yes, therapy helps!
12 benefits of smiling (psychological and social)

12 benefits of smiling (psychological and social)

May 29, 2022

Dental clinic ads remind us constantly that we should have a pretty smile . But the benefits of the smile go much further than what refers to the physical aspect.

While having a sense of humor helps us to connect with others, have a greater connection with other individuals, cope with stress and even improve memory as explained in our article "The 9 benefits of having a sense of humor", the smile, as A visible part of our face and at the same time pleasant, also provides a series of psychological, social and health benefits.

In this article we will delve into these benefits and delve into why we should smile whenever we can.


What are the benefits of smiling

Smiling can seem an involuntary response to something that is funny or makes us feel good; However, it is much more than that. We all smile several times a day, something that is intimately related to happiness. Surely you will have noticed that when another person smiles, their expression is much more pleasant and inspires greater confidence.

Surely you remember those people who always have a smile on their face, something that makes them look younger. But, Have you ever considered what benefits the smile brings? In the following lines of this article you can find the answers to this question.


1. It is associated with the charism

The smile has a great power of attraction towards the people that surround us. In fact, surely you will remember better those individuals who show a big smile, because you will perceive them as closer, more pleasant and this makes you trust them more. That's why people who tend to smile more often are often seen as more charismatic.

In addition, charismatic people present a series of traits and carry out characteristic habits.

  • If you want to know more about this, you can read our article: "Charismatic personality: 14 traits and habits"

2. Inspire greater confidence

Scientific studies have proven that when the people we interact with genuinely smile, we trust them more. Trust is an important part of interpersonal relationships , whether they are loved ones, simple acquaintances or people we know for the first time. Smiling attracts our environment and allows us to create a closer connection with the other person.


3. Increase credibility

The smile is also a useful communicative resource if what we want is to increase our image of credibility ; however, when it does not fit the context it can have the opposite effect. The people who smile the most are not only more trustworthy, they show a more credible image.

4. It makes you more accessible

Trust causes us to be more accessible people, which improves our interpersonal relationships. According to scientific studies, people are more willing to engage socially with other people if they smile n . A smile has a great power of attraction, and this facial expression makes other people feel comfortable with us. Facilitate communication

5. It is contagious

Scientific studies have found evidence that the smile is contagious , so it is necessary in relationships with others. This has to do with mirror neurons, which are key in learning, especially in the case of modeling. Smiling, therefore, can make other people smile, which also makes them benefit from the points discussed in this article.

6. Releases substances related to pleasure

The smile seems important to activate some brain areas related to pleasurable behavior, such as the ventral tegmental area. The ventral tegmental area has been key to the survival of the species, since it helps to repeat the behaviors that are pleasing to us. This is mainly due to substances such as endorphins, which are natural analgesics.

7. Increase happiness

A much discussed theory, which is known as the facial feedback hypothesis, states that the smile is key to increase happiness . This is because it stimulates the brain and also releases endorphins and facilitates the synthesis of other substances related to happiness such as serotonin.

8. Relax

According to the previous theory, the smile causes the body to feel more calm and relaxed . This helps to release the tension of the body and, in addition, reduces blood pressure.In this sense, some sources seem to conclude that people who smile more are less likely to suffer a heart attack or other cardiovascular problems.

9. Increase life expectancy

Scientific studies have also found a relationship between smile and life expectancy. An investigation carried out by the Wayne State University of Michigan (United States), in 2010, affirms that the people who smile the most live the longest . Other studies claim that smiling makes us look younger.

10. It makes you feel less stressed

The smile could indirectly contribute to reducing stress levels . As mentioned earlier, it could activate the brain regions related to pleasure and also help to synthesize happiness chemicals. This can be a great resource in stressful situations.

11. Makes you more attractive

Without a doubt, smiling makes us more attractive. If in one of the previous points reference was made to the fact that smiling is a key feature of charismatic people, it also favors physical attractiveness.

12. It's free

In a world where almost everything costs money, the smile is free . So you can smile all you want and benefit from the above points without it being an expense to your economy. There is no excuse not to smile.


Smile More: Why We Should Smile More Often! (Benefits Of Smiling) (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
12 avantages de sourire (psychologique et social)

12 avantages de sourire (psychologique et social)

Avril 22, 2019

Les annonces des cliniques dentaires nous rappellent constamment que nous devrions avoir un joli sourire . Mais les avantages du sourire vont beaucoup plus loin que ce qui est physique.

Bien que le sens de l'humour nous aide à communiquer avec les autres, à établir un lien plus étroit avec les autres, à faire face au stress et même à améliorer la mémoire, comme expliqué dans notre article "Les 9 avantages du sens de l'humour", le sourire, Une partie visible de notre visage, à la fois agréable et procurant une série d’avantages psychologiques, sociaux et sanitaires.

Dans cet article, nous allons explorer ces avantages et pourquoi nous devrions sourire chaque fois que nous le pouvons.


Quels sont les avantages de sourire

Le sourire peut sembler une réponse involontaire à quelque chose d’amusant ou qui nous fait nous sentir bien; Cependant, c'est beaucoup plus que cela. Nous sourions tous plusieurs fois par jour, ce qui est intimement lié au bonheur. Vous aurez sûrement remarqué que lorsqu'une autre personne sourit, son expression est beaucoup plus agréable et inspire une plus grande confiance.

Vous vous souvenez sûrement de ces personnes qui ont toujours le sourire au visage, ce qui les rajeunit. Mais Avez-vous déjà envisagé les avantages du sourire? Vous trouverez dans les lignes suivantes de cet article les réponses à cette question.


1. Il est associé au charisme

Le sourire a un grand pouvoir d'attraction sur les gens qui nous entourent. En fait, vous vous souviendrez sûrement mieux des personnes qui affichent un grand sourire, car vous les percevrez comme plus proches, plus agréables et cela leur fait davantage confiance. C'est pourquoi les personnes qui ont tendance à sourire plus souvent sont souvent considérées comme plus charismatiques.

De plus, les personnes charismatiques présentent une série de traits et exercent des habitudes caractéristiques.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus à ce sujet, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Personnalité charismatique: 14 traits et habitudes"

2. Inspirer une plus grande confiance

Des études scientifiques ont prouvé que lorsque les gens avec qui nous interagissons sourient sincèrement, nous leur faisons davantage confiance. La confiance est une partie importante des relations interpersonnelles , qu’ils soient des êtres chers, de simples connaissances ou des personnes que nous connaissons pour la première fois. Le sourire attire notre environnement et nous permet de créer un lien plus étroit avec l’autre personne.


3. Augmenter la crédibilité

Le sourire est également une ressource de communication utile si nous voulons renforcer notre image de crédibilité. ; Cependant, quand cela ne correspond pas au contexte, cela peut avoir l'effet inverse. Les personnes qui sourient le plus ne sont pas seulement plus dignes de confiance, elles affichent une image plus crédible.

4. Cela vous rend plus accessible

La confiance fait de nous des personnes plus accessibles, ce qui améliore nos relations interpersonnelles. Selon des études scientifiques, les gens sont plus disposés à s'engager socialement avec d'autres personnes s'ils sourient n . Un sourire a un grand pouvoir d'attraction et cette expression du visage met les autres en confiance. Faciliter la communication

5. C'est contagieux

Des études scientifiques ont prouvé que le sourire était contagieux , il est donc nécessaire dans les relations avec les autres. Cela concerne les neurones miroirs, qui sont essentiels à l'apprentissage, en particulier dans le cas de la modélisation. Le sourire peut donc faire sourire les autres, ce qui leur permet également de bénéficier des points abordés dans cet article.

6. libère des substances liées au plaisir

Le sourire semble important pour activer certaines zones du cerveau liées à un comportement agréable, telles que la région du tegmental ventral. La zone tegmentale ventrale a été la clé de la survie de l’espèce, car elle permet de répéter les comportements qui nous plaisent. Cela est principalement dû à des substances telles que les endorphines, qui sont des analgésiques naturels.

7. Augmenter le bonheur

Une théorie très discutée, connue sous le nom d’hypothèse de rétroaction faciale, affirme que le sourire est la clé pour augmenter le bonheur . En effet, il stimule le cerveau et libère également des endorphines et facilite la synthèse d'autres substances liées au bonheur, telles que la sérotonine.

8. Détendez-vous

Selon la théorie précédente, le sourire amène le corps à se sentir plus calme et détendu . Cela aide à relâcher la tension du corps et réduit en outre la pression artérielle.En ce sens, certaines sources semblent conclure que les personnes qui sourient davantage sont moins susceptibles de subir une crise cardiaque ou d’autres problèmes cardiovasculaires.

9. Augmenter l'espérance de vie

Des études scientifiques ont également établi une relation entre le sourire et l’espérance de vie. Une enquête menée par l’Université Wayne State du Michigan (États-Unis) en 2010 affirme que les personnes qui sourient le plus vivent le plus longtemps . D'autres études affirment que le sourire nous rajeunit.

10. Cela vous fait sentir moins stressé

Le sourire pourrait contribuer indirectement à réduire le niveau de stress . Comme mentionné précédemment, il pourrait activer les régions du cerveau liées au plaisir et aider à la synthèse de produits chimiques du bonheur. Cela peut être une excellente ressource dans des situations stressantes.

11. vous rend plus attrayant

Sans aucun doute, le sourire nous rend plus attrayant. Si, dans l'un des points précédents, il a été mentionné que le sourire est une caractéristique essentielle des personnes charismatiques, il favorise également l'attractivité physique.

12. c'est gratuit

Dans un monde où presque tout coûte de l'argent, le sourire est gratuit . Ainsi, vous pouvez sourire comme bon vous semble et bénéficier des points ci-dessus sans que cela ne soit une dépense pour votre économie. Il n'y a pas d'excuse pour ne pas sourire.


Comment reconnaitre une personne hypocrite ? (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes