yes, therapy helps!
10 toxic beliefs that can destroy a relationship

10 toxic beliefs that can destroy a relationship

January 5, 2023

In relationships, it is essential to lay the material foundations so that this life in common can be developed: choose a good floor, make work schedules square, share responsibilities well, etc.

Toxic beliefs that can corrupt a relationship

However, it is also true that for the relationship to come to fruition is necessary, in addition to surrounding objects and habits that allow each other to support each other, develop a good psychological level . Or what is the same, discard all toxic ideas and beliefs related to how life should be lived in common, the role of each member of the couple and the intentions of the other person who move to be with us.


Here are some of these toxic beliefs , so that from the self-reflection can be recognized and questioned by those people who may have them without even realizing it at the beginning.

1. Love is property

The belief that leads to the problems of jealousy. Understanding that the couple is part of oneself only serves to undermine their individuality. Example: "It's ten o'clock at night and he has not called me yet".

2. The fault is yours

A relationship is somewhat bidirectional, but there are people who, when certain typical problems of life in common appear, They blame the couple automatically . This happens because it is usually easier to blame something external to us than to search our behavior for aspects that may have led to conflict, or to reflect on whether everything is based on a simple misunderstanding. In this sense, beware of personalities that tend to victimize.


3. The reading of the mind

Sometimes, a relationship can be confused with the absolute knowledge of what the other person thinks. When we understand that our partner's behavior is basically very predictable, we will tend to attribute intentions in an increasingly pilgrim way , to the point of approaching paranoid thinking and constantly suspecting what he wants. Example: "wants to take the dog for a walk to spend less time with me".

4. Reverse mind reading

Like the previous one, but based on what the other person should know about us and to practice it shows not knowing. The belief that love confers a kind of telepathic power seems absurd, but it is not rare to find and from time to time it offers stereotypical scenes full of reproaches of the style: "I do not know, you will know" or "do what you want, You already know my opinion. "


5. The other person is better than us

The simple act of assuming that the other person is more valuable than oneself introduces an asymmetry in the relationship. An asymmetry that at first is fictitious and exists only in our imagination, but that it can soon become a real decompensation, a self-fulfilling prophecy . For example, it is common practice to make deliberate and very costly sacrifices for the good of the other person, something that can make the other person get used to having special treatment and leading the relationship in all areas.

6. I have to prove things

This belief is closely related to the previous one. In short, it is aboutto the idea that the relationship has to be kept alive from fully planned actions in which we offer the best facet of ourselves. It is something similar to an indefinite prolongation of the stage of pretending to make a good first impression, and that can last until years after being married. This toxic belief attends frontally against any sign of spontaneity in the life of a couple.

7. The belief in the superorganism

This can be summed up in believing that life as a couple is something like the culmination of a person's life, a stage in which one's own individuality is lost and becomes part of a larger entity, just as a caterpillar would transform into a butterfly. The problem with this is that, on the one hand, favors the isolation and the distancing of family and friends , and on the other, this union with the other person does not cease to be fictitious, with which this idea does not correspond to reality.

8. My partner defines me

This belief it can become toxic if it is taken literally , since it has the power to self-fulfill at the expense of our own identity. People who adopt an extreme version of this belief change their hobbies, their personality and even their way of speaking depending on who they are dating. The negative consequences of this have to do with the loss of our ability to claim ourselves as people with our own criteria, but also generates problems that are mostly on the social level, as people who know us can see in this a kind of fraud.

9. The need for drama

As it is sometimes understood that the relationship with the couple has to be more intense than our relationships with other people, this can also be extrapolated to the terrain of everyday conflicts. It is possible that real oversize minutiae , like the fact that the gift that the couple has given us does not completely match our tastes.

10. No matter what I do, it's my partner

This belief is based on the idea that the couple's relationship is, in essence, a kind of license or indefinite contract . While the relationship has the label of "couple relationship", the two involved (although usually only us) are entitled to do what they want, without having to take into consideration the agreed pacts and responsibilities.

Some conclusions ...

Of course, the way in which I have exposed these beliefs here is caricatural, in order to clearly show the destructive implications of the lines of precipitated thoughts and conclusions to which they may give rise.

In real life these ideas appear much more disguised, and almost always has not even been noticed in their existence as basic and simple as they are. The task of discovering and confronting them can also be one of those challenges that can be undertaken together and that make life in common more intense.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 croyances toxiques pouvant détruire une relation

10 croyances toxiques pouvant détruire une relation

Août 17, 2019

Dans les relations, il est essentiel de jeter les bases matérielles pour que cette vie en commun puisse être développée: choisir un bon plancher, assouplir les horaires de travail, bien partager les responsabilités, etc.

Croyances toxiques pouvant corrompre une relation

Cependant, il est également vrai que la relation doit se concrétiser, en plus des objets environnants et des habitudes qui se permettent de se soutenir mutuellement, développer un bon niveau psychologique . Ou ce qui est pareil, écartez toutes les idées et croyances toxiques liées à la façon dont la vie devrait être vécue en commun, au rôle de chaque membre du couple et aux intentions de l'autre personne qui bouge pour être avec nous.


En voici quelques unes croyances toxiques , afin que l’auto-réflexion puisse être reconnue et remise en question par ceux qui peuvent l’avoir sans même s’en rendre compte au début.

1. L'amour est la propriété

La croyance qui mène aux problèmes de la jalousie. Comprendre que le couple fait partie de soi ne sert qu'à saper leur individualité. Exemple: "Il est dix heures du soir et il ne m'a pas encore appelé".

2. La faute est à vous

Une relation est quelque peu bidirectionnelle, mais il y a des gens qui, lorsque certains problèmes typiques de la vie en commun apparaissent, Ils blâment le couple automatiquement . Cela est dû au fait qu'il est généralement plus facile de nous reprocher quelque chose d'extérieur que de rechercher dans notre comportement des éléments susceptibles d'avoir conduit à un conflit ou de déterminer si tout est basé sur un simple malentendu. En ce sens, méfiez-vous des personnalités qui ont tendance à victimiser.


3. La lecture de l'esprit

Parfois, une relation peut être confondue avec la connaissance absolue de ce que pense l'autre personne. Quand nous comprenons que le comportement de notre partenaire est fondamentalement très prévisible, nous aurons tendance à attribuer des intentions de plus en plus pèlerines , au point d’approcher de la pensée paranoïaque et de soupçonner constamment ce qu’il veut. Exemple: "veut promener le chien pour passer moins de temps avec moi".

4. Lecture inversée

Comme le précédent, mais en fonction de ce que l'autre personne devrait savoir sur nous et pratiquer cela montre ne pas savoir. La croyance que l’amour confère une sorte de pouvoir télépathique semble absurde, mais il n’est pas rare de la trouver et offre parfois des scènes stéréotypées pleines de reproches du style: "Je ne sais pas, vous saurez" ou "faites ce que vous voulez, Vous connaissez déjà mon opinion. "


5. L'autre personne est meilleure que nous

Le simple fait de supposer que l'autre personne a plus de valeur que soi introduit une asymétrie dans la relation. Une asymétrie d’abord fictive et n’existant que dans notre imagination, mais qui il peut rapidement devenir une décompensation réelle, une prophétie auto-réalisatrice . Par exemple, il est courant de faire des sacrifices délibérés et très coûteux pour le bien de l'autre personne, ce qui peut amener cette personne à s'habituer à un traitement de faveur et à la direction de la relation dans tous les domaines.

6. Je dois prouver des choses

Cette croyance est étroitement liée à la précédente. En bref, il s’agit deà l'idée que la relation doit être maintenue en vie des actions entièrement planifiées dans lequel nous offrons la meilleure facette de nous-mêmes. Cela ressemble à une prolongation indéfinie de la prétention de faire bonne impression, et cela peut durer des années après le mariage. Cette croyance toxique s'attaque frontalement à tout signe de spontanéité dans la vie d'un couple.

7. La croyance en le superorganisme

Cela peut se résumer à croire que la vie de couple est en quelque sorte le point culminant de la vie d'une personne, une étape au cours de laquelle sa propre individualité est perdue et devient partie intégrante d'une entité plus vaste, tout comme une chenille. se transformerait en papillon. Le problème, c’est que, d’une part, favorise l'isolement et l'éloignement de la famille et des amis et d'autre part, cette union avec l'autre personne ne cesse pas d'être fictive, avec laquelle cette idée ne correspond pas à la réalité.

8. Mon partenaire me définit

Cette croyance il peut devenir toxique s'il est pris littéralement , car il a le pouvoir de se réaliser aux dépens de notre propre identité. Les personnes qui adoptent une version extrême de cette croyance changent leurs passe-temps, leur personnalité et même leur façon de parler en fonction de la personne avec laquelle ils sortent. Les conséquences négatives de cette situation sont liées à la perte de notre capacité à nous affirmer en tant que personnes avec nos propres critères, mais génèrent également des problèmes qui se situent principalement au niveau social, comme le savent ceux qui nous connaissent. une sorte de fraude.

9. La nécessité du drame

Comme il est parfois entendu que la relation avec le couple doit être plus intense que celle avec d'autres personnes, cela peut également être extrapolé au terrain des conflits quotidiens. Il est possible que de véritables minuties surdimensionnées , tout comme le fait que le cadeau que le couple nous a offert ne correspond pas tout à fait à nos goûts.

10. Peu importe ce que je fais, c'est mon partenaire

Cette croyance est basée sur l'idée que la relation de couple est, par essence, une sorte de licence ou contrat à durée indéterminée . Bien que la relation porte l’étiquette de "relation de couple", les deux parties impliquées (bien que généralement seuls nous) ont le droit de faire ce qu’elles veulent, sans avoir à prendre en compte les pactes et responsabilités convenus.

Quelques conclusions ...

Bien sûr, la manière dont j'ai exposé ces croyances ici est caricaturale, afin de montrer clairement les implications destructrices des lignes de pensées précipitées et des conclusions auxquelles elles peuvent donner lieu.

Dans la vie réelle ces idées apparaissent beaucoup plus déguisés, et presque toujours, leur existence n’a pas été remarquée aussi basique et simple qu’ils le sont. La tâche qui consiste à les découvrir et à les confronter peut également être l’un des défis qui peuvent être entrepris ensemble et qui rendent la vie en commun plus intense.


Les dirigeants de l'ombre et la psychologie du pouvoir. (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes