yes, therapy helps!
10 benefits of yoga for athletes (according to science)

10 benefits of yoga for athletes (according to science)

May 6, 2021

Yoga is a millennial physical and mental practice that has spread throughout the world thanks to its benefits and guarantees the balance between body and mind. For several decades it has gained popularity in the West, and the "yogamanía" has experienced a boom in recent years because it responds to various problems of our time, including sedentary lifestyle or stress.

For many, it is not just a form of physical exercise, but a lifestyle that allows to find inner peace and that commits to the observation of healthy habits and proper nutrition. Yoga attracts, and that's why more and more people practice it . This is because it manages to integrate the breathing with the movement so that the mind and body cease to be two autonomous entities and become one. Yoga allows you to reconnect with yourself, something that is difficult today.


Anyone can learn and practice this discipline that is also suitable for many athletes, since it provides an improvement of physical condition, greater control of breathing and relaxation, an increase in flexibility, as well as a suitable mental attitude that favors The state of flow and sports performance increases. Athletes who practice it gain knowledge about the connection between their mind and body, improve mental clarity and concentration, and are more prepared for the challenges they face.

Yoga in the West: on the way to modern yoga

Etymologically "yoga" means union, and the objective of this discipline is the fusion of the individual soul with the universal spirit. It originated in India thousands of years ago (approximately 3,000 years BC), but contemporary yoga does not begin until a little over a century ago, when it was introduced in the West by British soldiers and officials who were in the Asian country and by numerous teachers who came to the West, thus establishing the beginning of the different schools that are known today.


Yoga is made up of Asanas (postures), Pranayama (breathing), Savasana (relaxation), Dhyana (meditation), Kriyas (cleanings), Mudras (gestures to channel energy), Kirtan (songs) and Mantras (phrases). Throughout history, different types of yoga have emerged, since their practice has adapted to different cultures. We can find Buddhist, Hindu, Chinese, Tibetan, etc; and through the discoveries made by yogis have emerged different traditional yoga systems (Astanga Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, Mantra Yoga, etc.).

In the West, "Hatha yoga" is the most popular, and although it is usually taught as a physical practice by its asanas (postures), your practice involves a holistic experience that also takes into account aspects such as breathing or meditation. Currently, Western culture has influenced new forms of modern yoga such as Power Yoga , originated in the United States in the 90s. In this way the religious component has been left behind to give more weight to the physical aspect.


The practice of yoga for athletes

For one years, yoga has started to be part of gyms and sports centers in many places . Its benefits applied to both health and athletic performance are increasingly engaging athletes, both elite and those who train to improve their overall state of wellbeing or their physical condition.

Mastering the physical and mental challenges that yoga demands can be a discovery for many athletes accustomed for years to a different training concept, because this practice is based on the principle of the integration of the body as a whole. This new holistic approach can reveal weaknesses and imbalances that had never been exposed before, and integrates the physical and mental element that is so important during competition or training in sports.

More and more athletes are discovering the different ways in which yoga can be used to improve psychological and physical performance and, consequently, sports performance. From increasing mental concentration, improving flexibility and balance, preventing injuries or improving technical skills, many athletes have already benefited from this millennial discipline, including the basketball player Lebron James , the tennis player Maria Sharapova or the soccer player Ryan Giggs . The latter retired as a professional athlete at age 40, came to play 23 seasons in the Premier League and played 963 games with the Manchester United . Maybe yoga has been his great secret.

Reasons why an athlete should practice yoga

But what reasons can lead an athlete to want to add yoga to their training plan? What are the benefits of yoga that contribute to the improvement of sports results? Considering the information that the different researches have contributed in this regard, yoga improves sports performance for the following reasons.

1. Greater flexibility

When talking about yoga, the first thing that comes to mind are your asanas (postures). So, it is not difficult to associate his practice with the improvement of flexibility . Asanas help us increase the ability to move muscles and joints through their full range.

There are many studies that have proven useful for increasing flexibility. For example, a study from the University Center Doncaster (United Kingdom) showed that a weekly yoga session for 6 weeks was enough to notice improvements in this basic quality of physical condition. Sarah Ramsden, yoga instructor of Manchester United and Manchester City explains: "Being flexible and having good movement patterns helps to have greater speed, power, sharpness of movement and greater recovery." All of them aspects that improve the performance of athletes.

2. Reduce stress

It is not strange that with the pace of life in today's society many people suffer stress, which in turn can cause psychological health problems such as depression, anxiety, mental exhaustion or hostility, which seriously harms the level of activation of athletes, relevant cognitive processes and sports performance.

In addition, the very threatening characteristics of the competition or the environment of the athletes, also cause stress to be a fairly frequent response in the life of an athlete, as stated by José María Buceta, professor and director of the Master's Degree in Sports Psychology from the National University of Distance Education (UNED).

A study jointly carried out by scientists from the Thomas Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia and the Yoga Research Society showed that the daily practice of yoga reduces the levels of cortisol, a hormone that is released in response to stress . A twenty-minute session a day is enough to notice a significant reduction in stress levels, according to research from Ohio State University in the United States.

3. Increase strength

Following a routine with different asanas in a habitual way increases the tone and muscular strength. The postures of yoga are maintained for long periods of time, which causes isometric contractions of the muscles, generating a gain in strength.

A study published in the International Journal of Physical Education, Sports and Health showed that Asanas strengthen the arms, shoulders, legs, back, buttocks and abdomen .

The same study concludes that yoga increases the strength of underutilized muscles in different sports disciplines such as swimming, cycling or running. These gains improve body stability and prevent injuries, because yoga works to strengthen the muscle fibers that support and surround the muscles most used in these sports. This means that a more balanced and optimally functional global force is produced.

4. Help in recovery

For optimal sports performance, training is as important as recovery. To avoid overtraining and to continue performing at an appropriate level, it is necessary for athletes to understand that periods of recovery after physical activity are fundamental, Yoga is a form of active rest , which means that, with its practice, the organism uses biological mechanisms and metabolic and cellular processes to repair tissues and generate molecules, such as enzymes, which allow us to continue performing at a good level.

According to an investigation that appeared in International Journal of Multidisciplinary Research and Development, yogic breathing helps circulate and detoxify the lymph, a fluid that runs through the lymphatic system. This accelerates recovery by 15% after physical exercise and eliminates fatigue.

5. Greater balance and coordination

Yoga is different from other exercises, since it generates movement without causing tension or imbalances in the body. Therefore, its practice is an ideal complement for different forms of physical exercise and an advantage in any sport. A study carried out by Dawn Boehde and John Porcaridel for the Human Performance Laboratory of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (United States) showed that coordination and balance improve with yoga because the different postures are combined with breathing and movement ..

Now, how does this affect sports performance? Greater balance and coordination means better control of body movement, which is manifested by a more efficient technique.

6. Improves sleep

"The practice of yoga increases serotonin levels so it helps you sleep better," explains Dr. Murali Doraiswam, author of a study by Duke University that included the review of more than 100 research papers on the yoga. Serotonin (5-HT) is a neurotransmitter that, in addition to regulating mood or appetite, increases the production of melatonin, a hormone that participates in sleep cycles. To get a peaceful rest, likewise, Serotonin is involved in the control of stress and body temperature .

For this reason, a study by the University of Barcelona and the University of the Balearic Islands published in the Magazine of Sports Psychology It advises that athletes carry out a quality control of sleep, due to the importance of their repairing characteristics and their positive relationship with sports performance, training and competition. Dr. Cheri Mah, from Stanford University, showed in an experiment that basketball players who improve their sleep habits increase their throwing effectiveness by 9%.

7. Improve the mood

There are moods facilitating performance, and generate positive attitudes and emotions is a key element in the proper functioning of each person's sport. Serotonin (5-HT) not only has a positive effect on sleep, but is also involved in mood regulation. In fact, low levels of this neurotransmitter are associated with depressive behaviors.

An investigation by Cabral, Meyer and Ames, published in The Primary Care Companion CNS Disorders, concluded that practicing yoga on a regular basis produces significant improvements in patients with depression and anxiety similar to physical exercise. In addition, another investigation, this time published in The Journal of Complementary Medicine, found that there is an increase in another neurotransmitter in yoga practitioners: GABA. The benefits of GABA are numerous, as it participates in the improvement of mood, the ability to concentrate, promotes relaxation and helps to control stress.

Since negative states of mind can be detrimental to sports performance (for example, making concentration difficult) it is necessary to control these psychological variables to maintain an optimal level of performance .

8. Help prevent injuries

Many sports such as cycling and running are characterized by very repetitive movements over a long period of time, which causes certain muscle groups to develop while ignoring others. Imbalances in the muscles and joints can cause injuries.

As shown by a study carried out by Teodora Dominteanu, a professor in the Physical Education and Sports department of the Bucharest Academy of Economic Studies, as well as cyclists and runners, tennis players, with whom she carried out her research , they experience a tremendous amount of shock, shortening and hardening their muscles . When these muscles are not restored, lengthen and stretch, imbalances and injuries occur more frequently.

Many yoga postures, such as the "Downward Facing Dog" (Adho Mukha Svanasana), mobilize and extend the back, shoulders, triceps, buttocks, hamstrings, anterior rectus, and the twins, strengthening the muscles and providing flexibility to the body. This position is highly recommended to prevent ankle injuries, so it is especially recommended for runners or triathletes. In addition, it helps prevent elbow and wrist injuries in sports such as tennis.

To preserve athletes from possible muscle injuries, an investigation published in the Journal of Strenght & Conditioning Research affirms that it is necessary to achieve a good level of flexibility. In this way, a reserve joint and muscle range is achieved, in case some unexpected or unusual gesture is superior to the work mobility gestures.

9. Improves concentration

Concentration is the ability to maintain focused attention on an object or on the task that is being done without distractions, and is key in achieving sporting success. In yoga, concentration is mainly worked through the Tratak (Fix the look), Nasagra-drishti (nasal contemplation), Brahmadya-drishti (frontal contemplation).

According to the results of a study by the University of Illinois, subjects who participated in the research and who practiced yoga had more ability to concentrate and processed information faster and with greater precision. They also learned, maintained and updated the information in less time.

10. Improve the resistance

Although sports performance is multifactorial, it is evident that resistance plays an important role in sport. According to science, yoga improves endurance both aerobic and anaerobic . A study by Aslan and Livanelioglu concluded that a group of subjects who trained four times a day for six weeks improved 9.8% in the cooper test, a test that measures aerobic capacity.

It seems that, although yoga is not an aerobic exercise, yogic breathing (pranayama) increases the capacity of the lungs by improving the flexibility of the rib cage and allows the lungs to expand completely, as explained a study published in the Yoga Journal. On the other hand, an investigation by Cowen and Adams, which evaluated the relationship between yoga and anaerobic resistance, showed that both ashtanga yoga As the yoga hatha cause an improvement in this type of resistance.


Scientists Reveal the Indispensable Exercises That Can Help Us Live Longer. (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 bienfaits du yoga pour les sportifs (selon la science)

10 bienfaits du yoga pour les sportifs (selon la science)

Mai 21, 2019

Le yoga est une pratique physique et mentale millénaire qui s'est répandue dans le monde entier grâce à ses bienfaits et qui garantit l'équilibre entre le corps et l'esprit. Pendant plusieurs décennies, il a gagné en popularité en Occident et la "yogamanía" a connu un essor ces dernières années, car elle répond à divers problèmes de notre époque, notamment le mode de vie sédentaire ou le stress.

Pour beaucoup, il ne s'agit pas simplement d'une forme d'exercice physique, mais d'un mode de vie qui permet de retrouver la paix intérieure et qui permet d'observer des habitudes saines et une nutrition adéquate. Le yoga attire, et c'est pourquoi de plus en plus de gens le pratiquent . En effet, il parvient à intégrer la respiration au mouvement, de sorte que le corps et l'esprit cessent d'être deux entités autonomes et ne deviennent plus qu'une. Le yoga vous permet de vous reconnecter, ce qui est difficile aujourd'hui.


Tout le monde peut apprendre et pratiquer cette discipline qui convient également à de nombreux athlètes, car elle permet une amélioration de la condition physique, un meilleur contrôle de la respiration et de la relaxation, une augmentation de la flexibilité ainsi qu’une attitude mentale appropriée. L'état de débit et les performances sportives augmentent. Les athlètes qui le pratiquent acquièrent des connaissances sur les liens entre leur esprit et leur corps, améliorent la clarté mentale et la concentration mentale et sont mieux préparés aux défis auxquels ils sont confrontés.

Yoga en Occident: sur la voie du yoga moderne

Étymologiquement, "yoga" signifie union et l'objectif de cette discipline est la fusion de l'âme individuelle avec l'esprit universel. Il a été créé en Inde il y a des milliers d'années (environ 3000 ans avant J.-C.), mais le yoga contemporain ne commence pas avant il y a un peu plus d'un siècle. nombreux enseignants venus en Occident, établissant ainsi le début des différentes écoles connues à ce jour.


Le yoga est composé de Asanas (postures), Pranayama (respiration), Savasana (détente), Dhyana (méditation), Kriyas (nettoyages), Mudras (gestes pour canaliser l'énergie), Kirtan (chansons) et Mantras (phrases). Au cours de l'histoire, différents types de yoga ont vu le jour, car leur pratique s'est adaptée à différentes cultures. Nous pouvons trouver bouddhiste, hindou, chinois, tibétain, etc. et grâce aux découvertes faites par les yogis, différents systèmes de yoga traditionnels sont apparus (astanga yoga, hatha yoga, kundalini yoga, mantra yoga, etc.).

En Occident, le "Hatha yoga" est le plus populaire, et bien qu’il soit généralement enseigné comme une pratique physique par ses les asanas (postures), votre pratique implique une expérience holistique qui prend également en compte des aspects tels que la respiration ou la méditation. Actuellement, la culture occidentale a influencé de nouvelles formes de yoga moderne telles que Power Yoga , originaire des États-Unis dans les années 90. De cette façon, la composante religieuse a été laissée de côté pour donner plus de poids à l'aspect physique.


La pratique du yoga pour les athlètes

Pour un ans, le yoga a commencé à faire partie des gymnases et des centres sportifs dans de nombreux endroits . Ses avantages, tant sur le plan de la santé que de la performance sportive, engagent de plus en plus les athlètes, qu’ils soient élites ou qui s’entraînent pour améliorer leur état de bien-être général ou leur condition physique.

Maîtriser les défis physiques et mentaux qu'exige le yoga peut être une découverte pour de nombreux athlètes habitués depuis des années à un concept d'entraînement différent, car cette pratique est basée sur le principe de l'intégration du corps dans son ensemble. Cette nouvelle approche holistique peut révéler des faiblesses et des déséquilibres qui n’avaient jamais été découverts auparavant, et intègre l’élément physique et mental qui est si important pendant la compétition ou l’entraînement sportif.

De plus en plus d'athlètes découvrent les différentes manières dont le yoga peut être utilisé pour améliorer les performances psychologiques et physiques et, par conséquent, les performances sportives. Que ce soit pour augmenter la concentration mentale, améliorer la flexibilité et l'équilibre, prévenir les blessures ou améliorer les compétences techniques, de nombreux athlètes ont déjà bénéficié de cette discipline millénaire, y compris le joueur de basketball LeBron James , le joueur de tennis Maria Sharapova ou le joueur de football Ryan Giggs . Ce dernier a pris sa retraite en tant qu’athlète professionnel à 40 ans. Il a disputé 23 saisons en Premier League et a disputé 963 matchs avec les Manchester United . Peut-être que le yoga a été son grand secret.

Raisons pour lesquelles un athlète devrait pratiquer le yoga

Mais pour quelles raisons un athlète peut-il vouloir ajouter du yoga à son plan d’entraînement? Quels sont les avantages du yoga qui contribuent à l’amélioration des résultats sportifs? Compte tenu des informations fournies par les différentes recherches à cet égard, le yoga améliore les performances sportives pour les raisons suivantes.

1. Plus grande flexibilité

Lorsque vous parlez de yoga, la première chose qui vous vient à l’esprit, ce sont vos asanas (postures). Pourtant, il n'est pas difficile d'associer sa pratique à l'amélioration de la flexibilité . Les asanas nous aident à augmenter la capacité de mouvement des muscles et des articulations dans toute leur étendue.

De nombreuses études se sont révélées utiles pour accroître la flexibilité. Par exemple, une étude de l’University Center Doncaster (Royaume-Uni) a montré qu’une séance de yoga hebdomadaire d’une durée de six semaines suffisait pour constater une amélioration de la qualité de base de cette condition physique. Sarah Ramsden, enseignante de yoga à Manchester United et Manchester City, explique: "Etre flexible et avoir de bons schémas de mouvements aide à avoir plus de vitesse, de puissance, de netteté et de récupération." Tous ces aspects améliorent la performance des athlètes.

2. réduire le stress

Il n'est pas étonnant qu'avec le rythme de la vie dans la société actuelle, de nombreuses personnes souffrent de stress, ce qui peut entraîner des problèmes de santé psychologiques tels que la dépression, l'anxiété, l'épuisement mental ou l'hostilité, ce qui nuit gravement au niveau d'activation des athlètes. processus cognitifs et performances sportives pertinents.

En outre, les caractéristiques très menaçantes de la compétition ou de l'environnement des athlètes font également du stress une réponse assez fréquente dans la vie d'un athlète, a déclaré José María Buceta, professeur et directeur du Master en psychologie du sport. de l'Université nationale d'enseignement à distance (UNED).

Une étude réalisée conjointement par des scientifiques de la Thomas Jefferson Medical College de Philadelphie et le Société de recherche sur le yoga a montré que la pratique quotidienne du yoga réduit les niveaux de cortisol, une hormone libérée en réponse au stress . Selon une étude menée par l’Ohio State University aux États-Unis, une séance de vingt minutes par jour suffit pour constater une réduction significative du niveau de stress.

3. augmenter la force

Suivre une routine avec différentes asanas de manière habituelle augmente le tonus et la force musculaire. Les postures de yoga sont maintenues pendant de longues périodes, ce qui provoque des contractions isométriques des muscles, générant un gain de force.

Une étude publiée dans le Revue internationale d'éducation physique, Sport et santé ont montré que Les asanas renforcent les bras, les épaules, les jambes, le dos, les fesses et l'abdomen .

La même étude conclut que le yoga augmente la force des muscles sous-utilisés dans différentes disciplines sportives telles que la natation, le cyclisme ou la course à pied. Ces gains améliorent la stabilité du corps et préviennent les blessures, car le yoga renforce les fibres musculaires qui soutiennent et entourent les muscles les plus utilisés dans ces sports. Cela signifie qu'une force globale plus équilibrée et fonctionnellement optimale est produite.

4. Aide à la récupération

Pour une performance sportive optimale, l'entraînement est aussi important que la récupération. Pour éviter le surentraînement et continuer à performer à un niveau approprié, il est nécessaire que les athlètes comprennent que les périodes de récupération après une activité physique sont fondamentales. Le yoga est une forme de repos actif Cela signifie que, par sa pratique, l’organisme utilise des mécanismes biologiques et des processus métaboliques et cellulaires pour réparer les tissus et générer des molécules, telles que des enzymes, qui nous permettent de continuer à fonctionner à un bon niveau.

Selon une enquête parue dans Revue internationale de recherche et développement multidisciplinaire, la respiration yogique aide à faire circuler et à détoxifier la lymphe, un fluide qui traverse le système lymphatique. Cela accélère la récupération de 15% après un exercice physique et élimine la fatigue.

5. Plus d'équilibre et de coordination

Le yoga est différent des autres exercices, car il génère un mouvement sans causer de tension ou de déséquilibre dans le corps. Par conséquent, sa pratique est un complément idéal pour différentes formes d’exercice physique et un avantage dans tous les sports. Une étude réalisée par Dawn Boehde et John Porcaridel pour le Human Performance Laboratory de l'Université du Wisconsin-La Crosse (États-Unis). a montré que la coordination et l'équilibre s'améliorent avec le yoga parce que les différentes postures sont combinées avec la respiration et le mouvement ..

Maintenant, comment cela affecte la performance sportive? Plus d'équilibre et de coordination signifient un meilleur contrôle des mouvements du corps, ce qui se traduit par une technique plus efficace.

6. améliore le sommeil

"La pratique du yoga augmente les niveaux de sérotonine, vous aidant ainsi à mieux dormir", explique le Dr Murali Doraiswam, auteur d'une étude menée par la Duke University et comprenant l'examen de plus de 100 articles de recherche sur yoga La sérotonine (5-HT) est un neurotransmetteur qui, en plus de réguler l'humeur ou l'appétit, augmente la production de mélatonine, une hormone qui participe aux cycles du sommeil. Pour obtenir un repos paisible, de même, La sérotonine est impliquée dans le contrôle du stress et de la température corporelle .

C’est pourquoi une étude de l’Université de Barcelone et de l’Université des Îles Baléares publiée dans le Magazine de psychologie du sport Il est conseillé aux athlètes d'effectuer un contrôle de qualité du sommeil, en raison de l'importance de leurs caractéristiques de réparation et de leur relation positive avec la performance sportive, l'entraînement et la compétition. La Dre Cheri Mah, de l’Université de Stanford, a montré dans une expérience que les joueurs de basket-ball améliorant leurs habitudes de sommeil amélioraient leur efficacité au lancer de 9%.

7. Améliorer l'humeur

Il y a des humeurs facilitant la performance, et générer des attitudes et des émotions positives est un élément clé du bon fonctionnement du sport de chaque personne. La sérotonine (5-HT) a non seulement un effet positif sur le sommeil, mais est également impliquée dans la régulation de l'humeur. En fait, les faibles niveaux de ce neurotransmetteur sont associés à des comportements dépressifs.

Une enquête de Cabral, Meyer et Ames, publiée dans Les troubles du système nerveux central associés aux soins primaires, a conclu que la pratique régulière du yoga produisait des améliorations significatives chez les patients souffrant de dépression et d’anxiété, similaires à l’exercice physique. En outre, une autre enquête, publiée cette fois dans Le journal de médecine complémentaire, a constaté qu'il existe une augmentation d'un autre neurotransmetteur chez les praticiens du yoga: le GABA. Les avantages du GABA sont nombreux, car il participe à l'amélioration de l'humeur, à la capacité de concentration, favorise la relaxation et aide à contrôler le stress.

Étant donné que des états d’esprit négatifs peuvent nuire aux performances sportives (par exemple, rendre la concentration difficile) il est nécessaire de contrôler ces variables psychologiques pour maintenir un niveau de performance optimal .

8. Aidez à prévenir les blessures

De nombreux sports comme le cyclisme et la course à pied se caractérisent par des mouvements très répétitifs sur une longue période, ce qui entraîne le développement de certains groupes musculaires tout en ignorant les autres. Les déséquilibres dans les muscles et les articulations peuvent causer des blessures.

Comme le montre une étude réalisée par Teodora Dominteanu, professeure au département d’éducation physique et des sports de l’Académie d’études économiques de Bucarest, ainsi que de cyclistes et de coureurs, de joueurs de tennis, avec qui elle a effectué ses recherches. , ils subissent un choc énorme, raccourcissant et durcissant leurs muscles . Lorsque ces muscles ne sont pas restaurés, s’allongent et s’étirent, des déséquilibres et des blessures se produisent plus fréquemment.

De nombreuses postures de yoga, telles que le «chien orienté vers le bas» (Adho Mukha Svanasana), mobilisent et étendent le dos, les épaules, les triceps, les fesses, les cuisse, le droit antérieur et les jumeaux, renforçant les muscles et apportant de la souplesse au corps. Cette position est fortement recommandée pour éviter les blessures à la cheville, elle est donc particulièrement recommandée pour les coureurs ou les triathlètes. En outre, il aide à prévenir les blessures au coude et au poignet dans des sports tels que le tennis.

Pour préserver les athlètes d’éventuelles blessures musculaires, une enquête publiée dans le Journal de recherche sur la résistance et le conditionnement affirme qu'il est nécessaire d'atteindre un bon niveau de flexibilité. De cette manière, une réserve articulaire et musculaire est obtenue, au cas où un geste inattendu ou inhabituel serait supérieur aux gestes de la mobilité de travail.

9. améliore la concentration

La concentration est la capacité de maintenir une attention focalisée sur un objet ou sur la tâche qui est accomplie sans distractions. Elle est essentielle pour réussir sur le plan sportif. En yoga, la concentration est principalement travaillée à travers Tratak (corrige le look), Nasagra-drishti (contemplation nasale), Brahmadya-drishti (contemplation frontale).

Selon les résultats d'une étude de l'Université de l'Illinois, les sujets qui ont participé à la recherche et qui ont pratiqué le yoga étaient plus aptes à se concentrer et à traiter l'information plus rapidement et avec plus de précision. Ils ont également appris, mis à jour et mis à jour les informations en moins de temps.

10. Améliorer la résistance

Bien que la performance sportive soit multifactorielle, il est évident que la résistance joue un rôle important dans le sport. Selon la science, le yoga améliore l'endurance aérobie et anaérobie . Une étude menée par Aslan et Livanelioglu a conclu qu'un groupe de sujets entraînés quatre fois par jour pendant six semaines avait amélioré le test au tonnelier de 9,8%, test qui mesure la capacité aérobique.

Il semble que, bien que le yoga ne soit pas un exercice d'aérobic, la respiration yoguique (pranayama) augmente la capacité des poumons en améliorant la flexibilité de la cage thoracique et en permettant aux poumons de se dilater complètement, comme expliqué une étude publiée dans le Journal de yoga. D'autre part, une enquête menée par Cowen et Adams, qui a évalué la relation entre le yoga et la résistance anaérobie, a montré que ashtanga yoga comme lui yoga hatha provoquer une amélioration de ce type de résistance.


12 Étirements Que tu Peux Faire à La Maison Pour Brûler Les Graisses (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes