yes, therapy helps!
13 benefits and properties of olive oil

13 benefits and properties of olive oil

October 28, 2020

The Mediterranean diet is considered one of the most healthy and balanced that exist , and is a set of eating habits typical of the peoples of the Mediterranean basin. It is attributed certain beneficial properties for health and an outstanding role in the prevention of various diseases, largely thanks to the contribution of olive oil.

The Mediterranean diet consists of approximately 50 to 55% of calories that come from carbohydrates (mainly complex and rich in fiber), 10 to 12% of proteins and 30 to 35% of fats. Here is the importance of olive oil, rich in monounsaturated fats, which belong to the group of healthy fats.


  • If you want to know what are the differences between good fats and bad fats, you can read our article: "Types of fats (good and bad) and their functions"

Benefits and nutritional properties of olive oil

Olive oil, especially extra virgin olive oil, has a series of properties and benefits that we show you below.

1. Help live longer

Olive oil brings great flavor to many foods, but It also helps prevent and reduce the development of many diseases . Studies show that consuming olive oil daily is essential to prevent certain types of cancer, so it would help to live longer. This food, in addition to tasty, is very healthy.


2. Antibacterial properties

Many of the diseases that prevents this food is for its antibacterial properties , which has been shown to be particularly effective against Helicobacter pylori, a type of bacteria that can cause ulcers and stomach cancer. In fact, research shows that it is effective against eight strains of this bacterium, three of which are resistant to antibiotics. The same study has shown that 30 grams of extra virgin olive oil can eliminate Helicobacter pylori infection in 10-40% of people in just 2 weeks.

3. Improves intestinal health

As you can see in the previous point, olive oil improves the health of the stomach and digestive system , and acts as a protector reducing the excess of acids in this part of the body. Likewise, it increases the PH of the organism because it favors the absorption of calcium and magnesium.


4. Prevents arthritis

The olive oil can help reduce joint pain and swelling of rheumatoid arthritis . These effects are magnified when combined with the intake of omega-rich fish

Rheumatoid arthritis is a disease that causes deformed and painful joints. Although the causes are not known, it is believed that it occurs due to a deficient immune system in which antibodies attack healthy cells by mistake. Studies show that extra virgin oil reduces inflammation and oxidative stress in individuals with this condition.

5. Improves cognitive functions

Polyphenols are bioactive compounds that act as antioxidants and anti-inflammatories , and studies have shown that they potentiate the birth of new neurons. Olive oil, among many other nutrients, contains polyphenols. Also, people who consume more fat have better memory, and those who consume monounsaturated fats enjoy better cognitive functions, metabolic functions and greater brain development.

Fats, in addition, favor the formation of cell membranes and brain tissue.

6. Prevents type II diabetes

This food has a protector against diabetes , for its beneficial effects on blood glucose and insulin sensitivity. This was confirmed by a study published in the journal Diabetes Journal that included 418 subjects. According to the results, the group that consumed the Mediterranean diet with olive oil reduced the risk of developing type II diabetes by more than 40%.

7. Improves skin health

The extra virgin olive oil helps contain anti-aging agents , and nutrients that fight osteoporosis and skin damage. Apparently, olive oil adds a protective layer on the skin, both through consumption and application.

8. Prevents cancer

As I said in the first point, olive oil prevents cancer. The antioxidants found in this type of oil help reduce oxidative damage caused by free radicals, which is believed to be one of the main origins of cancer.

9. Prevents Alzheimer's

Alzheimer's is the neurodegenerative disease that is characterized by the accumulation of so-called beta-amyloid plaques inside brain cells. A study in mice showed that olive oil could remove these plaques from neurons.

10. Help to lose weight

Consuming healthy fats can be beneficial when burning calories, as it speeds up the metabolism . In addition, experts in this area, such as Leandro Ravetti, say that "a diet rich in extra virgin olive oil can promote weight loss and maintenance. In fact, low-fat diets are less effective than those that contain healthy fats for this purpose. "

11. Improves the immune system

Having a strong immune system is key to enjoy good health, it is necessary to combat viruses or bacteria that could harm our body. The antioxidants of "green gold" help improve the immune system and, in this way, prevent diseases.

12. Prevents heart disease

Heart disease is one of the leading causes of death in the world, and olive oil could prevent them, because it significantly reduces the risk of heart disease Through numerous mechanisms, for example, it reduces inflammation, improves the function of the lining of blood vessels and can help prevent unwanted blood clotting.

13. Reduce cholesterol

In addition, olive oil helps protect the body from bad cholesterol or LDL , and the phytosterols it contains increase HDL, which helps to balance cholesterol. This causes a reduction of cardiovascular diseases and arteriosclerosis.


Extra Virgin Olive Oil | Amazing Benefits of Extra Virgin Olive Oil | HealthTips24HD (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
13 avantages et propriétés de l'huile d'olive

13 avantages et propriétés de l'huile d'olive

Janvier 22, 2021

Le régime méditerranéen est considéré comme l'un des plus sains et équilibrés qui existent et constitue un ensemble d'habitudes alimentaires typiques des peuples du bassin méditerranéen. On lui attribue certaines propriétés bénéfiques pour la santé et un rôle remarquable dans la prévention de diverses maladies, en grande partie grâce à la contribution de l'huile d'olive.

Le régime méditerranéen comprend environ 50 à 55% des calories provenant des glucides (principalement complexes et riches en fibres), 10 à 12% de protéines et 30 à 35% de graisses. Voici l’importance de l’huile d’olive, riche en acides gras monoinsaturés, appartenant au groupe des acides gras sains.


  • Si vous voulez savoir quelles sont les différences entre les bonnes et les mauvaises graisses, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Types de graisses (bonnes et mauvaises) et leurs fonctions"

Avantages et propriétés nutritionnelles de l'huile d'olive

L'huile d'olive, en particulier l'huile d'olive extra vierge, présente une série de propriétés et d'avantages que nous vous présentons ci-dessous.

1. Aide à vivre plus longtemps

L’huile d’olive apporte une grande saveur à de nombreux aliments, mais Il aide également à prévenir et à réduire le développement de nombreuses maladies . Des études montrent que la consommation quotidienne d’huile d’olive est essentielle pour prévenir certains types de cancer, ce qui aiderait à vivre plus longtemps. Cette nourriture, en plus d'être savoureuse, est très saine.


2. Propriétés antibactériennes

Beaucoup de maladies qui empêchent cet aliment est pour ses propriétés antibactériennes , qui s'est avéré particulièrement efficace contre Helicobacter pylori, un type de bactérie pouvant provoquer des ulcères et le cancer de l'estomac. En fait, des recherches ont montré qu’elle est efficace contre huit souches de cette bactérie, dont trois sont résistantes aux antibiotiques. La même étude a montré que 30 grammes d’huile d’olive extra vierge peuvent éliminer l’infection à Helicobacter pylori chez 10 à 40% des habitants en à peine 2 semaines.

3. améliore la santé intestinale

Comme vous pouvez le voir dans le point précédent, l'huile d'olive améliore la santé de l'estomac et du système digestif , et agit comme un protecteur réduisant l'excès d'acides dans cette partie du corps. De même, il augmente le pH de l'organisme car il favorise l'absorption du calcium et du magnésium.


4. empêche l'arthrite

L'huile d'olive peut aider à réduire les douleurs articulaires et le gonflement de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde . Ces effets sont amplifiés lorsqu'ils sont associés à la consommation de poisson riche en oméga

La polyarthrite rhumatoïde est une maladie qui provoque des articulations déformées et douloureuses. Bien que les causes en soient inconnues, on pense que cela est dû à un système immunitaire déficient dans lequel les anticorps attaquent les cellules saines par erreur. Des études montrent que l'huile extra vierge réduit l'inflammation et le stress oxydatif chez les personnes atteintes de cette affection.

5. améliore les fonctions cognitives

Les polyphénols sont des composés bioactifs qui agissent comme antioxydants et anti-inflammatoires. , et des études ont montré qu’elles potentialisaient la naissance de nouveaux neurones. L'huile d'olive, parmi beaucoup d'autres nutriments, contient des polyphénols. En outre, les personnes qui consomment plus de graisse ont une meilleure mémoire et celles qui consomment des graisses monoinsaturées bénéficient de meilleures fonctions cognitives, de fonctions métaboliques et d'un meilleur développement du cerveau.

De plus, les graisses favorisent la formation de membranes cellulaires et de tissus cérébraux.

6. Empêche le diabète de type II

Cet aliment a un protecteur contre le diabète , pour ses effets bénéfiques sur la glycémie et la sensibilité à l’insuline. Cela a été confirmé par une étude publiée dans la revue Diabetes Journal comprenant 418 sujets. Selon les résultats, le groupe ayant consommé du régime méditerranéen à base d'huile d'olive a réduit le risque de développer un diabète de type II de plus de 40%.

7. améliore la santé de la peau

L'huile d'olive extra vierge aide à contenir des agents anti-âge et des nutriments qui combattent l’ostéoporose et les dommages cutanés. Apparemment, l'huile d'olive ajoute une couche protectrice sur la peau, à la fois par la consommation et par l'application.

8. prévient le cancer

Comme je l'ai dit dans le premier point, l'huile d'olive prévient le cancer. Les antioxydants présents dans ce type d'huile aident à réduire les dommages oxydatifs causée par les radicaux libres, qui serait l'une des principales origines du cancer.

9. empêche la maladie d'Alzheimer

La maladie d'Alzheimer est la maladie neurodégénérative qui se caractérise par l'accumulation de plaques dites bêta-amyloïdes dans les cellules du cerveau. Une étude chez la souris a montré que l'huile d'olive pouvait éliminer ces plaques des neurones.

10. Aide à perdre du poids

Consommer des graisses saines peut être bénéfique lors de la combustion des calories, car il accélère le métabolisme . En outre, des experts dans ce domaine, tels que Leandro Ravetti, affirment qu '«un régime alimentaire riche en huile d'olive extra vierge peut favoriser la perte de poids et son maintien. En fait, les régimes pauvres en graisses sont moins efficaces que ceux contenant des graisses saines à cette fin. "

11. améliore le système immunitaire

Avoir un système immunitaire fort est la clé pour jouir d'une bonne santé, il est nécessaire de lutter contre les virus ou les bactéries qui pourraient nuire à notre corps. Les antioxydants de "l'or vert" aident à améliorer le système immunitaire et, de cette façon, prévenir les maladies.

12. Prévient les maladies cardiaques

Les maladies cardiaques sont l’une des principales causes de décès dans le monde et l'huile d'olive pourrait les prévenir, car elle réduit considérablement le risque de maladie cardiaque Par de nombreux mécanismes, par exemple, il réduit l’inflammation, améliore le fonctionnement de la muqueuse des vaisseaux sanguins et peut aider à prévenir la coagulation du sang.

13. Réduire le cholestérol

En outre, l'huile d'olive aide à protéger le corps contre le mauvais cholestérol ou le LDL. , et les phytostérols qu’il contient augmentent le HDL, ce qui aide à équilibrer le cholestérol. Cela provoque une réduction des maladies cardiovasculaires et de l'artériosclérose.


Mélangez l’huile d’olive et du citron et consommez en ! Vous utiliserez ce mélange toute votre vie! (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes