yes, therapy helps!
11 gestures prohibited in a job interview

11 gestures prohibited in a job interview

May 6, 2021

It is true that it is impossible to read the minds of people observing their gestures, but that does not mean that in the world of non-verbal language there are no codes of behavior.

They are not norms that teach us in classrooms or that we have had to memorize reading texts, of course, but, even without realizing it, we are always judging what kind of postures and movements speak well of a person and which speak ill of her.

The fact of knowing how to use or not this code or "label" of non-verbal communication affects us in many facets of our life, but if there is a context in which this dimension of our behavior is decisive, it is in the job interview, where the person interviewing us will try to know as much as possible about us in the minimum time.


Gestures and postures avoid in a selection process

Below you can see The most common mistakes during a job interview in regards to non-verbal communication .

1. Weak handshake or "hand fillet"

The handshake is usually the first contact with the person who is going to interview us, and therefore It has great importance as a way to make a first impression in the most literal sense . In this situation, some people can get a very weak grip (what is known as "steak hand") because of nerves or because they feel intimidated by the situation.

It is important to avoid this: the grip must be firm, to show assertiveness and avoid showing a passive attitude. Further, It must be accompanied by a direct look into the eyes of the other person .


2. Hands in the pockets

When nerves appear, it is common to realize that "you have a pair of hands" and you do not know what to do with them. We are so afraid of making mistakes that we begin to question all our possible movements, and that paralyzes us. One of the solutions to this is to end the problem by making our hands disappear inside the pockets. However, it is a bad idea .

Having your hands in your pockets during a job interview or during the transition between the handshake and the time we are going to sit in the chair that the other person offers us causes the impression of passivity and insecurity. The alternative to this is to let the arms hang normally and use your hands to gesture accompanying our speech.

3. The crossing of arms

Crossing the arms appears as a solution to the nerve problem indicated above. But nevertheless, it's even worse than putting your hands in your pockets , since it is a less discreet gesture and also denotes an attitude to the defensive.


4. Pounce on the table

Once seated before the table where the interview will take place, it is important to maintain an upright position , making the back and thighs maintain a 90 degree angle. To advance the body on the table supporting a lot of weight in the arms is a gesture of fatigue and causes bad image because it is considered unprofessional.

5. Touch your head

Another reaction to stressful situations is touching certain parts of the head and face. Normally, these are the nose, mouth or hair. It is important to keep an eye on yourself to make sure that this does not happen as a repetitive act , because it hinders communication by forcing someone to keep their eyes somewhat low or to hide part of the face behind the hand and arm.

6. Avoid eye contact

Keeping our eyes fixed on the face and eyes of the person who interviews us when he speaks to us is essential. However, it is important that, instead of focusing on the eyes, we worry more about not looking at her eyes, that is, becoming aware of when we break eye contact instead of during eye contact, what otherwise it can cause us to worry too much about the image we give and stop paying attention to what is being said to us.

7. Support the head in the hand

Holding the weight of the head on one arm can be an automatic gesture that appears as a response to stress and fatigue that the situation of having to manage our role during the interview. However it is something that we have to avoid completely, among other things because it makes our position become asymmetric, which gives an image of fatigue and disinterest.

8. Getting too close

It is important to bear in mind that a job interview belongs to the professional field, in which personal distances are greater than during informal treatment. That must translate into our non-verbal language and we must leave a space between us and the interviewer or interviewer .

9. Maintain an oblique posture

Positioning yourself diagonally with respect to the person interviewing us is an automatic reaction that some people have when they want to hide a part of their face or prefer not to reveal their entire body. This is interpreted as a sign of insecurity and a strategy to stay defensive .

10. Bend your back

Staying in a stooped position while sitting is very common in people unaccustomed to sitting properly and, besides being bad for the health, it gives bad image, to the being sign of fatigue .

11. No gesturing

Nerves can cause us to "freeze" the entire body and limit ourselves to talking . This turns our message and our expression into something empty of nuances and uninteresting. It is advisable to accompany what we say with gestures of hands and arms at the same pace in which we speak.


Assault Weapon Bans Are All About Appearance (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
11 gestes interdits lors d'un entretien d'embauche

11 gestes interdits lors d'un entretien d'embauche

Mai 11, 2021

Il est vrai qu’il est impossible de lire dans l’esprit des personnes qui observent leurs gestes, mais cela ne signifie pas que, dans le monde du langage non verbal, il n’existe pas de codes de comportement.

Ce ne sont pas des normes qui nous enseignent dans les salles de classe ou que nous avons dû mémoriser des textes de lecture, bien sûr, mais, même sans le savoir, nous jugeons toujours quels types de postures et de mouvements parlent bien d'une personne et qui parlent mal d'elle.

Le fait de savoir comment utiliser ou non ce code ou "étiquette" de communication non verbale nous concerne dans de nombreuses facettes de notre vie, mais s'il existe un contexte dans lequel cette dimension de notre comportement est déterminante, c'est lors de l'entretien d'embauche, où la personne qui nous interroge essaiera d’en savoir le plus possible sur nous en un minimum de temps.


Les gestes et les postures évitent dans un processus de sélection

Ci-dessous vous pouvez voir Les erreurs les plus courantes lors d'un entretien d'embauche en matière de communication non verbale .

1. Poignée de main faible ou "filet de main"

La poignée de main est généralement le premier contact avec la personne qui va nous interroger, et donc Il a une grande importance en tant que moyen de faire une première impression au sens le plus littéral du terme. . Dans cette situation, certaines personnes peuvent avoir une prise très faible (appelée "main steak") à cause de leurs nerfs ou parce qu'elles se sentent intimidées par la situation.

Il est important d'éviter cela: la prise doit être ferme, faire preuve d'affirmation de soi et éviter de faire preuve d'attitude passive. En outre, Il doit être accompagné d'un regard direct dans les yeux de l'autre personne .


2. Les mains dans les poches

Lorsque les nerfs apparaissent, il est courant de se rendre compte que "vous avez une paire de mains" et que vous ne savez pas quoi en faire. Nous avons tellement peur de faire des erreurs que nous commençons à remettre en question tous nos mouvements possibles, ce qui nous paralyse. Une des solutions consiste à mettre fin au problème en faisant disparaître nos mains dans les poches. Cependant, c'est une mauvaise idée .

Avoir les mains dans les poches pendant un entretien d'embauche ou pendant la transition entre la poignée de main et le moment où nous allons nous asseoir dans le fauteuil que nous offre l'autre personne nous donne une impression de passivité et d'insécurité. L'alternative consiste à laisser les bras pendre normalement et à utiliser vos mains pour faire un geste qui accompagne notre discours.

3. Le croisement des bras

Croiser les bras apparaît comme une solution au problème nerveux indiqué ci-dessus. Cependant, c'est encore pire que de mettre les mains dans les poches , puisqu'il s'agit d'un geste moins discret et dénote également une attitude vis-à-vis de la défensive.


4. sauter sur la table

Une fois assis devant la table où l’entretien se déroulera, il est important de rester debout , en faisant en sorte que le dos et les cuisses maintiennent un angle de 90 degrés. Faire avancer le corps sur la table avec beaucoup de poids dans les bras est un geste de fatigue et cause une mauvaise image car il est considéré comme non professionnel.

5. Touchez votre tête

Une autre réaction à des situations stressantes consiste à toucher certaines parties de la tête et du visage. Normalement, ce sont le nez, la bouche ou les cheveux. Il est important de garder un œil sur vous pour vous assurer que cela ne se produit pas comme un acte répétitif. , car cela entrave la communication en obligeant quelqu'un à garder les yeux un peu bas ou à cacher une partie du visage derrière la main et le bras.

6. Évitez le contact visuel

Garder les yeux fixés sur le visage et les yeux de la personne qui nous interroge quand il nous parle est essentielle. Cependant, il est important qu'au lieu de nous concentrer sur les yeux, nous craignions davantage de ne pas regarder ses yeux, c'est-à-dire de prendre conscience du moment où nous rompons le contact visuel plutôt que pendant le contact visuel. Quoi sinon cela peut nous amener à trop nous inquiéter de l'image que nous donnons et arrêtez de faire attention à ce qui nous est dit.

7. Soutenir la tête dans la main

Tenir le poids de la tête sur un bras peut être un geste automatique cela apparaît comme une réponse au stress et à la fatigue que la situation de devoir gérer notre rôle pendant l’entretien. Cependant, c'est quelque chose que nous devons absolument éviter, entre autres parce que cela rend notre position asymétrique, ce qui donne une image de fatigue et de désintérêt.

8. Se rapprocher trop

Il est important de garder à l'esprit qu'un entretien d'embauche appartient au domaine professionnel, dans lequel les distances personnelles sont plus grandes que lors d'un traitement informel. Cela doit se traduire dans notre langage non verbal et nous devons laisser un espace entre nous et l'intervieweur ou l'intervieweur .

9. Maintenir une posture oblique

Se placer en diagonale par rapport à la personne qui nous interroge est une réaction automatique de certaines personnes qui souhaitent cacher une partie de leur visage ou préfèrent ne pas révéler tout leur corps. Ceci est interprété comme un signe d'insécurité et une stratégie pour rester défensif .

10. Plie le dos

Rester dans une position penchée en position assise est très courant chez les personnes qui ne sont pas habituées à s’asseoir correctement et, en plus d’être mauvais pour la santé, cela donne une mauvaise image, à l’être signe de fatigue .

11. Pas de gestes

Les nerfs peuvent nous amener à "geler" tout le corps et à nous limiter à parler . Cela transforme notre message et notre expression en quelque chose de vide, de nuances et d’intéressant. Il est conseillé d’accompagner ce que nous disons de gestes des mains et des bras au même rythme que nous parlons.


LE LANGAGE CORPOREL À EVITER (Episode 6) (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes