yes, therapy helps!
22 celebrities who committed suicide after suffering severe depression

22 celebrities who committed suicide after suffering severe depression

July 12, 2024

Having fame and money can be one of the great dreams of some people, thinking that they will be happier. However, there are many cases of celebrities who end their lives tragically.

Some of these famous celebrities they end up in the world of drugs, others with serious psychological disorders and others forcing their own death, unable to continue supporting the suffering they hide inside them.

In fact, the number of famous people who end up suffering great discomfort despite their wealth is very high. The idea that money and fame goes hand in hand with happiness is compromised by briefly reviewing the number of celebrities who have suffered depression or who have even committed suicide . It seems that the economic and mediate power is capable of creating new serious problems in the lives of people


  • Related article: "Suicidal thoughts: causes, symptoms and therapy"

Celebrities who have committed suicide because of depression

In the following lines you will find a list of celebrities that, despite their fame and success, they decided to take their own lives and leave behind the depression they suffered .

1. Robin Williams

Robin Williams was a famous American actor, winner of an Oscar in 1998 for his memorable performance in the movie Good Will Hunting. He was also known for his participation in the films Mrs. Doubtfire, Jumanji and The Club of the Dead Poets, among others. Despite his great sense of humor that showed publicly, the comedian suffered a serious depression. In August 2014 he decided to take his own life by suffocating at home.


2. Kurt Cobain

Kurt Cobain will always be remembered as one of the great myths of music and a forerunner of the grunge movement. The singer was found at his home in Seattle , and the authorities affirmed that the cause of his death was suicide by a shot in the head with a shotgun.

3. Jonathan Brandis

He was an actor known for his participation in some American television series and for his role in Endless History 2. At 27 years of age he decided to hang himself as a result of the serious depression he suffered. Brandis was found in the hallway of his apartment in Los Angeles, and although he was still alive at that moment, he died in the hospital the next day, due to the injuries suffered.

4. Michael Hutchence

This Australian singer leader of the musical band INXS , hanged himself with a leather belt on the fifth floor of the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Sydney (Australia) in 1997. The reason for this action was a deep depression. Another great musician who chose suicide.


5. Ernest Hemingway

This great American writer and journalist committed suicide by shooting himself in the head with his favorite shotgun. Although his wife, Mary, initially claimed that the shot was accidental, it happened while he was cleaning his gun. In an interview five years later, she admitted that she had committed suicide.

6. Vincent Van Gogh

The death of Van Gogh is not without mystery either. Apparently, he decided to walk away in a field and shot himself in the chest to commit suicide. Despite his injury he returned to the city, where he died two days later.

7. Mindy McCready

McCready was a country star who decided to take his own life in February 2013 at his home in Heber Springs (Arkansas) with a shot in the head at 37 years old. It was not the first time I tried and, in fact, she was admitted to a psychiatric hospital in 2005 and in 2008. She committed suicide on the porch of her home, the same place where her ex-boyfriend and father of her youngest son had died.

8. Pedro Armendáriz

This well-known actor of the "Golden Age" of Mexican cinema decided to commit suicide to end the suffering of his depression, which arose as a result of cancer that had been detected. It shot in the heart.

9. Sawyer Sweeten

One of the strangest cases of suicide is that of the young American actor, Sawyer Sweeten, mainly known for the role of Geoffrey Barone in Everybody Loves Raymond , who decided to shoot himself in the head with only 19 years old.

10. Ian Curtis

Ian Kevin Curtis was a British songwriter, composer and leader of the Joy Division group . He decided to commit suicide at the age of 23 years. He hanged himself in his own apartment.

11. Marilyn Monroe

Marylin Monroe was one of the best-known actresses in history. His death is still wrapped in a great mystery, but most likely committed suicide with an overdose of barbiturates.

12. Robert Enke

Rober Enke was goalkeeper of the F.C. Barcelona and other teams such as Borussia Mönchengladbach. His depressive disorder accompanied him for much of his life , especially after the death of his daughter due to congenital heart failure. He committed suicide by throwing himself on the tracks of a train and being run over by it.

13. Alexander McQueen

The famous British fashion designer Alexander McQueen committed suicide in February 2010, only nine days after his mother died of cancer at the age of 75 years. McQueen committed the suicidal act by consuming a fatal drug cocktail: cocaine, sleeping pills and tranquilizers. He died at the age of 40 .

14. Emilio Salgari

The famous Italian writer suffered from depression, which led him to take his own life after learning that his wife suffered from dementia. The belly was opened.

15. Lucy Gordon

Lucy Gordon was a British actress and model who participated in movies like Serendipity or Spiderman 3 . She was found dead in her apartment after hanging at the age of 28. The actress left two suicide notes, in which she explained the reasons for her decision.

16. Charles Boyer

Charles Boyer was one of the most famous actors of French origin. He decided to commit suicide after the death of his wife because of cancer. The French did not overcome this loss and neither did the couple's son, who had committed suicide a few years before.

17. Luis Ocaña

Jesús Luis Ocaña Pernía was one of the most successful Spanish cyclists, winner of a Tour de France and other titles . The financial problems and the illness he suffered, hepatitis C, led him to force his death.

18. Janis Joplin

The American singer of rock and roll and blues, Janis Joplin, also passed away due to her depression. It was in 1970, after ingesting large amounts of drugs.

19. Ruslana Korshunova

This young model was launched from the fifth floor of a building on Wall Street. According to the witnesses, it was she who voluntarily threw herself into the void. In addition, the police found no signs of violence.

20. Sylvia Plath

This great figure of poetry committed a tragic suicide, at least that is what concludes the investigation, because there are still some doubts and speculations according to which his death was against his will. Largely because of his way of dying, because he stuck his head in a gas oven.

21. Virginia Woolf

This icon of literature, known for its feminist ideas, suffered from bipolar disorder. He decided to end his life in 1941, when he launched himself into the river Ouse (in Rodmell). To avoid going afloat, he filled his pockets with stones.

22. Lee Thompson Young

The famous Disney actor decided to take his own life in August 2013 when he shot himself. The investigation pointed out that it was a suicide; however, no note of farewell was found.


25 Rock & Pop Stars who Committed Suicide (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
22 célébrités qui se sont suicidées après une grave dépression

22 célébrités qui se sont suicidées après une grave dépression

Juillet 30, 2021

Avoir la gloire et l'argent peut être l'un des grands rêves de certaines personnes, en pensant qu'elles seront plus heureuses. Cependant, il existe de nombreux cas de célébrités qui mettent fin à leurs jours tragiquement.

Certaines de ces célébrités ils finissent dans le monde de la drogue, d'autres avec de graves troubles psychologiques et d'autres forçant leur propre mort, incapables de continuer à supporter la souffrance qu'ils cachent en eux.

En fait, le nombre de personnages célèbres qui finissent par souffrir d'un grand malaise malgré leur richesse est très élevé. L’idée que l’argent et la célébrité vont de pair avec le bonheur est compromise en examinant brièvement le nombre de célébrités qui ont souffert de dépression ou qui se sont même suicidées . Il semble que le pouvoir économique et médiatique soit capable de créer de nouveaux problèmes graves dans la vie des gens


  • Article connexe: "Pensées suicidaires: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Célébrités qui se sont suicidées à cause de la dépression

Dans les lignes suivantes, vous trouverez une liste de célébrités qui, malgré leur renommée et leur succès, ils ont décidé de se suicider et de laisser derrière eux la dépression qu'ils ont subie .

1. Robin Williams

Robin Williams était un acteur américain célèbre, gagnant d'un Oscar en 1998 pour sa performance mémorable dans le film Good Will Hunting. Il était également connu pour sa participation aux films Mme Doubtfire, Jumanji et Le Club des Poètes Morts, entre autres. En dépit de son grand sens de l'humour qui s'est révélé publiquement, le comédien a subi une grave dépression. En août 2014, il a décidé de se suicider en suffoquant chez lui.


2. Kurt Cobain

On se souviendra toujours de Kurt Cobain comme l’un des grands mythes de la musique et un précurseur du mouvement grunge. Le chanteur a été retrouvé chez lui à Seattle et les autorités ont affirmé que son décès était dû à un suicide par balle à la tête.

3. Jonathan Brandis

Il était un acteur connu pour sa participation à certaines séries télévisées américaines et pour son rôle dans Endless History 2. À 27 ans, il décida de se pendre à la suite de la grave dépression dont il souffrait. Brandis a été retrouvé dans le couloir de son appartement à Los Angeles et, bien qu'il soit encore en vie à ce moment-là, il est décédé à l'hôpital le lendemain, blessé.

4. Michael Hutchence

Ce chanteur australien leader du groupe de musique INXS , s'est pendu avec une ceinture en cuir au cinquième étage de l'hôtel Ritz Carlton à Sydney (Australie) en 1997. La raison de cette action était une profonde dépression. Un autre grand musicien qui a choisi le suicide.


5. Ernest Hemingway

Ce grand écrivain et journaliste américain s'est suicidé en se tirant une balle dans la tête avec son fusil de chasse préféré. Bien que sa femme, Mary, ait initialement prétendu que le coup de feu était accidentel, cela s’est passé alors qu’il nettoyait son arme. Dans une interview cinq ans plus tard, elle a admis qu'elle s'était suicidée.

6. Vincent Van Gogh

La mort de Van Gogh n’est pas sans mystère non plus. Il parait, il a décidé de s'en aller dans un champ et s'est tiré une balle dans la poitrine se suicider. Malgré sa blessure, il est rentré en ville où il est décédé deux jours plus tard.

7. Mindy McCready

McCready était une star de la campagne qui a décidé de se suicider en février 2013 chez lui à Heber Springs (Arkansas) avec un coup dans la tête à 37 ans. Ce n'était pas la première fois que j'essayais En fait, elle a été admise dans un hôpital psychiatrique en 2005 et en 2008. Elle s'est suicidée sous le porche de sa maison, au même endroit où son ex-petit ami et le père de son plus jeune fils étaient décédés.

8. Pedro Armendáriz

Cet acteur bien connu de "l'âge d'or" du cinéma mexicain a décidé de se suicider pour mettre fin aux souffrances de sa dépression, résultant d'un cancer détecté. Il a tiré dans le coeur.

9. Sawyer Sweeten

L’un des cas de suicide les plus étranges est celui du jeune acteur américain Sawyer Sweeten, principalement connu pour le rôle de Geoffrey Barone dans Everybody Loves Raymond , qui a décidé de se tirer une balle dans la tête avec seulement 19 ans.

10. Ian Curtis

Ian Kevin Curtis était un compositeur et compositeur britannique. chef du groupe Joy Division . Il a décidé de se suicider à l'âge de 23 ans. Il s'est pendu dans son propre appartement.

11. Marilyn Monroe

Marylin Monroe était l'une des actrices les plus connues de l'histoire. Sa mort est toujours entourée d'un grand mystère, mais elle s'est probablement suicidée avec une overdose de barbituriques.

12. Robert Enke

Rober Enke était le gardien de but de la F.C. Barcelone et d'autres équipes telles que Borussia Mönchengladbach. Son trouble dépressif l'a accompagné pendant une grande partie de sa vie , en particulier après le décès de sa fille en raison d’une insuffisance cardiaque congénitale. Il s'est suicidé en se jetant sur les rails d'un train et en se faisant écraser par celui-ci.

13. Alexander McQueen

Le célèbre couturier britannique Alexander McQueen s'est suicidé en février 2010, neuf jours seulement après le décès de sa mère d'un cancer à l'âge de 75 ans. McQueen a commis l'acte suicidaire en consommant un cocktail de drogues mortel: cocaïne, somnifères et tranquillisants. Il est mort à l'âge de 40 ans .

14. Emilio Salgari

Le célèbre écrivain italien a souffert de dépression, ce qui l'a amené à se suicider après avoir appris que sa femme était atteinte de démence. Le ventre était ouvert.

15. Lucy Gordon

Lucy Gordon était une actrice et mannequin britannique qui participé à des films comme Serendipity ou Spiderman 3 . Elle a été retrouvée morte dans son appartement après avoir été pendue à 28 ans. L'actrice a laissé deux notes de suicide dans lesquelles elle a expliqué les raisons de sa décision.

16. Charles Boyer

Charles Boyer était l'un des acteurs les plus célèbres d'origine française. Il a décidé de se suicider après le décès de sa femme à cause d'un cancer. Les Français n'ont pas surmonté cette perte et le fils du couple non plus, qui s'était suicidé quelques années auparavant.

17. Luis Ocaña

Jesús Luis Ocaña Pernía a été l’un des cyclistes espagnols les plus titrés, vainqueur d'un Tour de France et d'autres titres . Les problèmes financiers et la maladie dont il souffrait, l'hépatite C, l'ont amené à forcer sa mort.

18. Janis Joplin

La chanteuse américaine de rock and roll et de blues, Janis Joplin, est également décédée des suites de sa dépression. C'était en 1970, après avoir ingéré de grandes quantités de drogues.

19. Ruslana Korshunova

Ce jeune modèle a été lancé à partir du cinquième étage d’un immeuble de Wall Street. Selon les témoins, c’est elle qui s’est volontairement jetée dans le vide. En outre, la police n'a trouvé aucun signe de violence.

20. Sylvia Plath

Cette grande figure de poésie a commis un suicide tragique, du moins c'est ce qui conclut l'enquête, car il y a encore des doutes et des spéculations selon lequel sa mort était contre sa volonté. En grande partie à cause de sa façon de mourir, parce qu'il s'est coincé la tête dans un four à gaz.

21. Virginia Woolf

Cette icône de la littérature, connue pour ses idées féministes, souffrait du trouble bipolaire. Il a décidé de mettre fin à ses jours en 1941, lorsqu'il s'est lancé dans la rivière Ouse (à Rodmell). Pour éviter de flotter, il remplit ses poches de cailloux.

22. Lee Thompson Young

Le célèbre acteur Disney a décidé de se suicider en août 2013 lorsqu'il s'est tiré une balle dans le dos. L'enquête a montré qu'il s'agissait d'un suicide. cependant, aucune note d'adieu n'a été trouvée.


Corée du Sud: vif émoi après la mort d'une star de la K-pop (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes