yes, therapy helps!
10 signs and symptoms of people with OCD

10 signs and symptoms of people with OCD

May 6, 2021

If you are one of those people who wash their hands every ten minutes, or you have an obsession because your closet is ordered according to a perfect chromatic scale, surely on some occasion you have been told that you suffer Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) .

Recommended reading: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: what is it and how does it manifest?"

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: how to know if you suffer?

In many cases, small "manias" for cleaning or other rituals may not be a psychological problem. In fact, there are people who may prefer to wash their hands very often, but who do not have the obsessive need to perform this act of cleansing. We would be talking about a case of preference.


However, other people can not avoid carrying out this type of compulsions in their day to day. These people suffer from a disorder called Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD), an affectation that, in addition to the already mentioned compulsive rituals, also refers to the obsessive thoughts with which they must deal with on a daily basis. OCD affects 1% of adults in the United States .

Signs, symptoms and signs of people suffering from OCD

How can we know if someone shows signs and symptoms of needing professional help? OCD is a complex disorder and there are multiple diagnostic tests that help mental health professionals to know if a person has this disorder.


In addition, OCD can manifest itself sub-clinical, that is, that there are individuals who are affected by some of their characteristic signals, but not others. They are cases of OCD that do not meet the minimum diagnostic criteria, but that undoubtedly pose a relative problem for the well-being of the person.

10 Signs and Symptoms of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

There are certain behavioral patterns and symptoms that can warn us that we are dealing with a person suffering from some degree of OCD. These are the ten most usual .

1. Washing your hands compulsively

Washing hands compulsively or using products to disinfect the hands is usually a sign of OCD . This category of people who wash very often are considered a "subtype" within the people affected with OCD.

This act of constant cleansing is motivated by his fear of germs. But it can also be due to the phobia of contracting infectious diseases or infecting someone.


How to seek help if you suffer (or know someone who suffers) this symptom? If you think often about the danger of germs and wash your hands, are afraid of not having washed them thoroughly or feel a permanent and irrational phobia to get some disease (such as AIDS or an infection), you may have one of the main signs of compulsive hand washing. It is also a negative signal that you feel the need to have routines for this type of cleanings, such as having to go every two hours to wash.

2. Meticulous and excessive cleaning

Another category among people who suffer from OCD is that of "cleaners". As can be easily deduced, the cleaners are those individuals who cleanse compulsively . They can sweep, scrub and disinfect their homes to avoid germs or the feeling of impurity. Although the act of cleansing soothes your obsessive thoughts temporarily, you soon feel the urge to clean up even more thoroughly than you did last time.

You should think about seeking professional help if you spend several hours a day cleaning. In spite of everything, and although obsessively cleaning is a sign that we can suffer some psychological imbalance, it is not necessarily a sign linked to OCD. Obsessive cleansing can be related to anxiety pictures.

Related post: "Obsession for cleanliness: causes, characteristics and advice"

3. Review behavior

Revision behaviors consist in the person having the need to go back 3.4 or 20 times to check if the oven is on or not, if the door has been left open or closed. It is one of the compulsions most frequently linked to OCD, and affects almost 35% of people who suffer .

As with other compulsive behaviors, revisions can lead to a series of obsessions, such as an irrational fear of harm or feelings of irresponsibility.

Is it necessary to seek help if someone presents this sign? Well, it depends. It is normal that we sometimes check some things, as if we have left the gas on or if we have closed the car properly. But if the review negatively interferes with daily life, and for example, makes us late to the sites, it can be a clear sign of OCD.

4. Count

Some people who have Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder perform tasks according to certain numerical patterns, or mentally count while doing their daily chores , for example when washing dishes or climbing stairs. These behaviors can be manifestations of superstitions or irrational beliefs such as, for example, believing that the number 7 is the lucky number, and that can lead them to take seven steps when crossing a pedestrian crossing. This can be a danger.

Is this sign worrying? Depends on the context. Does it make sense to do it? Probably, in some situations it is convenient to count. But people with OCD count in an obsessive way and in contexts in which nothing positive contributes, but rather the opposite: they can put themselves in danger or see how their thoughts are sequestered by this pathological habit: they can not get the numbers and the habit of counting.

5. Organization

People who suffer from OCD they can be extremely organized , and tend toward perfectionism. Everything must be ordered symmetrically, or following a perfect chromatic order, etc. It is a sign that alludes to his need to order everything in an unhealthy way.

We must seek help if we see that our need to order things goes beyond the rational. It is natural and perfectly logical that we want to have our desk well organized and with the tools at hand, but if we feel the need for all pens and pencils to be ordered according to some perfectionist criteria (for example, the year in which we acquired each one of them) ) and we feel anxiety if they are not as we think they should be ordered, we may need to talk with a psychologist.

6. Awe towards violence

We all take care not to expose ourselves to dangers that may mean that our physical integrity is diminished. We all flee (to a greater or lesser extent) from violent situations and from dangers. Also, from time to time, we think about the possibility that we might suffer an accident. The more we try to get rid of these kinds of negative thoughts, the more they come to us, as several scientific investigations show. But this is especially true for people who suffer OCD, who they can try to eliminate those thoughts, without success, or they can be very upset by the recurrence of this kind of fatalistic ideas .

When to seek help? Negative thoughts do not only affect people with OCD. We all have them quite frequently. But the sign that we suffer from OCD is shown when we perform behaviors (or stop carrying them out) to avoid possible dangers, such as not getting on a car or constantly warning someone of the danger of using the gas stove.

7. Disruptive sexual thoughts

As with violent thoughts, People with OCD can experience recurring thoughts about sexual issues . These thoughts cause discomfort, because they are often disturbing and completely unwanted. For example, you can imagine having homosexual relationships being heterosexual (or vice versa).

These obsessive thoughts can be very annoying and can lead someone who suffers from OCD to get away from certain people with whom they consider that "puts their sexuality at risk". This may be a sign that we should seek professional support.

8. Obsession with your romantic partners

People who have OCD also They are characterized by having obsessive thoughts towards their romantic partners . And, on occasion, they can also manifest this symptom towards their friends, co-workers and other acquaintances. For example, they are so obsessed with breaking a relationship that they can not overcome a false rumor about their partner's fidelity.

This psychological problem can be reflected in the discomfort to face the uncertainty, and can dynamite many of your personal relationships.

The sentimental ruptures generate a situation of stress and sadness, and it is normal that we even feel a little obsessed with him or her. But the sign of OCD occurs when these thoughts become encyst in our mind and generate an excessive feeling of guilt, failure or fear.

9. Security search

The way in which some people with OCD try to mitigate their anxiety is based on Ask the opinion of your relatives if their behavior is visible or annoying to others . They may feel very worried and uncomfortable during a party, and resort to certain compulsions or rituals to feel safe with themselves.

What are the behaviors that are cause for warning? People who use a friend to calm their anxiety with constant questions may have OCD.

10. Hate your physical appearance

Body Dysmorphic Disorder is usually an affectation related to OCD. People with BDD they fix themselves obsessively on some feature of their body that they consider as asymmetric, disproportionate or simply unsightly (it can be the nose, the skin, the eyes, the ears ... or any other part of the body). These obsessive thoughts are quite similar to those suffered by people with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. In fact, they are disorders that are often interconnected and suffered simultaneously.

This does not mean that anyone who dislikes any part of their physique suffers TDC, of ​​course.But subjects with BDD can develop features of OCD. If the influence of this supposed physical defect in your daily routine and in your psychological balance is remarkable, it will be necessary to seek psychological help.


Treatment for Children with OCD (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 signes et symptômes de personnes atteintes de TOC

10 signes et symptômes de personnes atteintes de TOC

Février 18, 2019

Si vous êtes une de ces personnes qui se lavent les mains toutes les dix minutes ou si vous avez une obsession parce que votre penderie est ordonnée selon une gamme chromatique parfaite, vous avez sûrement déjà entendu dire que vous souffriez Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) .

Lecture recommandée: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif: de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif: comment savoir si vous souffrez?

Dans de nombreux cas, de petites "manies" pour le nettoyage ou d'autres rituels peuvent ne pas être un problème psychologique. En fait, il y a des gens qui préfèrent se laver les mains très souvent, mais qui n'ont pas le besoin obsessionnel d'accomplir cet acte de nettoyage. Nous parlerions d'un cas de préférence.


Cependant, d’autres personnes ne peuvent éviter de subir ce type de compulsions au quotidien. Ces personnes souffrent d'un trouble appelé trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC), une affection qui, en plus des rituels compulsifs déjà mentionnés, fait également référence aux pensées obsessionnelles avec lesquelles elles doivent composer quotidiennement. Le TOC affecte 1% des adultes aux États-Unis .

Signes, symptômes et signes de personnes souffrant de TOC

Comment pouvons-nous savoir si une personne présente des signes et symptômes de l'aide d'un professionnel? Le TOC est un trouble complexe et de nombreux tests de diagnostic aident les professionnels de la santé mentale à savoir si une personne est atteinte de ce trouble.


En outre, le TOC peut se manifester de manière subclinique, c’est-à-dire que certains individus sont affectés par certains de leurs signaux caractéristiques, mais pas d’autres. Ce sont des cas de TOC qui ne répondent pas aux critères de diagnostic minimum, mais qui posent sans aucun doute un problème relatif pour le bien-être de la personne.

10 signes et symptômes du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Certains modèles de comportement et certains symptômes peuvent nous avertir que nous avons affaire à une personne souffrant d'un certain degré de TOC. Ce sont les dix plus habituels .

1. Se laver les mains de manière compulsive

Se laver les mains de façon compulsive ou utiliser des produits pour se désinfecter les mains est généralement un signe de TOC . Cette catégorie de personnes qui se lavent très souvent est considérée comme un "sous-type" parmi les personnes atteintes de TOC.

Cet acte de nettoyage constant est motivé par sa peur des germes. Mais cela peut aussi être dû à la phobie de contracter des maladies infectieuses ou d'infecter quelqu'un.


Comment demander de l'aide si vous souffrez (ou connaissez quelqu'un qui souffre) de ce symptôme? Si vous pensez souvent au danger des germes et que vous vous lavez les mains, si vous avez peur de ne pas les avoir lavés à fond ou si vous ressentez une phobie permanente et irrationnelle pour contracter une maladie (comme le SIDA ou une infection), l'un des principaux signes de lavage compulsif des mains. C'est également un signe négatif que vous ressentez le besoin de mettre en place des routines pour ce type de nettoyages, par exemple devoir aller toutes les deux heures pour se laver.

2. Nettoyage méticuleux et excessif

Une autre catégorie de personnes souffrant de TOC est celle des «nettoyeurs». Comme on peut facilement en déduire, les nettoyeurs sont ceux qui nettoient de façon compulsive . Ils peuvent balayer, nettoyer et désinfecter leurs maisons pour éviter les germes ou le sentiment d'impureté. Bien que l'acte de purification apaise temporairement vos pensées obsessionnelles, vous ressentez le besoin de nettoyer encore plus en profondeur que la dernière fois.

Vous devriez penser à faire appel à un professionnel si vous passez plusieurs heures par jour à nettoyer. Malgré tout, et même si le nettoyage obsessionnel est un signe que nous pouvons souffrir d’un déséquilibre psychologique, ce n’est pas nécessairement un signe lié au TOC. Le nettoyage obsessionnel peut être lié à des images d'anxiété.

Article connexe: "Obsession de la propreté: causes, caractéristiques et conseils"

3. Revoir le comportement

Les comportements de révision impliquent que la personne ait besoin de revenir 3,4 ou 20 fois en arrière pour vérifier si le four est allumé ou non, si la porte a été laissée ouverte ou fermée. C’est l’une des compulsions les plus fréquemment liées aux TOC, et affecte près de 35% des personnes qui souffrent .

Comme avec d'autres comportements compulsifs, les révisions peuvent mener à une série d'obsessions, telles qu'une peur irrationnelle du mal ou des sentiments d'irresponsabilité.

Est-il nécessaire de demander de l'aide si quelqu'un présente ce signe? Ça dépend. Il est normal que nous vérifiions parfois certaines choses, comme si nous avions laissé de l'essence ou si nous avions bien fermé la voiture. Mais si l'examen interfère négativement avec la vie quotidienne et, par exemple, nous retarde sur les sites, cela peut être un signe clair d'OCD.

4. Compter

Certaines personnes atteintes de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif effectuer des tâches selon certains modèles numériques, ou compter mentalement tout en effectuant leurs tâches quotidiennes , par exemple lors de la vaisselle ou des escaliers. Ces comportements peuvent être des manifestations de superstitions ou des croyances irrationnelles telles que, par exemple, croire que le chiffre 7 est le chiffre chanceux, ce qui peut les amener à franchir sept étapes lors du franchissement d'un passage pour piétons. Cela peut être un danger.

Ce signe est-il inquiétant? Cela dépend du contexte. Cela a-t-il un sens de le faire? Probablement, dans certaines situations, il est commode de compter. Mais les personnes atteintes de TOC comptent de manière obsessionnelle et dans des contextes où rien de positif ne contribue, mais plutôt le contraire: elles peuvent se mettre en danger ou voir comment leurs pensées sont piégées par cette habitude pathologique: elles ne peuvent pas obtenir le chiffres et l'habitude de compter.

5. Organisation

Les personnes qui souffrent de TOC ils peuvent être extrêmement organisés et tendent au perfectionnisme. Tout doit être commandé symétriquement, ou selon un ordre chromatique parfait, etc. C'est un signe qui fait allusion à son besoin de tout ordonner d'une manière malsaine.

Nous devons demander de l'aide si nous constatons que notre besoin de commander va au-delà du rationnel. Il est naturel et parfaitement logique que nous voulions que notre bureau soit bien organisé et avec les outils à portée de main, mais si nous ressentons le besoin de commander tous les stylos et crayons selon des critères perfectionnistes (par exemple, l'année d'acquisition de chacun d'eux) ) et nous sommes angoissés s’ils ne sont pas comme nous pensons qu’ils devraient être ordonnés, nous pourrions avoir besoin de parler à un psychologue.

6. Crainte face à la violence

Nous prenons tous soin de ne pas nous exposer à des dangers pouvant nuire à notre intégrité physique. Nous fuyons tous (dans une mesure plus ou moins grande) des situations violentes et des dangers. De plus, nous pensons de temps en temps à la possibilité d’un accident. Plus nous essayons de nous débarrasser de ce type de pensées négatives, plus elles nous parviennent, comme le montrent plusieurs enquêtes scientifiques. Mais cela est particulièrement vrai pour les personnes qui souffrent de TOC, qui ils peuvent essayer d'éliminer ces pensées, sans succès, ou ils peuvent être très contrariés par la répétition de ce genre d'idées fatalistes .

Quand demander de l'aide? Les pensées négatives n'affectent pas seulement les personnes atteintes de TOC. Nous les avons tous assez souvent. Mais le signe que nous souffrons de TOC apparaît lorsque nous adoptons des comportements (ou que nous arrêtons de les adopter) pour éviter des dangers potentiels, tels que ne pas monter dans une voiture ou avertir constamment une personne du danger de l'utilisation du réchaud à gaz.

7. pensées sexuelles perturbatrices

Comme avec des pensées violentes, Les personnes atteintes de TOC peuvent avoir des pensées récurrentes sur des problèmes sexuels . Ces pensées sont gênantes, car elles sont souvent dérangeantes et totalement indésirables. Par exemple, vous pouvez imaginer que les relations homosexuelles soient hétérosexuelles (ou inversement).

Ces pensées obsessionnelles peuvent être très ennuyeuses et peuvent amener une personne atteinte de TOC à s'éloigner de certaines personnes avec qui, à leur avis, cela "met leur sexualité en péril". Cela peut être un signe que nous devrions chercher un soutien professionnel.

8. Obsession avec vos partenaires amoureux

Les personnes qui ont un TOC aussi Ils sont caractérisés par avoir des pensées obsessionnelles envers leurs partenaires romantiques . Et, à l'occasion, ils peuvent aussi manifester ce symptôme envers leurs amis, collègues et autres connaissances. Par exemple, ils sont tellement obsédés par la rupture d'une relation qu'ils ne peuvent pas surmonter une fausse rumeur concernant la fidélité de leur partenaire.

Ce problème psychologique peut se traduire par la gêne à affronter l'incertitude et peut dynamiser bon nombre de vos relations personnelles.

Les ruptures sentimentales génèrent une situation de stress et de tristesse, et il est normal que nous nous sentions même un peu obsédés par lui. Mais le signe du TOC se produit lorsque ces pensées s’enveloppent dans notre esprit et génèrent un sentiment excessif de culpabilité, d’échec ou de peur.

9. Recherche de sécurité

Certaines personnes atteintes de TOC essaient d’atténuer leur anxiété sont basées sur Demandez l'avis de vos proches si leur comportement est visible ou gênant pour les autres . Ils peuvent se sentir très inquiets et mal à l'aise pendant une soirée et avoir recours à certaines contraintes ou à certains rituels pour se sentir en sécurité avec eux-mêmes.

Quels sont les comportements qui sont à l'origine de l'avertissement? Les personnes qui utilisent un ami pour calmer leur anxiété avec des questions constantes peuvent avoir un TOC.

10. Déteste ton apparence physique

Le trouble dysmorphique corporel est généralement une affection liée au TOC. Personnes atteintes de BDD ils se fixent de manière obsessionnelle sur certaines caractéristiques de leur corps qu’ils considèrent comme asymétriques, disproportionnées ou simplement disgracieuses (cela peut être le nez, la peau, les yeux, les oreilles ... ou toute autre partie du corps). Ces pensées obsessionnelles ressemblent beaucoup à celles des personnes atteintes de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif. En fait, ce sont des troubles souvent interconnectés et subis simultanément.

Cela ne signifie pas que ceux qui n'aiment pas une partie de leur corps souffrent du TDC, bien sûr.Mais les sujets avec BDD peuvent développer des caractéristiques d'OCD. Si l'influence de ce défaut physique supposé sur votre routine quotidienne et sur votre équilibre psychologique est remarquable, il sera nécessaire de rechercher une aide psychologique.


TOCS - Reportage 2016 (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes