yes, therapy helps!
10 books of Psychiatry for doctors, psychologists and therapists

10 books of Psychiatry for doctors, psychologists and therapists

May 6, 2021

Devouring a great book is, without a doubt, an experience that can mark us for the rest of our lives , because there are texts that bring us great knowledge as well as entertain us.

Obviously there are works that contain more commercial value than anything else, but there are volumes that enrich our experience as human beings and influence thousands of people for their incalculable usefulness.

The best books on psychiatry and mental health

Aware of this, We have dedicated our time to compiling a list of the best books of psychiatry for mental health professionals. If you are a psychiatrist or clinical psychologist you can enjoy these texts and, at the same time, learn about your profession. Do not miss them!


1. Personality disorders in modern life (Theodore Milton and Roger Davis)

A fascinating text that was published in 2001. "Personality Disorders in Modern Life" is a very well written book that treats personality disorders from a current perspective. Covers various psychopathologies such as, for example, antisocial disorder, defiant negativist disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), histrionic personality disorder, narcissism, schizoid disorder or paranoid disorder.

The author deals with mental problems from different perspectives: biological, interpersonal or cognitive, among others.

  • You can buy the book here.


2. Practical manual of forensic psychiatry (J. Checa González)

This work is a reference manual for both legal professionals and psychiatry . It is a quick reference guide and information on any topic related to this discipline, and, as a complement, this book offers access to an online platform where it is possible to find 15 clinical cases, as well as a battery with about 100 self-assessment questions and various models of forensic medical records and reports.

The website that this work offers is an interactive space for discussion and exchange of knowledge among all the readers of the work that ensures the updating of contents in forensic psychiatry material.

  • You can buy it through this link.


3. Anatomy of an epidemic (Robert Whitaker)

"Anatomy of an epidemic" is a very interesting book. The author asks. Why has the number of mentally ill people in the United States tripled in the last two decades? Sometimes, Whitaker appears as an anti-psychiatrist, criticizing some practices that are carried out in this discipline. To be a good professional in this field it is necessary to read and understand the controversy that may exist around psychiatry.

For example, if the use of psychotropic drugs is excessive or not. Do you dare to delve into these pages and reflect deeply?

  • More information and purchase option in this link.

4. The Trouble Psychiatry (Daniel Carlat)

The book "Unhinged: The Trouble Psychiatry" by Daniel Carlat addresses various controversial issues in the field of psychiatry . For example, the use of DSM, excessive dependence on psychotropic drugs, and how the power of the pharmaceutical industry influences the use of psychoactive substances in psychiatric practice.

It is a short book but at the same time fascinating, because it brings to light the different themes that have generated debate in recent years and, in addition, offers creative solutions to these problems. It's only available in English.

  • All the information here.

5. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V)

The DSM is also known as the "bible of psychiatry" , and it is the tool for classifying mental disorders with greater acceptance, both for clinical diagnosis and for research and teaching in this field. It is used in the clinical and psychiatric field, but this guide must be accompanied by clinical judgment in addition to the professional knowledge and ethical criteria necessary for good professional practice.

In short, the DSM provides a common language among different mental health professionals (psychiatrists and clinical psychologists) who are dedicated to the treatment of mental disorders and help ensure an accurate and consistent diagnosis.

  • You can easily buy it on this link.

6. The psychiatric interview in clinical practice (Roger Mackinnon)

The clinical interview in psychiatry is a qualitative technique of collecting information in which the therapist or psychiatrist and his patient (in his case, also the relatives) participate, and is the main instrument in psychiatric practice , because unlike, for example, the medical interview, which is usually the introduction before the physical examination or the complementary tests, the clinical interview in psychiatry is essential for the establishment of an adequate interpersonal relationship, which will favor the obtaining of reliable information and allow to establish a correct diagnosis.

  • Recommended article: "The different types of interviews and their characteristics"

Likewise, the psychotherapeutic intervention is carried out within the framework of the clinical interview, whether offering psychological or psychopharmacological therapy. The manual "The clinical interview" by Ekkehard and Sieglinde Othmer is, without a doubt, a great text that will give you knowledge about this practice and will facilitate learning with good examples exposed in a clear and detailed manner.

  • You can buy it here.

7. Are we all mentally ill? (Allen Frances)

The author of this book, Allen Frances, was one of those responsible for developing the latest editions of the DSM manual. In his work, he reviews the history of DSM (and its participation in the elaboration) and critically analyzes some DSM-V aspects. Discuss the criteria that decide what is normal and what is pathological and review some fashion disorders in the past (for example, borderline personality disorder), in addition to giving their opinion on the different psychopathological approaches of the present as autistic spectrum disorder.

It is an interesting text written with a pleasant language. Especially designed for those who want a first contact with the world of psychiatry.

  • Buy it here

8. Treat the mind or treat the brain? Towards an integration between psychotherapies and psychoactive drugs (Julio Sanjuán)

If what you're looking for is an introductory book on psychiatry , you can not miss "Treat the mind or treat the brain? Towards an integration between psychotherapies and psychotropic drugs ". Written in a pleasant but rigorous and updated way, it is a text of 350 pages of reading and reading. Therefore, if you are interested in this discipline, you must add it to your list of essentials.

Are you more interested in introducing yourself to psychology than to psychiatry? Then I recommend the book "Psychologically speaking." You can buy it in this link.
  • Buy the work of Julio Sanjuán in this link.

9. Atypical or transitory psychoses from epistemology to treatment (Luis Jesús Fernández, Germán Berrios and Blanca Yániz)

Psychotic disorders are serious mental pathologies in which the person loses contact with reality. The most characteristic symptoms are hallucinations and delusions. Its treatment combines psychotherapy with the administration of antipsychotic drugs.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of Psychotic Disorders"

This text collects the results of the first edition of the course on atypical or transitory psychoses that took place in the UNED, and provides very valuable knowledge for professionals in psychiatry and mental health.

  • You can buy it here.

10. Memory disorders in psychiatric practice (German E. Barrios and John R. Hodges)

A suggestive text and reference in clinical practice related to memory disorders. In the first chapters the book reviews the historical and neurobiological foundations of memory and, in general, gives an interesting contribution to both professionals in psychiatry and neuropsychology.

  • Recommended text: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

Although for many the problem of memory is the exclusive competence of neuropsychologists, this text is a psychiatric approach to various pathologies associated with memory. Surely it will surprise you!


What's the DIFFERENCE? Choosing YOUR Mental Health Professional (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 livres de psychiatrie pour médecins, psychologues et thérapeutes

10 livres de psychiatrie pour médecins, psychologues et thérapeutes

Février 25, 2021

Dévorer un bon livre est, sans aucun doute, une expérience qui peut nous marquer pour le reste de nos vies , car certains textes nous apportent une grande connaissance et nous divertissent.

Il est évident que certaines œuvres ont plus de valeur commerciale qu'autre chose, mais il existe des volumes qui enrichissent notre expérience en tant qu'êtres humains et influencent des milliers de personnes pour leur utilité incalculable.

Les meilleurs livres sur la psychiatrie et la santé mentale

Conscient de cela, Nous avons consacré notre temps à dresser une liste des meilleurs livres de psychiatrie pour les professionnels de la santé mentale. Si vous êtes un psychiatre ou un psychologue clinicien, vous pouvez profiter de ces textes tout en vous familiarisant avec votre métier. Ne les manquez pas!


1. Les troubles de la personnalité dans la vie moderne (Theodore Milton et Roger Davis)

Un texte fascinant publié en 2001. "Les troubles de la personnalité dans la vie moderne" est un livre très bien écrit qui traite des troubles de la personnalité dans une perspective actuelle. Couvre diverses psychopathologies telles que, par exemple, les troubles antisociaux, les troubles négativistes provocants, les troubles obsessionnels compulsifs (TOC), les troubles de la personnalité histrionique, le narcissisme, les troubles schizoïdes ou les troubles paranoïaques.

L'auteur aborde les problèmes mentaux sous différents angles: biologique, interpersonnel ou cognitif, entre autres.

  • Vous pouvez acheter le livre ici.


2. Manuel pratique de psychiatrie médico-légale (J. Checa González)

Ce travail est un manuel de référence pour les juristes et les psychiatres . Il s’agit d’un guide de référence rapide et d’informations sur tous les sujets liés à cette discipline. En complément, ce livre offre l’accès à une plate-forme en ligne sur laquelle il est possible de rechercher 15 cas cliniques, ainsi qu’une batterie de 100 questions d’autoévaluation. et divers modèles de dossiers et de rapports médico-légaux.

Le site Web proposé par cet ouvrage est un espace interactif de discussion et d’échange de connaissances entre tous les lecteurs de l’ouvrage, qui assure la mise à jour du contenu des documents de psychiatrie légale.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter via ce lien.


3. Anatomie d'une épidémie (Robert Whitaker)

"Anatomie d'une épidémie" est un livre très intéressant. L'auteur demande. Pourquoi le nombre de personnes atteintes de maladie mentale aux États-Unis a-t-il triplé au cours des deux dernières décennies? Parfois, Whitaker apparaît comme un anti-psychiatre, critiquant certaines pratiques mises en œuvre dans cette discipline. Pour être un bon professionnel dans ce domaine, il est nécessaire de lire et de comprendre la controverse qui peut exister autour de la psychiatrie.

Par exemple, si la consommation de drogues psychotropes est excessive ou non. Oserez-vous vous plonger dans ces pages et réfléchir profondément?

  • Plus d'informations et option d'achat dans ce lien.

4. Le problème psychiatrique (Daniel Carlat)

Le livre "Unhinged: The Trouble Psychiatry" de Daniel Carlat aborde diverses questions controversées dans le domaine de la psychiatrie . Par exemple, l’utilisation du DSM, la dépendance excessive aux drogues psychotropes et l’influence du pouvoir de l’industrie pharmaceutique sur l’utilisation de substances psychoactives dans la pratique psychiatrique.

C'est un livre court mais à la fois fascinant, car il met en lumière les différents thèmes qui ont suscité des débats au cours des dernières années et offre en outre des solutions créatives à ces problèmes. Il est disponible uniquement en anglais.

  • Toutes les informations ici.

5. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-V)

Le DSM est également connu comme "la bible de la psychiatrie" , et c’est l’outil pour classer les troubles mentaux avec une plus grande acceptation, tant pour le diagnostic clinique que pour la recherche et l’enseignement dans ce domaine. Il est utilisé dans les domaines clinique et psychiatrique, mais ce guide doit être accompagné d'un jugement clinique en plus des connaissances professionnelles et des critères éthiques nécessaires à une bonne pratique professionnelle.

En bref, le DSM fournit un langage commun à différents professionnels de la santé mentale (psychiatres et psychologues cliniciens) qui se consacrent au traitement des troubles mentaux et aident à garantir un diagnostic précis et cohérent.

  • Vous pouvez facilement l'acheter sur ce lien.

6. L'entretien psychiatrique en pratique clinique (Roger Mackinnon)

L’entretien clinique en psychiatrie est une technique qualitative de collecte d’informations à laquelle participent le thérapeute ou le psychiatre et son patient (dans son cas, les proches également), et est le principal instrument de la pratique psychiatrique car, à la différence, par exemple, de l'entretien médical, qui est généralement l'introduction avant l'examen physique ou des tests complémentaires, l'entretien clinique en psychiatrie est essentiel pour l'établissement d'une relation interpersonnelle adéquate, ce qui favorisera l'obtention de des informations fiables et permettent d'établir un diagnostic correct.

  • Article recommandé: "Les différents types d'interviews et leurs caractéristiques"

De même, l'intervention psychothérapeutique est réalisée dans le cadre de l'entretien clinique, qu'il s'agisse d'une thérapie psychologique ou psychopharmacologique. Le manuel "L'entretien clinique" de Ekkehard et Sieglinde Othmer est, sans aucun doute, un excellent texte qui vous renseignera sur cette pratique et facilitera l'apprentissage grâce à de bons exemples exposés de manière claire et détaillée.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

7. Sommes-nous tous malades mentalement? (Allen Frances)

Allen Frances, l’auteur de ce livre, a été l’un des responsables du développement des dernières éditions du manuel DSM. Dans son travail, il passe en revue l'histoire de DSM (et sa participation à l'élaboration) et analyse de manière critique certains aspects du DSM-V. Discutez des critères qui déterminent ce qui est normal et ce qui est pathologique et passer en revue certains troubles de la mode dans le passé (par exemple, trouble de la personnalité limite), en plus de donner leur avis sur les différentes approches psychopathologiques du présent comme trouble du spectre autistique.

C'est un texte intéressant écrit avec une langue agréable. Spécialement conçu pour ceux qui veulent un premier contact avec le monde de la psychiatrie.

  • Achetez-le ici

8. Traiter l'esprit ou traiter le cerveau? Vers une intégration entre psychothérapies et drogues psychoactives (Julio Sanjuán)

Si vous cherchez un livre d'introduction à la psychiatrie , vous ne pouvez pas manquer "Traiter l'esprit ou soigner le cerveau?" Vers une intégration entre psychothérapies et médicaments psychotropes ". Écrit de manière agréable mais rigoureuse et actualisée, il s’agit d’un texte de 350 pages de lecture et de lecture. Par conséquent, si vous êtes intéressé par cette discipline, vous devez l'ajouter à votre liste de bases.

Êtes-vous plus intéressé par une introduction à la psychologie qu'à la psychiatrie? Ensuite, je recommande le livre "Psychologiquement parlant". Vous pouvez l'acheter dans ce lien.
  • Achetez le travail de Julio Sanjuán dans ce lien.

9. Psychoses atypiques ou transitoires de l'épistémologie au traitement (Luis Jesús Fernández, Germán Berrios et Blanca Yániz)

Les troubles psychotiques sont des pathologies mentales graves dans lequel la personne perd le contact avec la réalité. Les symptômes les plus caractéristiques sont les hallucinations et les délires. Son traitement associe une psychothérapie à l'administration d'antipsychotiques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles psychotiques"

Ce texte rassemble les résultats de la première édition du cours sur les psychoses atypiques ou transitoires qui a eu lieu à l'UNED et fournit des connaissances très précieuses aux professionnels de la psychiatrie et de la santé mentale.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

10. Troubles de la mémoire en pratique psychiatrique (E. Barrios et John R. Hodges, allemands)

Un texte suggestif et une référence dans la pratique clinique liée aux troubles de la mémoire. Dans les premiers chapitres, le livre passe en revue les fondements historiques et neurobiologiques de la mémoire et, en général, apporte une contribution intéressante aux professionnels de la psychiatrie et de la neuropsychologie.

  • Texte recommandé: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

Bien que le problème de la mémoire relève pour beaucoup de la compétence exclusive des neuropsychologues, ce texte est une approche psychiatrique de diverses pathologies associées à la mémoire. Cela va sûrement vous surprendre!


"Macron est un psychopathe" : l’analyse d’un psychiatre italien (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes