yes, therapy helps!
10 curious investigations on Psychology that will surprise you

10 curious investigations on Psychology that will surprise you

January 8, 2023

Every year Thousands of studies are published in different scientific journals, some of them really curious . The truth is that psychology is a science that tries to explain the behavior of individuals and the functioning of the mind and brain, and there are answers to these questions that may be strange.

Sometimes we ask ourselves the question: "Why do people act like this?" And, no matter how many turns we make, there are behaviors that do not seem to have a simple explanation. Therefore, it is not surprising that science provides conclusions that may seem surprising.

It is clear that the studies need to be replicated so that we can ensure the reliability of their conclusions. Even so, some results of the research carried out in recent years are still striking.


The 10 most curious studies on psychology

In today's article, I have proposed to make a list of the 10 most curious studies on psychology. If you want to know more about these investigations, only you have to click on the title of each point and the link will take you directly to another post so you can know more data.

1. Cats dominate their owners

Those who have cats at home, you may identify with this research. According to a study conducted by the University of Sussex in the United Kingdom (2009), cats have developed an ability to dominate their owners: a characteristic purr . The research was published in the journal Current Biology and the study was led by Karen McComb, a behavioral ecologist who decided to test her theory because she was usually awakened by her cat's claims.


The author states that domestic cats use a purr of solicitation, which is a characteristic meow that has a frequency higher than the usual purr. The cats only use it when they want something, and it causes in its owners a paternal instinct similar to that of the parents with the babies. Apparently, the purring of solicitation is more acceptable to humans than a meow, which usually elicits a rejection response.

2. The 10 songs that make us feel better

There are many studies that contribute scientific evidence about the benefits of music , for example, that mitigates pain, optimizes performance or predisposes us to love. In fact, music is used as a form of therapy, which is known as Music Therapy. That is why, recently, Dr. Jacob Jolij of the University of Groningen (Holland) revealed the top 10 songs of the last 50 years that make us feel happier and have a positive effect on our mood almost instantaneously.


The author of the research claims to have found a mathematical equation through which we can determine which musical themes influence to a greater or lesser extent our mood. Is the next:

The formula evaluates the song that makes us feel emotionally well (FGI) according to its letter (L), its tempo in beats per minute (BPM) and its key (K).

After analyzing the results of the study, the author concluded that these are the 10 musical themes that positively affect our behavior and make us feel better:

1. Do not Stop Me Now (Queen)

2. Dancing Queen (Abba)

3. Good Vibrations (The Beach Boys)

4. Uptown Girl (Billy Joel)

5. Eye of the Tiger (Survivor)

6. I'm a Believer (The Monkeys)

7. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (Cyndi Lauper)

8. Livin 'on a Prayer (Jon Bon Jovi)

9. I Will Survive (Gloria Gaynor)

10. Walking on Sunshine (Katrina & The Waves)

3. Men with beards are more attractive and link more

Science has spoken, and this time concludes that boys with beards are more successful than those who do not leave facial hair. According to Barnaby Dixon and Bob Brooks, authors of an experiment that was conducted at South Wales University and published in Evolution & Human Behavior. "The two-week beard has a seductive effect on men, which makes them considered much more attractive by women."

It seems that the reason for this is that boys with shaved faces have less attributes associated with masculinity and are more docile, according to another study carried out at the University of Northumbria and published in Personality and Individual Differences.

4. Stop using Facebook makes you happier

In just under ten years, Facebook has become part of our day to day . Such is the impact it has had on society, that psychologists have long been warning of the problems that social networks (and new technology) can cause if young people are not educated for their correct use.The Fomo Syndrome, Nomophobia or Tecnostros are some of the pathologies associated with the new environment in which we live.

It is important to educate the youngest in this aspect because Facebook can have a negative effect on the formation of identity, as well as cause serious problems of self-esteem. In fact, facebook can make us unhappy, according to a study carried out by the Happiness Reasearch Insitute in Denmark.

5. The 10 most infidel countries in the world

Although infidelity is considered the greatest betrayal in a relationship, millions of people in the world are and have been infidels. This is despite the fact that many individuals think that adultery is considered an exception and is exclusive to bad people, those who do not have a heart.

According to a poll on the website "The Richest", there are more infidelities than many people imagine . In addition, the website revealed the 10 most infidel countries in the world. This is the order:

  1. Thailand
  2. Denmark
  3. Italy
  4. Germany
  5. France
  6. Norway
  7. Belgium
  8. Spain
  9. UK
  10. Finland

6. Smart people masturbate more

Intelligence has been the subject of study on many occasions, for example, to find out what are its characteristic features of smart people or what music intelligent people listen to. Now, few studies are as curious as the one carried out by the National School of Health and Sexual Behavior directed by sexologist Debby Herbenick, who claims that people with higher academic level tend to masturbate more .

7. What music do smart people listen to?

As we have seen, the most intelligent people practice onanism more frequently in their spare time. But what music do they listen to when they are not busy? Well this is what it was proposed to find out Virgil Griffith, an application developer. The results of his research were collected in the dossier "Music That Makes You Dumb" (Music that makes you stupid).

The conclusions show that young students with lower grades listened to genres such as Hip Hop and Reggaeton . On the other hand, students with higher notes listened to Ludwig Van Beethoven and different bands like U2, Counting Crows, The Shins or Radiohead.

8. Women over 28 years old do not attract men

There is a popular belief that men improve with age. But what happens in the case of women? Although the results are debatable, a group of Finnish researchers from Åbo Akademi University who conducted a study 12,000 male subjects between 25 and 40 years of age, concluded that women from the age of 28 are no longer sexually interested in men .

The study was published in a Russian media called Spbdnevnik, and its results have created controversy. All in all, it has always been said that men like younger women. Is it true?

9. An investigation uncovers a trick that motivates people to change

Change is not easy because it forces us out of the comfort zone. In fact, many people turn to change professionals, like a coach, to be able to carry out this action. There are theories for change that are very effective (for example, the Transtheoretical Change Model of Prochaska and DiClemente), but one study says that changing is simpler than it seems.

The study, published in the Journal of Consumer Psychology, explains that questions that must be answered "yes" or "no" in paper or computer format are a powerful weapon for change because they do not explain the reasons why they are doing badly. the things. This would cause cognitive dissonance, and the discomfort would be enough to carry out the change. The science will have to continue investigating to know if the conclusions of this controversial study are true.

10. Smart women tend to be single

We live in a society that pushes us towards marriage, although there are more and more people who see being single as something positive. Although there is not much research on this, There may be a relationship between singleness and intelligence , as Bertrand Regader says in one of his last articles.

There is a hypothesis that smarter women are more demanding and, therefore, tend to remain single. But an investigation carried out by John Carney that was published in the Daily Mail under the title of "Why intelligent men choose less intelligent women?", Affirms that men tend to look for less intelligent women to have a relationship. For that reason, intelligent women usually remain single.


10 Tricks from a Former FBI Agent to Become 200% Attractive (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 enquêtes curieuses sur la psychologie qui vont vous surprendre

10 enquêtes curieuses sur la psychologie qui vont vous surprendre

Avril 14, 2021

Chaque année Des milliers d’études sont publiées dans différentes revues scientifiques, certaines vraiment curieuses . La vérité est que la psychologie est une science qui essaie d’expliquer le comportement des individus et le fonctionnement de l’esprit et du cerveau. Il existe des réponses à ces questions qui peuvent paraître étranges.

Parfois, nous nous posons la question suivante: "Pourquoi les gens agissent-ils de la sorte?" Et, peu importe le nombre de tours que nous effectuons, certains comportements ne semblent pas avoir une explication simple. Par conséquent, il n’est pas surprenant que la science fournisse des conclusions qui peuvent paraître surprenantes.

Il est clair que les études doivent être répliquées afin que nous puissions garantir la fiabilité de leurs conclusions. Néanmoins, certains résultats des recherches effectuées au cours des dernières années sont encore frappants.


Les 10 études les plus curieuses sur la psychologie

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, j'ai proposé de dresser une liste des 10 études les plus curieuses en psychologie. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ces enquêtes, seulement vous devez cliquer sur le titre de chaque point et le lien vous mènera directement à un autre poste afin que vous puissiez connaître plus de données.

1. Les chats dominent leurs propriétaires

Ceux qui ont des chats à la maison, vous pouvez vous identifier à cette recherche. Selon une étude menée par l’Université du Sussex au Royaume-Uni (2009), les chats ont développé une capacité à dominer leurs propriétaires: un ronronnement caractéristique . La recherche a été publiée dans la revue Current Biology et dirigée par Karen McComb, une écologiste du comportement qui a décidé de tester sa théorie car elle était généralement réveillée par les affirmations de son chat.


L'auteur déclare que les chats domestiques utilisent un ronronnement de sollicitation, qui est un miaou caractéristique dont la fréquence est supérieure à celle du ronronnement habituel. Les chats l'utilisent seulement quand ils veulent quelque chose et cela provoque chez ses propriétaires un instinct paternel semblable à celui des parents avec les bébés. Apparemment, le ronronnement de la sollicitation est plus acceptable pour les humains que le miaulement, ce qui entraîne généralement une réaction de rejet.

2. Les 10 chansons qui nous font sentir mieux

Il y a beaucoup d'études qui contribuent preuves scientifiques sur les avantages de la musique , par exemple, qui atténue la douleur, optimise les performances ou nous prédispose à aimer. En fait, la musique est utilisée comme une forme de thérapie, connue sous le nom de musicothérapie. C'est pourquoi, récemment, le Dr Jacob Jolij de l'Université de Groningue (Pays-Bas) a dévoilé le top 10 des chansons des 50 dernières années qui nous rendent plus heureux et ont un effet positif sur notre humeur presque instantanément.


L'auteur de la recherche prétend avoir trouvé une équation mathématique à travers laquelle nous pouvons déterminer quels thèmes musicaux influencent plus ou moins notre humeur. Est la suivante:

La formule évalue la chanson qui nous fait nous sentir émotionnellement bien (FGI) en fonction de sa lettre (L), de son tempo en battements par minute (BPM) et de sa touche (K).

Après avoir analysé les résultats de l’étude, l’auteur a conclu qu’il s’agissait des 10 thèmes musicaux qui ont une incidence positive sur notre comportement et nous font sentir mieux:

1. Ne m'arrêtez pas maintenant (reine)

2. Reine de la danse (Abba)

3. Bonnes vibrations (The Beach Boys)

4. Uptown Girl (Billy Joel)

5. Œil du tigre (survivant)

6. Je suis un croyant (les singes)

7. les filles veulent juste s'amuser (Cyndi Lauper)

8. vivre une prière (Jon Bon Jovi)

9. Je survivrai (Gloria Gaynor)

10. Marcher sur le soleil (Katrina et les vagues)

3. Les hommes à la barbe sont plus attrayants et lient plus

La science a parlé, et cette fois conclut que les garçons avec la barbe ont plus de succès que ceux qui ne laissent pas les poils du visage. Selon Barnaby Dixon et Bob Brooks, auteurs d'une expérience menée à la South Wales University et publiée dans Evolution & Human Behavior. "La barbe de deux semaines a un effet séduisant sur les hommes, ce qui les rend beaucoup plus attirants pour les femmes."

Il semble que la raison en soit que les garçons aux visages rasés ont moins d'attributs associés à la masculinité et sont plus dociles, selon une autre étude réalisée à l'Université de Northumbria et publiée dans Personnalité et individualité.

4. Cesser d'utiliser Facebook vous rend plus heureux

Dans un peu moins de dix ans, Facebook fait partie de notre quotidien . Son impact sur la société est tel que les psychologues ont longtemps mis en garde contre les problèmes que les réseaux sociaux (et les nouvelles technologies) peuvent poser si les jeunes ne sont pas éduqués à leur bon usage.Le syndrome de Fomo, la nomophobie ou le tecnostros font partie des pathologies associées au nouvel environnement dans lequel nous vivons.

Il est important d'éduquer les plus jeunes à cet aspect, car Facebook peut avoir un effet négatif sur la formation de l'identité et causer de graves problèmes d'estime de soi. En fait, Facebook peut nous rendre malheureux, selon une étude réalisée par le Happiness Reasearch Insitute au Danemark.

5. Les 10 pays les plus infidèles du monde

Bien que l’infidélité soit considérée comme la plus grande trahison dans une relation, des millions de personnes dans le monde sont et ont été des infidèles. Ceci en dépit du fait que beaucoup de gens pensent que l'adultère est considéré comme une exception et est réservé aux mauvaises personnes, celles qui n'ont pas de cœur.

Selon un sondage sur le site "The Richest", il y a plus d'infidélités qu'on ne l'imagine . En outre, le site Web révélait les 10 pays les plus infidèles du monde. C'est la commande:

  1. Thaïlande
  2. Danemark
  3. Italie
  4. Allemagne
  5. France
  6. Norvège
  7. Belgique
  8. Espagne
  9. Royaume-Uni
  10. La finlande

6. Les gens intelligents se masturbent plus

L'intelligence a fait l'objet de nombreuses études, par exemple pour déterminer quelles sont les caractéristiques des personnes intelligentes ou quelle est la musique que les personnes intelligentes écoutent. Or, peu d’études sont aussi curieuses que celle réalisée par le École nationale de la santé et du comportement sexuel dirigée par la sexologue Debby Herbenick, qui prétend que les personnes ayant un niveau académique supérieur ont tendance à se masturber plus .

7. Quelle musique les gens intelligents écoutent-ils?

Comme nous l’avons vu, les personnes les plus intelligentes pratiquent l’onanisme plus fréquemment pendant leurs temps libres. Mais quelle musique écoutent-ils quand ils ne sont pas occupés? C'est ce qui a été proposé pour découvrir Virgil Griffith, développeur d'applications. Les résultats de ses recherches ont été rassemblés dans le dossier "Une musique qui vous rend muet" (Une musique qui vous rend stupide).

Les conclusions montrent que les jeunes élèves de moindre niveau écoutent des genres tels que le hip hop et le reggaeton . D'autre part, les étudiants avec des notes plus élevées ont écouté Ludwig Van Beethoven et différents groupes comme U2, Counting Crows, The Shins ou Radiohead.

8. Les femmes de plus de 28 ans n'attirent pas les hommes

Il existe une croyance populaire selon laquelle les hommes s'améliorent avec l'âge. Mais que se passe-t-il dans le cas des femmes? Bien que les résultats puissent être discutés, un groupe de chercheurs finlandais de l’Université Åbo Akademi a mené une étude sur 12 000 sujets masculins âgés de 25 à 40 ans. a conclu que les femmes à partir de 28 ans ne sont plus sexuellement intéressées par les hommes .

L'étude a été publiée dans un média russe appelé Spbdnevniket ses résultats ont suscité la controverse. Dans l’ensemble, il a toujours été dit que les hommes aiment les femmes plus jeunes. Est-ce vrai?

9. Une enquête révèle un truc qui motive les gens à changer

Le changement n’est pas facile car il nous oblige à sortir de la zone de confort. En fait, beaucoup de gens se tournent vers des professionnels du changement, comme un coach, pour pouvoir mener à bien cette action. Certaines théories du changement sont très efficaces (par exemple, le modèle de changement transthéorique de Prochaska et DiClemente), mais une étude indique que changer est plus simple qu'il n'y parait.

L'étude, publiée dans le Journal of Consumer Psychology, explique que les questions auxquelles il faut répondre "oui" ou "non" sur papier ou sur ordinateur sont une arme puissante pour le changement, car elles n'expliquent pas les raisons pour lesquelles elles s'en sortent mal. les choses. Cela provoquerait une dissonance cognitive et l'inconfort suffirait pour mener à bien le changement. La science devra continuer à étudier pour savoir si les conclusions de cette étude controversée sont vraies.

10. Les femmes intelligentes ont tendance à être célibataires

Nous vivons dans une société qui nous pousse vers le mariage, même si de plus en plus de personnes voient en leur célibat quelque chose de positif. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas beaucoup de recherche à ce sujet, Il peut y avoir une relation entre la solitude et l'intelligence , comme le dit Bertrand Regader dans l'un de ses derniers articles.

Il existe une hypothèse selon laquelle les femmes plus intelligentes sont plus exigeantes et ont donc tendance à rester célibataires. Mais une enquête menée par John Carney, publiée dans le Daily Mail sous le titre "Pourquoi les hommes intelligents choisissent-ils les femmes moins intelligentes?", Affirme que les hommes ont tendance à rechercher une relation avec des femmes moins intelligentes. Pour cette raison, les femmes intelligentes restent généralement célibataires.


5 PHÉNOMÈNES PARANORMAUX FILMÉS ET INEXPLIQUÉS ಠ~ಠ (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes