yes, therapy helps!
10 phrases you should never say in a job interview, experts say

10 phrases you should never say in a job interview, experts say

June 17, 2024

If you have given your Curriculum Vitae to a company and you have been selected to attend an interview, there is something about your profile that has made the company consider that you are a good candidate to join its staff.

Now it's up to you to leave a good taste in the interview so that the recruiter decides that the candidate who should occupy that position that is offered is you and not another.

Phrases you should never say in a job interview

In today's article we have the collaboration of Jonathan García-Allen , Director of Communication of the journal Psychology and Mind and expert in selection of personnel, so that it offers you some tips that help you to not make mistakes and maximize your chances of success.


Next we show you a list of phrases that you should not mention in a job interview .

1. I do not like team work

"One of the skills that companies value most today is teamwork, because it promotes creativity and learning, mixes complementary strengths, improves performance, reduces stress for workers and increases the productivity of the company", argues the expert psychologist in Human Resources.

"Saying that you do not like teamwork is practically saying goodbye to the job you aspire to," said García-Allen. So do not play it and make it clear that you consider that teamwork is important not only for the worker, but also for the company .


  • Related article: "The 5 benefits of teamwork"

2. I do not know anything about this company

"Introducing yourself in a job interview without knowing anything about the company shows that you have little interest. Nowadays, thanks to the internet, it is easy to gather information about the sector in which the company is developing and what is the product that it offers, "explains the expert. If you want to leave a good image, Do your research and make sure you know the basic aspects of the organization . In this way, the interviewer will know that you really want the job.

3. Any phrase that includes criticism of the previous company

"It is usual that in a job interview you ask one or two questions about your old job. You should not take this as an opportunity to verbalize that resentment that you have inside (if you ended up wrong) with phrases like "I had a bad relationship with my boss," advises Jonathan García-Allen.


You should try to give a positive image to avoid looking spiteful and vengeful , and do not forget that recruiters evaluate your verbal and nonverbal language during an interview, so be calm and do not speak ill of your old job. This makes you a kind, pleasant and ideal person to work in a team, which is what companies are looking for nowadays.

5. I'm only interested in money

It is clear that money is an important aspect when choosing a job and nobody likes to work for free, but companies value workers who are committed to the company and show interest beyond the economic .

Logically, it is also the company's mission to offer motivating conditions to workers. But if they ask you "Why would you like to work in this company?", Highlights other qualities of this, those that have more to do with the emotional side of people, such as: "is a leader in your sector" or " I think I can grow and develop professionally. "

5. When will I have a vacation?

"Asking questions such as when you will have vacations and expose how relaxed you would like the work environment to be in the office can have negative results," García-Allen points out.

Although good working conditions are good for both the employee and the company, it improves productivity, asking this question can make you look like a hard-working person in the eyes of the recruiter . Show yourself as a person who is enthusiastic about being able to occupy the place of work that is offered and avoids giving the image of a hard-working person. No recruiter wants someone to escape at the first sign of change.

6. I have other job offers

It may seem that doing the interesting thing is going to attract the recruiter, but what will really attract the attention of the person interviewing you is the skills you have for the position that is offered. Saying you have many job offers will make you look like a smug person and may seem forced . "Limítate to expose your best version and makes clear why you are the ideal candidate to fill that position you so desire," suggests Garcia-Allen.

7. Phrases that include lies

"Lying in an interview is not a good option . While you can try to direct the interview in a way that highlights the positive aspects of your person, you should not say things that are not true because sooner or later they can catch you "the psychologist tells us.

Regarding this, Garcia-Allen points out that "False your work experience or your professional profile can lead you to look bad not only during the interview, but at the time to prove your worth, you may not be the right person for the position, which is a waste of time for you and the company. "

8. I do not know myself

It is usual that during the course of a job interview the question "What are the three virtues and defects that you have?" Appears. This question, that what is intended is to know your qualities and your degree of sincerity, you must respond.

Jonathan Garcia-Allen, explains that "Saying 'you do not know' makes it clear that you are a person who has no knowledge of their strengths and have a weak personality. Self-knowledge is closely related to self-confidence and personal development of people, and is key to the worker's performance. " If you do not know yourself, how do you know you want that job?

9. I have no questions

While bombing the interviewer with questions is not good, it is important to show curiosity . At the end of the job interview, the recruiter usually asks if the candidate has more questions and in this case it is appropriate to do them.

"The recruiters feel more impressed with the questions that the candidates ask than with the answers they give, because for them it is also a source of information about the qualities of these," says the psychologist of the organizations. Questions like: "I have seen that your company has won several awards. What gives you a competitive advantage? "Can show interest in the company and desire to do well within it.

10. I was fired from my old job

Sometimes, the reason for terminating a contract in a company is dismissal . But if this has happened to you, better not say it with those words in a job interview.

For this, he resorts to other alternatives such as "it was not what I was looking for but I learned new skills and new ways of working, for what I have served for something". As Garcia-Allen recommends: "Do not say the word -speed-. Turn the negative around and highlight the positive, do not lie and do not speak ill of your previous company. "


4 SMART Things You Should Say and Do in a Job Interview (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 phrases à ne jamais dire dans un entretien d'embauche, disent les experts

10 phrases à ne jamais dire dans un entretien d'embauche, disent les experts

Juin 5, 2020

Si vous avez confié votre Curriculum Vitae à une entreprise et que vous avez été sélectionné pour une entrevue, votre profil a quelque chose qui a amené l'entreprise à considérer que vous êtes un bon candidat pour rejoindre son personnel.

C’est à vous maintenant de laisser un bon goût à l’entretien pour que le recruteur décide que le candidat qui devrait occuper le poste qui vous est proposé est vous et pas un autre.

Phrases à ne jamais dire dans un entretien d'embauche

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous avons la collaboration de Jonathan García-Allen , Directeur de la communication de la revue Psychology and Mind et expert en sélection de personnel, vous propose des astuces qui vous aideront à ne pas commettre d’erreur et à maximiser vos chances de succès.


Ensuite nous vous montrons une liste de phrases à ne pas mentionner lors d'un entretien d'embauche .

1. Je n'aime pas le travail en équipe

"L'une des compétences que les entreprises apprécient le plus aujourd'hui est le travail d'équipe, car il favorise la créativité et l'apprentissage, associe des forces complémentaires, améliore les performances, réduit le stress des travailleurs et augmente la productivité de l'entreprise", argumente l'expert psychologue en ressources humaines.

"Dire que vous n'aimez pas le travail d'équipe, c'est pratiquement dire au revoir au travail auquel vous aspirez", a déclaré García-Allen. Alors ne joue pas et expliquez clairement que vous considérez que le travail d'équipe est important non seulement pour le travailleur, mais également pour l'entreprise .


  • Article connexe: "Les 5 avantages du travail d'équipe"

2. Je ne sais rien de cette entreprise

"Se présenter à un entretien d'embauche sans rien savoir de l'entreprise montre que vous avez peu d'intérêt. De nos jours, grâce à Internet, il est facile de rassembler des informations sur le secteur dans lequel l'entreprise se développe et sur le produit qu'elle propose ", explique l'expert. Si vous voulez laisser une bonne image, Faites vos recherches et assurez-vous de connaître les aspects fondamentaux de l'organisation . De cette façon, l'intervieweur saura que vous voulez vraiment le travail.

3. Toute phrase comportant une critique de la société précédente

"Dans un entretien d'embauche, vous posez habituellement une ou deux questions sur votre ancien emploi. Ne prenez pas cette occasion pour verbaliser le ressentiment que vous avez à l'intérieur (si vous vous trompez) avec des phrases telles que "J'ai eu une mauvaise relation avec mon patron", conseille Jonathan García-Allen.


Vous devriez essayer de donner une image positive pour éviter de paraître méchant et vengeur , et n'oubliez pas que les recruteurs évaluent votre langage verbal et non verbal pendant un entretien, alors restez calme et ne parlez pas mal de votre ancien emploi. Cela fait de vous une personne aimable, agréable et idéale pour travailler en équipe, ce que les entreprises recherchent actuellement.

5. Je ne m'intéresse qu'à l'argent

Il est clair que l’argent est un aspect important du choix d’un emploi et que personne n’a envie de travailler gratuitement. les entreprises valorisent les travailleurs qui s’engagent pour la société et manifestent un intérêt au-delà du contexte économique. .

Logiquement, la mission de l'entreprise est également d'offrir des conditions motivantes aux travailleurs. Mais s’ils vous demandent "Pourquoi voudriez-vous travailler dans cette entreprise?", Souligne d’autres qualités, celles qui ont plus à voir avec le côté émotionnel des gens, telles que: "est un leader de votre secteur" ou " Je pense que je peux grandir et me développer professionnellement. "

5. Quand aurai-je des vacances?

"Poser des questions telles que le moment où vous partez en vacances et exposez la décontraction que vous souhaiteriez pour l'environnement de travail au bureau peut avoir des résultats négatifs", souligne García-Allen.

Bien que de bonnes conditions de travail soient bénéfiques pour l’employé et pour l’entreprise, elles améliorent la productivité, poser cette question peut vous faire ressembler à une personne qui travaille dur aux yeux du recruteur . Montrez-vous comme une personne enthousiaste à l'idée d'occuper la place de travail qui lui est proposée et évite de donner l'image d'une personne qui travaille dur. Aucun recruteur ne veut que quelqu'un s'échappe au premier signe de changement.

6. J'ai d'autres offres d'emploi

Il peut sembler que faire ce qui est intéressant va attirer le recruteur, mais ce qui va vraiment attirer l'attention de la personne qui vous interviewe, ce sont les compétences que vous avez pour le poste proposé. Dire que vous avez de nombreuses offres d’emploi vous fera ressembler à une personne insatisfaisante et peut paraître forcé. . "Limitez pour exposer votre meilleure version et explique clairement pourquoi vous êtes le candidat idéal pour pourvoir le poste que vous souhaitez," suggère Garcia-Allen.

7. Phrases qui incluent des mensonges

"Mentir dans une interview n'est pas une bonne option . Tandis que vous pouvez essayer de diriger l'entretien de manière à mettre en valeur les aspects positifs de votre personne, vous ne devriez pas dire des choses qui ne sont pas vraies, car tôt ou tard elles pourront vous surprendre ", nous dit le psychologue.

Garcia-Allen fait remarquer que "Faux, votre expérience professionnelle ou votre profil professionnel peuvent vous amener à mal paraître non seulement pendant l'entretien, mais aussi à prouver votre valeur, vous n'êtes peut-être pas la bonne personne pour le poste, ce qui est une perte de temps pour vous et pour l'entreprise ".

8. Je ne me connais pas

Au cours d'un entretien d'embauche, il est habituel de poser la question "Quelles sont les trois vertus et les défauts que vous avez?" Cette question, que vous voulez savoir, est de connaître vos qualités et votre degré de sincérité, vous devez y répondre.

Jonathan Garcia-Allen explique qu '"en disant" vous ne savez pas "montre clairement que vous êtes une personne qui n'a aucune connaissance de ses forces et une personnalité faible. La connaissance de soi est étroitement liée à la confiance en soi et au développement personnel des personnes, et est essentielle à la performance du travailleur. " Si vous ne vous connaissez pas, comment savez-vous que vous voulez ce travail?

9. Je n'ai pas de questions

Bien que bombarder l'intervieweur avec des questions ne soit pas une bonne chose, il est important de faire preuve de curiosité . À la fin de l'entretien d'embauche, le recruteur demande généralement si le candidat a d'autres questions et, dans ce cas, il convient de les poser.

"Les recruteurs se sentent plus impressionnés par les questions posées par les candidats que par les réponses qu'ils donnent, car pour eux, c'est aussi une source d'informations sur les qualités de celles-ci", explique le psychologue des organisations. Des questions telles que: "J'ai vu que votre entreprise avait remporté plusieurs prix. Qu'est-ce qui vous donne un avantage concurrentiel? "Peut montrer de l'intérêt pour l'entreprise et le désir d'y réussir.

10. J'ai été viré de mon ancien emploi

Parfois, le motif de résiliation d'un contrat dans une entreprise est le licenciement . Mais si cela vous est arrivé, mieux vaut ne pas le dire avec ces mots lors d'un entretien d'embauche.

Pour cela, il recourt à d'autres alternatives telles que "ce n'était pas ce que je cherchais mais j'ai acquis de nouvelles compétences et de nouvelles méthodes de travail, pour ce que j'ai servi pour quelque chose". Comme le recommande Garcia-Allen: "Ne dites pas le mot" vitesse ". Retournez le négatif et mettez en valeur le positif, ne mentez pas et ne parlez pas mal de votre entreprise précédente. "


????Entretien d'embauche : comment le réussir ? ( Conseils pratiques) (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes