yes, therapy helps!
10 signs and symptoms to identify Autism

10 signs and symptoms to identify Autism

May 6, 2021

Autism is characterized by the alteration of the individual's ability to communicate and establish social relationships, and by the existence of repetitive behaviors. This neurological disorder manifests in 1 out of every 100 births .

It is a complex condition that affects the development of the child, is usually diagnosed around 3 years, and there are no differences in their appearance in different cultures or social classes. It is more common in boys than girls. and according to the DSM-V belongs to autistic spectrum disorder (ASD).

Related article: "15 films that talk about Autism"

Signs to detect Autism

Each individual with autism experiences the symptoms differently and with different degrees of severity. But nevertheless, The following 10 signs and symptoms are considered as the warning signs of autism in children :


1. Disconnection with others

Children with autism tend to be distant or disconnected with loved ones (parents, siblings, etc.). For example, it may appear that they have no emotional connection to these people and do not understand the difference between facial signals. In other words, children with autism often do not react differently to a frown or a smile from someone else.

The studies carried out regarding this disorder indicate that people with autism can not formulate an explanation to the thought or behavior of others. that is, they present a deficit in the theory of the mind. The theory of the mind refers to the ability to put oneself in the place of the other.


2. The apparent lack of empathy

Another common characteristic of children with autism and that also has to do with the theory of the mind, is that they have difficulties empathizing with others. Although lack of empathy may be difficult to detect and evaluate in infants and young children effectively, there are specific cues that show a lack of empathy.

Autistic children seem to have difficulty understanding or appreciating situations from the perspective of other people. This is because they think that everyone understands the world as they do, which can cause confusion or the inability to foresee or understand the actions of others.

3. They are indifferent to social interactions

The vast majority of children are very sociable in a natural way. However, children with autism do not spend time looking at each other's faces, responding by hearing their name, imitating others' facial expressions, or holding each other's hands during the game. Instead, lchildren with autism often do not seem very interested in participating in normal games and activities of child development , including the socialization and imitation of other people.


These signs begin to manifest at 18 months of age, and as socialization with others continues, the symptoms may be more noticeable. For example, at 3 years of age, normal children often want to play with toys with other children. Autistic children, on the other hand, prefer to play alone .

4. Presence of emotional outbursts

In some cases, children with autism may show disproportionate emotional reactions in apparently normal situations . For example, temper tantrums inappropriate to the context or physically aggressive behavior towards themselves (for example, banging their heads), their parents, siblings or others.

They may seem unable to control their emotions and physical responses, especially when they are in new, strange, or stressful situations. Parents should carefully monitor their children's social responses throughout their development, and be familiar with the important moments and expectations of behavior a child should show when he or she reaches a certain age. Although it is relatively rare, this type of emotional outbursts should be taken into account and a specialist mentioned , because it can help to make a correct diagnosis.

5. Delay in language development

At 2 years of age, Most babies begin to babble or imitate the language of those who interact with them , and uttering a single word when they point to an object or try to get their parents' attention.

However, children with autism do not begin to babble or talk until much later. In fact, some they do not begin to show significant language skills until they start working with a speech therapist .

6. Prone to non-verbal communication

Due to the fact that autistic children do not develop verbal communication skills at the same time as normal children, they may show a propensity for non-verbal communication.

For example, can resort to visual or physical means of communication , such as drawings or gestures to make requests or participate in a round trip dialogue. Another telltale sign of autism is that children may show a setback in their verbal abilities; for example, they may lose vocabulary.

7. Difficulty understanding figurative expressions

Often, children with autism also they have trouble understanding that people sometimes express themselves figuratively . As has been said, they do not obtain any secondary meaning from the attitude or facial expressions, nor do they detect communication signals depending on the tone of voice; For example, they do not distinguish a happy tone of voice from a sad or angry tone of voice.

Another related symptom is that autistic children tend to have more trouble distinguishing between what is real and what is fiction . Interestingly, autistic children can be imaginatively very vivid, and some seem to prefer to dwell in their own imaginary worlds.

8. They show repetitive behavior

Individuals with autism are more likely to show repetitive behavior .

For example, they can organize and reorganize the same group of objects, back and forth for extended periods of time or repeat the same word or phrase obsessively. This is one of the most easily identifiable symptoms.

9. Present Pica

Pica syndrome is associated with autism since 30% of children with this disorder also have Pica .

This behavior is characterized because children ingest substances that are not nutritious, such as dirt, stones, paper or biological substances. Although Pica can also be seen in other children of young age, individuals with autism continue to perform this practice at older ages.

10. Sensitivity to external stimuli

Sensitivity to external stimuli is another early warning sign of autism . For example, autistic individuals may become stressed or agitated when exposed to specific noises, bright lights, smells or particular tastes, and some autistic children may avoid certain colors, clothing, sounds, lights or areas of the house, for no apparent reason.

However, they can also become extremely sensitive to certain stimuli, and they will insist on the use of certain clothing or colors , rooms with bright lights or loud sounds, and enjoy playing or playing with specific parts of the body. Many autistic children also present emotional stress when deprived of their preferred stimuli.


The Signs of Autism (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 signes et symptômes pour identifier l'autisme

10 signes et symptômes pour identifier l'autisme

Mai 21, 2019

L'autisme se caractérise par l'altération de la capacité de l'individu à communiquer et à établir des relations sociales et par l'existence de comportements répétitifs. Ce trouble neurologique se manifeste dans 1 naissance sur 100 .

C'est une maladie complexe qui affecte le développement de l'enfant. Elle est généralement diagnostiquée vers 3 ans et il n'y a aucune différence d'apparence dans les différentes cultures ou classes sociales. Il est plus fréquent chez les garçons que les filles. et selon le DSM-V appartient au trouble du spectre autistique (ASD).

Article connexe: "15 films qui parlent de l'autisme"

Signes pour détecter l'autisme

Chaque personne atteinte d'autisme éprouve les symptômes différemment et avec différents degrés de gravité. Cependant, Les 10 signes et symptômes suivants sont considérés comme des signes avant-coureurs de l'autisme chez les enfants :


1. Déconnexion avec les autres

Les enfants autistes ont tendance à être distants ou déconnectés avec des êtres chers (parents, frères et soeurs, etc.). Par exemple, il peut sembler qu’ils n’ont aucun lien affectif avec ces personnes et ne comprennent pas la différence entre les signaux faciaux. En d'autres termes, les enfants autistes ne réagissent souvent pas différemment à un froncement de sourcils ou à un sourire de quelqu'un d'autre.

Les études menées concernant ce trouble indiquent que les personnes avec autisme ne peuvent pas formuler d'explication à la pensée ou au comportement des autres. c'est-à-dire qu'ils présentent un déficit dans la théorie de l'esprit. La théorie de l'esprit se réfère à la capacité de se mettre à la place de l'autre.


2. Le manque apparent d'empathie

Une autre caractéristique commune des enfants autistes, liée à la théorie de l’esprit, est qu’ils ont des difficultés à comprendre les autres. Bien que le manque d'empathie puisse être difficile à détecter et à évaluer efficacement chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants, certains signaux indiquent un manque d'empathie.

Les enfants autistes semblent avoir du mal à comprendre ou à apprécier les situations du point de vue des autres. C'est parce qu'ils pensent que tout le monde comprend le monde comme ils le font, ce qui peut créer de la confusion ou l'incapacité de prévoir ou de comprendre les actions des autres.

3. Ils sont indifférents aux interactions sociales

La grande majorité des enfants sont très sociables de manière naturelle. Cependant, les enfants autistes ne passent pas leur temps à regarder les visages des autres, à réagir en entendant leur nom, en imitant les expressions faciales des autres ou en se tenant par la main pendant le match. Au lieu de cela, lles enfants autistes ne semblent souvent pas très intéressés à participer aux jeux et activités normaux du développement de l'enfant , y compris la socialisation et l’imitation d’autres personnes.


Ces signes commencent à se manifester à l'âge de 18 mois et, à mesure que la socialisation se poursuit, les symptômes peuvent être plus perceptibles. Par exemple, à 3 ans, les enfants normaux veulent souvent jouer avec des jouets avec d'autres enfants. Les enfants autistes, par contre, préfèrent jouer seuls .

4. Présence d'explosions émotionnelles

Dans certains cas, les enfants autistes peuvent présenter des réactions émotionnelles disproportionnées dans des situations apparemment normales . Par exemple, des crises de colère inappropriées par rapport au contexte ou à un comportement agressif physique à l'égard d'eux-mêmes (par exemple, se cogner la tête), de leurs parents, de leurs frères et soeurs ou d'autres personnes

Ils peuvent sembler incapables de contrôler leurs émotions et leurs réactions physiques, surtout quand ils se trouvent dans des situations nouvelles, étranges ou stressantes. Les parents doivent surveiller attentivement les réactions sociales de leurs enfants tout au long de leur développement et se familiariser avec les moments importants et les attentes en matière de comportement qu'un enfant devrait montrer lorsqu'il atteint un certain âge. Bien que ce soit relativement rare, ce type d'explosions émotionnelles devrait être pris en compte et un spécialiste mentionné , car cela peut aider à poser un diagnostic correct.

5. Retard dans le développement du langage

À 2 ans, La plupart des bébés commencent à babiller ou à imiter le langage de ceux qui interagissent avec eux et en prononçant un seul mot lorsqu'ils désignent un objet ou tentent d'attirer l'attention de leurs parents.

Cependant, les enfants atteints d'autisme ne commencent à babiller ou à parler que beaucoup plus tard. En fait, certains ils ne commencent pas à montrer des compétences linguistiques importantes avant de commencer à travailler avec un orthophoniste .

6. Sujet à la communication non verbale

Étant donné que les enfants autistes ne développent pas les compétences de communication verbale en même temps que les enfants normaux, ils peuvent montrer une propension à la communication non verbale.

Par exemple, peut avoir recours à des moyens de communication visuels ou physiques , tels que des dessins ou des gestes pour faire des demandes ou participer à un dialogue aller-retour. Un autre signe révélateur de l'autisme est que les enfants peuvent montrer un recul de leurs capacités verbales; par exemple, ils risquent de perdre leur vocabulaire.

7. Difficulté à comprendre les expressions figuratives

Souvent, les enfants autistes aussi ils ont du mal à comprendre que les gens s'expriment parfois de manière figurée . Comme on l'a dit, ils n'obtiennent aucune signification secondaire de l'attitude ou des expressions faciales, et ne détectent pas de signaux de communication dépendant du ton de la voix; Par exemple, ils ne distinguent pas un ton de voix heureux d'un ton de voix triste ou en colère.

Un autre symptôme associé est que les enfants autistes ont tendance à avoir plus de difficulté à faire la distinction entre ce qui est réel et ce qui est fiction . Fait intéressant, les enfants autistes peuvent être très imaginatifs, et certains semblent préférer demeurer dans leurs propres mondes imaginaires.

8. Ils montrent un comportement répétitif

Les personnes atteintes d'autisme sont plus susceptibles de faire preuve de comportement répétitif .

Par exemple, ils peuvent organiser et réorganiser le même groupe d’objets, aller-retour pendant de longues périodes ou répéter le même mot ou la même phrase de manière obsessionnelle. C'est l'un des symptômes les plus facilement identifiables.

9. Pica présente

Le syndrome de pica est associé à l'autisme depuis 30% des enfants atteints de ce trouble ont également Pica .

Ce comportement est caractérisé par le fait que les enfants ingèrent des substances non nutritives, telles que de la terre, des cailloux, du papier ou des substances biologiques. Bien que Pica puisse également être observé chez d'autres enfants jeunes, les autistes continuent à pratiquer cette pratique à un âge plus avancé.

10. Sensibilité aux stimuli externes

La sensibilité aux stimuli externes est un autre signe avant-coureur de l'autisme . Par exemple, les personnes autistes peuvent devenir stressées ou agitées lorsqu'elles sont exposées à des bruits spécifiques, des lumières vives, des odeurs ou des goûts particuliers. Certains enfants autistes peuvent éviter certaines couleurs, vêtements, sons, lumières ou zones de la maison, sans raison apparente.

Cependant, ils peuvent aussi devenir extrêmement sensibles à certains stimuli, et ils insisteront sur l'utilisation de certains vêtements ou couleurs , les pièces avec des lumières vives ou des sons forts, et profitez de jouer ou de jouer avec des parties spécifiques du corps. De nombreux enfants autistes présentent également un stress émotionnel lorsqu'ils sont privés de leurs stimuli préférés.


Comment repérer les symptômes d'autisme? (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes