yes, therapy helps!
21 tips to be a good father and educate well

21 tips to be a good father and educate well

June 24, 2021

Raising a child is never easy. Being a father means taking into account a large number of aspects that can affect how our progeny can develop.

Although most parents do the best they can and in most cases they end up doing well, it is common to find people with doubts about what they should do to exercise their role in the best possible way.

Educate well: a challenge for parents in distress

In other words, it is not uncommon to ask what to do to be a good father (or mother). Therefore, in this article you can find a series of tips to be a good father and provide a stimulating environment and favor a correct physical and mental development.


  • Related article: "Child attachment: definition, functions and types"

1. Communicate and listen to your children

Children need to show interest in them, they need to feel important to their loved ones . Listening to what they have to say, their experiences and concerns, implies that we care and are interested in them.

Also, the adult must also share their thoughts and emotions in a way that expresses confidence and allows a close bond. It is very important to talk with the children and not the children.

2. Share and spend time with them

The presence or absence of a concrete parent figure is a very influential factor in the development of a boy or girl .


Even if, due to work aspects, continuous contact is not possible, the time spent with the children must be enriching and active so that it is lived as something motivating and exciting. Talk, read, play, teach them things or take trips with them.

3. Give example

It is easy to tell someone what to do, but what you end up learning is what we see others do. Our children will imitate the behavior they observe at home. We must make our speech and our actions go hand in hand so that the child learns based on coherence.

Also, activities such as carrying out household chores, reading or doing sports are easily carried out if the child observes that their reference figures usually carry them out.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Vicar learning: watching others to educate us"

4. Show affection

It has been shown that the fact that both parents show affection with their children improves the level of happiness and self-esteem of the latter. Express your love and affection for your children Directly is essential. It causes children to feel accepted and loved.


It is about making them see that they are loved unconditionally. They also learn to show affection towards others and that this expression is not inappropriate or shameful.

5. Set limits

It is essential that the child has certain limits (if flexible), facing know what to do and how far they can go . Being excessively permissive will make you not have a pattern by which to guide your behavior.

  • Related article: "Positive discipline: educating from mutual respect"

6. Do not compare him with others

Making comparisons with other people may make the child think that he is not good enough or that he is appreciated or must appreciate himself based on what others have or do. Further, this harms the father-daughter relationship , as well as it can harm the possible relationship of the child with the people with whom it is compared.

7. Praise your achievements

Very often people emphasize the bad things that others do, while when they do something right we usually consider that what was done was done and no mention is made of it.

It is important for a child that when he does something well or fulfills a goal or achievement be praised and celebrated on the part of the parents. In this way the child sees its good behavior reinforced. This is one of the tips to be a good parent more useful in order to enhance the learning of children.

8. Do not overprotect him: give him space

A typical error of many parents is the idea of ​​continuously protecting their child, trying to limit possible situations that may harm them. But overprotection does not let the individual learn and grow and makes it difficult for them to make their own decisions. Let him fall and make his own mistakes.

  • Related article: "Overprotected children: 6 educational errors that damage them"

9. Avoid rigidity

An overly rigid educational style can generate a pattern of fearful and insecure thinking and behavior, exaggerated reactivity or inflexible and limited behavior.

There needs to be some flexibility that makes see that things can change , that there are different points of view. They have to explain why the decisions. It is about providing limits and a certain order but without becoming a tyrant.

10Be interested in your vision of the world

They may not have the level of understanding of an adult's situation, but children also generate their own opinions about the world. Ask for your opinion It allows us to get to know our son better and can serve to clear up doubts and fears in the minor, as well as make him see that his opinion is important and valid.

11. No to over-demand

It is positive to believe in the possibilities of our children and motivate them to act and maximize their potential. However, we must try not to sue them too much and too quickly. Each person advances in life at the speed they can, and if it is demanded in excess it can end up blocking and / or provoking frustration and feeling that nothing he achieves is enough .

12. Do not shout at them

Sometimes the behavior of children can have negative effects and provoke some level of anger . However, being misbehaved is no reason to shout at them. The screams suppose a humiliating and painful act for them and they do not fix the situation. It is preferable to calmly explain to them why their actions are not correct and what results they have, including possible punishments.

13. Answer your doubts

Childhood and adolescence are times in which the youngest begin to observe different aspects of reality, discovering a large amount of information. The world is complex and what we observe can generate a lot of doubts. Answering them supposes to increase the information of the progeny with respect to the different aspects of the reality, at the same time as it allows a greater connection with them.

14. Do not suppress your emotions or yours

Suppressing emotions, whether the child's or your own, can cause the child to see them as a weakness or something aversive that should be hidden. It is highly recommended help their expression both directly and indirectly (through drawings or games).

For example, if a relative dies it is not bad to cry in front of the minor , since this teaches you that it is not bad to express sadness. This is necessary both for positive emotions such as joy or love and for negative emotions.

15. Monitor your expectations

It is logical that when a child is born their parents think about what it will be like to grow up and how they would like life to live. However, we must try not to make ourselves excessively rigid expectations.

You and your children are not the same person. We do not have to try to live the life that we would have lived, but we must support them to live the life they want to live .

16. Be consistent

Ambivalence in the treatment of minors , in the application of norms or the fact of not having established limits in a clear way, supposes a high level of confusion for the developing child.

If you punish him for something but then buy him a toy to make him happy you provoke a contradictory message in which he will not know if something is right or wrong. The same happens if the rules change according to those who obey them. It is necessary to have coherence when acting.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Chip economy: how do you use it to motivate changes?"

17. Accept your mistakes and accept yours

We may be tempted to be heroes for our children , someone who never makes a mistake and does everything right. However, everyone makes mistakes. To recognize them supposes that the child is able to see the error not as something shameful but something from which it can be improved.

Explain the error and why this is an opportunity for learning and Acquisition of values ​​such as honesty . In the same way it is necessary to accept that children make mistakes and not criticize or embarrass them for it, but understand and support them.

18. Generates a respectful family climate

It is very important for the correct development to have an adequate family atmosphere that generates positive stimulation and allows the acquisition of trust and of different values. This implies that we not only have to focus on the child as being, but also also in the environment that we are offering .

The bonding between the parents, their social life and participation in the community are aspects that will somehow end up being recorded in the minor's mind.

19. Educate her

It may seem obvious, but it is important to participate in education of the children. Showing them a way of seeing the world, teaching them how to act and how society works and the environment that surrounds them, establishing limits and transmitting norms and values ​​such as respect, tolerance and coexistence are elements of great importance in the face of efficient and adaptive of the minor.

20. Do not get obsessed with being a perfect father

Although these councils are thought to reflect and visualize different important aspects in the education of a boy or girl, we do not have to obsess ourselves with the idea of ​​doing everything well. There will be times when you feel bad, you lose patience, you do not realize that something is happening to your child, that you can not be present or that for some reason you make different mistakes .

Thinking that we must always be perfect is harmful because it loses spontaneity and gives the appearance of being forced, which reduces credibility.In addition, the idea is conveyed to the child that we should always be exquisite in our dealings with others, which can cause him to be excessively demanding in his relationships both on his part to others and vice versa.

21. Being a father is forever

Being a father is something for life . It is not something we can leave when we want or something that has an expiration date when, when the child reaches the age of majority. Maybe our adult children do not depend on us in the same way as in their childhood, but we should always be available to them.


Why Do We Drink Milk in School? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
21 conseils pour être un bon père et bien éduquer

21 conseils pour être un bon père et bien éduquer

Septembre 9, 2022

Élever un enfant n'est jamais facile. Être père signifie prendre en compte un grand nombre d'aspects qui peuvent affecter le développement de notre progéniture.

Bien que la plupart des parents fassent de leur mieux et dans la plupart des cas, ils finissent bien, il est fréquent de trouver des personnes qui doutent de ce qu’elles devraient faire pour exercer leur rôle de la meilleure façon possible.

Bien éduquer: un défi pour les parents en détresse

En d’autres termes, il n’est pas rare de demander ce qu’il faut faire pour être un bon père (ou une bonne mère). Par conséquent, dans cet article, vous pouvez trouver une série de conseils pour être un bon père et fournir un environnement stimulant et favoriser un développement physique et mental correct.


  • Article connexe: "Pièce jointe enfant: définition, fonctions et types"

1. Communiquez et écoutez vos enfants

Les enfants doivent s'intéresser à eux, ils ont besoin de se sentir importants pour leurs proches . Écouter ce qu’ils ont à dire, leurs expériences et leurs préoccupations implique que nous nous en soucions et que nous nous intéressions à eux.

En outre, l'adulte doit également partager ses pensées et ses émotions d'une manière qui exprime sa confiance en soi et permet un lien étroit. Il est très important de parler avec les enfants et non les enfants.

2. Partager et passer du temps avec eux

La présence ou l’absence d’une figure parent concrète est un facteur très influent dans le développement d'un garçon ou d'une fille .


Même si, pour des raisons professionnelles, le contact permanent n'est pas possible, le temps passé avec les enfants doit être enrichissant et actif pour qu'il soit vécu de manière motivante et excitante. Parler, lire, jouer, leur apprendre des choses ou faire des voyages avec eux.

3. Donnez un exemple

Il est facile de dire à quelqu'un quoi faire, mais ce que vous finissez par apprendre, c'est ce que nous voyons les autres faire. Nos enfants vont imiter le comportement qu'ils observent à la maison. Nous devons faire en sorte que notre discours et nos actions aillent de pair pour que l'enfant apprenne sur la base de la cohérence.

En outre, des activités telles que l'exécution de tâches ménagères, la lecture ou la pratique de sports sont faciles à réaliser si l'enfant constate que ses chiffres de référence les réalisent généralement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Vicar en apprentissage: regarder les autres pour nous éduquer"

4. Montrer de l'affection

Il a été démontré que le fait que les deux parents manifestent de l'affection envers leurs enfants améliore le niveau de bonheur et d'estime de soi de ces derniers. Exprimez votre amour et votre affection pour vos enfants Directement est essentiel. Cela amène les enfants à se sentir acceptés et aimés.


Il s'agit de leur faire voir qu'ils sont aimés inconditionnellement. Ils apprennent aussi à montrer de l'affection envers les autres et que cette expression n'est ni inappropriée ni honteuse.

5. Fixer des limites

Il est essentiel que l’enfant ait certaines limites (s’il est flexible), face à savoir quoi faire et jusqu'où ils peuvent aller . Si vous êtes excessivement permissif, vous ne disposerez pas d'un modèle pour guider votre comportement.

  • Article connexe: "Discipline positive: éduquer au respect mutuel"

6. Ne le comparez pas avec d'autres

Faire des comparaisons avec d’autres personnes peut amener l’enfant à penser qu’il n’est pas assez bon, qu’il est apprécié ou qu’il doit s’apprécier lui-même en fonction de ce que les autres ont ou font. En outre, cela nuit à la relation père-fille , ainsi que cela peut nuire à la relation possible de l'enfant avec les personnes avec qui il est comparé.

7. Louez vos réalisations

Très souvent, les gens insistent sur les mauvaises choses que font les autres, tandis que quand ils font quelque chose de juste, nous considérons généralement que ce qui a été fait a été fait et qu’il n’en est pas fait mention.

Il est important pour un enfant que lorsqu'il fait quelque chose de bien ou atteigne un objectif ou une réalisation. être loué et célébré de la part des parents. De cette façon, l'enfant voit son comportement bien renforcé. C’est l’un des conseils pour être un bon parent plus utile pour améliorer l’apprentissage des enfants.

8. Ne pas surprotéger: donnez-lui de l'espace

Une erreur typique de nombreux parents est l’idée de protéger en permanence leur enfant, en essayant de limiter les situations qui pourraient lui être préjudiciables. Mais la surprotection ne permet pas à l’individu d’apprendre et de grandir et les empêche de prendre leurs propres décisions. Laissez-le tomber et faire ses propres erreurs.

  • Article connexe: "Enfants surprotégés: 6 erreurs éducatives qui leur nuisent"

9. éviter la rigidité

Un style éducatif trop rigide peut générer un schéma de pensées et de comportements craintifs et peu sûrs, une réactivité exagérée ou des comportements rigides et limités.

Il doit y avoir une certaine flexibilité cela fait voir que les choses peuvent changer , qu'il existe différents points de vue. Ils doivent expliquer pourquoi les décisions. Il s'agit de fournir des limites et un certain ordre mais sans devenir un tyran.

10Être intéressé par votre vision du monde

Ils n'ont peut-être pas le niveau de compréhension de la situation d'un adulte, mais les enfants génèrent également leurs propres opinions sur le monde. Demandez votre avis Cela nous permet de mieux connaître notre fils et peut dissiper les doutes et les peurs du mineur et lui faire voir que son opinion est importante et valable.

11. Non à la demande excessive

Il est positif de croire dans les possibilités de nos enfants et de les motiver à agir et à maximiser leur potentiel. Cependant, nous devons essayer de ne pas les poursuivre en justice trop et trop rapidement. Chaque personne avance dans la vie à la vitesse qu’elle peut et, si elle est trop sollicitée, elle finit par bloquer et / ou provoquer de la frustration et sentant que rien ne lui suffit .

12. Ne leur crie pas dessus

Parfois, le comportement des enfants peut avoir des effets négatifs et provoquer un certain niveau de colère . Cependant, être mal conduit n'est pas une raison pour leur crier dessus. Les cris supposent un acte humiliant et douloureux pour eux et ils ne règlent pas la situation. Il est préférable de leur expliquer calmement pourquoi leurs actions ne sont pas correctes et quels en sont les résultats, y compris les éventuelles sanctions.

13. Répondez à vos doutes

L’enfance et l’adolescence sont des moments où les plus jeunes commencent à observer différents aspects de la réalité et découvrent une grande quantité d’informations. Le monde est complexe et ce que nous observons peut générer beaucoup de doutes. Leur réponse suppose d’accroître l’information de la progéniture vis-à-vis des différents aspects de la réalité, tout en permettant une plus grande connexion avec eux.

14. Ne supprimez pas vos émotions ou les vôtres

La suppression des émotions, qu’elles soient l’enfant ou les vôtres, peut amener l’enfant à les voir comme une faiblesse ou une chose aversive à cacher. Il est fortement recommandé aider leur expression à la fois directement et indirectement (par des dessins ou des jeux).

Par exemple, si un parent meurt, il n'est pas mauvais de pleurer devant le mineur , puisque cela vous apprend qu’il n’est pas mauvais d’exprimer sa tristesse. Cela est nécessaire à la fois pour les émotions positives telles que la joie ou l'amour et pour les émotions négatives.

15. Surveillez vos attentes

Il est logique qu’à la naissance de leurs enfants, leurs parents pensent à ce que sera leur croissance et à la façon dont ils aimeraient vivre. Cependant, nous devons essayer de ne pas nous faire des attentes excessivement rigides.

Vous et vos enfants n'êtes pas la même personne. Nous ne devons pas essayer de vivre la vie que nous aurions vécue, mais nous devons aidez-les à vivre la vie qu'ils veulent vivre .

16. Soyez cohérent

Ambivalence dans le traitement des mineurs , dans l’application de normes ou le fait de ne pas avoir clairement défini les limites, suppose un haut niveau de confusion pour l’enfant en développement.

Si vous le punissez pour quelque chose mais que vous lui achetez un jouet pour le rendre heureux, vous provoquez un message contradictoire dans lequel il ne saura pas si quelque chose est juste ou faux. Il en va de même si les règles changent en fonction de ceux qui leur obéissent. Il est nécessaire d'avoir de la cohérence quand on agit.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "L'économie de la puce: comment l'utilisez-vous pour motiver les changements?"

17. Acceptez vos erreurs et acceptez les vôtres

Nous pouvons être tentés d'être des héros pour nos enfants , quelqu'un qui ne fait jamais d'erreur et fait tout bien. Cependant, tout le monde fait des erreurs. Les reconnaître suppose que l’enfant soit capable de percevoir l’erreur non pas comme quelque chose de honteux, mais comme un moyen de l’améliorer.

Expliquez l'erreur et pourquoi c'est une opportunité d'apprentissage et Acquisition de valeurs telles que l'honnêteté . De la même manière, il faut accepter que les enfants fassent des erreurs et ne pas les critiquer ni les embarrasser, mais les comprendre et les soutenir.

18. Génère un climat familial respectueux

Il est très important, pour que le développement soit correct, de créer une atmosphère familiale adéquate, qui génère une stimulation positive et permette l’instauration de la confiance et de valeurs différentes. Cela implique que nous devons non seulement nous concentrer sur l'enfant en tant qu'être, mais aussi aussi dans l'environnement que nous proposons .

Les liens qui unissent les parents, leur vie sociale et leur participation à la communauté sont des aspects qui finiront par être enregistrés dans l'esprit du mineur.

19. Éduquez-la

Cela peut sembler évident, mais il est important de participer à l'éducation des enfants. Leur montrer une façon de voir le monde, leur apprendre à agir, au fonctionnement de la société et à l'environnement qui les entoure, à établir des limites et à transmettre des normes et des valeurs telles que le respect, la tolérance et la coexistence sont des éléments de grande importance face à l'efficacité adaptatif du mineur.

20. Ne soyez pas obsédé par être un père parfait

Bien que ces conseils soient censés refléter et visualiser différents aspects importants de l’éducation d’un garçon ou d’une fille, nous n’avons pas à nous obséder de l’idée de tout bien faire. Il y aura des moments où vous vous sentirez mal, vous perdrez patience, vous ne réaliserez pas que quelque chose arrive à votre enfant, que vous ne pouvez pas être présent ou que, pour une raison quelconque, vous faites des erreurs différentes .

Penser qu'il faut toujours être parfait est préjudiciable car cela perd de la spontanéité et donne l'impression d'être forcé, ce qui réduit la crédibilité.En outre, l’idée est transmise à l’enfant que nous devrions toujours être exquis dans nos relations avec les autres, ce qui peut le rendre excessivement exigeant dans ses relations avec lui et réciproquement.

21. Être père, c'est pour toujours

Être père, c'est quelque chose pour la vie . Ce n'est pas quelque chose que nous pouvons laisser quand nous voulons ou quelque chose qui a une date d'expiration quand, quand l'enfant atteint l'âge de la majorité. Peut-être que nos enfants adultes ne dépendent pas de nous de la même manière que dans leur enfance, mais nous devrions toujours leur être disponibles.


4 étapes de L'éducation Des Enfants Selon la Sagesse Tibétaine (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes