yes, therapy helps!
14 recommended essays for curious minds

14 recommended essays for curious minds

May 3, 2024

Expand our horizons and discover new ways of thinking and see the world and the different aspects that are part of it is something that a lot of people want. They seek to enrich themselves internally or to increase their knowledge from different methods, one of them being the use of literature.

However, centuries and centuries of history have allowed the existence of a large catalog of documents and works of different themes, so that in order to facilitate the search for interesting material we present you a small selection of recommended essays .

  • Maybe you're interested: "12 essential books by Noam Chomsky"

What is a literary essay?

An essay is all written in prose in which the author or authors deepen on a topic determined. This literary genre observes and analyzes from a well-founded point of view the subject to be treated, trying to introduce and make the reader think about the aspect on which the work is based.


For this reason they are usually acquired by people interested in increasing their knowledge about various subjects, although sometimes the content tends to focus more on the subjective beliefs of the author than on proven facts.

14 recommended trials

Here we present a series of recommended trials to make us think about various elements and situations in our lives.

1. The art of war (Sun Tzu)

A well-known Chinese work dating back to antiquity, The Art of War is an essay based on the use of strategy during times of conflict . Although by its name it seems fully dedicated to military strategy, this essay reflects a philosophy applicable to various vital aspects such as social, labor relations or even the individual's own behavior.


  • If you want to know more about this essay, click here.

2. Treaty on tolerance (Voltaire)

Written by Voltaire in 1762 after the French edict that allowed freedom of worship was revoked, in this work François-Marie Arouet (the real name of Voltaire) speaks of the need to tolerate the beliefs and thoughts of others , affirming that nobody should die for their ideas and criticizing fanaticism and violence.

  • In case you are interested in the book, in this link you will find more information about it.

3. History of the underworld (Georges Minois)

In this essay, the author reviews the conception of hell through the ages , from antiquity to modernity and with a certain emphasis on the Judeo-Christian version. This work allows us to see how the culture has evolved, analyzing the way in which hell was used as a deterrent to committing actions contrary to tradition and the law. Likewise, we are shown how the traditional idea of ​​this concept has faded over time and how some of its elements have been identified in other facets of modern life.


  • Are you interested in this essay? In this link you can find more information.

4. Hunger (Martín Caparrós)

This essay tells us about a subject that most of us overlook in their daily lives, as we tend to have enough resources to not be devastated by it. It's about hunger, that causes the death by starvation of a large number of people throughout the world. Throughout the work the author reflects the stories of different populations afflicted by it, the people who try to fight against it and the mechanisms that cause this problem to remain so today.

  • In case you want to know more about this essay, here you can find more information about the book.

5. Essays on music, theater and literature (Thomas Mann)

It is a collection of essays in which the author, Thomas Mann, makes a review and analysis of the development of European culture . Focusing on aspects such as literature (among which the essay stands out) Travel by sea with Don Quixote), theater and music, the author also refers to other topics such as the capture of reality, spirituality and the artist's connection with the world around him.

  • If you are interested, you can get it by clicking here.

6. Three essays on sexual theory (Sigmund Freud)

The father of psychoanalysis, Sigmund Freud is one of the best-known figures in the history of psychology . Although his theories have been partially superseded by different authors and theoretical currents, the observation and reading of his theories regarding the human psyche and its configuration continues to be of great interest. In this work the author offers us his vision of sexuality and its development throughout life.

  • To read more about this work, click here.
  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 stages of psychosexual development of Sigmund Freud"

7. In defense of error (Kathryn Schulz)

We live in a society that requires us to be competitive and efficient in everything we do. We have to look for the perception, being hard criticized the mistakes made. However, making mistakes is in most cases an opportunity to improve and open up to new ways of acting and seeing the world. In this essay, the author reflects different mistakes made by some of the most relevant personalities and recognized throughout history.

  • If you are interested, click here to read more about this work.

8. The soul of puppets (John Gray)

This essay tells us about one of the rights and values ​​most defended and valued by the human being throughout history: freedom. Throughout this work John Gray reflects that although we consider that we are liberated, human beings are still constrained by different elements that force us to act in a certain way. As if we were puppets, we are still controlled by our conscience, ideas, beliefs and personal history, without being able in many cases to get out of concrete limits imposed by others or by ourselves.

  • To see more information about the book, use this link.

9. The genealogy of morality (Friederich Niezche)

This essay by the well-known philosopher deals with topics such as culture, good and evil, science and asceticism, guilt or grief, establishing a fierce criticism of the concept of moral and the values ​​that govern society.

  • To know more about the book, click here.

10. Five moral writings (Umberto Eco)

This work by Umberto Eco study topics such as war, immigration or the media from the perspective of its influence on morality, from the analysis of recent history.

  • If you are interested in this essay, click on this link.

11. The inner journey. Essays on Jungian Psychology (Barbara Hannah)

The author of this book takes a tour of the work of the well-known author of the deep psychology, C.G. Jung. Aspects such as archetypes and complexes or personality they will be aspects explored throughout the present work with a language easily understood by the reader.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The archetypes according to Carl Gustav Jung"

12. Writing: an introduction to the alphabetic culture (Jesús Tusón)

Writing is one of the skills and tools that today are considered essential and that have allowed the transmission of values, beliefs and knowledge through the passage of history. It has allowed the human being to start from previous knowledge to advance and develop. Tusón reflects in this essay the process and the existing theories about the beginning, development and expansion of writing as a method of human communication.

Click on this link to learn more about this work.

13. The musical brain (Daniel J. Levitin)

Music has been part of humanity since time immemorial. Used as a mechanism of communication and expression of emotions, feelings and intentions, it is an artistic expression that even today accompanies us and is part of our lives from childhood to death. In this essay the author tries to explain the role of music throughout history and its importance for individuals and groups that have passed through the world.

  • On this page you will find more information about the book.

14. Eroticism (George Bataille)

This essay tells us about the role of eroticism in different vital aspects and the link between him and aspects such as love and passion, creativity or even aspects such as his relationship with death and aggression, also referring to characters such as the Marquis de Sade or aspects such as incest.

  • If you are interested in the book, click here.


Alternative Ways to Organize Your Essay, Pt. 1 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
14 essais recommandés pour les esprits curieux

14 essais recommandés pour les esprits curieux

Mai 25, 2022

Élargir nos horizons et découvrir de nouvelles façons de penser et voir le monde et les différents aspects qui en font partie est quelque chose que beaucoup de gens veulent. Ils cherchent à s’enrichir en interne ou à approfondir leurs connaissances à partir de différentes méthodes, l’une d’elles étant l’utilisation de la littérature.

Cependant, des siècles et des siècles d'histoire ont permis l'existence d'un vaste catalogue de documents et d'œuvres de différents thèmes, de sorte que pour faciliter la recherche de matériel intéressant, nous vous présentons une petite sélection d'essais recommandés .

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "12 livres essentiels de Noam Chomsky"

Qu'est-ce qu'un essai littéraire?

Un essai est tous écrits en prose dans lesquels l'auteur ou les auteurs approfondissent un sujet déterminé. Ce genre littéraire observe et analyse d'un point de vue fondé le sujet à traiter, en essayant d'introduire et de faire réfléchir le lecteur sur l'aspect sur lequel est basée l'œuvre.


Pour cette raison, ils sont généralement acquis par des personnes souhaitant approfondir leurs connaissances sur divers sujets, bien que le contenu ait parfois tendance à se concentrer davantage sur les croyances subjectives de l'auteur que sur des faits prouvés.

14 essais recommandés

Nous présentons ici une série d'essais recommandés pour nous faire réfléchir sur divers éléments et situations de notre vie.

1. L'art de la guerre (Sun Tzu)

Une œuvre chinoise bien connue datant de l'Antiquité, L'art de la guerre est un essai basé sur l'utilisation de la stratégie en période de conflit . Bien que son nom semble entièrement consacré à la stratégie militaire, cet essai reflète une philosophie applicable à divers aspects essentiels tels que les relations sociales, les relations de travail ou même le comportement de l'individu.


  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur cet essai, cliquez ici.

2. Traité sur la tolérance (Voltaire)

Écrit par Voltaire en 1762 après l'édit français autorisant la révocation de la liberté de culte, dans cette œuvre François-Marie Arouet (le vrai nom de Voltaire) parle de la nécessité de tolérer les croyances et les pensées des autres , affirmant que personne ne devrait mourir pour ses idées et critiquant le fanatisme et la violence.

  • Si ce livre vous intéresse, dans ce lien, vous trouverez plus d'informations à ce sujet.

3. Histoire de la pègre (Georges Minois)

Dans cet essai, l'auteur passe en revue la conception de l'enfer à travers les âges , de l’antiquité à la modernité et avec une certaine emphase sur la version judéo-chrétienne. Ce travail nous permet de voir comment la culture a évolué, en analysant la manière dont l'enfer a été utilisé comme moyen de dissuasion pour commettre des actes contraires à la tradition et à la loi. De même, on nous montre comment l’idée traditionnelle de ce concept s’est estompée avec le temps et comment certains de ses éléments ont été identifiés dans d’autres aspects de la vie moderne.


  • Êtes-vous intéressé par cet essai? Dans ce lien, vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations.

4. La faim (Martín Caparrós)

Cet essai nous parle d'un sujet que la plupart d'entre nous négligeons dans leur vie quotidienne, car nous avons tendance à avoir suffisamment de ressources pour ne pas être dévastés par cela. C'est à propos de la faim, qui provoque la mort par la famine d'un grand nombre de personnes dans le monde entier. Tout au long du travail, l'auteur reflète les histoires de différentes populations touchées, les personnes qui tentent de le combattre et les mécanismes qui font que ce problème le reste aujourd'hui.

  • Au cas où vous voudriez en savoir plus sur cet essai, vous trouverez ici plus d’informations sur le livre.

5. Essais sur la musique, le théâtre et la littérature (Thomas Mann)

C’est un recueil d’essais dans lequel l’auteur, Thomas Mann, fait un bilan et une analyse du développement de la culture européenne . Se concentrer sur des aspects tels que la littérature (parmi lesquels l'essai se distingue) Voyage en mer avec Don Quichotte), théâtre et musique, l’auteur se réfère également à d’autres thèmes tels que la capture de la réalité, la spiritualité et le lien de l’artiste avec le monde qui l’entoure.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez l'obtenir en cliquant ici.

6. Trois essais sur la théorie sexuelle (Sigmund Freud)

Le père de la psychanalyse, Sigmund Freud est l'une des figures les plus connues de l'histoire de la psychologie . Bien que ses théories aient été partiellement remplacées par différents auteurs et courants théoriques, l'observation et la lecture de ses théories concernant la psyché humaine et sa configuration continuent de présenter un grand intérêt. Dans ce travail, l'auteur nous propose sa vision de la sexualité et de son développement tout au long de la vie.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce travail, cliquez ici.
  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 étapes du développement psychosexuel de Sigmund Freud"

7. En défense d'erreur (Kathryn Schulz)

Nous vivons dans une société qui exige que nous soyons compétitifs et efficaces dans tout ce que nous faisons. Nous devons rechercher la perception, étant dur critiqué les erreurs commises. Cependant, commettre des erreurs est dans la plupart des cas une occasion de s’améliorer et de s’ouvrir à de nouvelles façons d’agir et de voir le monde. Dans cet essai, l'auteur reflète différentes erreurs commises par certaines des personnalités les plus pertinentes et reconnu à travers l'histoire.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur ce travail.

8. L'âme des marionnettes (John Gray)

Cet essai nous parle de l’un des droits et des valeurs les plus défendus et valorisés par l’être humain à travers l’histoire: la liberté. Tout au long de ce travail, John Gray reflète le fait que même si nous considérons que nous sommes libérés, les êtres humains sont toujours contraints par différents éléments cela nous oblige à agir d'une certaine manière. Comme si nous étions des marionnettes, nous sommes toujours contrôlés par notre conscience, nos idées, nos croyances et notre histoire personnelle, sans pouvoir, dans de nombreux cas, sortir des limites concrètes imposées par les autres ou par nous-mêmes.

  • Pour plus d'informations sur le livre, utilisez ce lien.

9. La généalogie de la moralité (Friederich Niezche)

Cet essai du philosophe renommé traite de sujets tels que la culture, le bien et le mal, la science et l'ascèse, la culpabilité ou le deuil, établir une critique féroce du concept de morale et les valeurs qui régissent la société.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur le livre, cliquez ici.

10. Cinq écrits moraux (Umberto Eco)

Ce travail de Umberto Eco étudier des sujets tels que la guerre, l'immigration ou les médias du point de vue de son influence sur la moralité, de l'analyse de l'histoire récente.

  • Si cet essai vous intéresse, cliquez sur ce lien.

11. Le voyage intérieur. Essais sur la psychologie jungienne (Barbara Hannah)

L'auteur de ce livre fait le tour du travail du célèbre auteur de la psychologie profonde, C.G. Jung. Aspects tels que les archétypes et complexes ou la personnalité Ce seront des aspects explorés tout au long du présent travail avec un langage facilement compris par le lecteur.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les archétypes selon Carl Gustav Jung"

12. Écriture: introduction à la culture alphabétique (Jesús Tusón)

L’écriture est l’une des compétences et des outils d’aujourd’hui considérés comme essentiels et qui ont permis transmission de valeurs, de croyances et de connaissances à travers le passage de l'histoire. Cela a permis à l'être humain de partir des connaissances antérieures pour progresser et se développer. Tusón reflète dans cet essai le processus et les théories existantes sur le début, le développement et l'expansion de l'écriture en tant que méthode de communication humaine.

Cliquez sur ce lien pour en savoir plus sur ce travail.

13. Le cerveau musical (Daniel J. Levitin)

La musique fait partie de l'humanité depuis des temps immémoriaux. Utilisé comme un mécanisme de communication et d’expression d’émotions, de sentiments et d’intentions, c’est une expression artistique qui nous accompagne encore aujourd’hui et fait partie de nos vies, de l’enfance à la mort. Dans cet essai, l'auteur tente d'expliquer le rôle de la musique à travers l'histoire et son importance pour les individus et les groupes qui ont traversé le monde.

  • Sur cette page, vous trouverez plus d'informations sur le livre.

14. érotisme (George Bataille)

Cet essai nous parle du rôle de l'érotisme dans différents aspects vitaux et le lien entre lui et des aspects tels que l'amour et la passion, la créativité ou même des aspects tels que sa relation avec la mort et l'agression, faisant également référence à des personnages tels que le marquis de Sade ou à des aspects tels que l'inceste.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé par le livre, cliquez ici.


MÉLENCHON : «LE 18 MARS, MARCHONS POUR LA 6E RÉPUBLIQUE» (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes