yes, therapy helps!
10 amazing psychological facts about feelings and emotions

10 amazing psychological facts about feelings and emotions

July 14, 2024

Human beings are emotional beings, and for that reason we can come to seem irrational in some occasions . In fact, our most emotional part influences us even in making important decisions. Antonio Damasio said: "Emotion is a necessary ingredient in almost all decisions we make." The truth is that emotions and strong feelings are capable of moving the world. Therefore, today's post is dedicated to this topic

10 psychological facts about the feelings and emotions of human beings

1. Without realizing it, the mood of other people affects us

Almost without realizing it, we are deeply affected by other people's moods. Experts call this phenomenon "emotional contagion." This is a natural process in which mirror neurons participate, and which allow us to reflect the emotions of other people, as a Ginger Blume research conducted in 2007 concludes.


2. Emotional pain hurts just like physical love

In recent years, neuroimaging studies have shown that the regions involved in physical pain processing overlap those related to emotional pain and social anguish (Jaffe, 2013).

3. There is a phobia of falling in love: Filofobia

The fear of being in love receives the name of Filofobia. This condition is part of anxiety disorders and affects the social and emotional life of the person who suffers. In severe cases, the philophobe may not only avoid potential love affairs, but may stop relating to co-workers, neighbors, friends and family


To learn more about this disorder, you can visit our article: "Filofobia or the fear of falling in love"

4. When we embrace, we release oxytocin

Do you know why they feel hugs so good? Why when we embrace, we release a hormone called oxytocin . This hormone is of great importance in the formation of confidence and has an important role in social interactions. Reptiles release oxytocin during sexual intercourse, but mammals produce it all the time. That is why reptiles stay away from other reptiles except when they mate, while mammals form attachments with relatives, litters or herds.

5. Different daily experiences can exhaust one's ability to resist moral temptations

Do we always act equal in the face of temptation? It seems it is not the case. One study (Kouchaki, 2013) states that people are more likely to have less self-control when they are tired . On the other hand, another study concluded that people have less self-control as the workday progresses (Barnes et al., 2014).


These results could be linked to another study, from Florida State University, which states that restoring glucose to an optimal level usually improves self-control. And it turns out that in 2009, the Stanford University School of Medicine found that circadian rhythms are directly related to the mechanism that processes blood sugar. Therefore, fatigue could be associated with the reduction of willpower in the face of immoral temptations.

This could happen in both directions. That is, people would tend immoral behavior when they are tired due to lack of self-control. But the lack of self-control can also affect people, causing them to lower their guard and succumb to immoral temptations.

6. Emotional desensitization of parents can be bad for children

The desensitization is defined as the decrease in emotional responsiveness to a negative or aversive stimulus after repeated exposure the same. In a recent study, it was shown that when parents are desensitized about violence and sex in movies, they become more permissive about the exposure of their children to this type of movie (Romer, 2014).

7. Chocolate is the love drug

Chocolate has been considered an aphrodisiac, but it has also been called the love drug. And it is not precisely because we are used to giving chocolates together with some flowers to show love to our partner. But, then, what is the reason? For chocolate contains tryptophan, a chemical that helps produce serotonin, the neurotransmitter related to happiness, and plays an important role in mood, emotional well-being and the correct balance of appetite and sleep.

In addition, chocolate also contains phenylethylamine, a neurotransmitter that participates in promoting attraction, and stimulates the brain areas related to pleasure. In the lack of love, the levels of these two substance descends. Because, when a sentimental couple leaves us we stuff ourselves with chocolate to supply this deficit .

8. Psychological science states that emotions are four and not six

Since the American psychologist Paul Ekman proposed for the first time that there were a total of six basic emotions, this has been the popular belief. According to Ekman, the emotions were: sadness, happiness, fear, anger, surprise and disgust .

Now, a study published in Current Biology and carried out by researchers from Glasgow University, in the United Kingdom, affirms that the basic emotions are 4.

To know more about this study, in this article by psychologist Bertrand Regader we explain it to you: "Study shows that the basic emotions are four, and not six as was believed"

9. Mirror neurons are related to empathy

Mirror neurons are key to the harmonization of individuals with the environment, since they allow capturing the emotions of others, not through conceptual reasoning but through direct experience. The cause of you blushing when you see someone when you are being humiliated, or that you identify with a person when you are crying, is because of the mirror neurons. Ramachandran says that these neurons give us the ability to empathize, that is, that makes us feel what others feel.

10. Laughter and humor are a form of therapy

There are many types of psychological therapy that exist. One of them is laughter therapy, an alternative therapy that consists of creating situations that encourage laughter and humor . In this way it is possible to relieve physical and emotional tensions. The benefits of laughter therapy are many.

To know this form of therapy better, you just have to click on this link: "Laughter therapy: the psychological benefits of laughter"

10 Psychological Facts About Human Feelings (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 faits psychologiques étonnants sur les sentiments et les émotions

10 faits psychologiques étonnants sur les sentiments et les émotions

Juillet 30, 2021

Les êtres humains sont des êtres émotionnels, et pour cette raison nous pouvons arriver à paraître irrationnel dans certaines occasions . En fait, notre partie la plus émotive nous influence même dans la prise de décisions importantes. Antonio Damasio a déclaré: "L'émotion est un ingrédient nécessaire dans presque toutes les décisions que nous prenons." La vérité est que les émotions et les sentiments forts sont capables de déplacer le monde. Par conséquent, le post d'aujourd'hui est consacré à ce sujet

10 faits psychologiques sur les sentiments et les émotions de l'être humain

1. Sans nous en rendre compte, l'humeur des autres nous affecte

Presque sans nous en rendre compte, nous sommes profondément touchés par l'humeur des autres. Les experts appellent ce phénomène "contagion émotionnelle". Il s’agit d’un processus naturel auquel participent les neurones miroirs et qui nous permet de refléter les émotions des autres, comme le conclut une étude réalisée par Ginger Blume en 2007.


2. La douleur émotionnelle fait mal, tout comme l'amour physique

Au cours des dernières années, des études de neuroimagerie ont montré que les régions impliquées dans le traitement de la douleur physique chevauchent celles liées à la douleur émotionnelle et l'angoisse sociale (Jaffe, 2013).

3. Il y a une phobie de tomber amoureux: la filofobie

La peur d'être amoureux reçoit le nom de Filofobia. Cette condition fait partie des troubles anxieux et affecte la vie sociale et émotionnelle de la personne qui en souffre. Dans les cas graves, le philophobe peut non seulement éviter des relations amoureuses potentielles, mais peut également cesser de toucher ses collègues, ses voisins, ses amis et sa famille.


Pour en savoir plus sur ce trouble, vous pouvez consulter notre article: "La filofobie ou la peur de tomber amoureux"

4. Lorsque nous nous embrassons, nous libérons de l'ocytocine

Savez-vous pourquoi ils se sentent si bien câlins? Parce que lorsque nous nous embrassons, nous libérons une hormone appelée ocytocine . Cette hormone joue un rôle important dans la formation de la confiance en soi et joue un rôle important dans les interactions sociales: les reptiles libèrent de l'ocytocine pendant les rapports sexuels, mais les mammifères en produisent constamment. C’est la raison pour laquelle les reptiles restent à l’écart des autres reptiles sauf lorsqu’ils se marient, alors que les mammifères s’attachent à des parents, des portées ou des troupeaux.

5. Différentes expériences quotidiennes peuvent épuiser la capacité de résister aux tentations morales

Agissons-nous toujours de la même manière face à la tentation? Eh bien, apparemment pas. Une étude (Kouchaki, 2013) indique que les gens sont plus susceptibles d'avoir moins de maîtrise de soi quand ils sont fatigués . D'autre part, une autre étude a conclu que les gens ont moins de maîtrise de soi au fil de la journée de travail (Barnes et al., 2014).


Ces résultats pourraient être liés à une autre étude de la Florida State University, selon laquelle la restauration du glucose à un niveau optimal améliore généralement la maîtrise de soi. Et il s'est avéré qu'en 2009, la faculté de médecine de l'Université de Stanford avait découvert que les rythmes circadiens étaient directement liés au mécanisme de traitement de la glycémie. Par conséquent, la fatigue pourrait être associée à une réduction de la volonté face à des tentations immorales.

Cela pourrait se produire dans les deux sens. Autrement dit, les gens auraient tendance à adopter un comportement immoral quand ils sont fatigués par manque de maîtrise de soi. Mais le manque de maîtrise de soi peut aussi affecter les gens, les obligeant à baisser la garde et à succomber aux tentations immorales.

6. La désensibilisation émotionnelle des parents peut être mauvaise pour les enfants

Le désensibilisation il est défini comme la diminution de la réactivité émotionnelle à un stimulus négatif ou aversif après une exposition répétée au même. Dans une étude récente, il a été montré que lorsque les parents sont insensibles à la violence et au sexe dans les films, ils deviennent plus permissifs quant à l'exposition de leurs enfants à ce type de film (Romer, 2014).

7. Le chocolat est la drogue de l'amour

Le chocolat a été considéré comme un aphrodisiaque, mais il a également été appelé le médicament d'amour. Et ce n'est pas précisément parce que nous avons l'habitude de donner des chocolats avec des fleurs pour montrer notre amour à notre partenaire. Mais alors, quelle est la raison? Car le chocolat contient du tryptophane, un produit chimique qui contribue à la production de sérotonine, le neurotransmetteur lié au bonheur, qui joue un rôle important dans l’humeur, le bien-être émotionnel et le bon équilibre entre appétit et sommeil.

En outre, le chocolat contient également de la phényléthylamine, un neurotransmetteur qui participe à la promotion de l'attraction et stimule les zones du cerveau liées au plaisir. Dans le manque d'amour, les niveaux de ces deux substances descendent. Pour cela, quand un couple sentimental nous quitte, nous nous bourrons de chocolat pour combler ce déficit .

8. La science psychologique affirme que les émotions sont quatre et non six

Depuis que le psychologue américain Paul Ekman a proposé pour la première fois un total de six émotions de base, cette croyance est devenue populaire. Selon Ekman, les émotions étaient les suivantes: tristesse, bonheur, peur, colère, surprise et dégoût .

Maintenant, une étude publiée dans Biologie actuelle et menée par des chercheurs de l'Université de Glasgow, au Royaume-Uni, affirme que les émotions de base sont 4.

Pour en savoir plus sur cette étude, dans cet article du psychologue Bertrand Regader, nous vous l'expliquons: "Une étude montre que les émotions de base sont quatre, et non six comme on le croyait"

9. Les neurones miroirs sont liés à l'empathie

Les neurones miroirs sont la clé de l'harmonisation des individus avec l'environnement, car ils permettent de capturer les émotions des autres, non pas à travers un raisonnement conceptuel mais à travers une expérience directe. Si vous rougissez lorsque vous voyez quelqu'un lorsque vous êtes humilié, ou que vous vous identifiez à une personne lorsque vous pleurez, c'est à cause des neurones miroirs. Ramachandran dit que ces neurones nous donnent la capacité d'empathie, c'est-à-dire qui nous fait ressentir ce que les autres ressentent.

10. Le rire et l'humour sont une forme de thérapie

Il existe de nombreux types de thérapie psychologique. L'un d'eux est thérapie par le rire, une thérapie alternative consistant à créer des situations qui encouragent le rire et l'humour . De cette façon, il est possible de soulager les tensions physiques et émotionnelles. Les avantages de la thérapie par le rire sont nombreux.

Pour mieux connaître cette forme de thérapie, il suffit de cliquer sur ce lien: "Thérapie par le rire: les bienfaits psychologiques du rire"

19 faits étonnants sur la psychologie humaine que tout le monde doit savoir (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes