yes, therapy helps!
12 + 1 movies about psychopathy that every movie buff should know

12 + 1 movies about psychopathy that every movie buff should know

May 24, 2022

As we all know, the figure of the psychopath has been used repeatedly in the world of cinema. Normally, characters with psychopathic traits are represented by the typical knife killer who chases young teenagers They are having a crazy evening with their friends.

Movies about psychopaths: the definitive ranking

But we go beyond that. We invite you to the most moviegoers and, especially, to the followers of this kind of genre, to get into the world of antisocial personality disorder through the magic of cinema. To achieve this, we have developed a list of films particularly recommended by a passionate about this subject.


We will not reveal "spoilers" about the films so you can enjoy them completely!

Classics as long as they tackle psychopathy

We can not inaugurate this article without mentioning, of course, the classic films that tackle psychopathy . Surely many of them you will already know, but we should not ignore these jewels from the world of entertainment.

1. The silence of the lambs (1991)

Considered cult film and one of the best of the horror genre, we find a classic: The silence of the lambs (along with all the others in the saga), with Hannibal Lecter as the protagonist represented by the great Anthony Hopkins, it was a winning film of five Oscars.


The FBI is looking for the so-called "Buffalo Bill", a serial killer who pursues and murders teenagers , painstakingly preparing each crime and tearing off the skin afterwards. Clarice Starling, an expert in psychopathic behaviors is hired to help catch this ruthless killer. To do so, visit the high security prison where Hannibal Lecter, a former psychoanalyst and cruel murderer and endowed with an intelligence far superior to the common one, is hospitalized, in order to obtain information about the behavior patterns of the free-riding murderer.

2. American Psycho (2000)

Patrick Bateman , played by the famous and charming Christian Bale, is a handsome and successful yuppie Wall Street apparently has it all: he is chivalrous, attractive, intelligent, powerful and gets the woman he wants. But it seems that, beneath all this apparent perfection, there resides a sadistic potential killer, which no one suspects because of his high social status.


For those of you who have not seen this movie, what are you waiting for? Absolutely recommended, heartbreaking, with touches of acid humor that go hand-in-hand, mixed with scenes of depravity that make American Psycho in an essential film about psychopathy.

3. The mechanical orange (1971)

Directed by the excellent and tedious Stanley Kubrick , the story of The mechanical orange is about a boy (in charge of the very successful Malcolm McDowell), who is accustomed to a stormy life, full of violence and chaos. After multiple criminal acts committed by him and his companions, he is finally captured and imprisoned. During his internment as a prisoner, he decides to submit voluntarily to a method based on behavioral psychology that aims to suppress violent impulses.

Probably, The mechanical orange is the best-known film about antisocial personality disorder. A famous film that, despite having more than 40 years in the retina of moviegoers around the world, is still one of the best cinematographic creations in history, as well as one of the most interesting for deepening criminal behavior.

4. The glow (1980)

Following the direction of Stanley Kubrick and starring the experienced Jack Nicholson, the film is about the history of Jack Torrance , an ex-alcoholic writer who moves with his family to a lonely high mountain hotel to work as a night watchman.

Once there, he begins to suffer a series of psychic changes that lead to a spiral of violence against his wife and son. In this case, the personality of the protagonist would fit better in the sociopathy, for the psychological change that Jack suffers due to the sudden change in his life.

5. Psycho (1960)

We could not make this list without naming the famous movie Psychosis, directed by Alfred Hitchcok and starring Anthony Perkins.

This film is about the search for the secretary's killer Marion Crane , an intrepid woman who was housed in a lonely roadside motel after having run away with her company's money.

6. Se7en (1995)

Essential. Directed by David Fincher and with a luxury cast, with Morgan Freeman , Brad Pitt , Gwyneth Paltrow Y Kevin Spacey . A series of murders keep two police departments of the investigation department in suspense. Horrified by the cruelty of the crimes, they are surprised by the hidden message the murderer is trying to make.

With one of the most unexpected endings in the history of cinema, Se7en takes the viewer to the limit, transporting him to the world of a macabre psychopath whose goal is to leave a dark message to humanity.

Recent films about psychopathy

At last! Once reviewed the indisputable classics that combine high quality films with psychopathic characters, the time has come to review some billboard titles with less than a decade of life and they also talk about characters with antisocial personality disorder.

7. Funny games (2007)

A couple and their son are going to spend a few days and to rest at their vacation home. Newcomers, they meet two young people (Michael Pitt and Brady Corbet), apparently very cordial and polite, who ask them for eggs. From that moment, the family will be involved in a hell that they wish they had not been partakers in their worst nightmares.

Although there is an earlier version, I will recommend the remake more current Endowed with scenes of extreme cruelty, it is disturbing, Not suitable for sensitive people! In order not to spoil the sensations that are experienced when viewing this film, I will not explain anything else. Of course, I recommend you not watch the trailer. Enjoy it! Simply, it has no waste.

8. Joshua, the son of evil (2007)

A couple like any other celebrates the birth of their second child, Lily. Joshua, their first child, is not an ordinary child. He has an intelligence and precocity that frightens. He shows a macabre serenity for his young age, and he seems increasingly unhappy with the arrival of his sister in the family.

Subsequently, the family will be involved in a serious situation of domestic terror that they would never have expected. The reason?

9. Hard candy (2005)

Jeff, a 32-year-old photographer, organizes a meeting with Hayley (played by a very young Ellen Page), a 14-year-old girl with whom she has been chatting on the Internet for a while. After citing himself for coffee, Jeff invites Hayley to his house in order to make a photo shoot.

A spooky, twisted film that plays with the mind of the spectator and leaves no one indifferent. Totally recommended!

10. The perfume (2006)

Jean Baptiste was born among the remains of fish and rot, abandoned by his mother. He was sent to a hospice where he was brought up in a totally hostile environment, repudiated by all due to his strange peculiarity: he lacked body odor. Although, however, he had an exceptional sense of smell, which led him to become obsessed with catching all kinds of essences: the smell of glass, copper ... and young and beautiful women.

Excellent film that won multiple awards and recognitions. In the line of The silence of the lambs, following a serial killer who commits his crimes in a very peculiar way and whose victims are only women.

11. Stoker (Perverse ties, 2013)

The film is about India Stoker , a teenager who loses her father. Since then his life is broken, because his father was the only person with whom he felt a deep bond. His impassive behavior hides deep dark feelings, which will be understood and shared by his uncle's Charlie , character that will appear by surprise to take care of her and her unstable mother (Nicole Kidman).

Film special and surprising at least, for its delicate and poetic way of dealing with violence and disturbance, mixing exquisitely with eroticism.

12. We have to talk about Kevin (2011)

Last but not least, my biggest discovery and my most recommended recent film about antisocial personality disorder.

Starring the unmatched Ezra Miller (in his adolescent stage) and nominated for several awards, this film is mainly about Kevin and his mother Eva. Since his birth, Kevin is a difficult child: he does not show any appreciation to his mother, he cries incessantly, he does not learn to go to the bathroom just to bother and he shows no interest in anything. As the child grows, his behavior is increasingly sinister and his relationship with the mother more conflictive.

A film that combines parts of the past and present, keeping the viewer in constant uncertainty. Exquisitely disturbing, with little dialogue and playing with textures, colors ... to let the viewer's mind flow in all kinds of sensations. Only recommended for true followers of the genre!

Shutter island (2010)

This film does not completely conform to the criterion of antisocial personality disorder. In fact, it may be more related to another psychopathology: post-traumatic stress disorder. But I wanted to include it in this ranking of films that deal with psychopathy, not only because of its indirect relation to the disorder but because of its enormous psychological relevance.Well, let's say it all: because I consider it an absolutely wonderful movie.

I will not tell you about it, for the same reason Funny Games. Just ... enjoy every second of this work of art!


How Psycho Created It's Own Thriller Genre | Film Buff (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
12 + 1 films sur la psychopathie que tout amateur de cinéma devrait connaître

12 + 1 films sur la psychopathie que tout amateur de cinéma devrait connaître

Septembre 18, 2019

Comme nous le savons tous, la figure du psychopathe a été utilisée à plusieurs reprises dans le monde du cinéma. Normalement, les caractères avec des traits psychopathiques sont représentés par le tueur au couteau typique qui poursuit les jeunes adolescents Ils passent une soirée folle avec leurs amis.

Films sur les psychopathes: le classement définitif

Mais nous allons au-delà de cela. Nous invitons les plus spectateurs, et particulièrement les adeptes de ce genre, à entrer dans le monde des troubles de la personnalité antisocial à travers la magie du cinéma. Pour ce faire, nous avons développé une liste de films particulièrement recommandés par les passionnés de ce sujet.


Nous ne dévoilerons pas de "spoilers" sur les films afin que vous puissiez en profiter pleinement!

Les classiques tant qu'ils s'attaquent à la psychopathie

Nous ne pouvons pas inaugurer cet article sans mentionner, bien sûr, les films classiques qui abordent la psychopathie . Vous connaissez sûrement déjà bon nombre d’entre eux, mais nous ne devons pas ignorer ces bijoux du monde du divertissement.

1. Le silence des agneaux (1991)

Considéré comme un film culte et l'un des meilleurs du genre horreur, on retrouve un classique: Le silence des agneaux (avec tous les autres de la saga), avec Hannibal Lecter En tant que protagoniste représenté par le grand Anthony Hopkins, ce fut un film gagnant de cinq Oscars.


Le FBI recherche le soi-disant "Buffalo Bill", un tueur en série qui poursuit et assassine des adolescents , préparant minutieusement chaque crime et déchirant la peau après. Clarice Starling, experte en comportements psychopathiques, est embauchée pour aider à attraper ce tueur impitoyable. Pour ce faire, rendez-vous à la prison de haute sécurité où est hospitalisé Hannibal Lecter, ancien psychanalyste et meurtrier cruel, doté d'une intelligence bien supérieure à celle du commun.

2. American Psycho (2000)

Patrick Bateman , joué par le célèbre et charmant Christian Bale, est un beau et réussi Yuppie Wall Street a apparemment tout pour plaire: il est chevaleresque, attrayant, intelligent, puissant et obtient la femme qu’il veut. Mais il semble que, derrière toute cette apparente perfection, se cache un potentiel tueur sadique, que personne ne soupçonne en raison de son statut social élevé.


Pour ceux d'entre vous qui n'ont pas vu ce film, qu'attendez-vous? Absolument recommandé, déchirant, avec des touches d'humour acide qui vont de pair, mélangé à des scènes de dépravation qui font American Psycho dans un film essentiel sur la psychopathie.

3. L'orange mécanique (1971)

Réalisé par l'excellent et fastidieux Stanley Kubrick , l'histoire de Orange mécanique parle d’un garçon (en charge du très réussi Malcolm McDowell), habitué à une vie orageuse, pleine de violence et de chaos. Après de multiples actes criminels commis par lui et ses compagnons, il est finalement capturé et emprisonné. Lors de son internement en tant que prisonnier, il décide de se soumettre volontairement à une méthode basée sur la psychologie comportementale qui vise à supprimer les pulsions violentes.

Probablement Orange mécanique est le film le plus connu sur le trouble de la personnalité antisociale. Un film célèbre qui, malgré plus de 40 ans dans la rétine des cinéphiles du monde entier, reste l'une des meilleures créations cinématographiques de l'histoire et l'une des plus intéressantes pour approfondir le comportement criminel.

4. La lueur (1980)

Sous la direction de Stanley Kubrick et mettant en vedette l’expérimenté Jack Nicholson, le film raconte l’histoire de Jack Torrance , un ancien écrivain alcoolique qui déménage avec sa famille dans un hôtel solitaire de haute montagne pour travailler comme gardien de nuit.

Une fois sur place, il commence à subir une série de changements psychiques qui entraînent une spirale de violence contre sa femme et son fils. Dans ce cas, la personnalité du protagoniste s’intégrerait mieux dans la sociopathie, pour le changement psychologique que Jack subit en raison du changement soudain de sa vie.

5. Psycho (1960)

Nous ne pourrions pas faire cette liste sans nommer le célèbre film Psychose, réalisé par Alfred Hitchcok et mettant en vedette Anthony Perkins.

Ce film parle de la recherche de l'assassin du secrétaire Marion Crane , une femme intrépide logée dans un motel isolé en bordure de route après s'être enfuie avec l'argent de son entreprise

6. Se7en (1995)

Essentiel. Réalisé par David Fincher et avec une distribution de luxe, avec Morgan Freeman , Brad Pitt , Gwyneth Paltrow et Kevin Spacey . Une série de meurtres maintient en suspens deux services de police du service d'enquête. Horrifiés par la cruauté des crimes, ils sont surpris par le message caché que le meurtrier tente de faire.

Se7en, l'un des dénouements les plus inattendus de l'histoire du cinéma, pousse le spectateur à l'extrême, le transportant dans le monde d'un psychopathe macabre dont le but est de laisser un message noir à l'humanité.

Films récents sur la psychopathie

Enfin! Une fois passés en revue les classiques incontestables qui associent des films de haute qualité à des personnages psychopathes, le moment est venu de passer en revue certains titres d'affichage avec moins d'une décennie de vie et ils parlent aussi de personnages avec un trouble de la personnalité antisocial.

7. Jeux amusants (2007)

Un couple et leur fils vont passer quelques jours et se reposer à leur maison de vacances. Nouveaux venus, ils rencontrent deux jeunes (Michael Pitt et Brady Corbet), apparemment très cordiaux et polis, qui leur demandent des œufs. À partir de ce moment, la famille sera plongée dans un enfer où ils souhaiteraient ne pas avoir participé à leurs pires cauchemars.

Bien qu’il existe une version antérieure, je recommanderai le refaire plus courant Doué de scènes d’extrême cruauté, c’est dérangeant, Ne convient pas aux personnes sensibles! Afin de ne pas gâcher les sensations ressenties lors de la visualisation de ce film, je n’expliquerai rien d’autre. Bien sûr, je vous recommande de ne pas regarder la bande-annonce. Profitez-en! Simplement, il n'y a pas de gaspillage.

8. Josué, le fils du mal (2007)

Un couple comme un autre célèbre la naissance de leur deuxième enfant, Lily. Josué, leur premier enfant, n'est pas un enfant ordinaire. Il a une intelligence et une précocité qui fait peur. Il montre une sérénité macabre pour son jeune âge et il semble de plus en plus mécontent de l'arrivée de sa sœur dans la famille.

Par la suite, la famille sera impliquée dans une grave situation de terreur domestique à laquelle elle ne s’attendrait jamais. La raison?

9. Bonbon dur (2005)

Jeff, un photographe de 32 ans, organise une réunion avec Hayley (interprétée par une très jeune Ellen Page), une jeune fille de 14 ans avec laquelle elle discute sur Internet depuis un certain temps. Après s'être citée pour prendre un café, Jeff invite Hayley chez lui afin de prendre une photo.

Un film sinistre et tordu qui joue avec l'esprit du spectateur et ne laisse personne indifférent. Totalement recommandé!

10. Le parfum (2006)

Jean Baptiste est né parmi les restes de poisson et de pourriture abandonnés par sa mère. Il a été envoyé dans un hospice où il a été élevé dans un environnement totalement hostile, répudié par tous en raison de son étrange particularité: il manquait d'odeur corporelle. Cependant, son odorat était exceptionnel, ce qui l'avait conduit à devenir obsédé par la capture de toutes sortes d'essences: l'odeur du verre, du cuivre ... et des femmes jeunes et belles.

Excellent film qui a remporté plusieurs prix et distinctions. Dans la ligne de Le silence des agneaux, à la suite d’un tueur en série qui commet ses crimes d’une manière très particulière et dont les victimes ne sont que des femmes.

11. Stoker (Liens pervers, 2013)

Le film parle de Inde Stoker , une adolescente qui perd son père. Depuis lors, sa vie est brisée, car son père était la seule personne avec laquelle il ressentait un lien profond. Son comportement impassible cache de profonds sentiments sombres, qui seront compris et partagés par son oncle. Charlie , personnage qui apparaîtra par surprise pour s’occuper d’elle et de sa mère instable (Nicole Kidman).

Film spécial et surprenant au moins pour sa manière délicate et poétique de traiter la violence et les troubles, mêlant à merveille l'érotisme.

12. Nous devons parler de Kevin (2011)

Enfin et surtout, ma plus grande découverte et mon dernier film le plus recommandé sur les troubles de la personnalité antisociale.

Avec l'inégalé Ezra Miller (à son stade adolescent) et nominé pour plusieurs prix, ce film parle principalement de Kevin et de sa mère Eva. Depuis sa naissance, Kevin est un enfant difficile: il ne montre aucune appréciation à sa mère, il pleure sans cesse, il n'apprend pas à aller aux toilettes pour se donner la peine et il ne montre aucun intérêt pour quoi que ce soit. À mesure que l'enfant grandit, son comportement est de plus en plus sinistre et sa relation avec la mère plus conflictuelle.

Un film qui combine des parties du passé et du présent, en gardant le spectateur dans une incertitude constante. Extrêmement dérangeante, avec peu de dialogue et de jouer avec les textures, les couleurs ... pour laisser l’esprit du spectateur s’écouler dans toutes sortes de sensations. Uniquement recommandé pour les vrais adeptes du genre!

Shutter Island (2010)

Ce film ne répond pas complètement au critère du trouble de la personnalité antisociale. En fait, cela pourrait être davantage lié à une autre psychopathologie: le syndrome de stress post-traumatique. Mais je voulais l'inclure dans ce classement des films traitant de la psychopathie, non seulement à cause de sa relation indirecte avec le trouble, mais à cause de son énorme importance psychologique.Eh bien, disons tout: parce que je considère que c'est un film absolument merveilleux

Je ne vous en parlerai pas pour la même raison Jeux drôles. Juste ... profitez de chaque seconde de cette œuvre d'art!


When life hands you a gas station... – Bullsprit Ep 1 (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes