yes, therapy helps!
10 signs that indicate that a teenager has a mental disorder

10 signs that indicate that a teenager has a mental disorder

June 24, 2021

We all know that adolescence is a stage of life full of changes and that, in many cases, problems and difficulties may arise.

Many teenagers they show changes and alterations in their mood , in your body and in your daily behaviors and habits, but these are not the only factors that can explain the appearance of certain mental health problems.

Adolescence and mental disorders

You have to bear in mind that adolescents who have some kind of mental health problem do not usually express their concern about it directly , which can be complex to get to notice that something bad is happening to them.


As part of the inseparable biochemical alterations of this life stage, adolescents usually suffer severe changes in their mood, as well as the effects of volatile social relationships. It is at this time when we began to disassociate from the protection of parents to start looking for links with friends of our own age, and welcoming references in other areas of life: teachers, television idols, musicians ...

A convulsive life stage

Although abrupt mood swings are quite frequent during adolescence, we must be vigilant, since can warn us of a mental health problem in the background . If these mood swings are extreme, with violent behavior or frequent crying, we could be facing a case that requires professional intervention.


20% of adolescents, according to official figures, develop a psychopathology. Most of them, also, debut before the age of fifteen, but they are not referred to a mental health professional until years later, when the problem may have become entrenched and is more difficult to treat.

The 10 signs that indicate that a teenager has a mental health problem

In the words of Dr. Aaron Krasner, a psychiatrist specializing in adolescent behavior and director of Life Service from Silver Hill Hospital in New Cannan, in the state of Connecticut, explains:

"Only one in five adolescents with mental health problems is detected and referred to the appropriate professional (psychiatrist or psychologist) to treat their need. There are cultural elements that hinder us from providing the necessary help to adolescents, and we must improve this. "


One of the ways to improve the detection of behaviors, habits and specificities of young people who can warn us that they have a psychological condition is to describe the 10 signs that can indicate that something is wrong .

1. Self-harm, suicide attempts or self-destructive behavior.

2. Frequent changes in your physical health, or in appearance.

3. Aggressiveness, frequent anger and little control of impulses.

4. New groups of friends not recommended.

5. Changes in your body weight.

6. Neglect of your personal hygiene.

7. Inability to face problems or daily activities.

8. Flirting with alcohol or other drugs.

9. Episodes of threats and problematic relationships.

10. Frequent nightmares.

Other signs and observations to take into account

There are also other signs that, although they are not conclusive, can make us see that the adolescent may be suffering from some complicated situation. For example, if your school performance or behavior at home or in the institute has undergone a major change .

Another obvious sign is depressive symptoms, especially when the mood and grief extend for more than three weeks. This can also go hand in hand with lack of appetite, sleep disorders or problems and recurrent thoughts about death, according to Krasner.

The importance of the family context

You have to always keep in mind that Mental health problems during adolescence often have a negative impact on family dynamics , being able to cause tensions between several of its members. It is vitally important that the family stays together and do everything possible to improve the mood of the adolescent, both by promoting a good harmony in the home and seeking professional help if the circumstances require it.

If you know some teenager who is having a bad time and has some of the symptoms and signs described above, keep your communication open with him and consult a mental health professional.


Mayo Clinic Minute: 5 signs your teenager is battling depression (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 signes indiquant qu'un adolescent a un trouble mental

10 signes indiquant qu'un adolescent a un trouble mental

Août 17, 2019

Nous savons tous que l'adolescence est une étape de la vie pleine de changements et que, dans de nombreux cas, des problèmes et des difficultés peuvent survenir.

Beaucoup d'adolescents ils montrent des changements et des altérations de leur humeur , dans votre corps et dans vos comportements et habitudes quotidiens, mais ce ne sont pas les seuls facteurs pouvant expliquer l'apparition de certains problèmes de santé mentale.

Adolescence et troubles mentaux

Vous devez garder à l'esprit que Les adolescents qui ont un problème de santé mentale n'expriment généralement pas directement leurs préoccupations. , ce qui peut être complexe pour se rendre compte que quelque chose de mauvais leur arrive.


Dans le cadre des altérations biochimiques inséparables de ce stade de la vie, les adolescents souffrent généralement de graves changements d'humeur, ainsi que des effets de relations sociales volatiles. C'est à ce moment-là que nous avons commencé à nous dissocier de la protection des parents pour commencer à rechercher des liens avec des amis de notre âge et à accueillir des références dans d'autres domaines de la vie: enseignants, idoles de la télévision, musiciens ...

Une phase de vie convulsive

Bien que les sautes d’humeur brusques soient assez fréquents à l’adolescence, il faut être vigilant, car peut nous avertir d'un problème de santé mentale à l'arrière-plan . Si ces sautes d'humeur sont extrêmes, avec un comportement violent ou des pleurs fréquents, nous pourrions être confrontés à un cas nécessitant une intervention professionnelle.


Selon les chiffres officiels, 20% des adolescents développent une psychopathologie. La plupart d'entre eux débutent également avant l'âge de 15 ans, mais ils ne sont référés à un professionnel de la santé mentale que des années plus tard, lorsque le problème est peut-être devenu plus profond et qu'il est plus difficile à traiter.

Les 10 signes qui indiquent qu'un adolescent a un problème de santé mentale

Selon les mots du Dr Aaron Krasner, psychiatre spécialisé dans le comportement des adolescents et directeur de Service de vie de l'hôpital Silver Hill à New Cannan, dans l'état du Connecticut, explique:

"Seulement un adolescent sur cinq ayant des problèmes de santé mentale est détecté et dirigé vers le professionnel approprié (psychiatre ou psychologue) pour traiter son besoin. Il y a des éléments culturels qui nous empêchent de fournir l'aide nécessaire aux adolescents, et nous devons améliorer cela. "


L’un des moyens d’améliorer la détection des comportements, des habitudes et des spécificités des jeunes qui peuvent nous avertir qu’ils sont psychologiques est de décrire le 10 signes pouvant indiquer que quelque chose ne va pas .

1. Automutilation, tentatives de suicide ou comportement autodestructeur.

2. Changements fréquents de votre santé physique ou de votre apparence.

3. Agressivité, colère fréquente et contrôle insuffisant des pulsions.

4. Nouveaux groupes d'amis non recommandés.

5. Changements dans votre poids corporel.

6. Négliger de votre hygiène personnelle.

7. Incapacité de faire face aux problèmes ou aux activités quotidiennes.

8. Flirter avec de l'alcool ou d'autres drogues.

9. Episodes de menaces et relations problématiques.

10. Cauchemars fréquents.

Autres signes et observations à prendre en compte

Il y a aussi d'autres signes qui, bien qu'ils ne soient pas concluants, peuvent nous faire comprendre que l'adolescent souffre peut-être d'une situation compliquée. Par exemple, si votre performance ou votre comportement à la maison ou à l'institut a subi un changement majeur .

Les symptômes dépressifs sont un autre signe évident, en particulier lorsque l'humeur et le deuil durent plus de trois semaines. Cela peut également aller de pair avec un manque d'appétit, des troubles ou des troubles du sommeil et des pensées récurrentes sur la mort, selon Krasner.

L'importance du contexte familial

Vous devez toujours garder à l'esprit que Les problèmes de santé mentale à l'adolescence ont souvent un impact négatif sur la dynamique familiale , pouvant provoquer des tensions entre plusieurs de ses membres. Il est extrêmement important que la famille reste réunie et fasse tout son possible pour améliorer l'humeur de l'adolescent, à la fois en promouvant une bonne harmonie à la maison et en recherchant l'aide d'un professionnel, si les circonstances l'exigent.

Si vous connaissez un adolescent qui traverse une mauvaise passe et qui présente certains des symptômes et signes décrits ci-dessus, maintenez la communication ouverte avec lui et consultez un professionnel de la santé mentale.


10 Choses Que Les Ados ne Devraient Pas Faire (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes