yes, therapy helps!
18 basic tips to be a good mother

18 basic tips to be a good mother

January 4, 2023

Definitely, Being a mother is one of the most rewarding and wonderful experiences that a woman can live, and for many it is a culminating moment of her life. The mother figure is extremely important for the growth of a son or daughter and influences how it develops in different areas of his life: personal well-being, academic environment, work, interpersonal relationships, etc.

Of course, although there are only one mother, sometimes they can generate discomfort in their children and become toxic mothers, whose actions prevent the proper development and emotional well-being of their offspring. The competences that a mother must develop are many, especially considering that the bond that he establishes with his sons and daughters is special , thanks to the body and visual contact that is established between both parties in the first months of life.


  • Related article: "The look of a mother and the maternal function:" I am looked at, therefore I exist ""

Recommendations to be a good mother

If you want to know how to be a good mother , below you can find a list of tips that will help you avoid breeding mistakes.

1. Set limits

It is clear that we all want the best for our children and, besides, we like to see them happy and smiling; However, this does not mean that they should always get away with it. Mark limits and set standards can be positive for your little ones and for their future well-being.

Of course, the rules must be coherent, clear and simple, must be the same for everyone and adapted to the maturational age of your son or daughter. At the end of the day we are social beings, so learning to put limits on the impulses of the little ones is good to adapt better to the society in which we live.


2. You are your learning model

The family is one of the main socializing agents, so it is necessary that you educate your child well. Humans have different ways of learning, and one of them is through modeling , a concept introduced by Albert Bandura. Although sometimes you do not believe it, what you do and how you behave in front of you matters, because your son is continually watching you.

3. Listen actively

Many times we think we are listening when we are really listening. To really listen it is necessary to practice active listening . This means that you should not only pay attention to your children trying to understand what they say, but also what they feel. In other words, you must address both the emotional component (feelings, emotions, sensations, etc.) and the rational component (ideas, beliefs, knowledge, etc.).


If you want to know more about how to do it, this article will be useful for you: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others".

4. Validate your emotions

Listening to your child actively is important, but it is also important to validate your emotions. Emotional validation is a process of learning, understanding and expression of the acceptance of another person's emotional experience. That is, if you suspect that your child has difficulties, active listening can allow you to understand not only your verbal language, but also the non-verbal one (gestures, gaze, posture, etc.) when your heart opens.

The emotional validation will make you demonstrate that you understand (even if you do not always agree) and, therefore, you will feel more comfortable when it comes to saying how you feel. We can all feel pleasant emotions and painful emotions, and your son or daughter is no exception.

5. Let it be expressed

Emotional validation and acceptance of emotions are key to the future well-being of your child. This allows your child to learn to express their emotions and feelings instead of minimizing or rejecting them. Emotions do not disappear if we repress them , but on the contrary, you can get to express yourself without control. The correct emotional control is good for both the welfare of your child and their interpersonal relationships.

6. Encourages communication

The above points are closely related to efficient communication, which helps your child to count on you for what he needs, and increase the emotional bond between you . That is why it is important that you communicate daily with your child and in an open manner. This will allow you to know him and he will understand that he can trust you when you need him, even with regard to his worries and fears.

7. Adapt to your child

Sometimes, it may happen that we are not aware of the age of our son, because he can behave badly and get us crazy at some point. As an adult, you should be aware that your child's level of reasoning follows a developmental process, so you need to adapt to their needs.

Now, it is not a matter of treating him like a mature person when he is not yet. For example, at three years you may have a need to say "no" to everything, because it is your way of gaining independence. Do not be surprised by certain attitudes of your little one , it is not positive that you lose your calm. Keep in mind that the important thing is to educate you correctly, not get angry in an uncontrolled way.

  • You may be interested: "The theory of moral development of Lawrence Kohlberg"

8. Be patient

Being a mother can be complicated sometimes , and it may seem that the situation is great for you. Go to work, get home and do housework and then educate your child ... occupy many hours of your day. But keep calm and try to be patient. Do not pay it with your children, and if at any time it does not behave as you think it should, explain the reasons why you should not repeat your behavior. Similarly, if you have a partner, negotiate a better distribution of tasks, which brings us to the next point.

9. The responsibilities are also of the father

It is positive that both parents share the responsibilities of the child. Whenever possible, you must find the balance to avoid that you carry with all the responsibility to educate your son. You will feel less stressed and it will be better for your child if you both get along and share their upbringing.

10. Avoid arguing with your partner in front of your child

It has already been commented how important is the function of parents for the process of socialization of the child and how their behavior can be imitated by it: it is what is known as learning by modeling, vicarious or by imitation. If you argue with your partner in front of him, you will be sending a negative message , which will not be positive neither for its development nor for its learning.

11. Let him develop his autonomy

It can happen that many parents feel insecure when their children are looking to be independent. This happens at any age. Being an overprotective mother is not beneficial at all , because it prevents your child from developing fully and becoming empowered in front of life.

12. Do not let him grow up being a spoiled child

One of the biggest mistakes that mothers can make is think that everything they do in good faith is positive for their child . In the first point we talked about the importance of establishing limits, because raising spoiled children will have negative effects on their well-being. Therefore, you should avoid giving her gifts when she does not touch, reinforce her negative behaviors, give in to her tantrums or act yourself as a spoiled.

If you want to know more about this interesting topic, you can read this article: "The 8 basic tips for not spoiling your child"

13. Avoid being extremely disciplined

It is necessary that you not be excessively disciplined, and under no circumstances hit your son or daughter . Children who are continuously beaten, beaten or slapped are more likely to fight with other children in the future and develop a negative personality.

You can read more about this topic in our article: "The 8 reasons for not using physical punishment towards children"

14. Watch your parental style

As with the types of leadership, there are different types of parental style that are not characteristic of the parents but rather forms of relationship between the father and the child. These parental styles have their benefits and their negative consequences, and we can four differences: democratic, authoritarian, permissive and indifferent . The democratic style is the healthiest, and is based on respect and communication with children.

15. Play to be emotionally smart with him

Children can develop emotional intelligence from a young age, which has a positive impact on their psychological health in the future. Thanks to the game, children learn skills while having fun, something essential for their development in the first years of life. The game is not only beneficial psychomotor level, but also can help them better understand their emotions .

In this video you can know the importance of emotional intelligence for your child:

16. Teach him to solve problems

Parents not only act as models for their children when teaching them new behaviors, but they are a key piece in their growth because they help them develop their superior cognitive capacity and intelligence.

Social interaction, especially of parents, supports the development of children by establishing an influence through the Near Development Zone, a term coined by Lev Vygotsky . This zone is the distance between the level of maturity reached by the child through the natural process of development, and the level of potential development that can reach when it is guided by people who are more capable than him, for example, parents.

It deepens in this concept in this article: "The Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky"

17. Find time for yourself

During the first years of life, the dedication of a mother to her son or daughter occupies almost 24 hours a day, but being a mother does not mean that life and good times are over.Because It is necessary that you spend time for your wellbeing , what will be positive for the relationship with your little ones. For example, if you enjoyed stepping into the gym, make a hole in your life to continue with this activity.

18. Enjoy your child and the experience

Being a mother is one of the most rewarding experiences that a human being can feel, and nothing can be compared to the love that arises within a family. So enjoy this gift that gives you life but at times things can get complicated. Being a mother is incredible!


MOM | 10 Things I Wish I Knew Before Baby Tips (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
18 conseils de base pour être une bonne mère

18 conseils de base pour être une bonne mère

Janvier 5, 2023

Sans doute, Être une mère est l'une des expériences les plus enrichissantes et les plus merveilleuses qu’une femme peut vivre, et pour beaucoup c’est un moment décisif de sa vie. La figure maternelle est extrêmement importante pour la croissance d'un fils ou d'une fille et influence son développement dans différents domaines de sa vie: bien-être personnel, environnement scolaire, travail, relations interpersonnelles, etc.

Bien sûr, bien qu’il n’existe qu’une seule mère, elles peuvent parfois générer une gêne chez leurs enfants et devenir des mères toxiques, dont les actions empêchent le bon développement et le bien-être émotionnel de leur progéniture. Les compétences qu’une mère doit développer sont nombreuses, surtout si l’on considère que le lien qu'il établit avec ses fils et ses filles est spécial , grâce au contact physique et visuel établi entre les deux parties au cours des premiers mois de la vie.


  • Article connexe: "Le regard d'une mère et la fonction maternelle:" On me regarde, donc j'existe ""

Recommandations pour être une bonne mère

Si vous voulez savoir comment être une bonne mère , vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de conseils qui vous aideront à éviter les erreurs de reproduction.

1. Fixer des limites

Il est clair que nous voulons tous le meilleur pour nos enfants et, en outre, nous aimons les voir heureux et souriants. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas qu'ils devraient toujours s'en tirer. Marquer des limites et définir des normes peuvent être positifs pour vos petits et pour leur bien-être futur.

Bien entendu, les règles doivent être cohérentes, claires et simples, elles doivent être identiques pour tous et adaptées à l’âge de maturation de votre fils ou de votre fille. En fin de compte, nous sommes des êtres sociaux. Il est donc bon d’apprendre à limiter les pulsions des tout-petits et à mieux s’adapter à la société dans laquelle nous vivons.


2. Vous êtes votre modèle d'apprentissage

La famille est l’un des principaux agents de socialisation. Il est donc nécessaire que vous éduquiez bien votre enfant. Les humains ont différentes façons d’apprendre et l'un d'eux est à travers la modélisation , un concept introduit par Albert Bandura. Bien que parfois vous n'y croyiez pas, ce que vous faites et comment vous vous comportez devant vous est important, car votre fils vous surveille continuellement.

3. Écouter activement

Nous pensons souvent que nous écoutons lorsque nous écoutons vraiment. Pour vraiment écouter il faut pratiquer l'écoute active . Cela signifie que vous ne devez pas seulement faire attention à vos enfants qui essaient de comprendre ce qu'ils disent, mais aussi ce qu'ils ressentent. En d'autres termes, vous devez aborder à la fois la composante émotionnelle (sentiments, émotions, sensations, etc.) et la composante rationnelle (idées, croyances, connaissances, etc.).


Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la façon de le faire, cet article vous sera utile: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres".

4. Validez vos émotions

Écouter activement votre enfant est important, mais il est également important de valider vos émotions. La validation émotionnelle est un processus d'apprentissage, de compréhension et d'expression de l'acceptation de l'expérience émotionnelle d'une autre personne. En d’autres termes, si vous pensez que votre enfant a des difficultés, l’écoute active peut vous permettre de comprendre non seulement votre langage verbal, mais également le langage non verbal (gestes, regard, posture, etc.) lorsque votre cœur s’ouvre.

La validation émotionnelle vous fera démontrer que vous comprenez (même si vous n’êtes pas toujours d’accord) et vous serez donc plus à l’aise pour dire ce que vous ressentez. Nous pouvons tous ressentir des émotions agréables et des émotions douloureuses, et votre fils ou votre fille ne fait pas exception.

5. Qu'il soit exprimé

La validation émotionnelle et l'acceptation des émotions sont essentielles au bien-être futur de votre enfant. Cela permet à votre enfant d'apprendre à exprimer ses émotions et ses sentiments au lieu de les minimiser ou de les rejeter. Les émotions ne disparaissent pas si on les réprime , mais au contraire, vous pouvez arriver à vous exprimer sans contrôle. Le contrôle émotionnel correct est bénéfique pour le bien-être de votre enfant et ses relations interpersonnelles.

6. encourage la communication

Les points ci-dessus sont étroitement liés à une communication efficace, qui aide votre enfant à compter sur vous pour ses besoins, et augmenter le lien émotionnel entre vous . C'est pourquoi il est important que vous communiquiez quotidiennement avec votre enfant et de manière ouverte. Cela vous permettra de le connaître et il comprendra qu'il peut vous faire confiance lorsque vous avez besoin de lui, même en ce qui concerne ses inquiétudes et ses peurs.

7. Adaptez-vous à votre enfant

Parfois, il peut arriver que nous ne connaissions pas l'âge de notre fils, car il peut se comporter mal et nous rendre fous à un moment donné. En tant qu'adulte, vous devez savoir que le niveau de raisonnement de votre enfant suit un processus de développement. Vous devez donc vous adapter à ses besoins.

Maintenant, il ne s'agit pas de le traiter comme une personne mature, alors qu'il ne l'est pas encore. Par exemple, à trois ans, vous aurez peut-être besoin de dire «non» à tout, car c'est votre moyen d'obtenir votre indépendance. Ne soyez pas surpris par certaines attitudes de votre petit , il n’est pas positif que vous perdiez votre calme. N'oubliez pas que l'important est de vous éduquer correctement et non de vous mettre en colère de manière incontrôlée.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "La théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg"

8. Soyez patient

Être mère peut parfois être compliqué , et il peut sembler que la situation est excellente pour vous. Allez au travail, rentrez chez vous et faites le ménage puis éduquez votre enfant ... occupez-vous plusieurs heures par jour. Mais restez calme et essayez d'être patient. Ne le payez pas avec vos enfants, et si à tout moment, il ne se comporte pas comme vous le pensez bien, expliquez les raisons pour lesquelles vous ne devez pas répéter votre comportement. De même, si vous avez un partenaire, négociez une meilleure répartition des tâches, ce qui nous amène au point suivant.

9. Les responsabilités sont aussi du père

Il est positif que les deux parents partagent les responsabilités de l'enfant. Lorsque cela est possible, vous devez trouver l'équilibre pour éviter que vous ne portiez toute la responsabilité pour éduquer votre fils. Vous vous sentirez moins stressé et ce sera mieux pour votre enfant si vous vous entendez bien et partagez son éducation.

10. Évitez de vous disputer avec votre partenaire devant votre enfant

Nous avons déjà souligné l’importance de la fonction des parents dans le processus de socialisation de l’enfant et de la manière dont son comportement peut être imité: c’est ce que l’on appelle apprentissage par modélisation, par procuration ou par imitation. Si vous vous disputez avec votre partenaire devant lui, vous enverrez un message négatif , ce qui ne sera positif ni pour son développement ni pour son apprentissage.

11. Qu'il développe son autonomie

Il peut arriver que de nombreux parents ne se sentent pas en sécurité lorsque leurs enfants cherchent à devenir indépendants. Cela se produit à tout âge. Être une mère surprotectrice n'est pas bénéfique du tout , car cela empêche votre enfant de se développer pleinement et de devenir autonome face à la vie.

12. Ne le laissez pas devenir un enfant gâté

Une des plus grandes erreurs que les mères peuvent commettre est pense que tout ce qu'ils font de bonne foi est positif pour leur enfant . Dans le premier point, nous avons parlé de l'importance d'établir des limites, car élever des enfants gâtés aura des effets négatifs sur leur bien-être. Par conséquent, vous devriez éviter de lui donner des cadeaux quand elle ne touche pas, ne renforce pas ses comportements négatifs, ne cédez pas à ses crises de colère ou ne faites pas comme si vous étiez gâtée.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce sujet intéressant, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Les 8 conseils de base pour ne pas gâcher votre enfant"

13. Évitez d'être extrêmement discipliné

Il est nécessaire que vous ne soyez pas excessivement discipliné, et en aucun cas frapper votre fils ou votre fille . Les enfants qui sont continuellement battus, battus ou frappés sont plus susceptibles de se battre avec d'autres enfants à l'avenir et de développer une personnalité négative.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce sujet dans notre article: "Les 8 raisons de ne pas utiliser de châtiment corporel envers des enfants"

14. Surveillez votre style parental

Comme pour les types de leadership, il existe différents types de style parental qui ne sont pas caractéristiques des parents, mais plutôt des formes de relation entre le père et l'enfant. Ces styles parentaux ont leurs avantages et leurs conséquences négatives, et on peut distinguer quatre différences: démocratique, autoritaire, permissif et indifférent . Le style démocratique est le plus sain et repose sur le respect et la communication avec les enfants.

15. Jouer pour être émotionnellement intelligent avec lui

Les enfants peuvent développer une intelligence émotionnelle dès leur plus jeune âge, ce qui a un impact positif sur leur santé psychologique à l'avenir. Grâce au jeu, les enfants acquièrent des compétences tout en s'amusant, ce qui est essentiel pour leur développement dès les premières années de la vie. Le jeu est non seulement bénéfique au niveau psychomoteur, mais aussi peut les aider à mieux comprendre leurs émotions .

Dans cette vidéo, vous pouvez connaître l’importance de l’intelligence émotionnelle pour votre enfant:

16. Apprenez-lui à résoudre des problèmes

Les parents non seulement servent de modèles à leurs enfants lorsqu'ils leur enseignent de nouveaux comportements, mais ils jouent également un rôle clé dans leur croissance, car ils les aident à développer leur capacité cognitive et leur intelligence supérieures.

Les interactions sociales, en particulier entre les parents, favorisent le développement des enfants en renforçant leur influence par le biais de la zone de développement à proximité, un terme inventé par Lev Vygotsky . Cette zone est la distance entre le niveau de maturité atteint par l'enfant au cours du processus naturel de développement et le niveau de développement potentiel que peut atteindre lorsqu'il est guidé par des personnes plus capables que lui, par exemple les parents.

Il approfondit ce concept dans cet article: "La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky"

17. Trouvez du temps pour vous

Pendant les premières années de la vie, le dévouement d’une mère à son fils ou à sa fille occupe près de 24 heures par jour, mais être une mère ne signifie pas que la vie et les bons moments sont révolus.Pour cela Il faut que vous passiez du temps pour votre bien-être , ce qui sera positif pour la relation avec vos petits. Par exemple, si vous avez aimé entrer dans le gymnase, faites un trou dans votre vie pour continuer avec cette activité.

18. Profitez de votre enfant et de l'expérience

Être une mère est l'une des expériences les plus enrichissantes qu'un être humain puisse ressentir, et rien ne peut être comparé à l'amour qui naît au sein d'une famille. Alors profitez de ce cadeau qui vous donne la vie, mais parfois les choses peuvent devenir compliquées. Être mère, c'est incroyable!


MES CONSEILS POUR NE PLUS ETRE UN BAMBI SUR FORTNITE ! (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes