yes, therapy helps!
3 curious effects of music on your behavior

3 curious effects of music on your behavior

May 29, 2024

There are songs that produce relaxation, others leave us somewhat melancholic and many others that load us batteries and activate us.

Music changes your behavior

However, the music not only our emotional state influences , but it also alters and can determine our behavior. It can encourage us to drink more alcohol, to buy more products than we need when we are in a store, or even to commit acts that violate our moral principles.

As we saw in a previous article, the music we listen to and the personality can be strongly related. There is no doubt that music affects our way of perceiving the world: it is much more than mere entertainment.


1. Frantic music optimizes your performance

Usually, we usually conceptualize anger as a negative emotion, but this sensation can also be channeled to obtain positive results. Anger makes it easier for us to stay focused on the reward , it increases our tenacity and even gives us an extra dose of optimism to face the challenges.

In an interesting research that was carried out by Stanford University and Boston College, several students were willing to play a video game. Before starting the game, some participants heard neutral, animated or frenetic music. The conclusions were revealing: those students who heard frantic music were stimulated better and reported better results , being more predisposed for the task.


As reported by academics, the improvement in performance that causes this type of music is only effective in contexts of competitive performance.

2. Music predisposes us to love

If your goal is to give a good image of yourself to a person you want, a decisively positive element will be put romantic music in the background . Although it may sound like a popular myth or cliché, the truth is that an investigation by the University of Bretagne-Sud confirms this maxim. The academics recruited young women and invited them to wait in a room. During these waitings, neutral music or romantic music was broadcast through the speakers in the room. After ten minutes, the women met the interviewer, who at one point in the interview, flirted with each of the women and asked for their mobile phone number. What happened?


Only 28% of women who had heard neutral music before the interview gave the number to the interviewer. However, 52.5% of the women who had heard romantic music did agree to inform their phone number . The contrasts, as we see, were very significant.

3. Music attenuates pain

They are known some little tricks to relieve pain , and not all of them go through taking an analgesic. Many specialists recommend that drug use is always the last resort, since there are other techniques to feel better. A research conducted at Bishop University showed that listening to music has pain-relieving properties.

On this occasion, the researchers recruited eighty people, to whom they administered stimuli that caused them a slight emotional pain. While this happened, some remained silent, others could look away and could see some famous pictures, and a third group listened to music that they liked especially. In this way It could be appreciated that those who listened to music reported less anxiety , lower perception of pain, and an increase in tolerance to it compared to the subjects of the other groups.

Several studies prior to Bishop's have pointed out that people who listen to music on a daily basis are less likely to show symptoms typical of anxiety or depressive disorders. None of the studies could verify any relationship between the style of music and its positive effects for the mood of the listener, nor its effect of reducing pain. Therefore, everything seems to suggest that the key to the positive properties of music is the personal preference and the enjoyment that they cause to each person.

Bibliographic references:

  • Guéguen, N. et. Al. (2010) Love is in the air: Effects of songs with romantic lyrics on compliance with a courtship request "from Psychology of Music. Psychology of Music; 38 (3): 303-307.
  • Mitchell, L. A. et. Al. (2008) An investigation of the effects of music and art on pain perception. Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity and the Arts; 2 (3): 162-170.
  • Tamir, M. et. Al. (2008) Hedonic and Instrumental Motives in Anger Regulation. Psychological Science; 19 (4): 324-328.

How the food you eat affects your brain - Mia Nacamulli (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
3 effets curieux de la musique sur votre comportement

3 effets curieux de la musique sur votre comportement

Juin 13, 2021

Il y a des chansons qui produisent de la détente, d'autres nous laissent quelque peu mélancoliques et beaucoup d'autres qui nous chargent et nous activent.

La musique change votre comportement

Cependant, la musique non seulement nos influences d'état émotionnel , mais cela modifie également et peut déterminer notre comportement. Cela peut nous encourager à boire plus d’alcool, à acheter plus de produits que ce dont nous avons besoin lorsque nous sommes dans un magasin ou même à commettre des actes contraires à nos principes moraux.

Comme nous l'avons vu dans un article précédent, la musique que nous écoutons et la personnalité peuvent être étroitement liées. Il ne fait aucun doute que la musique affecte notre façon de percevoir le monde: c'est beaucoup plus que de simples divertissements.


1. La musique frénétique optimise vos performances

Habituellement, nous conceptualisons la colère comme une émotion négative, mais cette sensation peut également être canalisée pour obtenir des résultats positifs. La colère nous aide à rester concentrés sur la récompense , cela augmente notre ténacité et nous donne même une dose supplémentaire d’optimisme pour relever les défis.

Dans une recherche intéressante menée par l'Université de Stanford et le Boston College, plusieurs étudiants étaient disposés à jouer à un jeu vidéo. Avant de commencer le jeu, certains participants ont entendu une musique neutre, animée ou frénétique. Les conclusions étaient révélatrices: ces étudiants qui ont entendu la musique frénétique ont été mieux stimulés et ont rapporté de meilleurs résultats , étant plus prédisposé pour la tâche.


Comme le signalent les universitaires, l'amélioration des performances à l'origine de ce type de musique n'est efficace que dans des contextes de performances concurrentielles.

2. La musique nous prédispose à aimer

Si votre objectif est de donner une bonne image de vous-même à la personne de votre choix, un élément décisif sera: mettre la musique romantique en arrière-plan . Bien que cela puisse sembler être un mythe populaire ou un cliché, la vérité est qu’une enquête de l’Université de Bretagne-Sud confirme cette maxime. Les universitaires ont recruté des jeunes femmes et les ont invitées à attendre dans une pièce. Pendant ces attentes, de la musique neutre ou romantique était diffusée par les haut-parleurs de la salle. Au bout de dix minutes, les femmes ont rencontré l’intervieweuse qui, à un moment de l’interview, a flirté avec chacune d’elles et leur a demandé leur numéro de téléphone portable. Que s'est-il passé?


Seules 28% des femmes qui avaient entendu de la musique neutre avant l'interview ont communiqué le numéro à l'intervieweur. Cependant, 52,5% des femmes ayant entendu de la musique romantique ont accepté d'informer leur numéro de téléphone . Comme on le voit, les contrastes étaient très significatifs.

3. La musique atténue la douleur

Ils sont connus quelques petites astuces pour soulager la douleur et tous ne passent pas par la prise d'un analgésique. De nombreux spécialistes recommandent de toujours utiliser le médicament en dernier recours, car il existe d'autres techniques pour se sentir mieux. Une recherche menée à l'Université Bishop a montré qu'écouter de la musique avait des propriétés soulageant la douleur.

À cette occasion, les chercheurs ont recruté 80 personnes à qui ils ont administré des stimuli qui leur causaient une légère douleur émotionnelle. Pendant que cela se produisait, certains restaient silencieux, d'autres pouvaient regarder ailleurs et voir des images célèbres, et un troisième groupe écoutait de la musique qui leur plaisait particulièrement. De cette façon On pourrait comprendre que ceux qui écoutaient de la musique ont signalé moins d'anxiété , diminution de la perception de la douleur et augmentation de la tolérance à celle-ci par rapport aux sujets des autres groupes.

Plusieurs études antérieures à Bishop's ont montré que les personnes qui écoutent de la musique au quotidien risquent moins de présenter des symptômes typiques d'anxiété ou de troubles dépressifs. Aucune des études n'a pu vérifier de relation entre le style de musique et ses effets positifs sur l'humeur de l'auditeur, ni ses effets sur la réduction de la douleur. Par conséquent, tout semble suggérer que la clé des propriétés positives de la musique réside dans la préférence personnelle et le plaisir qu'elles procurent à chaque personne.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Guéguen, N. et. Al. (2010) Love is in the air: Effets des chansons aux paroles romantiques sur le respect d'une demande de parade "dans Psychology of Music. Psychologie de la musique; 38 (3): 303-307.
  • Mitchell, L. A. et. Al. (2008) Étude des effets de la musique et de l'art sur la perception de la douleur. Psychologie de l'esthétique, de la créativité et des arts; 2 (3): 162-170.
  • Tamir, M. et. Al. (2008) Hedonic et Instrumental Motives in Anger Regulation. Science psychologique; 19 (4): 324-328.

EFFET de GROUPE : théorie du restaurant - Sois pas si bêêête #18 (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes