yes, therapy helps!
13 keys to know if your child smokes marijuana

13 keys to know if your child smokes marijuana

April 29, 2024

The use of cannabis recreationally it has expanded over the years, especially among young people. Socially considered a soft drug with few side effects, it is often consumed by adolescents 12 or 13 years of age.

We are facing a population in the process of growth, assuming consumption a greater danger than usual to be able to affect the development process. That is why many parents are concerned that their children may smoke or consume this and other substances. Throughout this article we present a total of 13 keys to know if your son or daughter smokes marijuana .


  • Related article: "How to know if my son or daughter takes drugs: 10 keys to detect it"

Cannabis and marijuana: what are they?

Cannabis is a psychodisleptic, psychoactive substance that produces a modification in the level of activation and functioning of the brain. This substance comes from the cannabis plant, which It has different variants, such as indicates, sativa or ruderalis .

When the element to be consumed is the leaves and stem of the plant only cut, we are talking about marijuana.

The effects of this substance are initially euphoric and then go on to leave a state of relaxation and analgesia, with a certain sedative effect. Another effect is that it facilitates hunger while controlling vomiting. It is also effective as an anticonvulsant.


Due to these effects, marijuana can be applied therapeutically in multiple disorders. It is also used recreationally to disinhibit and reduce tension and anxiety . However, its consumption can have, especially if it is continued over time and with great frequency, harmful effects. It can cause alterations of consciousness, loss of concentration and memory and decrease in performance, as well as depressive symptoms and even the so-called amotivational syndrome . It can also cause perceptual alterations such as hallucinations and even cause psychotic outbreaks.

Young people and adolescents, not yet fully developed , they have a much greater risk, because in addition to the effects of the substance itself (which in themselves are greater due to their greater susceptibility to neurotransmitters such as dopamine) can be altered their development process.


Indications of marijuana use

Below you can see a series of signals that can serve as an indication that someone is using marijuana . It is important to bear in mind that we are only talking about indications, not being aspects that necessarily imply that the person is consuming this substance. Some of them appear while the effects of consumption last, while others appear later or after prolonged consumption.

1. Lost look

Cannabis it is a substance with psychoactive effects . While initially they may generate a certain sense of euphoria, they usually end up producing a state of relaxation and tranquility. For this reason it is not uncommon for those who consume it to tend to self-absorption, keeping a lost look.

2. Redness of eyes

Conjunctivitis, redness of eyes and a brighter and more humid look than usual indications of marijuana or other substances are also possible. A certain mydriasis or pupillary dilation is also frequent.

3. Disinhibition

Marijuana is usually consumed because of Effects of initial euphoria and subsequent relaxation to those that it induces. In general, they also tend to cause some disinhibition, restricting behavior to a lesser extent than usual and allowing greater manifestation and expression at the behavioral and social level.

4. Excessive appetite

One of the effects of cannabis is the increase in appetite and the feeling of hunger, which is why it has even been used medicinally in disorders that lead to weight loss.

In this sense it is possible to observe that the habitual consumer of marijuana they are hungrier than usual . It is also frequent that they look for sweet foods and more caloric, not being rare that they present increases of weight.

5. Problems of concentration and recent memory

Memory and learning are influenced by cannabis use. Specifically, it is not uncommon there are recent memory problems , with some difficulty to concentrate and remember the temporally close events in time. This effect is usually observed in the long term.

6. Insomnia

While it may seem paradoxical due to the state of relaxation that it causes, consuming marijuana can cause different sleep problems once its effects are over. The most frequent are the difficulties of sleep conciliation or night awakenings .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

7. Use incense and chewing gum more often than usual

Marijuana It has a characteristic odor easily detectable both in the moment in which it is consumed and in the breath of the one who does it. The use of strong incense or chewing gum in an excessive way can be an indication that you are trying to camouflage the smell.

8. Expansive mood

Cannabis, especially in the version of the cannabis sativa plant, is a psychoactive substance that initially causes reactions of euphoria to subsequently have a relaxing effect.

It is common to perceive certain level of disinhibition, uncontrolled laughter and elevation of the tone of voice while the effects last.

9. Decreased attention

The state of mind and the relaxing and even narcotic effect that induces the use of marijuana causes the level of attention to decrease. This does not happen only while the effects last, but rather also in the long term, attention capacity can be reduced .

10. Cough and respiratory problems

One of the most common forms of consumption is smoking, through cigarettes. As such, this involves the maintenance of smoke inside the lungs and throat, which as with tobacco can cause irritation and cause coughing and even respiratory problems.

11. Motor-level uncoordination

It is common for marijuana to cause a certain level of incoordination between mind and body, also reducing the ability to react to stimuli .

12. Use of objects such as pipes, grinder, rolling paper or nozzles.

Marijuana use does not necessarily imply the use of specific instruments for it , but certain objects and elements can be used frequently.

Since it is usually consumed in the form of cigarettes, Rolling paper and nozzles are usually necessary , as well as the use of different types of pipes. Something more specific is the grinder, a two-piece element that is used to crush the marijuana buds without breaking components such as resin, with greater psychoactive power.

13. Paranoia or hallucinations

Although it is not as frequent, the consumption of marijuana can cause changes in perception and even generate hallucinations and delusions, and may even awaken psychotic outbreaks.

This occurs especially with marijuana derived from the cannabis sativa plant or with the different hybrids of this plant with other variants.

Does my son smoke?

Taking into account all the clues and signs that we have been naming, it will be easier for you to detect if your child smokes joints. In case you come to the conclusion that you really have this addiction, keep calm and consult a psychotherapist specialized in adolescents .


'Cash Me Outside' Girl Danielle Bregoli BUSTED for Smoking Weed! (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
13 clés pour savoir si votre enfant fume de la marijuana

13 clés pour savoir si votre enfant fume de la marijuana

Novembre 27, 2022

L'usage de cannabis à des fins récréatives il s'est développé au fil des ans, en particulier chez les jeunes. Socialement considérée comme une drogue douce ayant peu d’effets secondaires, elle est souvent consommée par les adolescents de 12 à 13 ans.

Nous sommes confrontés à une population en croissance, supposant que la consommation représente un danger plus grand que d'habitude pour pouvoir influer sur le processus de développement. C’est pourquoi de nombreux parents craignent que leurs enfants fument ou consomment cette substance ou d’autres. Tout au long de cet article, nous présentons un total de 13 clés pour savoir si votre fils ou votre fille fume de la marijuana .


  • Article connexe: "Comment savoir si mon fils ou ma fille prend de la drogue: 10 clés pour le détecter"

Le cannabis et la marijuana: de quoi s'agit-il?

Le cannabis est une substance psychodisleptique et psychoactive qui modifie le niveau d'activation et de fonctionnement du cerveau. Cette substance provient de la plante de cannabis, qui Il a différentes variantes, telles que indique, sativa ou ruderalis .

Lorsque l'élément à consommer est uniquement les feuilles et la tige de la plante coupées, nous parlons de marijuana.

Les effets de cette substance sont initialement euphorisants puis un état de relaxation et d’analgésie, avec un certain effet sédatif. Un autre effet est qu'il facilite la faim tout en contrôlant les vomissements. Il est également efficace comme anticonvulsivant.


En raison de ces effets, la marijuana peut être appliquée de manière thérapeutique dans plusieurs troubles. Il est également utilisé à des fins récréatives désinhiber et réduire la tension et l'anxiété . Cependant, sa consommation peut avoir des effets nocifs, en particulier si elle se poursuit avec le temps et avec une grande fréquence. Il peut provoquer des altérations de la conscience, une perte de concentration et de la mémoire et une baisse des performances, ainsi que des symptômes dépressifs et même le soi-disant syndrome amotivationnel . Il peut également causer des altérations de la perception telles que des hallucinations et même provoquer des épidémies psychotiques.

Jeunes et adolescents, pas encore complètement développés , ils présentent un risque beaucoup plus grand car, outre les effets de la substance elle-même (qui sont eux-mêmes plus importants en raison de leur plus grande sensibilité aux neurotransmetteurs tels que la dopamine), leur processus de développement peut être altéré.


Indications de consommation de marijuana

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir une série de signaux pouvant servir d'indication que quelqu'un consomme de la marijuana . Il est important de garder à l'esprit que nous ne parlons que d'indications, et ne sont pas des aspects impliquant nécessairement que la personne consomme cette substance. Certains d'entre eux apparaissent jusqu'à épuisement des effets de la consommation, tandis que d'autres apparaissent plus tard ou après une consommation prolongée.

1. Regard perdu

Cannabis c'est une substance à effets psychoactifs . Au début, ils peuvent générer un certain sentiment d'euphorie, mais ils finissent généralement par produire un état de relaxation et de tranquillité. Pour cette raison, il n’est pas rare que ceux qui le consomment tendent à s’absorber tout en gardant l’air perdu.

2. Rougeur des yeux

Conjonctivite, rougeur des yeux et un look plus brillant et plus humide que d'habitude des indications de marijuana ou d'autres substances sont également possibles. Une certaine mydriase ou dilatation pupillaire est également fréquente.

3. Désinhibition

La marijuana est généralement consommée à cause de Effets de l'euphorie initiale et de la relaxation ultérieure à ceux qu'il induit. En général, ils ont également tendance à provoquer une certaine désinhibition, en limitant le comportement à un degré moindre que d'habitude et en permettant une plus grande manifestation et expression au niveau comportemental et social.

4. appétit excessif

L'un des effets du cannabis est l'augmentation de l'appétit et le sentiment de faim, raison pour laquelle il a même été utilisé en médecine dans le cadre de troubles entraînant une perte de poids.

En ce sens, il est possible d’observer que le consommateur habituel de marijuana ils ont plus faim que d'habitude . Il est également fréquent qu'ils recherchent des aliments sucrés et plus caloriques, n'étant pas rares qu'ils présentent des augmentations de poids.

5. Problèmes de concentration et de mémoire récente

La mémoire et l'apprentissage sont influencés par la consommation de cannabis. Plus précisément, il n'est pas rare il y a des problèmes de mémoire récents , avec quelques difficultés à se concentrer et à se souvenir des événements temporellement proches. Cet effet est généralement observé à long terme.

6. l'insomnie

Bien que cela puisse sembler paradoxal en raison de l'état de relaxation qu'elle provoque, la consommation de marijuana peut causer différents problèmes de sommeil une fois que ses effets sont terminés. Les plus fréquents sont les difficultés de conciliation de sommeil ou de réveils nocturnes .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

7. Utilisez de l'encens et du chewing-gum plus souvent que d'habitude

Marijuana Il a une odeur caractéristique facilement détectable à la fois dans le moment où il est consommé et dans le souffle de celui qui le fait. L'utilisation excessive d'encens ou de chewing-gum peut indiquer que vous essayez de camoufler l'odeur.

8. humeur expansive

Le cannabis, en particulier dans la version du cannabis sativa, est une substance psychoactive qui provoque initialement des réactions d’euphorie qui ont ensuite un effet relaxant.

Il est courant de percevoir certain niveau de désinhibition, rire incontrôlé et élévation du ton de la voix tant que les effets durent.

9. Diminution de l'attention

L'état d'esprit et l'effet relaxant, voire narcotique, qui induisent la consommation de marijuana entraînent une diminution du niveau d'attention. Cela ne se produit pas seulement tant que les effets durent, mais plutôt également à long terme, la capacité d'attention peut être réduite .

10. Toux et problèmes respiratoires

L'une des formes de consommation les plus courantes est le tabagisme, à travers la cigarette. En tant que tel, cela implique le maintien de la fumée dans les poumons et la gorge, ce qui, comme le tabac, peut provoquer une irritation et provoquer une toux et même des problèmes respiratoires.

11. Uncoordination au niveau moteur

Il est courant que la marijuana provoque un certain niveau d'incoordination entre l'esprit et le corps, réduisant également la capacité de réagir aux stimuli .

12. Utilisation d'objets tels que tuyaux, meuleuse, papier à rouler ou buses.

La consommation de marijuana n'implique pas nécessairement l'utilisation d'instruments spécifiques pour cela , mais certains objets et éléments peuvent être utilisés fréquemment.

Comme il est généralement consommé sous forme de cigarettes, Papier à rouler et buses sont généralement nécessaires , ainsi que l’utilisation de différents types de tuyaux. Quelque chose de plus spécifique est le broyeur, un élément en deux pièces utilisé pour écraser les boutons de marijuana sans casser des composants tels que la résine, avec un pouvoir psychoactif supérieur.

13. Paranoïa ou hallucinations

Bien que ce soit moins fréquent, la consommation de marijuana peut causer des changements de perception et même générer des hallucinations et des délires, et peut même réveiller des épidémies psychotiques.

Cela se produit surtout avec la marijuana dérivée de la plante de cannabis sativa ou avec les différents hybrides de cette plante avec d’autres variantes.

Est-ce que mon fils fume?

En tenant compte de tous les indices et signes que nous avons nommés, il vous sera plus facile de détecter si votre enfant fume des articulations. Au cas où vous en viendriez à la conclusion que vous avez vraiment cette dépendance, Restez calme et consultez un psychothérapeute spécialisé dans l'adolescence .

Articles Connexes