yes, therapy helps!
13 Neuroscience books for beginners (highly recommended)

13 Neuroscience books for beginners (highly recommended)

May 9, 2021

The neurosciences they are a tremendously fruitful field of study that, in addition, addresses many topics of our day to day. The point that unites these issues is always the same: they are based on the functioning of our brain, the nervous system in general, and its interaction with the rest of the human body.

Of course, The neurosciences are also closely related to psychology , since the mental processes are carried out by the brain. So, for all lovers of the study of human behavior, we present a selection of 10 neuroscience books to start learning about the human mind.

Neuroscience books to begin in the study of the mind

Below you will find a selection of recommended books to start in the study of neurosciences


1. The ethical brain, by Michael Gazzaniga

This is one of the most famous neuroscience books written by Michael Gazzaniga , and it is not hard to imagine the reason. In it, while reviewing the general functioning of the human brain, it explains how it can explain our morality and ethics, something that influences us completely in our day to day and in the way in which we relate to others.

Being Gazzaniga a great popularizer, he manages to make readers easily navigate through quite complex topics that have to do with biology and medicine.

  • You can buy it through this link.


2. The error of Descartes, by António Damásio

Possibly the most famous book by the Portuguese neurologist António Damásio , which has quickly become a classic among books on neuroscience. It explores the question of the relationship between the mind and the body.

Is it true that this distinction exists, or is the mind actually part of the human organism like bones or flesh?

  • Buy it here

3. The secret life of the mind, by Mariano Sigman

This book brings together neuroscience and experimental psychology to give a global picture of how the brain works and other structures of the nervous system.

Although as a book on neuroscience it presents a great amount of information and all kinds of data, all of them are oriented to answer questions that have to do with the day to day and the way in which we experience life in its different aspects.


  • You can buy it here.

4. The man who confused his wife with a hat, by Oliver Sacks

One of the most well-known works of the neurologist Oliver Sacks, and also one of the most interesting when familiarizing himself with his work. Through very accessible and easy to read texts, ORliver Sacks tells stories about people who have been changed by a change in brain function .

It is, therefore, a set of writings that talk about case studies, and not so much about general statistics about how the human mind usually works, which means that in the man who confused his wife with a hat has a series of protagonists with whom it is impossible not to empathize. A human touch that is not very frequent to find in neuroscience books, and that is appreciated.

  • You can buy it through this link.

5. Ghosts in the brain, by V. S. Ramachandran and S. Blakeslee

Vilayanur S. Ramachandran is a well-known researcher following his research on phantom limbs, and in this book he offers an excellent compendium about what we know about the brain and the nervous system.

One of the neuroscience books most suitable for people who want to start on the subject.

  • It is a discontinued book, but you can learn more about this work here.

6. In search of memory, by Eric Kandel

Eric Kandel is one of the most reputable scientists in the field of neurophysiology , and in this book he explores one of the topics he has studied the most: memory, the element of our mind that makes us maintain our own identity and understand our life as a narrative.

It is one of the most complete books of neurosciences and it also includes different discoveries related to all types of cognitive sciences.

  • You can buy it here.

7. Brain and freedom, by Joaquín M. Fuster

Is our brain a machine? Is there something in us that gives us the ability to choose freely? This is a book on neuroscience, yes, but very related to philosophy, and therefore it addresses questions that directly affect our conception of what is the human being.

A work especially interesting for people interested in natural sciences as well as philosophy and letters.

  • If you want to buy it, you can do it through this link.

8. The new brain map, by Rita Carter

This is an excellent illustrated guide on the brain and all the structures that compose it . It shows some significant discoveries about the brains of some people with disorders and even the differences between man and woman at the neuroanatomical level.

One of the most recommended neuroscience books for those people who like to learn through the visual.

  • Buy it here

9. The executive brain, by Elkhonon Goldberg

Among the functions that take place in our brain, there are some that are specific to human beings . The ability to think long term, to use language, plan complex tasks and make decisions by choosing from an almost infinite number of options.

And it turns out, in addition, that in all these processes there is a part of the nervous system with special importance: the frontal lobe. This book talks about great discoveries that have been made about this area of ​​the brain.

  • You can buy it here.

10. The universe of consciousness, by G. Edelman and G. Tononi

An old acquaintance: this book already appeared in the list of 5 books to give to a psychologist at Christmas 2014 ... and it is also an excellent book on neurosciences. Between his pages a subject is explored very investigated from the philosophy of the mind: How is it possible that a set of cells can give rise to consciousness, which is something totally private and subjective?

Gerald Edelman and Giulio Tononi offer an overview of their ideas on this subject, and also enter to discuss some philosophical questions above. Of course, this is a reading for people who already have a minimal idea about how the human brain works, and that is why we put it at the bottom of the list of neuroscience books.

  • You can buy it here.

Manuals on Neurosciences (for advanced readers)

So far we have reviewed ten books dedicated to neuroscience, with an informative style and for a public not necessarily learned in the subject.

Now, if you are a student of psychology, biology or medicine, and you want to deepen the study of the nervous system, we propose you two very complete manuals on neurosciences .

11. Fundamentals of Neuroscience. Laboratory manual (Various authors)

A manual frequently present among the compulsory readings of the faculties of psychology and medicine in Spain. 300 pages where it is clearly explained how our nervous system works, our brain and the biological bases of human behavior.

  • More information and purchase option in this link.

12. Cognitive Neuroscience (Diego Redolar Ripoll)

Probably the most well-known neuroscience manual. A true guide for neuroscience students . If your goal is to have a reference guide, this is the work that should not be missing in your personal library.

  • Buy it here

13. What is intelligence? (several authors)

This book offers an overview of one of the most important concepts in the world of psychology and neuroscience: intelligence. Its pages talk about the different facets of this set of mental abilities, its neurobiological elements and the way in which it is researched in this field.

It is an ideal work for people looking for an introduction to this field.

  • If you are interested, you can buy it here.

One more book: Psychologically Speaking, by Adrián Triglia, Bertrand Regader and Jonathan García-Allen

It is not a book about neurosciences strictly speaking, but a journey on the science of behavior for all audiences . If you want to discover many mysteries of the human mind, this work should be in your personal library.

  • You can buy it here.


10 Psychology Tricks That Work ON ANYBODY (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
13 livres de neuroscience pour débutants (hautement recommandé)

13 livres de neuroscience pour débutants (hautement recommandé)

Mai 21, 2019

Le neurosciences ils constituent un domaine d’étude extrêmement fructueux qui, en outre, aborde de nombreux sujets de notre quotidien. Le point qui unit ces questions est toujours le même: elles reposent sur le fonctionnement de notre cerveau, du système nerveux en général, et de ses interactions avec le reste du corps humain.

Bien sûr, Les neurosciences sont aussi étroitement liées à la psychologie , puisque les processus mentaux sont effectués par le cerveau. Ainsi, pour tous les amoureux de l’étude du comportement humain, nous présentons une sélection de 10 livres sur les neurosciences pour commencer à en apprendre davantage sur l’esprit humain.

Des livres sur les neurosciences à commencer par l'étude de l'esprit

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection de livres recommandés pour commencer l'étude des neurosciences.


1. Le cerveau éthique, par Michael Gazzaniga

C’est l’un des ouvrages les plus célèbres sur les neurosciences écrit par Michael Gazzaniga et il n’est pas difficile d’en imaginer la raison. Tout en examinant le fonctionnement général du cerveau humain, il explique comment il peut expliquer notre moralité et notre éthique, ce qui nous influence complètement dans notre quotidien et dans nos relations avec les autres.

En tant que grand vulgarisateur de Gazzaniga, il parvient à faire en sorte que les lecteurs naviguent facilement dans des sujets assez complexes liés à la biologie et à la médecine.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter via ce lien.


2. L'erreur de Descartes, d'António Damásio

Probablement le livre le plus célèbre du neurologue portugais António Damásio , qui est rapidement devenu un classique parmi les ouvrages sur les neurosciences. Il explore la question de la relation entre l'esprit et le corps.

Est-il vrai que cette distinction existe ou l'esprit fait-il réellement partie de l'organisme humain au même titre que les os ou la chair?

  • Achetez-le ici

3. La vie secrète de l'esprit, par Mariano Sigman

Ce livre réunit neurosciences et psychologie expérimentale pour donner une image globale du fonctionnement du cerveau. et d'autres structures du système nerveux.

Bien que le livre sur les neurosciences contienne une grande quantité d’informations et toutes sortes de données, elles sont toutes orientées pour répondre à des questions relatives au quotidien et à la manière dont nous vivons la vie sous ses différents aspects.


  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

4. L'homme qui a confondu sa femme avec un chapeau, par Oliver Sacks

L'un des travaux les plus connus du neurologue Oliver Sacks, mais aussi l'un des plus intéressants lorsqu'il se familiarise avec son travail. Par des textes très accessibles et faciles à lire, OUliver Sacks raconte des histoires sur des personnes qui ont été modifiées par un changement de la fonction cérébrale .

C’est donc un ensemble d’écrits qui parlent d’études de cas et non de statistiques générales sur le fonctionnement de l’esprit humain, ce qui signifie que chez l’homme qui a confondu sa femme avec un chapeau a une série de protagonistes avec qui il est impossible de ne pas sympathiser. Un contact humain qui n’est pas très fréquent à trouver dans les ouvrages sur les neurosciences, et qui est apprécié.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter via ce lien.

5. Fantômes dans le cerveau, par V. S. Ramachandran et S. Blakeslee

Vilayanur S. Ramachandran est un chercheur réputé à la suite de ses recherches sur les membres fantômes, il propose dans cet ouvrage un excellent recueil de connaissances sur le cerveau et le système nerveux.

Un des livres de neuroscience le plus approprié pour les personnes qui veulent commencer sur le sujet.

  • C'est un livre abandonné, mais vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce travail ici.

6. À la recherche de la mémoire, par Eric Kandel

Eric Kandel est l'un des scientifiques les plus réputés dans le domaine de la neurophysiologie , et dans ce livre, il explore l’un des sujets qu’il a le plus étudié: la mémoire, l’élément de notre esprit qui nous permet de maintenir notre identité et de comprendre notre vie en tant que récit.

C'est l'un des ouvrages les plus complets sur les neurosciences et il inclut également différentes découvertes liées à tous les types de sciences cognitives.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

7. Cerveau et liberté, par Joaquín M. Fuster

Notre cerveau est-il une machine? Y a-t-il quelque chose en nous qui nous donne la possibilité de choisir librement? C'est un livre sur les neurosciences, certes, mais très lié à la philosophie. Il aborde donc des questions qui affectent directement notre conception de ce qu'est l'être humain.

Un travail particulièrement intéressant pour les personnes intéressées par les sciences naturelles, la philosophie et les lettres.

  • Si vous voulez l'acheter, vous pouvez le faire via ce lien.

8. La nouvelle carte du cerveau, par Rita Carter

C’est un excellent guide illustré sur le cerveau et toutes les structures qui le composent. . Il montre des découvertes significatives sur le cerveau de certaines personnes atteintes de troubles et même les différences entre l'homme et la femme au niveau neuroanatomique.

Un des livres de neuroscience les plus recommandés pour ceux qui aiment apprendre par le visuel.

  • Achetez-le ici

9. Le cerveau exécutif, par Elkhonon Goldberg

Parmi les fonctions qui se déroulent dans notre cerveau, il y en a qui sont spécifiques à l'homme . Capacité à penser à long terme, à utiliser le langage, à planifier des tâches complexes et à prendre des décisions en choisissant parmi un nombre presque infini d'options.

Et il s'avère en outre que dans tous ces processus, une partie du système nerveux revêt une importance particulière: le lobe frontal. Ce livre parle des grandes découvertes qui ont été faites sur cette région du cerveau.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

10. L'univers de la conscience, par G. Edelman et G. Tononi

Une vieille connaissance: ce livre figurait déjà dans la liste des 5 livres à donner à un psychologue à Noël 2014 ... et c'est aussi un excellent livre sur les neurosciences. Entre ses pages un sujet est exploré très étudié de la philosophie de l'esprit: Comment est-il possible qu'un ensemble de cellules puisse donner naissance à la conscience, ce qui est totalement privé et subjectif?

Gerald Edelman et Giulio Tononi donnent un aperçu de leurs idées sur ce sujet et entrent également pour discuter de certaines questions philosophiques ci-dessus. Bien sûr, il s’agit d’une lecture pour les personnes qui ont déjà une idée minimale du fonctionnement du cerveau humain. C’est pourquoi nous la plaçons au bas de la liste des ouvrages sur les neurosciences.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

Manuels sur les neurosciences (pour les lecteurs avancés)

Jusqu'ici, nous avons examiné dix livres consacrés aux neurosciences, avec un style informatif et destinés à un public qui n'est pas nécessairement appris en la matière.

Maintenant, si vous étudiez en psychologie, en biologie ou en médecine et que vous souhaitez approfondir l’étude du système nerveux, nous vous proposons deux manuels très complets sur les neurosciences .

11. Fondements de la neuroscience. Manuel de laboratoire (divers auteurs)

Un manuel fréquemment présent parmi les lectures obligatoires des facultés de psychologie et de médecine en Espagne. 300 pages où il est clairement expliqué le fonctionnement de notre système nerveux, notre cerveau et les bases biologiques du comportement humain.

  • Plus d'informations et option d'achat dans ce lien.

12. Neuroscience cognitive (Diego Redolar Ripoll)

Probablement le manuel de neuroscience le plus connu. Un véritable guide pour les étudiants en neurosciences . Si votre objectif est d’avoir un guide de référence, c’est le travail qui ne devrait pas manquer dans votre bibliothèque personnelle.

  • Achetez-le ici

13. Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence? (plusieurs auteurs)

Ce livre offre un aperçu de l’un des concepts les plus importants du monde de la psychologie et des neurosciences: l’intelligence. Ses pages traitent des différentes facettes de cet ensemble de capacités mentales, de ses éléments neurobiologiques et de la façon dont il est étudié dans ce domaine.

C'est un travail idéal pour les personnes cherchant une introduction à ce domaine.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez l'acheter ici.

Encore un livre: Psychologiquement parlant, de Adrián Triglia, Bertrand Regader et Jonathan García-Allen

Ce n’est pas un livre sur les neurosciences à proprement parler, mais un voyage sur la science du comportement pour tous les publics . Si vous souhaitez découvrir de nombreux mystères de l'esprit humain, ce travail devrait être dans votre bibliothèque personnelle.

  • Vous pouvez l'acheter ici.


Pourquoi le système éducatif est OBSOLÈTE et comment HACKER votre éducation (Facebook Live, 137/365) (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes