yes, therapy helps!
10 movies about psychotherapists and psychiatrists

10 movies about psychotherapists and psychiatrists

June 19, 2024

There are many pieces of cinema that can be cataloged as movies about psychology, but there are not so many that explore the relationship between therapist or patient , or that show us the consequences that the step by the consultation of a psychologist or psychiatrist can have for a person.

This is a more specific issue, yes, but no less current, considering the number of people who rely on mental health professionals to reorient their lives, and the importance that the figure of the therapist has in our collective imagination . That's why a list of films about psychotherapists and psychiatrists makes sense: not only does it offer us clues about how society sees the figure of the therapist, but it can also transform the idea we have of this role.


Here you can find a selection of these movies. Surely they will happen to you more, so ... Welcome are the suggestions!

1. The strange passenger

We started the list of films about psychotherapy with a classic of the 40s that is, in turn, the adaptation to the cinema of a novel. It's about the history of Charlotte Vale , a woman long submitted to the will of her mother, that when he comes in contact with a psychologist he sees how the hunger for living life fully and autonomously begins . That's why he decides to start a trip that will disrupt his whole world.

2. Another woman

One of those films in which the influence of psychoanalysis is Woody Allen , the director of this tape. It is about a woman who, from the studio she has recently rented for work, is able to listen to the therapy sessions that are offered on the other side of her wall. As a second and involuntary patient, the protagonist will begin to ask herself, for the first time, questions that concern the existential foundations of her own life .


3. Running people

One of the great works of Robert Redford as a director and one of the best movies about psychotherapists, their patients and the harsh reality that many of them must face. Is about a drama that portrays with great sensitivity the chimeras of each character .

4. A dangerous method

The origins of psychoanalysis according to the director David Cronenberg , well known for his memorable remake of The fly and movies in which the industrial mixes with the organic. On this occasion, however, Cronenberg abandons the genre of terror and the strange relations between human beings and technology to talk about careers Carl Jung and Sigmund Freud and his methods to help his patients regulate their repressed desires .

5. Antwone Fisher

Film based on real events about a Marine who is forced to attend therapy for his violent behavior . This film was the premiere of Denzel Washington as a film director, and the truth is that it went very well: a sober film that treats with sensitivity the personal dramas of the young marine.


6. The indomitable Will Hunting

A title that previously appeared in the article about motivating films is also one of the best movies about psychotherapists . It is true that the relationship established between Will Hunting and the professor does not fit into the formal therapeutic framework of a psychological consultation, but it is no less true that the role of the character played by Robin Williams It emulates the role that some psychotherapists have when it comes to promoting the spirit of personal improvement of their patient.

7. What's wrong with Bob?

A comedy in which Bill Murray seems to want chase your psychiatrist even during the holidays this . Of course, the pretensions to the reflection of many films about psychotherapists and psychologists give way here to the simple desire to make people laugh and offer fun moments. We will not complain about that.

8. K-PAX

Dr. Powell sees how his own patient questions the fundamentals of his own reality , since it claims to come from another planet and seems to have an extraordinary capacity to find evidence in favor of its history. Besides having a script with hook, this is one of those films about psychotherapists and their relationship with patients with more commercial pull.

9. The limits of silence

The actor Andy García he plays Michael Hunter, a psychiatrist who has spent several years without working in consultation, decides to treat a young teenager apparently traumatized . However, the fact that Michael sees in the young man the son he lost years ago will endanger not only his therapeutic relationship with his patient, but even aspects that touch his own family.A film that makes us think about the limits of the relationship framework between the mental health professional and the people he serves.

10. A dangerous therapy

Finally, to add a touch of humor to the list of films about psychotherapists and patients, we remember that blockbuster movie in which Billy Crystal It looked forced to make therapy to a mafioso (interpreted, of course, by the magnificent Robert de Niro ).


Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 films sur les psychothérapeutes et les psychiatres

10 films sur les psychothérapeutes et les psychiatres

Mai 20, 2022

Il existe de nombreux morceaux de cinéma qui peuvent être catalogués comme des films sur la psychologie, mais il n'y en a pas beaucoup qui explorent la relation entre thérapeute ou patient , ou qui nous montrent les conséquences que le pas de la consultation d’un psychologue ou d’un psychiatre peut avoir sur une personne.

C’est une question plus spécifique, oui, mais non moins actuelle, compte tenu du nombre de personnes qui comptent sur les professionnels de la santé mentale pour réorienter leur vie. l'importance que la figure du thérapeute a dans notre imagination collective . C'est pourquoi une liste de films sur les psychothérapeutes et les psychiatres a du sens: non seulement elle nous donne des indices sur la façon dont la société voit la figure du thérapeute, mais elle peut aussi transformer l'idée que nous avons de ce rôle.


Ici vous pouvez trouver une sélection de ces films. Ils vous arriveront sûrement plus, alors ... Bienvenue sont les suggestions!

1. Le passager étrange

Nous avons commencé la liste des films sur la psychothérapie avec un classique des années 40, qui est à son tour l'adaptation au cinéma d'un roman. Il s'agit de l'histoire de Charlotte Vale , une femme longtemps soumise à la volonté de sa mère, lorsqu'il entre en contact avec un psychologue, il voit comment commence la soif de vivre pleinement et de manière autonome . C'est pourquoi il décide de commencer un voyage qui bouleversera tout son monde.

2. une autre femme

Un de ces films dans lequel l'influence de la psychanalyse est Woody Allen , le réalisateur de cette bande. Il s'agit d'une femme qui, du studio qu'elle a récemment loué pour travailler, est capable d'écouter les séances de thérapie proposées de l'autre côté de son mur. En tant que deuxième et involontaire patient, la protagoniste va commencer à se poser, pour la première fois, des questions concernant les fondements existentiels de sa propre vie .


3. Les gens qui courent

Une des grandes œuvres de Robert Redford en tant que réalisateur et l’un des meilleurs films sur les psychothérapeutes, leurs patients et la dure réalité à laquelle beaucoup d’entre eux doivent faire face. Il s'agit de un drame qui dépeint avec une grande sensibilité les chimères de chaque personnage .

4. Une méthode dangereuse

Les origines de la psychanalyse selon le directeur David Cronenberg , bien connu pour son mémorable refaire de La mouche et des films dans lesquels l’industriel se mêle à l’organique. À cette occasion, Cronenberg abandonne le genre de terreur et les relations étranges entre l'homme et la technologie. parler de carrières Carl Jung et Sigmund Freud et ses méthodes pour aider ses patients à réguler leurs désirs réprimés .

5. Antwone Fisher

Film basé sur des événements réels sur un marin qui est obligé d'assister à la thérapie pour son comportement violent . Ce film a été la première de Denzel Washington en tant que réalisateur, et la vérité est que cela s’est très bien passé: un film sobre qui traite avec sensibilité les drames personnels de la jeune marine.


6. La chasse indomptable

Un titre paru précédemment dans l'article sur la motivation des films est également l'un des meilleurs films sur les psychothérapeutes . Il est vrai que la relation établie entre Va chasser et le professeur ne s'inscrit pas dans le cadre thérapeutique formel d'une consultation psychologique, mais il n'en est pas moins vrai que le rôle du personnage joué par Robin Williams Il imite le rôle que certains psychothérapeutes jouent lorsqu'il s'agit de promouvoir l'esprit d'amélioration personnelle de leur patient.

7. Quel est le problème avec Bob?

Une comédie dans laquelle Bill Murray semble vouloir chasser votre psychiatre même pendant les vacances cette . Bien entendu, les prétentions à la réflexion de nombreux films sur les psychothérapeutes et les psychologues cèdent la place au simple désir de faire rire les gens et d’offrir des moments de plaisir. Nous ne nous plaindrons pas à ce sujet.

8. K-PAX

Dr. Powell voit comment son propre patient questionne les fondements de sa propre réalité , puisqu'il prétend venir d'une autre planète et semble avoir une capacité extraordinaire de trouver des preuves en faveur de son histoire. En plus d'avoir un script avec hook, c'est l'un de ces films sur les psychothérapeutes et leurs relations avec des patients plus attractifs.

9. Les limites du silence

L'acteur Andy García il joue Michael Hunter, un psychiatre qui a passé plusieurs années sans travailler en consultation décide de traiter un jeune adolescent apparemment traumatisé . Cependant, le fait que Michael voie dans le jeune homme le fils qu'il a perdu il y a des années mettra en danger non seulement sa relation thérapeutique avec son patient, mais même des aspects qui touchent sa propre famille.Un film qui nous fait penser aux limites du cadre relationnel entre le professionnel de la santé mentale et les personnes qu’il sert.

10. Une thérapie dangereuse

Enfin, pour ajouter une touche d'humour à la liste des films sur les psychothérapeutes et les patients, nous nous souvenons de ce film à succès dans lequel Billy Crystal se voyait forcé de faire une thérapie à un mafieux (bien entendu interprété par le magnifique Robert de Niro ).


Profession : Psychologue du crime (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes