yes, therapy helps!
12 professional outings of Psychology

12 professional outings of Psychology

January 11, 2023

Psychology is a profession that arouses much interest at present, and although many students when they decide to pursue a career in psychology think that practically all the options of being a psychologist happen to be a clinical psychologist, the reality is very different. Psychology is a profession with many fields of application .

In this article we do a review of the 12 most common professional outings .

The professional outings of psychology

And it is that the mind is everything for people. This makes psychology fit into many disciplines. For example, education, sports or organizations.

But, What exits does psychology have? What professional work can psychologists do? Below you can find a list with 12 professional outings of psychology.


1. Organizational psychologist

Organizational psychology is a field of application of psychology in which many recent graduates find work, because there is a great demand for psychologists specialized in this field. Generally, people associates the work of organizational psychologist with that of the Human Resources professional , something that is not exactly like that.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

The Human Resources department is one of the options to devote to organizational psychology, but there are others. For example, you can work in the marketing department or market research, discovering formulas to better access the class of customers and consumers with whom the organization wants to contact.


You also have to be clear that the professional profile of Human Resources is varied . Psychologists usually fit in areas of this department such as personnel selection, training and even, in some cases, the prevention of occupational risks in topics such as occupational health.

However, a human resources professional can also dedicate himself to the administration of personnel (for example, taking the payroll), to labor law or to the work of compensation and benefit, tasks that they are not precisely the domain of a psychologist .

It is important that you know this difference in order to guide your curriculum in one direction or another. In our article "The 10 best Masters in Psychology of Organizations and Human Resources" you can find all the information you need to specialize in this field.


2. Educational psychologist

In education, the figure of the psychologist also fits perfectly . And it is that, from practically its beginnings, psychology has been interested in how we learn people or how we develop.

The science of behavior brings a lot of knowledge and many tools to education, for example, on how we can perform better or how we can counteract the learning difficulties that some students present.

  • If you want to go deeper into this topic, you just have to visit our article: "Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories"

3. Social and community psychologist

The professional of social psychology investigates and intervenes in the collective dimension , the group and the relationships between people in a context. In reality, the social psychologist can perform multiple functions and can work in other fields such as organizational or sports.

Now, this type of psychologist is also an expert in some fields of action such as community intervention, gender violence, youth (sexual orientation, drug problems, etc.) or the family and minors, among others. In addition, they can practice as researchers or teachers.

4. Clinical psychologist and health psychology

Clinical and health psychology enjoys great popularity and, generally, most people associate the figure of the psychologist with this role. However, clinical psychology and health psychology are not the same.

While Clinical psychology focuses on the diagnosis and treatment of mental problems (schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, paranoid disorder, etc.), the health psychologist deals with the cognitive, emotional and behavioral aspects associated with health and physical illnesses . For example, improving the quality of life of a patient with cancer.

  • To know more: "The 10 best Masters in Clinical and Health Psychology"

5. Sexologist

The sexologist is a professional psychologist specialized in sexology , so it has acquired skills and tools to improve the quality of the affective-sexual life of the people.The problems of sex are not treated as purely physiological phenomena, but also the cognitive and emotional aspects of these are taken into account in order to achieve a more complete vision of what should be treated from the intervention.

These professionals deal with topics such as erectile dysfunction, the sexual education of people or the restoration of sexual life after an illness, or offer advice to improve the intimate life of couples.

6. Psychotherapist

Psychotherapy is a space for reflection with a psychologist in which the patient faces the problems that assail his life. In other words, the latter goes to the therapist to reflect together and find out what is happening in relation to certain non-clinical problems .

The psychotherapist uses a set of knowledge, techniques and methods to help the latter discover himself and begin a process of cognitive restructuring and habits to improve their quality of life and interpersonal relationships.

Unlike the clinical psychologist, who can work, for example, with schizophrenic patients, psychotherapists treat problems of an emotional nature, day-to-day difficulties or family or couple problems.

7. Coach

Coaching is a very popular discipline in recent decades, which usually addresses more superficial problems than those usually treated by a psychotherapist .

Generally, the work of the coach is focused on improving the quality of life of people through self-discovery, planning realistic goals, correct communication and confrontation with limiting beliefs . In this way, people can maximize their potential not only in their daily lives, but in different fields such as work, education or sports.

However, we must be clear that although all psychologists have the training of a coach, not all coaches have the training of a psychologist or, in fact, they have to be psychologists.

8. Sports psychologist

The profession of sports psychologist also is booming in recent decades , because the athletes, coaches and managers of sports teams, have realized that in this sector the psychological variables are just as important as the physical, technical or tactical aspects.

Sports psychologists work mainly on variables such as motivation, emotional management, stress, self-confidence, attention or activation level.

  • You can learn more about the functions of the sports psychologist in this article: "10 reasons to put a sports psychologist in your life"

9. Forensic psychologist

A forensic psychologist collects, analyzes and presents psychological proofs that are going to be taken into account in legal proceedings . Therefore, in addition to having competences as a psychologist, he also dominates concepts, norms and dynamics of the legal system in which he finds himself.

The forensic psychologist evaluates, for example, the psychological state of a defendant to determine if his criminal act is the result of a psychopathology; or performs a psychological evaluation of one of the parents of a minor to determine if he or she is fit to have custody of the child. Unlike other professional opportunities, in this area the interests and intentions of the person evaluated are not the most important thing to consider.

  • Related article: "Forensic Psychology: definition and functions of the forensic psychologist"

10. Neuropsychologist

Neuropsychology is a specialization that lies between neurology and psychology, so it deals with the study of mental processes and the functioning of the brain when there is any alteration in this .

One could say that it is useful, for example, to know the scope and treatment of brain injuries, malformations, dysfunctions and diseases that affect the functioning of the nervous system.

These psychologists perform their function in academic, clinical and research environments, and are present in neuropsychological rehabilitation programs. In addition, they can apply psychotherapeutic techniques and rehabilitation procedures so that the patient recovers the level of normal functioning after the illness or injury or, in some situations, so that he enjoys a correct quality of life.

11. Researcher

Psychologists, moreover, can devote themselves to the field of research in different fields related to psychology , whether clinical psychology, social psychology or sports psychology.

One of the advantages of this professional field is the incredible variety of topics that can be addressed from research in Psychology: personal relationships, cognitive biases, decision making, differences in the personality and intelligence of individuals, effects of educational methods. .. and the list goes on and on, given that everything related to human behavior and mental processes is practically impossible.

In addition, there are different research methods depending on the approaches and the preferred subjects of each one. For example, there is a qualitative approach, based on interviews and observations in situ, and the quantitative approach, which starts from the conversion of the behavior observed in numbers and categories defined from the beginning. Beyond this classification of types of research in Psychology there are other criteria for differentiation, such as experimental research and the one based on correlations of data.

  • Related article: "The 5 most common study methods in Psychology"

12. Teacher

The psychologists also they can practice as teachers in various contexts . Some can opt for university education and others, however, can do training in coaching, mindfulness or stress management.


5 Signs You Are Seeing a BAD Therapist! psychology & mental health with Kati Morton (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
12 sorties professionnelles de psychologie

12 sorties professionnelles de psychologie

Août 17, 2019

La psychologie est une profession qui suscite actuellement un vif intérêt et, bien que de nombreux étudiants, lorsqu'ils décident de poursuivre une carrière en psychologie, pensent que pratiquement toutes les options d'un psychologue se présentent comme des psychologues cliniciens, la réalité est très différente. La psychologie est une profession avec de nombreux domaines d'application .

Dans cet article, nous faisons une revue de les 12 sorties professionnelles les plus courantes .

Les sorties professionnelles de la psychologie

Et c'est que l'esprit est tout pour les gens. Cela rend la psychologie appropriée dans de nombreuses disciplines. Par exemple, l'éducation, le sport ou les organisations.

Mais Quelles sont les sorties de la psychologie? Quel travail professionnel peuvent faire les psychologues? Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de 12 sorties professionnelles en psychologie.


1. Psychologue organisationnel

La psychologie organisationnelle est un domaine d'application de la psychologie dans lequel de nombreux jeunes diplômés trouvent du travail, en raison de la forte demande de psychologues spécialisés dans ce domaine. Généralement, les gens associe le travail du psychologue organisationnel à celui du professionnel des ressources humaines , quelque chose qui n'est pas exactement comme ça.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Le département des ressources humaines est l'une des options à consacrer à la psychologie organisationnelle, mais il en existe d'autres. Par exemple, vous pouvez travailler dans le département marketing ou les études de marché, en découvrant des formules pour avoir un meilleur accès à la classe de clients et de consommateurs avec laquelle l’organisation souhaite contacter.


Vous devez également être clair que le profil professionnel des ressources humaines est varié . Les psychologues relèvent généralement de domaines tels que la sélection du personnel, la formation et même, dans certains cas, la prévention des risques professionnels dans des domaines tels que la santé au travail.

Toutefois, un professionnel des ressources humaines peut également se consacrer à l'administration du personnel (par exemple, prendre la paie), au droit du travail ou au travail de la rémunération et des avantages ils ne sont pas précisément le domaine d'un psychologue .

Il est important que vous connaissiez cette différence afin de guider votre programme dans une direction ou une autre. Dans notre article "Les 10 meilleurs masters en psychologie des organisations et des ressources humaines", vous trouverez toutes les informations nécessaires pour vous spécialiser dans ce domaine.


2. Psychologue de l'éducation

En éducation, la figure du psychologue s’adapte également parfaitement . Et c'est que, depuis ses débuts pratiquement, la psychologie s'est intéressée à la façon dont nous apprenons les gens ou à notre développement.

La science du comportement apporte beaucoup de connaissances et beaucoup d'outils à l'éducation, par exemple, sur la manière dont nous pouvons améliorer nos performances ou sur la façon dont nous pouvons contrecarrer les difficultés d'apprentissage présentées par certains élèves.

  • Si vous souhaitez approfondir ce sujet, il vous suffit de consulter notre article: "Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories"

3. Psychologue social et communautaire

Le professionnel de la psychologie sociale enquête et intervient dans la dimension collective , le groupe et les relations entre les personnes dans un contexte. En réalité, le psychologue social peut remplir plusieurs fonctions et peut travailler dans d'autres domaines tels que l'organisation ou le sport.

Maintenant, ce type de psychologue est également expert dans certains domaines d’action tels que intervention communautaire, violence de genre, jeunesse (orientation sexuelle, problèmes de drogue, etc.) ou la famille et les mineurs, entre autres. En outre, ils peuvent exercer la profession de chercheur ou d’enseignant.

4. Psychologue clinique et psychologie de la santé

La psychologie clinique et sanitaire jouit d’une grande popularité et, en général, la plupart des gens associent la figure du psychologue à ce rôle. Cependant, psychologie clinique et psychologie de la santé ne sont pas les mêmes.

Tandis que La psychologie clinique met l'accent sur le diagnostic et le traitement des problèmes mentaux (schizophrénie, trouble bipolaire, trouble paranoïde, etc.), le psychologue de la santé traite des aspects cognitifs, émotionnels et comportementaux associés à la santé et aux maladies physiques . Par exemple, améliorer la qualité de vie d'un patient atteint de cancer.

  • En savoir plus: "Les 10 meilleurs Masters en Psychologie Clinique et de la Santé"

5. sexologue

Le sexologue est un psychologue professionnel spécialisé en sexologie Elle a donc acquis des compétences et des outils pour améliorer la qualité de la vie affective-sexuelle des personnes.Les problèmes liés au sexe ne sont pas traités comme des phénomènes purement physiologiques, mais leurs aspects cognitifs et émotionnels sont également pris en compte afin d'obtenir une vision plus complète de ce qui devrait être traité lors de l'intervention.

Ces professionnels traitent de sujets tels que la dysfonction érectile, l'éducation sexuelle des personnes ou le rétablissement de la vie sexuelle après une maladie, ou offrent des conseils pour améliorer la vie intime des couples.

6. Psychothérapeute

La psychothérapie est un espace de réflexion avec un psychologue dans lequel le patient fait face aux problèmes qui assaillent sa vie. En d’autres termes, ce dernier demande au thérapeute de réfléchir ensemble et de savoir ce qui se passe en relation avec certains problèmes non cliniques .

Le psychothérapeute utilise un ensemble de connaissances, de techniques et de méthodes pour aider ces derniers à se découvrir et à entamer un processus de restructuration cognitive ainsi que leurs habitudes afin d'améliorer leur qualité de vie et leurs relations interpersonnelles.

Contrairement au psychologue clinicien, qui peut par exemple travailler avec des patients schizophrènes, les psychothérapeutes traitent des problèmes d'ordre émotionnel, des difficultés quotidiennes, des problèmes familiaux ou de couple.

7. Coach

Le coaching est une discipline très populaire au cours des dernières décennies, qui aborde généralement problèmes plus superficiels que ceux habituellement traités par un psychothérapeute .

En général, le travail de l’entraîneur est axé sur l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes par la découverte de soi, la planification d’objectifs réalistes, une communication correcte et confrontation avec des croyances limitantes . Ainsi, les personnes peuvent maximiser leur potentiel non seulement dans leur vie quotidienne, mais également dans différents domaines tels que le travail, l'éducation ou les sports.

Cependant, nous devons être clairs: même si tous les psychologues ont la formation d'un coach, tous les coachs n'ont pas la formation d'un psychologue ou, en fait, ils doivent être des psychologues.

8. Psychologue du sport

Le métier de psychologue sportif aussi est en plein essor au cours des dernières décennies , parce que les athlètes, les entraîneurs et les responsables d’équipes sportives ont compris que, dans ce secteur, les variables psychologiques sont aussi importantes que les aspects physiques, techniques ou tactiques.

Les psychologues du sport travaillent principalement sur des variables telles que la motivation, la gestion émotionnelle, le stress, la confiance en soi, l'attention ou le niveau d'activation.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur les fonctions du psychologue du sport dans cet article: "10 raisons de mettre un psychologue du sport dans votre vie"

9. Psychologue légiste

Un psychologue légiste collecte, analyse et présente preuves psychologiques qui vont être prises en compte dans les procédures judiciaires . Par conséquent, en plus de posséder des compétences en tant que psychologue, il domine également les concepts, les normes et la dynamique du système juridique dans lequel il se trouve.

Le psychologue judiciaire évalue, par exemple, l'état psychologique d'un accusé pour déterminer si son acte criminel est le résultat d'une psychopathologie; ou effectue une évaluation psychologique de l’un des parents d’un mineur pour déterminer s’il est apte à avoir la garde de l’enfant. Contrairement à d'autres opportunités professionnelles, les intérêts et les intentions de la personne évaluée ne sont pas la chose la plus importante à prendre en compte.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie légale: définition et fonctions du psychologue judiciaire"

10. Neuropsychologue

La neuropsychologie est une spécialisation entre la neurologie et la psychologie, elle traite donc de l'étude de processus mentaux et le fonctionnement du cerveau quand il y a une modification dans cette .

On pourrait dire qu'il est utile, par exemple, de connaître l'étendue et le traitement des lésions cérébrales, des malformations, des dysfonctionnements et des maladies qui affectent le fonctionnement du système nerveux.

Ces psychologues exercent leurs fonctions dans des environnements universitaires, cliniques et de recherche et sont présents dans les programmes de réadaptation neuropsychologique. En outre, ils peuvent appliquer des techniques psychothérapeutiques et des procédures de rééducation afin que le patient retrouve le niveau de fonctionnement normal après la maladie ou la blessure ou, dans certaines situations, qu’il bénéficie d’une qualité de vie correcte.

11. chercheur

De plus, les psychologues peuvent se consacrer au domaine de la recherche dans différents domaines liés à la psychologie que ce soit en psychologie clinique, en psychologie sociale ou en psychologie du sport.

L'un des avantages de ce domaine professionnel est l'incroyable variété de sujets que la recherche en psychologie peut aborder: relations personnelles, biais cognitifs, prise de décision, différences dans la personnalité et l'intelligence des individus, effets des méthodes pédagogiques. .. et la liste s'allonge encore et encore, étant donné que tout ce qui concerne le comportement humain et les processus mentaux est pratiquement impossible.

De plus, il existe différentes méthodes de recherche en fonction des approches et des sujets de prédilection de chacune. Par exemple, il existe une approche qualitative, basée sur des entretiens et des observations in situ, et une approche quantitative, qui part de la conversion du comportement observé en nombres et en catégories définis dès le début. Au-delà de cette classification des types de recherche en psychologie, il existe d’autres critères de différenciation, tels que la recherche expérimentale et celle basée sur les corrélations de données.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 méthodes d'étude les plus courantes en psychologie"

12. enseignant

Les psychologues aussi ils peuvent pratiquer en tant qu'enseignants dans divers contextes . Certains peuvent choisir de poursuivre des études universitaires et d'autres peuvent suivre une formation en coaching, en pleine conscience ou en gestion du stress.


Echecs amoureux à répétition : comment s'en sortir? (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes