yes, therapy helps!
10 essential tips to reduce stress

10 essential tips to reduce stress

May 27, 2020

The stress It affects many people, and it is not surprising with the lifestyle of Western societies. One of the pioneers in the investigation of this phenomenon was Hans Selye, in the 50s.

Since then, Many experts have been contributing more and more knowledge about what is and how stress occurs , and different models have emerged to help people who suffer from it, such as Demand-control-social support model of Karasek and Johnson (1986), which states that the source of stress is in the mismatch between existing demands and the control that the person has to meet these demands, and that social support is taken into account as a decisive variable that affects to this phenomenon both directly and indirectly.


Stress is a complex phenomenon

Stress is usually a complex phenomenon, especially in the workplace, where variables of the workplace and the organization come into play, but also the expectations of an individual and their ability to cope with complex situations.

Therefore, in extreme cases, it is necessary to go to an expert if you do not want to end up suffering what is known as burnout or burning syndrome. It is also essential to go to the psychologist when stress is the consequence of a traumatic situation, which may require psychological intervention to reduce suffering and treat the problem from the root.

10 tips to reduce stress

Now, if you are going through a time when you feel stressed, you have begun to notice that the situation in which you find yourself is great and is affecting your day to day, in today's article, I am going to give you some tips so that you can reduce the symptomatology characteristic of this phenomenon.


1. Manage your time effectively

Poor time management is one of the most frequent causes of stress. To arrive late to all the places, to have the electronic mail tray full, to study at the last moment for the exams, to assume many tasks and not to finish any, etc., are situations that cause anxiety and lack of control .

Therefore, a correct organization of time is the best way to prevent stress. If you want to learn how to manage your time efficiently, there is a wide range of courses and workshops to help you keep the agenda under control.

2. Do not be a perfectionist

Perfectionism is the belief that perfection must be achieved in everything that is done. This may seem positive, but it can cause negative consequences, for example: be more tense and anxious, not enjoy the achievements or be more stressed .


In an article published in Infosalus, the psychologist Francesc Quer, secretary of the Section of Psychology of Organizations and Work of the Official College of Psychology of Catalonia, affirms that: "The person in whom perfectionism causes problems is subject to a strong stress, presents pictures of anxiety and symptoms that hide high degrees of stress".

3. Practice yoga

Yoga is a millennial physical and mental practice that has been expanding throughout the world due to its benefits for both the body and the mind. It has more and more followers because is a discipline that seeks well-being, inner peace and implies a lifestyle that commits to healthy habits .

At present, it is not surprising that the current pace of life leads many people to suffer stress, causing psychological health problems. Many are the studies that affirm that the regular practice of yoga is positive to combat this phenomenon. One of them is the research carried out by Thirthalli and Naveen (2013), which concludes that this millenary practice reduces the levels of cortisol, a hormone that is released in response to stress, and that is necessary for the body as it regulates and mobilizes energy in stressful situations. Now, if we have too much cortisol or it increases in situations that we do not need it, it causes negative effects for the body and the mind.

4. Be positive

This sounds like a topic, but it's true, because how you think it has an effect on your stress levels . If you think negatively about yourself or the situation, your body reacts with tension. Recovering your sense of control and adopting a positive attitude to stress can help you overcome the most complicated situations. Therefore, try to see stress situations from a more positive perspective. For example, a complicated situation can be seen as a learning opportunity.

5. Eat and drink in a healthy way

On the one hand, stress often causes us to alter our healthy habits, so in situations where we are stressed, we must try to lead a lifestyle that is not harmful. On the other hand, An unhealthy lifestyle causes us to have less resistance to stress .

Eating healthy allows you to be well nourished to deal with stressful situations. It is important to have a good breakfast, because, otherwise, we can suffer a significant drop in energy during the day. Substituting green tea for coffee and avoiding sugary drinks like Coca-Cola can also be positive strategies. Of course, the consumption of cigarettes should be avoided and the consumption of alcohol should be moderate to keep the mind clear and avoid in this way the easy exit to stress. Drinking two liters of water daily helps to be more concentrated and with better mood.

6. Use humor and laughter

The benefits of humor and laughter are multiple both physically and mentally . That's why laughter therapy is used to manage stressful situations and to relieve physical and emotional stress. Laughter therapy promotes the production of happiness chemicals such as serotonin and, in addition, reduces the levels of cortisol, the hormone related to stress.

Do you want to know more about this alternative therapy? You can visit our article: "Laughter therapy: the psychological benefits of laughter"

7. Practice Mindfulness

The practice of Mindfulness o Full attention has been shown to be effective in reducing stress levels. In fact, there is a specific program called "Stress Reduction Program based on Mindfulness (MSBR)" which lasts 8 weeks and which, according to the different researches, improves the quality of life of the people who try it, because teaches the ability to be aware and helps cultivate deeper levels of attention and compassion . Like yoga and meditation, Mindfulness reduces the levels of cortisol, a hormone that is released in response to stress.

Do not you know what Mindfulness is? In our article "Mindfulness: 8 benefits of mindfulness" we explain it to you

8. Sleep better

Everyone knows that Stress can cause sleep problems . But, unfortunately, lack of sleep can also cause stress. Sleeping properly is necessary for the mind and body to be rested.

The feeling of tiredness increases the stress, since it does not allow to think clearly and can aggravate the stressful situation and affect our mood. Is it hard for you to sleep lately?

Here are some tips to sleep better: "10 basic principles for good sleep hygiene"

9. Practice physical exercise

Surely many have gone to the gym to disconnect on more than one occasion, because after a hard day's work, there is nothing better than going to play paddle or practice kick boxing. In addition to the physical benefits of exercising, physical activity also reduces stress.

Physical exercise increases the production of norepinephrine (noradrenaline), a neurotransmitter that can moderate the brain's response to stress, and produces neurochemicals such as endorphins or serotonin, which help improve mood.

10. Take advantage of the power of music

Music can have a profound positive effect on both the emotions and the body. If music with a quick tempo can make a person more alert, music with a slower tempo can relax the mind and muscles, helping to release the tension of the day.

So, music relaxes and is effective for stress management . In addition, according to several investigations, playing an instrument also helps reduce stress and alleviates stress.


Tips for taming cancer stress (May 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress

10 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress

Février 18, 2019

Le stress Cela affecte beaucoup de gens et ce n'est pas surprenant avec le style de vie des sociétés occidentales. Hans Selye, dans les années 50, fut l’un des pionniers de l’enquête sur ce phénomène.

Depuis lors, De nombreux experts ont apporté de plus en plus de connaissances sur ce qu'est le stress et comment il se produit et différents modèles ont vu le jour pour aider les personnes qui en souffrent, tels que Modèle de soutien social de contrôle de la demande de Karasek et Johnson (1986), qui affirme que la source du stress réside dans le déséquilibre entre les demandes existantes et le contrôle que la personne doit avoir pour répondre à ces demandes, et que le soutien social est pris en compte en tant que variable décisive qui affecte à ce phénomène à la fois directement et indirectement.


Le stress est un phénomène complexe

Le stress est généralement un phénomène complexe, en particulier sur le lieu de travail, où interviennent des variables du lieu de travail et de l'organisation, mais aussi les attentes d'un individu et sa capacité à faire face à des situations complexes.

Par conséquent, dans les cas extrêmes, il est nécessaire de consulter un expert si vous ne voulez pas finir par souffrir de ce que l’on appelle le syndrome de burnout ou de burning. Il est également essentiel de consulter un psychologue lorsque le stress est la conséquence d'une situation traumatique, qui peut nécessiter une intervention psychologique pour réduire la souffrance et traiter le problème à la racine.

10 astuces pour réduire le stress

Maintenant, si vous traversez une période où vous vous sentez stressé, vous avez commencé à remarquer que la situation dans laquelle vous vous trouvez est grande et affecte votre quotidien, dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, je vais vous donner Quelques astuces pour réduire la symptomatologie caractéristique de ce phénomène.


1. Gérez votre temps efficacement

Une mauvaise gestion du temps est l’une des causes de stress les plus fréquentes. Arriver en retard à tous les endroits, avoir la corbeille de courrier électronique pleine, étudier au dernier moment pour les examens, assumer de nombreuses tâches et ne pas en finir, etc., sont des situations qui causent de l'anxiété et un manque de contrôle .

Par conséquent, une organisation correcte du temps est le meilleur moyen de prévenir le stress. Si vous souhaitez apprendre à gérer votre temps efficacement, il existe un large éventail de cours et d'ateliers pour vous aider à garder le programme sous contrôle.

2. Ne soyez pas perfectionniste

Le perfectionnisme est la conviction que la perfection doit être atteinte dans tout ce qui est fait. Cela peut sembler positif, mais cela peut avoir des conséquences négatives, par exemple: être plus tendu et anxieux, ne pas profiter des réalisations ou être plus stressé .


Dans un article publié dans Infosalus, le psychologue Francesc Quer, secrétaire du Section de psychologie des organisations et du travail du collège officiel de psychologie de Catalogne, affirme: "La personne chez qui le perfectionnisme cause des problèmes est soumise à un stress important, présente des images d’anxiété et des symptômes qui masquent un degré élevé de stress".

3. Pratiquer le yoga

Le yoga est une pratique physique et mentale millénaire qui s'est répandue dans le monde entier en raison de ses avantages pour le corps et pour l'esprit. Il y a de plus en plus d'adeptes parce que est une discipline qui recherche le bien-être, la paix intérieure et implique un style de vie qui engage des habitudes saines .

À l’heure actuelle, il n’est pas surprenant que le rythme de vie actuel conduise de nombreuses personnes à souffrir de stress, ce qui entraîne des problèmes de santé psychologique. Nombreuses sont les études qui affirment que la pratique régulière du yoga est positive pour lutter contre ce phénomène. L’une d’elles est la recherche menée par Thirthalli et Naveen (2013), qui conclut que cette pratique millénaire réduit les niveaux de cortisol, une hormone libérée en réponse au stress et qui est nécessaire à la régulation et à la mobilise de l'énergie dans des situations stressantes. Maintenant, si nous avons trop de cortisol ou qu'il augmente dans des situations où nous n'en avons pas besoin, cela provoque des effets négatifs pour le corps et l'esprit.

4. Soyez positif

Cela ressemble à un sujet, mais c'est vrai, parce que comment vous pensez que cela a un effet sur votre niveau de stress . Si vous pensez négativement à vous-même ou à la situation, votre corps réagit par des tensions. Retrouver votre sens du contrôle et adopter une attitude positive face au stress peut vous aider à surmonter les situations les plus compliquées. Par conséquent, essayez de voir les situations de stress dans une perspective plus positive. Par exemple, une situation compliquée peut être considérée comme une opportunité d'apprentissage.

5. Manger et boire sainement

D'une part, le stress nous amène souvent à modifier nos habitudes en matière de santé. Par conséquent, dans les situations de stress, nous devons essayer de mener un mode de vie qui ne nous nuit pas. D'un autre côté, Un mode de vie malsain fait que nous avons moins de résistance au stress .

Manger sainement vous permet de bien vous nourrir pour faire face à des situations stressantes. Il est important de prendre un bon petit déjeuner, car sinon, on peut subir une perte d’énergie importante au cours de la journée. Substituer le thé vert au café et éviter les boissons sucrées telles que Coca-Cola peuvent également être des stratégies positives. Bien sûr, la consommation de cigarettes devrait être évitée et la consommation d'alcool devrait être modérée afin de garder l'esprit clair et d'éviter de cette manière la sortie facile au stress. Boire deux litres d'eau par jour aide à être plus concentré et à avoir une meilleure humeur.

6. Utilisez l'humour et le rire

Les bienfaits de l'humour et du rire sont multiples, physiquement et mentalement . C'est pourquoi la thérapie par le rire est utilisée pour gérer des situations stressantes et pour soulager le stress physique et émotionnel. La thérapie par le rire favorise la production de produits chimiques du bonheur tels que la sérotonine et réduit en outre les niveaux de cortisol, l'hormone liée au stress.

Voulez-vous en savoir plus sur cette thérapie alternative? Vous pouvez visiter notre article: "Thérapie par le rire: les bienfaits psychologiques du rire"

7. Pratiquer la pleine conscience

La pratique de Pleine conscience o On a montré que toute l’attention était efficace pour réduire les niveaux de stress. En fait, il existe un programme spécifique appelé "Programme de réduction du stress basé sur la pleine conscience (MSBR)" qui dure 8 semaines et qui, selon les différentes recherches, améliore la qualité de vie des personnes qui l’essaient, car enseigne la capacité d'être conscient et aide à cultiver des niveaux plus profonds d'attention et de compassion . Comme le yoga et la méditation, Mindfulness réduit les niveaux de cortisol, une hormone libérée en réponse au stress.

Ne savez-vous pas ce qu'est la pleine conscience? Dans notre article "La pleine conscience: 8 avantages de la pleine conscience", nous vous l'expliquons

8. Dors mieux

Tout le monde sait que Le stress peut causer des problèmes de sommeil . Mais, malheureusement, le manque de sommeil peut aussi causer du stress. Dormir correctement est nécessaire au repos de l’esprit et du corps.

La sensation de fatigue augmente le stress, car elle ne permet pas de penser clairement et peut aggraver la situation de stress et affecter notre humeur. Est-ce difficile pour toi de dormir dernièrement?

Voici quelques conseils pour mieux dormir: "10 principes de base pour une bonne hygiène de sommeil"

9. Faire de l'exercice physique

Beaucoup sont sûrement allés au gymnase pour se déconnecter plus d'une fois, car après une dure journée de travail, rien ne vaut une autre chose que d'aller jouer au paddle ou au kick boxing. En plus des avantages physiques de l'exercice, l'activité physique réduit également le stress.

L'exercice physique augmente la production de noradrénaline (noradrénaline), un neurotransmetteur qui peut modérer la réponse du cerveau au stress et qui produit des substances neurochimiques telles que les endorphines ou la sérotonine, qui aident à améliorer l'humeur.

10. Profiter du pouvoir de la musique

La musique peut avoir un effet positif profond sur les émotions et le corps. Si la musique avec un tempo rapide peut rendre une personne plus alerte, la musique avec un tempo plus lent peut détendre l'esprit et les muscles, aidant à relâcher la tension de la journée.

Pourtant, la musique se détend et est efficace pour la gestion du stress . En outre, selon plusieurs enquêtes, jouer d'un instrument contribue également à réduire le stress et à le réduire.


COMMENT ne PLUS être STRESSÉ : 9 astuces SCIENTIFIQUEMENT PROUVÉES (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes