yes, therapy helps!
14 activities for children with ADHD (to work on care)

14 activities for children with ADHD (to work on care)

May 3, 2024

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder or ADHD is one of the neurodevelopmental disorders known and diagnosed in the western world, characterized by the presence of inattention that may or may not be accompanied by hyperactivity and impulsivity. This is a problem that can cause severe difficulties for the child who suffers from it, and in many cases there are adjustment problems in the academic and social sphere, mainly due to a lack of development of some executive functions.

In order to solve these difficulties, it may be of great interest to carry out some type of activity that allows these functions to be trained. Throughout this article we will propose various activities for children with ADHD in order to enhance their abilities in a fun and entertaining way.


  • Related article: "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), also in adults"

ADHD: brief description of the disorder

Before entering into specific activities, it may be relevant to briefly mention what is known as ADHD.

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder or ADHD is a disorder characterized by the presence of at least six symptoms of inattention and another six of hyperactivity and impulsivity for a minimum of six consecutive months.

Among the typical symptoms of inattention we can find problems in the maintenance of attention, loss of conversation or lack of listening due to having a busy mind, forgetting daily activities, avoiding activities that require sustained attention, inability to follow or finish tasks, forgetting slogans, loss of objects or carelessness.


In regards to hyperactivity / impulsivity Motor restlessness, excessive speech, inability to save turns are common , intrusion in the activities of others, anticipation of other people's responses before they occur, inability to stay still or sitting or running in inappropriate contexts. We must bear in mind that there is also ADD, in which there would be inattention but not hyperactivity.

It is a neurodevelopmental disorder, that is, a condition that appears as a consequence of difficulties in the process of normative development and whose symptoms appear during it (although this does not mean that it only exists in childhood or adolescence, also present in adults). In the case of ADHD, it can be observed concretely a slowing down of the development of the prefrontal cortex , something that has repercussion at the time of developing the so-called executive functions. Among the functions that tend to present deficits, we observe attention, working memory, inhibition of behavior, self-organization capacity or ability to make and maintain plans.


It is also important to bear in mind that we are facing problems beyond the control of those who suffer from it, something that needs to be highlighted, given that for many people it may be difficult to realize, for example, in the case at hand.

Proposals of activities for children with ADHD

When generating activities for children with this problem, it must be clear that they must consider activities that must be clearly explained, that allow for the completion of breaks and that, even if they are aimed at the empowerment of capacities, be entertaining and lived as something interesting for the child It is also usually advisable to use more visual activities, not entirely verbal. The presence of distracting stimuli should also be withdrawn or avoided.

Taking this into account, we will now see a series of activities that we can carry out together with a child with ADHD that can help us to train skills and abilities in which they may have difficulties.

1. The seven differences

A typical and simple game as well as fun that is based on detect the differences between several images . The level of difficulty may vary depending on the age and ability of the subject. It allows to train attention to details and working memory.

2. Letter soup

Another typical and highly known activity and used on occasion to entertain a large part of the population, word soups can also be useful for children with ADHD given that allow to train selective attention, the ability to organize and the inhibition of behavior .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 types of attention and what are their characteristics"

3. In slow motion

Another way to train the attention capacity and the inhibition and management of behavior is through the performance of various actions in slow motion.An example could be interpreting an astronaut on a mission to the Moon, who must place a flag somewhere on the lunar surface (the child's house, for example), in zero gravity. You can come up with a whole story, can even become a group game .

4. The turtle technique

This small and simple activity can make it possible to strengthen behavior management and reduce impulsivity. It's about playing with the child and teaching him to become a turtle, learning to act little by little and to take refuge in the carapace when they perceive a threat, in order to calm down.

5. Memory or couples game

This well-known game allows to train memory and attention , the subject having to find pairs of letters between a group of cards face down, being able to raise only two at a time before putting them upside down again.

6. Construction games

If the child likes them, building games are an excellent way to train the ability to plan, control behavior and attention to detail. From LEGOs to models, It can be a fun and useful activity that in addition can be molded to subject to the taste of the subject.

7. Eco game

This activity, to be carried out preferentially in a group, is based on the fact that one participant follows a word and the rest echoes, repeating the last syllables. You can also add the fact that each time the child has to reduce the repeated syllables and sounds. Promotes attention and verbal work memory .

8. The initial of my name

A simple activity that is based on that we will randomly say different letters in a continuous way, having the minor to give a pat when you hear the one that corresponds to your initial. It can also be done by saying words at random having the subject to applaud when a specific one is said. It encourages continued attention.

9. What have I saved?

Memory and attention are some of the skills that allows this activity to be promoted. It is a question of providing the subject with a series of different objects to keep in a box. Once this is done, you must say what you have saved. It may be useful to propose to him beforehand that he generates a fantastic story that allows to include all the objects in question, in such a way that the organization is also worked on.

10. The hanged man

This well-known game allows the maintenance of attention, behavioral inhibition, planning or ability to organize .

11. Team sports

Physical activity is usually pleasant for children with hyperactivity, since it allows them a great movement. In addition to releasing energy, many sports also can favor attention to stimuli or details , such as table tennis.

12. Chained words

Another simple activity to carry out and that allows training not only attention, but also the need to wait for your turn to speak. It is about forming a chain of words, making the players take turns saying a word that must begin with the last syllable of the word that the previous person has said.

13. Imitate me

This game allows work attention and memory . The first person must do a specific activity (which can come from pre-prepared cards), so that the rest should look at what they do so they can replicate it later. An example could be replicating a dance choreography.

  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

14. An invented language

The idea of ​​this activity is to generate series of symbols without meaning per se, as if it were a new language, which correspond to the letters of the alphabet. We should leave several relatively short messages throughout the house that the child will have to translate in order to find the next clue, for example, to find a small treasure (for example, some sweets), arranging for it a small chop.

Bibliographic references:

  • Vallés, A. (1999). How to change children's behavior Guide for parents. Alicante: Editorial Marfil.

Signs, Symptoms, and Treatment of ADHD in Children (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
14 activités pour les enfants atteints de TDAH (travailler sur les soins)

14 activités pour les enfants atteints de TDAH (travailler sur les soins)

Juin 22, 2022

Le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention ou TDAH est l'un des désordres neurodéveloppementaux connus et diagnostiqués dans le monde occidental, caractérisé par la présence d'inattention qui peut être accompagnée ou non d'hyperactivité et d'impulsivité. C’est un problème qui peut entraîner de graves difficultés pour l’enfant qui en souffre, et il existe souvent des problèmes d’ajustement dans les domaines académique et social, principalement dus au manque de développement de certaines fonctions exécutives.

Afin de résoudre ces difficultés, il peut être très intéressant de réaliser un type d’activité permettant de former ces fonctions. Tout au long de cet article nous proposerons diverses activités pour les enfants atteints de TDAH afin d'améliorer leurs capacités de manière amusante et divertissante.


  • Article connexe: "Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH), également chez l'adulte"

TDAH: brève description du trouble

Avant d’entreprendre des activités spécifiques, il peut être pertinent de mentionner brièvement ce que l’on appelle le TDAH.

Le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention ou TDAH est un trouble caractérisé par la présence d'au moins six symptômes d'inattention et de six autres d'hyperactivité et d'impulsivité pendant au moins six mois consécutifs.

Parmi les symptômes typiques de l'inattention nous pouvons trouver des problèmes dans le maintien de l'attention, la perte de conversation ou le manque d'écoute dus au fait d'avoir l'esprit occupé, d'oublier les activités quotidiennes, d'éviter les activités qui nécessitent une attention soutenue, de ne pas pouvoir suivre ou d'achever les tâches, d'oublier des slogans perte d'objets ou imprudence.


En ce qui concerne l'hyperactivité / impulsivité L'agitation motrice, la parole excessive, l'incapacité de sauver les virages sont fréquents , intrusion dans les activités des autres, anticipation des réactions d’autres personnes avant qu’elles ne se produisent, incapacité de rester immobile, de rester assis ou de courir dans des contextes inappropriés. Nous devons garder à l’esprit qu’il existe également un TDA, dans lequel il y aurait inattention mais pas hyperactivité.

C’est un trouble neurodéveloppemental, c’est-à-dire une condition apparaissant comme conséquence des difficultés rencontrées dans le processus de développement normatif et dont les symptômes apparaissent au cours de celui-ci également présent chez les adultes). Dans le cas du TDAH, on peut observer concrètement un ralentissement du développement du cortex préfrontal , quelque chose qui a des répercussions à l’époque du développement des fonctions dites exécutives. Parmi les fonctions qui tendent à présenter des déficits, nous observons l'attention, la mémoire de travail, l'inhibition du comportement, la capacité d'auto-organisation ou la capacité de faire et de maintenir des plans.


Il est également important de garder à l’esprit que nous sommes confrontés à des problèmes qui échappent à la volonté de ceux qui en souffrent, qu’il convient de souligner, étant donné que pour beaucoup de personnes, il peut être difficile à réaliser, par exemple dans le cas qui nous occupe.

Propositions d'activités pour les enfants atteints de TDAH

Lors de la création d'activités pour les enfants présentant ce problème, il doit être clair qu'ils doivent prendre en compte des activités qui doivent être clairement expliquées, qui permettent de compléter les pauses et qui, même si elles visent la responsabilisation des capacités, être divertissant et vécu comme quelque chose d'intéressant pour l'enfant Il est également généralement conseillé d’utiliser davantage d’activités visuelles, pas uniquement verbales. La présence de stimuli gênants doit également être supprimée ou évitée.

En tenant compte de cela, nous allons maintenant voir une série d'activités que nous pouvons réaliser avec un enfant atteint de TDAH, qui peuvent nous aider à développer des compétences et des habiletés pouvant poser des problèmes.

1. Les sept différences

Un jeu typique et simple, mais aussi amusant, basé sur détecter les différences entre plusieurs images . Le niveau de difficulté peut varier en fonction de l'âge et des capacités du sujet. Cela permet de former une attention aux détails et à la mémoire de travail.

2. lettre soupe

Autre activité typique et très connue, utilisée occasionnellement pour divertir une grande partie de la population, les soupes de mots peuvent également être utiles aux enfants atteints de TDAH, étant donné que permettre de former l'attention sélective, la capacité d'organisation et l'inhibition du comportement .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 types d'attention et leurs caractéristiques"

3. Au ralenti

Une autre façon de former la capacité d'attention et l'inhibition et la gestion du comportement consiste à effectuer diverses actions au ralenti.Un exemple pourrait être l'interprétation d'un astronaute en mission sur la Lune, qui doit placer un drapeau quelque part sur la surface lunaire (la maison de l'enfant, par exemple), en apesanteur. Vous pouvez raconter toute une histoire, peut même devenir un jeu de groupe .

4. La technique de la tortue

Cette petite et simple activité peut permettre de renforcer la gestion du comportement et de réduire l'impulsivité. Il s’agit de jouer avec l’enfant et de lui apprendre à devenir une tortue, apprendre à agir petit à petit et se réfugier dans la carapace quand ils perçoivent une menace, afin de se calmer.

5. Jeu de mémoire ou de couple

Ce jeu bien connu permet de former la mémoire et l'attention , le sujet devant trouver des paires de lettres entre un groupe de cartes, faces cachées, ne pouvant en relever que deux à la fois avant de les replacer à nouveau.

6. Jeux de construction

Si l'enfant les aime bien, les jeux de construction sont un excellent moyen d'apprendre à planifier, à contrôler le comportement et à porter une attention particulière aux détails. Des LEGO aux modèles, Ce peut être une activité amusante et utile qui en plus peut être moulé pour répondre au goût du sujet.

7. Jeu éco

Cette activité, à réaliser préférentiellement en groupe, est basée sur le fait qu'un participant suit un mot et que le reste résonne en répétant les dernières syllabes. Vous pouvez également ajouter le fait que chaque fois que l'enfant doit réduire les syllabes et les sons répétés. Favorise l'attention et la mémoire de travail verbale .

8. L'initiale de mon nom

Une activité simple basée sur le fait que nous allons dire au hasard différentes lettres de manière continue, en demandant au mineur de donner une tape quand vous entendez celle qui correspond à votre initiale. Cela peut également être fait en prononçant des mots au hasard ayant le sujet à applaudir lorsqu'un mot spécifique est dit. Cela encourage l'attention continue.

9. Qu'ai-je sauvé?

La mémoire et l’attention sont quelques-unes des compétences qui permettent de promouvoir cette activité. Il s’agit de fournir au sujet une série d’objets différents à conserver dans une boîte. Une fois que cela est fait, vous devez dire ce que vous avez enregistré. Il peut être utile de lui proposer à l’avance de générer une histoire fantastique. cela permet d'inclure tous les objets en question, de manière à ce que l'organisation soit également travaillée.

10. Le pendu

Ce jeu bien connu permet le maintien de l’attention, l’inhibition du comportement, la planification ou capacité d'organisation .

11. Sports d'équipe

L'activité physique est généralement agréable pour les enfants hyperactifs, car cela leur permet un grand mouvement. En plus de libérer de l’énergie, de nombreux sports peut favoriser l'attention aux stimuli ou aux détails , comme le tennis de table.

12. Mots chaînés

Une autre activité simple à réaliser qui permet d’entraîner non seulement l’attention, mais aussi la nécessité d’attendre votre tour de parler. Il s'agit de former une chaîne de mots, incitant les joueurs à prononcer à tour de rôle un mot qui doit commencer par la dernière syllabe du mot que la personne précédente a dite.

13. Imite moi

Ce jeu permet attention au travail et mémoire . La première personne doit faire une activité spécifique (qui peut provenir de cartes préparées à l'avance), afin que les autres regardent ce qu'ils font pour pouvoir la reproduire ultérieurement. Un exemple pourrait être de reproduire une chorégraphie de danse.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

14. Un langage inventé

L’idée de cette activité est de générer une série de symboles sans signification en soi, comme s’il s’agissait d’une nouvelle langue, qui correspond aux lettres de l’alphabet. Nous devrions laisser plusieurs messages relativement courts dans toute la maison que l'enfant devra traduire afin de trouver le prochain indice, par exemple, trouver un petit trésor (par exemple, des friandises), en y organisant une petite côtelette.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Vallés, A. (1999). Comment changer le comportement des enfants Guide pour les parents. Alicante: Éditorial Marfil.

Soigner le cerveau sans médicament grâce aux neurosciences | Louis Mayaud | TEDxRennes (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes