yes, therapy helps!
12 mental traps that lead us to spend more money

12 mental traps that lead us to spend more money

June 23, 2022

We live in the consumer society. We are continually buying things : we launch to the offers, we renew clothes every time, we obsess with the new model of a mobile, we look for packs and limited editions of our favorite products, we buy new systems and elements of entertainment ... and often we do not realize what what we spend and how we do it on things we did not really need. And sometimes, later, we regret it. Why do we do it? What moves us to excessive spending?

In this article we are going to review a series of mental traps that lead us to spend more money , often favored by the marketing departments of companies.


  • Related article: "The 28 types of advertising: different ways to advertise a product"

Different mental traps that make us spend more

There are many mental traps that exist to make us spend more. These traps, which we often self-provoke, are exploited by the different advertising strategies of large brands and commercial surfaces. Others, however, do not need to be used: we carry them out ourselves without anyone trying to attract our attention. Next we will see a few of the different mental traps in which the majority of people usually fall.

1. Feeling of reciprocity

The interaction between buyer and seller , especially when this makes a supposed concession and / or emotionality is used as an element of persuasion, it makes it possible to generate the sensation of needing to correspond to said interaction with a greater expense. It is a very used element in the commercial sector when there is a face-to-face interaction. The idea is to assume that what the other person does is try to advise us as a friend. In this way, the mercantilist background of the interaction takes second place.


2. Desire to be coherent

Another element frequently used by the commercial sector is the desire on the part of most people to be consistent with their previous opinions and actions. This type of mental trap is what makes us be faithful to a brand despite the existence of other alternatives of equal or greater quality and cheaper. It is also used to sell something at a general level for the person to accept and then tell the small print (something that many people end up giving only because they have already positively predisposed and not to generate a distortion with their previous opinion).

3. The bias of omnipresent optimism

Being an optimist is positive in many aspects and helps us to face the world with enthusiasm. However, it can lead us to underestimate the risks. This will mean that in extreme cases the need or economic capacity is not adequately assessed and lead us to spend more money in a more impulsive and less reflective way .


  • Maybe you're interested: "Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

4. Celebrations and events

It is usual that at great parties and special moments like Christmas we tend to spend more. It is a time when we consider that we can afford to make extra expenses and sometimes these expenses exceed the limits of what we had planned. This also extends to days created and prepared by brands and commercial surfaces to stimulate mass consumption , like the sales or Black Friday.

5. Shopping as a way to escape

Many people resort to shopping as a way to distract themselves and forget their problems, without needing or pretending to actually buy something. As well can serve as a way to increase self-esteem in people who have it low , tried to improve their self-perception through the purchase (either by the fact of being well looked after by the dependents or by buying something that makes them feel better, like clothes). Although it is something that can occupy free time, the truth is that it can lead to large outlays and in some cases can even become compulsive and pathological.

6. Limited availability

That something is apparently temporary and restricted draws attention and facilitates the expense, since otherwise it would be missing an opportunity that may not happen again. It is a frequent commercial strategy to generate a sense of urgency and push the immediate and not very thoughtful purchase. Is a resource used in products of any type , from food to clothing through any type of instrument or tool.

  • Maybe you're interested: "5 tricks to sell that use the big brands"

7. Offers and bargains

Second unit at half price! This and other offerings are some of the elements and ways to facilitate the most common purchase in various products, often also as a way to compete with other brands.The fact of being able to take a free unit, receive something extra with your purchase or make a second unit cheaper makes us think about buying and spending money on something that, perhaps, we did not need nor were looking for.

8. The halo effect

The halo effect is an effect that assumes that in the presence of a positive characteristic in a person, we tend to consider that their other qualities will also be positive. For example, if someone is attractive, they tend to be considered a better person What if it is not? This effect is generally used to talk about how we value other people, but it is also applicable to products and is used when presenting the product or in advertising campaigns.

9. Use of credit card

Different studies have shown that, as a rule, we tend to spend much more using the credit card than if we have to pay in cash. The fact of paying in cash forces us to see the amount we get and contrast it with the one we have on top. However, when using the card the same thing does not happen: we simply pass it and type in the PIN. This makes it easier for us to spend more, the payment is made in a less obvious way for our conscience .

10. Mental accounting

Having a good accounting taking into account what we earn and what we spend is fundamental to have our money organized and keep our expenses under control. But in turn, it means that we do not have possible extras, and that we do not know exactly what to do with them. And it is that the origin of money and the expectation that we have of it will make us value it in a different way.

Imagine that we are 20 € on the street, or that someone gives us money that we did not have: not having it planned, we will not have the same level of desire for conservation that would generate a money we have earned working. So, it can generate that we tend to spend it on whims in an uncontrolled way and unreflective.

11. Fashion and trends

Being fashionable is another of the small mental traps that push us to spend more money than we should. The need to feel appreciated and admired , to be up to date and not be left behind or to maintain a sense of belonging to our social group may be some of the reasons behind it.

If our idol and example to follow is a certain brand of clothing or cologne, or if it is fashionable to wear a suit of blue oil, it is much easier to spend money on these items even if we do not really need the product. We do not want to stay behind, and that can push some people to buy something to be fashionable.

12. Favorable currency

An aspect that also leads us to spend much more money than we would generally do is only when we travel to other countries that do not have the same currency as us, especially when the local currency has less value than our own.

Generally we do not have in mind the exact change, but if the idea that the value of our currency in greater. This supposes to think that we have more purchasing power , which in turn makes us more easily access to spend more money by not being very clear about the exact value of the money and assuming that what we buy will be relatively inexpensive. Thus, we buy more than we would normally do. On the contrary, a country in which our currency has less value than the local one will make us tend to control more how much we spend.

Bibliographic references

  • Cialdini, R. (1983, 1984). Influence. The Psychology of Persuasion. Revised Edition. HarperCollins.
  • McGuire, W.J. (1969). An information-processing model of advertising effectiveness. In H.L. Davis & A.J. Silk (Eds.), Behavioral and Management Sciences in Marketing. New York: Ronald.
  • Thaler, R.H. & Sunstein, C.R. (2008). Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness. Yale University Press.
  • Wertenbroch, K .; Soma, D. & Chattopadhyay, A. (2007). On the perceiver value of money: the reference dependence of currency numbers effects. Journal of Consumer Research, 34.

11 Tips from Millionaires on How to Save Up a Lot of Money (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
12 pièges mentaux qui nous amènent à dépenser plus d'argent

12 pièges mentaux qui nous amènent à dépenser plus d'argent

Mai 11, 2021

Nous vivons dans la société de consommation. Nous achetons continuellement des choses : nous lançons des offres, nous renouvelons les vêtements à chaque fois, nous sommes obsédés par le nouveau modèle de mobile, nous recherchons des packs et des éditions limitées de nos produits préférés, nous achetons de nouveaux systèmes et éléments de divertissement ... et souvent nous ne réalisons pas quoi ce que nous dépensons et comment nous le faisons sur des choses dont nous n'avions pas vraiment besoin. Et parfois, plus tard, nous le regrettons. Pourquoi le faisons-nous? Qu'est-ce qui nous pousse à des dépenses excessives?

Dans cet article, nous allons passer en revue une série de pièges mentaux qui nous amènent à dépenser plus d’argent , souvent privilégié par les services marketing des entreprises.


  • Article connexe: "Les 28 types de publicité: différentes manières de faire la publicité d'un produit"

Différents pièges mentaux qui nous font dépenser plus

Il existe de nombreux pièges mentaux pour nous faire dépenser plus. Ces pièges, que nous provoquons souvent nous-mêmes, sont exploité par les différentes stratégies publicitaires de grandes marques et surfaces commerciales. D'autres, cependant, n'ont pas besoin d'être utilisés: nous les réalisons nous-mêmes sans que personne ne cherche à attirer notre attention. Nous verrons ensuite quelques-uns des différents pièges mentaux dans lesquels la plupart des gens tombent.

1. Sentiment de réciprocité

L'interaction entre l'acheteur et le vendeur Particulièrement lorsque cela fait qu'une concession supposée et / ou que l'émotivité est utilisée comme un élément de persuasion, cela permet de générer la sensation de devoir correspondre à ladite interaction avec une dépense plus importante. C'est un élément très utilisé dans le secteur commercial lorsqu'il y a une interaction face à face. L’idée est de supposer que l’autre personne essaie de nous conseiller en tant qu’ami. De cette façon, l'arrière-plan mercantiliste de l'interaction prend la deuxième place.


2. Désir d'être cohérent

Un autre élément fréquemment utilisé par le secteur commercial est le désir de la plupart des gens d’être en accord avec leurs opinions et actions antérieures. Ce type de piège mental est ce que nous rend fidèles à une marque malgré l'existence d'autres alternatives de qualité égale ou supérieure et moins cher. Il est également utilisé pour vendre quelque chose à un niveau général que la personne accepte et raconte ensuite en petits caractères (chose que beaucoup de gens finissent par donner uniquement parce qu’ils sont déjà prédisposés de manière positive et pour ne pas générer de distorsion avec leur opinion précédente).

3. Le parti pris de l'optimisme omniprésent

Être optimiste est positif à bien des égards et nous aide à faire face au monde avec enthousiasme. Cependant, cela peut nous amener à sous-estimer les risques. Cela signifie que, dans les cas extrêmes, le besoin ou la capacité économique ne sont pas évalués de manière adéquate et nous amener à dépenser plus d’argent de manière plus impulsive et moins réfléchie .


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

4. Célébrations et événements

Il est habituel que lors de grandes fêtes et de moments spéciaux comme Noël, nous avons tendance à dépenser plus. C’est un moment où nous considérons que nous pouvons nous permettre de faire des dépenses supplémentaires et que ces dépenses dépassent parfois les limites de ce que nous avions prévu. Cela s'étend également aux jours créés et préparés par les marques et les surfaces commerciales stimuler la consommation de masse , comme les soldes ou Black Friday.

5. Le shopping comme moyen d’évasion

Beaucoup de gens ont recours au shopping pour se distraire et oublier leurs problèmes, sans avoir à prétendre acheter quelque chose. Aussi peut servir comme un moyen d'accroître l'estime de soi chez les personnes qui ont faible , ont essayé d’améliorer leur perception de soi grâce à l’achat (soit en étant bien pris en charge par les personnes à charge, soit en achetant quelque chose qui les réconforte, comme des vêtements). Bien que ce soit quelque chose qui puisse occuper du temps libre, la vérité est que cela peut entraîner des dépenses importantes et même, dans certains cas, devenir compulsif et pathologique.

6. Disponibilité limitée

Que quelque chose soit apparemment temporaire et limité attire l'attention et facilite la dépense, sinon il manquerait une occasion qui pourrait ne pas se reproduire. C’est une stratégie commerciale fréquente de générer un sentiment d’urgence et de pousser l’achat immédiat et peu réfléchi. C'est une ressource utilisée dans les produits de tout type , des aliments aux vêtements en passant par tout type d’instrument ou d’outil.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "5 astuces pour vendre qui utilisent les grandes marques"

7. Offres et bonnes affaires

Deuxième unité à moitié prix! Cette offre, parmi d’autres, fait partie des éléments et des moyens de faciliter l’achat le plus courant de divers produits, souvent aussi comme moyen de concurrencer d’autres marques.Le fait de pouvoir prendre une unité gratuite, recevoir quelque chose de plus avec votre achat ou de faire une seconde unité moins chère nous fait penser à acheter et à dépenser de l'argent pour quelque chose dont nous n'avions peut-être ni besoin ni recherché.

8. L'effet de halo

L'effet de halo est un effet qui suppose qu'en présence d'une caractéristique positive chez une personne, nous avons tendance à considérer que leurs autres qualités seront également positives. Par exemple, si quelqu'un est attrayant, il a tendance à être considéré comme une meilleure personne Et si ce n'est pas? Cet effet est généralement utilisé pour parler de notre valorisation des autres, mais il est également applicable aux produits et est utilisé lors de la présentation du produit ou dans des campagnes publicitaires.

9. Utilisation de la carte de crédit

Différentes études ont montré qu'en règle générale, nous avons tendance à dépenser beaucoup plus par carte de crédit que si nous devions payer en espèces. Le fait de payer en espèces nous oblige à voir le montant que nous recevons et à le comparer à celui que nous avons en haut. Cependant, lors de l'utilisation de la carte, la même chose ne se produit pas: nous la transmettons simplement et saisissons le code PIN. Cela nous permet de dépenser plus facilement, le paiement est fait de manière moins évidente pour notre conscience .

10. Comptabilité mentale

Avoir une bonne comptabilité tenant compte de ce que nous gagnons et de ce que nous dépensons est fondamental pour organiser notre argent et garder nos dépenses sous contrôle. Mais à son tour, cela signifie que nous n'avons pas de suppléments possibles et que nous ne savons pas exactement quoi en faire. Et c’est que l’origine de l’argent et les attentes que nous en avons nous permettront de le valoriser différemment.

Imaginons que nous ayons 20 € dans la rue ou que quelqu'un nous donne de l'argent que nous n'avions pas: si nous ne l'avions pas planifié, nous n'aurions pas le même désir de conservation qui générerait un argent gagné en travaillant. Alors ça peut générer que nous avons tendance à dépenser sur les caprices d'une manière incontrôlée et irréfléchie.

11. Mode et tendances

Être à la mode est un autre des petits pièges mentaux qui nous poussent à dépenser plus d'argent que nous ne le devrions. Le besoin de se sentir apprécié et admiré , être au fait de ne pas être laissé pour compte ou de maintenir un sentiment d’appartenance à notre groupe social peut être l’une des raisons.

Si notre idole et exemple à suivre est une certaine marque de vêtements ou d'eau de cologne, ou s'il est à la mode de porter un costume d'huile bleue, il est beaucoup plus facile de dépenser de l'argent sur ces articles même si nous n'avons pas vraiment besoin de ce produit. Nous ne voulons pas rester en arrière et cela peut pousser certaines personnes à acheter quelque chose pour être à la mode.

12. devise favorable

Un aspect qui nous amène également à dépenser beaucoup plus d’argent que nous le ferions habituellement n’est que lorsque nous voyageons dans des pays qui n’ont pas la même monnaie que nous, en particulier lorsque la monnaie locale a une valeur inférieure à la nôtre.

En règle générale, nous n'avons pas à l'esprit le changement exact, mais si l'idée est que la valeur de notre monnaie est plus grande. Cela suppose de penser que nous avons plus de pouvoir d'achat , ce qui nous rend plus facile d’accéder à des dépenses plus importantes en n’ayant pas une idée précise de la valeur exacte de l’argent et en supposant que ce que nous achetons sera relativement peu coûteux. Nous achetons donc plus que nous ne le ferions normalement. Au contraire, un pays dans lequel notre monnaie a moins de valeur que le local nous incitera à contrôler davantage ce que nous dépensons.

Références bibliographiques

  • Cialdini, R. (1983, 1984). Influence La psychologie de la persuasion. Edition révisée. HarperCollins.
  • McGuire, W.J. (1969). Un modèle de traitement de l'information de l'efficacité de la publicité. Dans H.L. Davis et A.J. Silk (Eds.), Sciences du comportement et de la gestion en marketing. New York: Ronald.
  • Thaler, R.H. & Sunstein, C.R. (2008). Nudge: Améliorer les décisions en matière de santé, de richesse et de bonheur, Yale University Press.
  • Wertenbroch, K .; Soma, D. & Chattopadhyay, A. (2007). Sur la valeur de perception de l’argent: la dépendance de référence des effets des numéros de devise. Journal of Consumer Research, 34.

14 Faits Sur L'argent Qu'il Faut Connaître à 30 Ans (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes