yes, therapy helps!
10 tricks to stop biting the nails (onicofagia)

10 tricks to stop biting the nails (onicofagia)

May 6, 2021

There is often a belief that eating nails is merely associated with the nerves of the moment or simply a bad habit. But nevertheless, This terrible habit may be due to deeper psychological reasons and it is often an indicator of some trauma that occurred during childhood.

The habit of eating your nails, also known as Onychophagia, it has quite serious repercussions for the health, it is not a problem only aesthetic. In the fingers and the nails we lodge an endless number of microorganisms, some of them pathogenic, that in contact with the mouth can produce an infection. Moreover, biting your nails can damage them irreparably as well as damage our teeth and gums.


But do not panic, with a little will and skill and With the ten tips that we explain below, you will be able to show off some perfect and healthy nails .

Why do we bite our nails?

The nails, basically, are composed of dead cells coated with keratin and are essential for many functions in humans. We even use them to play musical instruments, but obviously they have much more daily and necessary uses for our day to day .

Causes of onytophagy

Some experts in the field propose that the habit of biting the nails can originate during the earliest childhood, babies and young children have the habit of putting their fingers to their mouths. Biting the nails is not considered as a disease but as a psychological pathology, which, if it becomes an irrepressible and compulsive habit, should be treated medically.


The causes of onychophagia can be divided into two groups:

1. External causes

One of the recurring explanations for onychophagia is anxiety and stress produced by personal, labor, economic, emotional or conjugal problems, nervousness before exams ... These are usually more benevolent factors, since with willpower and awareness of the problem, it is relatively simple to abandon the habit and control it.

2. Internal causes

Is about emotional imbalances and alterations of the nervous system produced by traumas. They can be family maladjustments, abuse, humiliation, low self-esteem, guilt and the need for self-punishment. The habit is prolonged over time and becomes chronic, sometimes the behavior is so acute that it can lead to self-injurious behavior .


There is a very widespread belief, that says that biting the nails is a slight problem, since anyway they grow back soon. But beware! the onicofagia can be worse than commonly thought and produce permanent damage .

Consequences and effects of eating your nails

The hands provide us with a multitude of information about the person, they are a reflection of health and safety in itself .

Well-maintained hands convey a good impression on others. That is to say, biting the nails has connotations of health, emotional-psychological, aesthetic and social.

1. Consequences on health and aesthetics

In the nails are huge amounts of germs of all kinds. These, when coming into contact with the mouth, can penetrate our body and produce some kind of disease .

Lesions on the fingers and buds can cause bacterial or viral infections. Further, the fingers can be deformed and there is a risk of losing the nail permanently . Other consequences include chronic inflammation of the fingers and the appearance of caries due to damage to the enamel of the teeth.

2. Emotional consequences

Another kind of negative effects of eating your nails is the complex and the shame (that provokes, in the last term, anxiety) by the appearance of the hands and that can interfere in interpersonal relationships.

This point is also related to a low level of self-esteem, feelings of sadness and inability to control compulsive behaviors.

3. Social consequences

The person who eats the nails may believe that it is rejected by society. As well can present certain d Difficulties in personal and sentimental relationships .

Labor problems: rejection in job interviews for reasons of hygiene or aesthetics depending on the position.

The ten tips you should know not to bite your nails

How you can see, Leaving this habit unhealthy can have countless benefits for your health, as well as psychological, emotional and social .

Next I will explain Ten great tips so you do not eat your nails . They are very easy tricks that do not require special products, you just have to want it and put your will.

1. Be aware of the problem

The first thing you should do is detect which situations are causing you stress or insecurity and that activate the habit of biting you , feel or scratch the nails and that leads directly to put them in the mouth.

This is to identify the particular moments that lead you to this behavior, for example, by having to interact socially or prepare for an academic test, the moments before a job interview ... In the same way, you must identify which activity or group of them avoid this behavior and keep your hands busy, they must be things that are to your liking, for example doing sports, crafts, playing a musical instrument, writing ... This way you will mitigate the anxiety and avoid the compulsive behavior of biting the ones.

2. Licorice Chew

Having your mouth busy chewing licorice root is a good way to combat the habit of biting your nails . Do this especially in moments that cause you anxiety. Accustomed to carry this remedy always with you. Once you have abandoned the bad habit of Onychophagia, you can rest and leave the licorice at home.

3. Chew gum

Similarly, It is very effective to chew gum every time you feel the need to take your fingers to your mouth . In this way you will avoid biting your nails while you refresh your breath and exercise the muscles of your jaws avoiding wrinkles.

4. Use Aloe Vera

There are specific bitter products to avoid this habit, however, why are you going to spend money to have what you need at home?

Aloe Vera has innumerable properties for health , but it certainly does not taste very good. Cut a stalk of Aloe Vera in half, you will see that it has a transparent content similar to the snail slime, leave it in the refrigerator one night and you will see that this drool has taken on a reddish color due to oxidation, which produces its bitterness . Afterwards, apply it on the nails until it dries. Every time you put your nails in your mouth you will have a very bitter and unpleasant taste that will surely take away the desire to do it again. In addition, Aloe Vera has antibacterial and healing properties, so it is ideal to avoid infections due to injuries from biting your nails and to accelerate the process of regeneration of these.

5. Self control

With this exercise of self-control you will be able to master the impulse to eat your nails:

  • Bring a finger towards your mouth, stop when it is two inches from your lips. Stay away . Repeat this action several times decreasing the distance more and more.
  • Insert the nail between the teeth without biting, resist a little time, remove it . Repeat this gesture increasing more and more the time. Practice this exercise 5 minutes a day and you will see that it works.

6. False nails

Maybe this is the most expensive solution of all but it's worth it, it's about Cover your nails with other synthetic ones such as acrylics . It will prevent you from damaging your own nails while allowing their growth.

7. Band-aids

Put some bandages on your nails for a month, replacing them from time to time . This is that you can admire how they grow healthy and shiny after a while, without biting them.

8. Practice a hobby

Keeping busy doing a hobby or hobby that is to your liking will keep the nails of your teeth away for longer.

Any activity of your interest is appropriate, It is very important that it be of your pleasure since this will dispel your desire to take your nails to your mouth . The crafts are highly recommended because they keep your hands busy, especially if it is to work with materials such as clay to make pottery, since it keeps your hands dirty, in the same way it is also interesting painting.

9. Wear gloves

If you find that the gloves are good for you, use them, especially in winter . It is an infallible way to avoid biting your nails.

10. Congratulate yourself for your advances

Do not hesitate to celebrate your progress as you progress. You will see how the people around you give an account and congratulate you , this will encourage you to continue keeping your nails healthy and beautiful.

In conclusion...

With willpower and the advice you've learned, I'm sure you'll soon have perfect nails. If you see that you have a lot of trouble quitting, you can go to a trusted psychologist.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baeza, J.C. ; Balaguer, G. and others (2008). Hygiene and prevention of anxiety. Madrid. Editorial Díaz de Santos.
  • Burns, D. (2011). Feel good. A therapy against depressions. Paidós editorial
  • Fioenza, A. (2007). 99 strategies to overcome fear, anxiety and phobias. Barcelona. RBA Publishers.

COMO DEJAR DE COMERSE LAS UÑAS | REMEDIOS CASEROS | ONICOFAGIA TRATAMIENTO | AndyZaturno (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 astuces pour arrêter de se ronger les ongles (onicofagia)

10 astuces pour arrêter de se ronger les ongles (onicofagia)

Février 18, 2019

On croit souvent que manger des ongles est simplement associé aux nerfs du moment ou simplement à une mauvaise habitude. Cependant, Cette terrible habitude peut être due à des raisons psychologiques plus profondes et c'est souvent un indicateur d'un traumatisme survenu pendant l'enfance.

L'habitude de manger vos ongles, également connu sous le nom Onychophagie, cela a des répercussions assez graves pour la santé, ce n’est pas un problème uniquement esthétique. Dans les doigts et les ongles, nous hébergeons un nombre infini de micro-organismes, dont certains pathogènes, qui, au contact de la bouche, peuvent provoquer une infection. De plus, se ronger les ongles peut les endommager irrémédiablement, ainsi que nos dents et nos gencives.


Mais ne paniquez pas, avec un peu de volonté et de compétence et Avec les dix conseils que nous expliquons ci-dessous, vous pourrez montrer des ongles parfaits et en santé .

Pourquoi on se ronge les ongles?

Fondamentalement, les ongles sont composés de cellules mortes recouvertes de kératine et sont essentiels à de nombreuses fonctions chez l'homme. Nous les utilisons même pour jouer des instruments de musique, mais évidemment ils ont des utilisations beaucoup plus quotidiennes et nécessaires pour notre quotidien .

Causes de l'onytophagie

Certains experts en la matière suggèrent que l'habitude de se ronger les ongles peut provenir de la plus tendre enfance. Les bébés et les jeunes enfants ont l'habitude de se mettre les doigts dans les lèvres. Se ronger les ongles n'est pas considéré comme une maladie, mais comme une pathologie psychologique qui, si elle devient une habitude irrépressible et compulsive, doit être traitée médicalement.


Les causes de l'onychophagie peuvent être divisées en deux groupes:

1. Causes externes

L’anxiété et le stress engendrés par des problèmes personnels, économiques, émotionnels ou conjugaux, la nervosité avant les examens, sont une des explications récurrentes de l’onychophagie. Ce sont généralement des facteurs bienveillants, problème, il est relativement simple d’abandonner cette habitude et de la contrôler.

2. Causes internes

Il s'agit de les déséquilibres émotionnels et les altérations du système nerveux produites par les traumatismes. Ils peuvent être des inadaptations familiales, des abus, de l'humiliation, une faible estime de soi, la culpabilité et le besoin d'auto-punition. L’habitude se prolonge dans le temps et devient chronique, parfois le comportement est si aigu qu'il peut conduire à un comportement d'automutilation .


Il existe une croyance très répandue selon laquelle le fait de se ronger les ongles est un problème mineur, car de toute façon, ils repoussent rapidement. Mais méfiez-vous! onicofagia peut être pire que ce que l'on pense généralement et causer des dommages permanents .

Conséquences et effets de manger vos ongles

Les mains nous fournissent une multitude d'informations sur la personne, ils sont le reflet de la santé et de la sécurité en soi .

Des mains bien entretenues donnent une bonne impression aux autres. C'est-à-dire que se ronger les ongles a des connotations de santé, émotionnelles et psychologiques, esthétiques et sociales.

1. Conséquences sur la santé et l'esthétique

Dans les ongles sont des quantités énormes de germes de toutes sortes. Ceux-ci, au contact de la bouche, peut pénétrer notre corps et produire une sorte de maladie .

Les lésions aux doigts et aux bourgeons peuvent causer des infections bactériennes ou virales. En outre, les doigts peuvent être déformés et il y a un risque de perdre l'ongle en permanence . Les autres conséquences sont l'inflammation chronique des doigts et l'apparition de caries dues à des lésions de l'émail des dents.

2. conséquences émotionnelles

Un autre type d'effets négatifs de manger vos ongles est le complexe et la honte (qui provoque, au dernier terme, l'angoisse) par l'apparition des mains et cela peut interférer dans les relations interpersonnelles.

Ce point est également lié à un faible niveau d'estime de soi, à des sentiments de tristesse et à une incapacité à contrôler les comportements compulsifs.

3. conséquences sociales

La personne qui mange les ongles peut croire qu’elle est rejetée par la société. Aussi peut présenter certains d Difficultés dans les relations personnelles et sentimentales .

Problèmes de main-d'œuvre: rejet lors des entretiens d'embauche pour des raisons d'hygiène ou d'esthétique selon les postes.

Les dix conseils à savoir pour ne pas se ronger les ongles

Comme vous pouvez le voir Laisser cette habitude malsaine peut avoir d’innombrables avantages pour la santé, ainsi que sur le plan psychologique, émotionnel et social. .

Ensuite, je vais expliquer Dix bons conseils pour ne pas manger tes ongles . Ce sont des tours très faciles qui ne nécessitent pas de produits spéciaux, il vous suffit de le vouloir et de mettre votre volonté.

1. Soyez conscient du problème

La première chose à faire est de détecter les situations qui vous causent du stress ou de l'insécurité et qui activent l'habitude de vous mordre , sentir ou gratter les ongles et cela conduit directement à les mettre dans la bouche.

Il s’agit d’identifier les moments particuliers qui vous conduisent à ce comportement, par exemple en étant obligé d’interagir socialement ou de se préparer à un test académique, les instants précédant un entretien d'embauche… De la même manière, vous devez identifier quelle activité ou quel groupe pour éviter ce comportement et occuper vos mains, il doit s'agir de choses qui vous plaisent, par exemple faire du sport, créer de l'artisanat, jouer d'un instrument de musique, écrire ... De cette façon, vous atténuerez l'anxiété et éviterez le comportement compulsif de mordre les ongles

2. Mâcher de réglisse

Avoir la bouche occupée à mâcher de la racine de réglisse est un bon moyen de lutter contre l'habitude de se ronger les ongles. . Faites cela surtout dans les moments qui vous inquiètent. Habitué à porter ce remède toujours avec vous. Une fois que vous avez abandonné la mauvaise habitude de l’Onychophagie, vous pouvez vous reposer et laisser la réglisse à la maison.

3. mâcher de la gomme

De la même manière, Il est très efficace de mâcher de la gomme chaque fois que vous ressentez le besoin de porter vos doigts à votre bouche. . De cette façon, vous éviterez de vous ronger les ongles pendant que vous rafraichissez votre souffle et que vous exercez les muscles de votre mâchoire en évitant les rides.

4. Utilisez l'Aloe Vera

Il existe des produits amers spécifiques pour éviter cette habitude. Cependant, pourquoi allez-vous dépenser de l'argent pour avoir ce dont vous avez besoin à la maison?

L'Aloe Vera a d'innombrables propriétés pour la santé , mais cela n’est certainement pas très bon. Coupez une tige d’Aloe Vera en deux, vous verrez qu’elle a un contenu transparent semblable à la bave d’escargot, laissez-la une nuit dans le réfrigérateur et vous verrez que cette salive a pris une couleur rougeâtre due à l’oxydation, ce qui produit son amertume. . Ensuite, appliquez-le sur les ongles jusqu'à ce qu'il sèche. Chaque fois que vous mettez vos ongles dans votre bouche, vous aurez un goût très amer et désagréable qui vous enlèvera sûrement le désir de le faire à nouveau. En outre, l'Aloe Vera possède des propriétés antibactériennes et cicatrisantes. Il est donc idéal pour éviter les infections dues aux morsures des ongles et pour accélérer le processus de régénération de celles-ci.

5. Maîtrise de soi

Avec cet exercice de maîtrise de soi, vous serez capable de maîtriser l’impulsion de manger vos ongles:

  • Amenez un doigt vers votre bouche, arrêtez-vous à deux pouces de vos lèvres. Rester à l'écart . Répétez cette action plusieurs fois en diminuant de plus en plus la distance.
  • Insérez le clou entre les dents sans mordre, résistez un peu de temps, retirez-le . Répétez ce geste en augmentant de plus en plus le temps. Pratiquez cet exercice 5 minutes par jour et vous verrez que cela fonctionne.

6. faux ongles

C’est peut-être la solution la plus chère de toutes, mais elle en vaut la peine, c’est à peu près tout. Couvrez vos ongles avec d'autres synthétiques tels que les acryliques . Cela vous évitera d'endommager vos propres ongles tout en permettant leur croissance.

7. Pansements

Mettez des pansements sur vos ongles pendant un mois, en les remplaçant de temps en temps . C’est que vous pourrez admirer la façon dont ils deviennent sains et brillants au bout d’un moment, sans les mordre.

8. pratiquer un passe-temps

Rester occupé à faire un passe-temps ou un passe-temps à votre goût gardera les ongles de vos dents plus longtemps.

Toute activité de votre intérêt est appropriée, Il est très important que cela soit votre plaisir car cela dissipera votre désir de prendre vos ongles à la bouche. . Les travaux manuels sont fortement recommandés car ils occupent les mains, en particulier s’il s’agit de travailler avec des matériaux tels que l’argile pour faire de la poterie, car il garde les mains sales, de la même manière, c’est aussi une peinture intéressante.

9. Porter des gants

Si vous trouvez que les gants vous conviennent, utilisez-les, surtout en hiver . C'est un moyen infaillible d'éviter de se ronger les ongles.

10. Félicitez-vous pour vos avances

N'hésitez pas à célébrer vos progrès à mesure que vous progressez. Vous verrez comment les gens autour de vous rendre compte et vous féliciter , cela vous encouragera à continuer à garder vos ongles sains et beaux.

En guise de conclusion ...

Avec la volonté et les conseils que vous avez appris, je suis sûr que vous aurez bientôt des ongles parfaits. Si vous constatez que vous avez beaucoup de difficulté à cesser de fumer, vous pouvez consulter un psychologue de confiance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baeza, J.C. ; Balaguer, G. et autres (2008). Hygiène et prévention de l'anxiété. Madrid Éditorial Díaz de Santos.
  • Burns, D. (2011). Se sentir bien. Une thérapie contre les dépressions. Éditorial de Paidós
  • Fioenza, A. (2007). 99 stratégies pour surmonter la peur, l'anxiété et les phobies. Barcelone RBA Publishers.

✅ Se ronger les ongles, une mauvaise habitude qui révèle beaucoup de votre personnalité (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes