yes, therapy helps!
3 surprising effects of depression

3 surprising effects of depression

May 6, 2024

The depression is, perhaps, the most recognized psychopathology and with higher prevalence rates, together with others such as anxiety-related disorders.

It is estimated that, only in the Kingdom of Spain, a 25% of the population suffer from a depressive disorder , and a fifth of these people suffer a serious disorder.

It may interest you: "Types of depression"

Discovering the curious effects of depression

However, beyond the lack of hope, sadness, lack of energy and asthenia, the consequences of depression also develop in other areas causing really curious changes in our personality and in our cognition.


1. Depression compresses the size of the brain

An investigation carried out by scientists from Yale University found that depression can lead to a reduction in brain volume , because the neurons of some regions are of a smaller size and lose density. Consequently, neural connections are altered. To reach this conclusion, we studied the brain tissue of people with and without depression, in a comparative way.

It seems that this effect is due to the GATA1 , a protein that contributes to the regulation of the transcription of genetic material and that is activated in the brain of people affected by a depressive disorder.


GATA1 inhibits the expression of some of the genotypes involved in the construction of synaptic connections, affecting the dimensions and complexity of dendrites, basic agents for the synapse to occur. This loss of volume not only causes alterations in the affectivity and the cognitive capacity of the subject, but also causes a decrease in the mass of the prefrontal cortex, whose function is to facilitate decision-making, control over impulses and management emotional.

2. Depression obfuscates memories

A study conducted at Brigham Young University revealed that Depressive disorders cause the effect of blurring memories . For years now, depression has been linked to a defective memory , but the mechanism that caused this phenomenon was unknown.

The study recruited subjects diagnosed with depressive symptoms, and others without psychopathological symptoms. The subjects were exposed to a series of objects that appeared on a screen. Later, the same objects were presented to them, and they had to indicate if they had seen them before, if some object resembled one seen before, or if it was a new object unrelated to those previously seen.


After studying the results, the students noticed that the subjects with depression had a greater tendency to confuse some objects, signaling them as similar to others that had appeared before. This suggests that depression does not cause amnesia but a decrease in the precision of the details. You could say that people with depression have a less skilful memory, blurred, and therefore can not remember some details.

3. Depression sharpens the perception of time

Although depression is always perceived as purely negative, this third point points to a small psychophysiological advantage. An investigation carried out at the University of Hertfordshire found that depressed people enjoy a more accurate temporal perception than non-depressed people .

The research recruited subjects with moderate depression, and others without diagnosis of disorder. Both groups had to listen to five tones whose duration oscillated between 5 and 60 seconds, and right after they were commanded to remember a number (it was a disruptive task), and then they were asked to emit an approximation as concrete as possible. the duration of each tune.

It was surprising to see that, almost without exception, people without depression estimated the time of the tones exceeding the real time, while, on the other hand, people with depression had a much better time.

The reason for this could be found in a controversial concept, called "depressive realism". Depressive realism holds that people with depression are not affected by positive and optimistic expectations that do alter the perception of reality in people who do not suffer from depression.


The surprisingly dramatic role of nutrition in mental health | Julia Rucklidge | TEDxChristchurch (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
3 effets surprenants de la dépression

3 effets surprenants de la dépression

Novembre 22, 2019

Le dépression est peut-être la psychopathologie la plus reconnue et avec des taux de prévalence plus élevés, ainsi que d’autres comme les troubles liés à l’anxiété.

On estime que, seulement dans le royaume d’Espagne, une 25% de la population souffre d'un trouble dépressif et un cinquième de ces personnes souffrent d’un trouble grave.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Types de dépression"

Découvrir les effets curieux de la dépression

Cependant, au-delà du manque d'espoir, de la tristesse, du manque d'énergie et de l'asthénie, les conséquences de la dépression se développent également dans d'autres régions, entraînant changements vraiment curieux dans notre personnalité et dans notre cognition.


1. La dépression comprime la taille du cerveau

Une enquête menée par des scientifiques de l'Université de Yale a révélé que la dépression peut entraîner une réduction du volume du cerveau , car les neurones de certaines régions sont de plus petite taille et perdent de la densité. Par conséquent, les connexions neuronales sont modifiées. Pour parvenir à cette conclusion, nous avons comparé le tissu cérébral de personnes atteintes ou non de dépression.

Il semble que cet effet soit dû à la GATA1 , une protéine qui contribue à la régulation de la transcription du matériel génétique et qui est activée dans le cerveau des personnes atteintes d’un trouble dépressif.


GATA1 inhibe l'expression de certains des génotypes impliqués dans la construction de connexions synaptiques, ce qui affecte les dimensions et la complexité des dendrites, agents de base de la synapse. Cette perte de volume entraîne non seulement des altérations de l'affectivité et des capacités cognitives du sujet, mais également une diminution de la masse du cortex préfrontal, dont la fonction est de faciliter la prise de décision, le contrôle des pulsions et la gestion. émotionnel

2. La dépression masque les souvenirs

Une étude menée à l'université Brigham Young a révélé que Les troubles dépressifs provoquent l’effet de souvenirs flous . Depuis des années, la dépression est liée à une crise mémoire défectueuse , mais le mécanisme qui a provoqué ce phénomène était inconnu.

L’étude a recruté des sujets présentant des symptômes dépressifs et d’autres sans symptômes psychopathologiques. Les sujets ont été exposés à une série d'objets apparaissant sur un écran. Plus tard, les mêmes objets leur ont été présentés, et ils devaient indiquer s'ils les avaient déjà vus, si un objet ressemblait à un objet vu auparavant ou s'il s'agissait d'un nouvel objet sans rapport avec ceux déjà vus.


Après avoir étudié les résultats, les étudiants ont constaté que les sujets souffrant de dépression avaient davantage tendance à confondre certains objets, leur indiquant qu'ils étaient similaires à d'autres apparus auparavant. Ceci suggère que la dépression ne cause pas d'amnésie mais une diminution de la précision des détails. On pourrait dire que les personnes souffrant de dépression ont une mémoire moins habile, est floue et ne peuvent donc pas se souvenir de certains détails.

3. La dépression accentue la perception du temps

Bien que la dépression soit toujours perçue comme purement négative, ce troisième point laisse entrevoir un léger avantage psychophysiologique. Une enquête menée à l'Université de Hertfordshire a révélé que les personnes dépressives bénéficient d'une perception temporelle plus précise que les personnes non dépressives .

Les chercheurs ont recruté des sujets souffrant de dépression modérée et d’autres sans diagnostic de trouble. Les deux groupes ont dû écouter cinq sons dont la durée oscillait entre 5 et 60 secondes, et juste après avoir reçu l'ordre de se rappeler un nombre (tâche perturbante), ils ont ensuite été invités à émettre une approximation aussi concrète que possible. la durée de chaque morceau.

Il était surprenant de constater que presque sans exception, les personnes sans dépression estimaient le temps des sons dépassant le temps réel, tandis que les personnes souffrant de dépression avaient un temps bien meilleur.

La raison à cela pourrait être trouvée dans un concept controversé, appelé "réalisme dépressif". Le réalisme dépressif soutient que les personnes déprimées ne sont pas affectées par des attentes positives et optimistes cela modifie la perception de la réalité chez les personnes qui ne souffrent pas de dépression.


8 Signes Qui Indiquent Que tu Souffres de Dépression Sans Que tu le Saches (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes