.

Après tout, les psychopathes, contrairement aux sociopathes, sont capables de cacher leur désintérêt pour les règles et les sentiments des autres et de rendre ces caractéristiques utiles sans avoir de problèmes, ni de respecter directement les normes sociales. Il est plus fondamental de ne pas entrer en conflit avec la loi et de ne pas faire leur vie sans nuire davantage aux autres que le reste de leurs concitoyens. Cela leur permet de gagner la sympathie des autres et de construire une image publique positive.


Il y a des précédents

Bien entendu, ces résultats peuvent être remis en question avec une légitimité totale; après tout en psychologie, une seule étude ne sert pas à trouver une vérité universelle et incontestable , et il est nécessaire de comparer ces informations avec d’autres enquêtes.

Cependant, cette étude, qui sera bientôt publiée dans la revue Journal européen de psychologie, n’est pas le premier à suggérer que parmi les groupes dirigés par des moyennes et grandes entreprises, le nombre relatif de psychopathes est beaucoup plus important que celui distribué par la population en général. Dans une étude menée en 2010, par exemple, les résultats ont montré que le nombre de psychopathes que l'on peut trouver parmi les entreprises est de 4%, soit 4 fois plus que la normale dans la population totale. .


Psychopathes... et au pouvoir #cadire 06.09.2018 (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes