yes, therapy helps!
37 ways not to hurt me (emotionally and psychologically)

37 ways not to hurt me (emotionally and psychologically)

October 31, 2022

We are all different, but if I have learned something in the time I have been working in the clinic, some things are generalized to almost all human beings. Scratching a bit, the reasons for suffering usually coincide in a high percentage.

That is why it has occurred to me to summarize here what are the main causes of suffering that I observe in therapy, which cause us to be ill for longer than necessary and with more intensity.

  • Related article: "The 10 keys to dealing with emotional pain"

How to avoid unnecessary discomfort

At this point, almost everyone knows that this trip is not a path of roses, but with some guidelines, perhaps, we can have a bad time just and necessary, no more.


Then I leave a list of psychological self-care behaviors that will facilitate the proper or less painful management of this to what they call life:

1. Learn to forgive

Forgiveness is not always intended for the other person. I believe, that it is more destined to ourselves . If we forgive, we let go, we let go, we free ourselves from emotions such as hatred, resentment, frustration ... it does not have to be linked to resume the relationship with the person in question. It is more a process of inner peace.

2. Ask yourself: what is this good for?

Every time we see ourselves thinking about something that hurts us, we can ask ourselves: What is this for? If the answer focuses on being worse and not finding any solution, It would be good to change that thought for another that helps us be more productive or direct us to be able to solve the problem in some way.


3. Things are the way they are, not the way I want them to be

Important point by which sometimes we insist on changing things that are not in our hands. As much as I want, there are things that are as they are, not as I would like them to be. It would be necessary to learn to separate what I can change from what I do not . Act with the first, and accept the second.


4. Do not dramatize

Here I would relativize. Give things the right importance, be objective and not drown in a glass of water. Stop to think if what is happening is as important as what we are giving.

  • Related article: "Autosabotaje: causes, characteristics and types"

5. Accept that not everything has an explanation

Give a thousand and one returns to something that we will never get to understand, either because the answer is in another person who does not want to give it to us, well because it is not in our hand, well because it has happened í (for example, a death in an accident). Accept that we will not understand everything. And learn to live with it.

6. Do not anticipate a catastrophic outcome

Most of the time we suffer for things that in the end do not happen. But our head has already invented a very tragic ending , sometimes the worst possible, and we have lived it as if it were real, forgetting that all this suffering, even if it is imaginary, hurts us. And sometimes a lot. We should learn to take care when it arrives, if it arrives, and stop worrying so much.

7. Release ballast: let go everything you want to leave

Throw what does not work anymore. Make gap. From time to time it is basic to look at what we have around us and realize what is left over . Only then we can go removing stones from the backpack that we carry to the hill, and the less weight, the more free we will be when walking. Practice the detachment of things, situations and people.

8. Accept yourself

Carl Rogers said that only when I accept myself can I change. In order to carry out this point, it is necessary an exercise of introspection, which is to know oneself, how we think, how we feel, how we act. Only by knowing who I am, and accepting it, will I be able to change what I do not want in my life.


9. Not wanting to be with someone who does not want to be with you

Many times, the source of suffering comes from trying to be with someone who does not love you. Here, accept that others have other feelings that although we would like, are not the same as ours, lightens and shortens the grieving process.

10. Set realistic goals

Propose achievable and possible goals, to avoid the frustration that is generated when we do not get where we want to go.

11. Perfectionism

Understand that there is no one or anything perfect. That each one of us is special and different, and that While our goal is perfection, we will not enjoy the process and we're going to come down every time something does not come out as we think it should come out.

12. Do not guess what others think

Acting believing that what we believe that others believe, is an absolute truth, without assessing that perhaps we are confusing and others do not think as we think they do.

13. Do not procrastinate

Leave for later what you can remove from the middle, makes your mind busy thinking you have something to do , and that you can not enjoy 100% of what you are doing.

  • Related article: "Procrastination or the syndrome of" I'll do it tomorrow ": what it is and how to prevent it"

14. Do not take everything personally

Do not think that the whole world revolves around your navel and that all the decisions that others make have to do with you. If someone laughs at the next table, maybe it's because something has been funny, it does not have to be laughing at me. When we think that everything is against us, maybe we are the ones who are.

15. Develop empathy

Knowing how to put yourself in another's place and see their reality through their eyes, not ours. This helps us understand others and facilitates personal relationships.

16. Adaptability

Darwin said that the most intelligent being is the one that best adapted to the environment. Be able to understand situations and live them in the best possible way Within our possibilities, it saves a lot of suffering.

17. Caring for the way we treat ourselves

Realize the way we talk to each other. Language is very important when assessing ourselves, and often the verbalizations we make towards ourselves are far from being affectionate, tolerant and realistic. Self-criticism comes in handy as long as the result is an attempt to improve , not a constant automation that does not produce anything productive.

18. Do not expect others to act as you would

Many times we see ourselves saying "it's just that I would not do it that way", as if the others had to do it in the same way that we would.

19. Ability to transform

Realize the power we have to transform the lives of others and therefore, also ours. Be aware of how important small gestures are and its impact.

20. Do not act when we want to expect others to do it

Keep waiting for third parties to make the decisions for us, without thinking that we have the power of our lives to be able to act . For example, do not call a person, hoping that she is the one who takes the first step. With this, I keep my life on hold and lose power over it.

21. Not self-punishing

Be more fair and tolerant with oneself and allow oneself to fail without causing a disaster, without extreme self-demands . In this kind of thing I always ask "if it had happened to a friend of yours, would you be so hard?", And the answer is almost always a resounding no. If you would not treat anyone so cruelly, why would you?

22. Select the battles to fight

Many times we get into jaleos of which we will not take anything and that only lead to a mental wear that we can avoid. There are discussions that we know far away that we do not deserve it. As they say, Sometimes it's better to have peace than to be right .

23. Make decisions

Sometimes we do not take them, either for fear of making mistakes, or for fear of consequences. Making decisions means that we have power over our lives and that we feel that way.

24. Run away from the jail of what they will say

That our life revolves around what others may say about us, gives power to third parties over our lives. Therefore, anyone can harm us. To accept that whatever we do, there will always be someone who criticizes us, and stay true to ourselves promotes self-esteem, security and confidence.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 50 best sentences about self-esteem"

25. Take the error as learning

Understanding mistakes as a way of learning, instead of as a model of defeat, which makes us value negatively and globally based on that failure.

26. Know how to retire on time

We have the wrong idea that to retire is to lose, when sometimes know how to see when we have to go and say goodbye, is the greatest of the victories . Keeping us where we are no longer happy or where we are not wanted is to prolong the agony.

27. Set limits

Learn to tell others how far they can enter our personal space. Knowing how to say "up to here", "enough", and above all, learn to say "no", without it entailing feelings of guilt.

28. Appreciate the present

Learning to live in the here and now, since it is the only thing that really exists. We can not change the past and the future may never come , and spend the day in one or another makes us lose what really matters: what is happening.

29. Manage fears

Understand that being afraid is normal and adaptive, but that letting ourselves be paralyzed by it, takes away our freedom and makes us live a life we ​​do not want to live. The fear of the unknown, of failing, of change, of loneliness makes us stay without moving in a place where we really are not being happy .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 types of fear and their characteristics"

30. Do not try to get where you can not go

As much as we want, sometimes we have to be aware that there are things, situations or people with whom we can not do more.

31. Expectations

On numerous occasions we believe that others have some characteristics that we have set for them and that they have to act in that way. When this does not happen, we feel disappointed. A source of liberation is to accept others as they are.

32. Say what we think or feel

Everything that we keep silent and hurts, stays inside, accumulates, and ends up exploding in some way that stains everything in the form of: depression, anxiety, etc. Thus, it is necessary to be able to defend ourselves against injustices , express our criteria or what we are feeling.

33. Knowing how to accept a no

Understand that not everyone has to be at our disposal and that as free beings we are all entitled to say no. And this goes in all directions. Many times, it is hard for us to understand that they reject us, we feel hurt and we engage in an internal struggle to be able to fit it. Accept the decisions of others, even if they are not what we want It is another way to show respect.

34. Know that you can not always be happy

Happiness is not something that we can always control. Sometimes, it's time to suffer. Life gives us situations that we would never like to live, but that is what it touches. Therefore, to understand that sometimes, there is no other way to learn to manage negative emotions, makes it easier for us to wear the bad moments in the best possible way .

Know what will happen, like the good ones (that's why it is recommended that when we are well, we are aware that we are in order to enjoy it as much as possible). And try to develop resilience (ability to emerge stronger from adverse situations).

35. Do not put others before others

To believe that others are more important than us, to always be thinking of how to please by leaving us in the background, to feel guilty when we think of ourselves because we believe that someone may find it wrong, to explain to everyone about what we do or we stop doing by giving them power over our lives and allowing them to get in our privacy and privacy , makes our self-esteem dwarf.

36. Do not leave our happiness in someone else's hands

Believe that we will be happy when someone heeds us, for example. Without understanding that happiness is not outside, but inside. Obviously, I will be better if I get the things I want to achieve, but to think that others are responsible for making me better, makes me uninterested.

37. Do not focus on what you lack instead of what you have

Compare us, losing almost always. Never be satisfied Do not allow us to enjoy what surrounds us, because we look for what is not .

Learning to take care

I advise, from time to time, to review the list in order to see in which aspects we have improved and in which we still have work to do. And expand it with anything that comes to mind, that is taking away our freedom.


How To Master & Control Your Emotions (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
37 façons de ne pas me faire mal (émotionnellement et psychologiquement)

37 façons de ne pas me faire mal (émotionnellement et psychologiquement)

Juin 19, 2022

Nous sommes tous différents, mais si j'ai appris quelque chose depuis que je travaille à la clinique, certaines choses sont généralisées à presque tous les êtres humains. En grattant un peu, les raisons de souffrir coïncident généralement dans un pourcentage élevé.

C’est pourquoi j’ai pensé à résumer ici les principales causes de souffrance que j’observe en thérapie et qui nous rendent malades plus longtemps que nécessaire et avec plus d’intensité.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 clés pour faire face à la douleur émotionnelle"

Comment éviter un inconfort inutile

À ce stade, presque tout le monde sait que ce voyage n’est pas un sentier de roses, mais avec quelques directives, nous pouvons peut-être passer un mauvais moment juste et nécessaire, sans plus.


Ensuite, je laisse une liste de comportements psychologiques d’auto-soins qui faciliteront la gestion correcte ou moins pénible de ce qu’ils appellent la vie:

1. Apprendre à pardonner

Le pardon n'est pas toujours destiné à l'autre personne. Je crois qu'il est plus destiné à nous-mêmes . Si nous pardonnons, nous lâchons, nous lâchons, nous nous libérons d’émotions telles que la haine, le ressentiment, la frustration… il n’est pas nécessaire de les lier pour reprendre la relation avec la personne en question. C'est plus un processus de paix intérieure.

2. Demandez-vous: à quoi cela sert-il?

Chaque fois que nous nous voyons penser à quelque chose qui nous fait mal, nous pouvons nous demander: à quoi ça sert? Si la réponse est centrée sur l’aggravation sans trouver de solution, Il serait bon de changer cette pensée pour une autre qui nous aide à être plus productifs ou nous ordonner de pouvoir résoudre le problème d’une manière ou d’une autre.


3. Les choses sont comme elles sont, pas comme je veux qu'elles soient

Point important par lequel nous insistons parfois pour changer des choses qui ne sont pas entre nos mains. Autant que je veux, il y a des choses qui sont comme elles sont, pas comme je voudrais qu'elles soient. Il faudrait apprendre à séparer ce que je peux changer de ce que je ne fais pas . Agissez avec le premier et acceptez le second.


4. Ne dramatise pas

Ici je voudrais relativiser. Donner aux choses la juste importance, être objectif et ne pas se noyer dans un verre d'eau. Arrêtez de penser si ce qui se passe est aussi important que ce que nous donnons.

  • Article connexe: "Autosabotaje: causes, caractéristiques et types"

5. Accepter que tout n’explique pas tout

Donnez mille et un à quelque chose que nous n'arriverons jamais à comprendre, soit parce que la réponse est chez une autre personne qui ne veut pas nous le donner, bien parce que ce n'est pas dans notre main, bien parce que c'est arrivé í (par exemple, un décès dans un accident). Acceptez de ne pas tout comprendre. Et apprendre à vivre avec.

6. Ne pas anticiper un résultat catastrophique

La plupart du temps, nous souffrons pour des choses qui ne se produisent finalement pas. Mais notre tête a déjà inventé une fin très tragique , parfois la pire possible, et nous l’avons vécue comme si elle était réelle, en oubliant que toute cette souffrance, même imaginaire, nous fait mal. Et parfois beaucoup. Nous devrions apprendre à faire attention quand il arrive, si cela arrive, et cesser de nous inquiéter autant.

7. Libérez le lest: laissez aller tout ce que vous voulez quitter

Jetez ce qui ne fonctionne plus. Faire un trou De temps en temps, il est fondamental de regarder ce que nous avons autour de nous et se rendre compte de ce qui reste . Ce n'est qu'alors que nous pourrons enlever les pierres du sac à dos que nous porterons sur la colline. Moins nous aurons de poids, plus nous serons libres lorsque nous marcherons. Pratiquez le détachement des choses, des situations et des personnes.

8. Acceptez-vous

Carl Rogers a dit que c'est seulement quand je m'accepte que je peux changer. Pour mener à bien cette tâche, il est nécessaire de faire un exercice d’introspection, qui consiste à se connaître soi-même, à savoir comment on pense, comment on se sent, comment on agit. Ce n'est qu'en sachant qui je suis et en l'acceptant que je pourrai changer ce que je ne veux pas dans ma vie.


9. Ne pas vouloir être avec quelqu'un qui ne veut pas être avec toi

Plusieurs fois, la source de la souffrance vient de vouloir être avec quelqu'un qui ne t'aime pas. Ici, accepter que les autres aient d'autres sentiments que bien que nous voudrions, ne sont pas les mêmes que les nôtres, allège et raccourcit le processus de deuil.

10. Fixer des objectifs réalistes

Proposer des objectifs réalisables et possibles pour éviter la frustration générée lorsque nous n'atteignons pas nos objectifs.

11. perfectionnisme

Comprenez qu'il n'y a personne ou quelque chose de parfait. Que chacun de nous est spécial et différent, et que Bien que notre objectif soit la perfection, nous n'apprécierons pas le processus et nous allons redescendre à chaque fois que quelque chose ne sort pas comme nous le pensons.

12. Ne devinez pas ce que les autres pensent

Agir en croyant que ce que nous croyons que les autres croient est une vérité absolue, sans dire que nous sommes peut-être déroutants et que les autres ne pensent pas comme nous le pensons.

13. Ne pas tergiverser

Laisse pour plus tard ce que tu peux enlever du milieu, rend votre esprit occupé à penser que vous avez quelque chose à faire , et que vous ne pouvez pas profiter à 100% de ce que vous faites.

  • Article connexe: "La procrastination ou le syndrome de" Je le ferai demain ": qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le prévenir"

14. Ne prenez pas tout personnellement

Ne croyez pas que le monde entier tourne autour de votre nombril et que toutes les décisions que d'autres prennent prennent à votre place. Si quelqu'un rit à la table voisine, c'est peut-être parce que quelque chose a été drôle, il n'est pas obligé de se moquer de moi. Quand on pense que tout est contre nous, c'est peut-être nous qui le sommes.

15. Développer l'empathie

Savoir se mettre à la place des autres et voir leur réalité à travers leurs yeux, pas les nôtres. Cela nous aide à comprendre les autres et facilite les relations personnelles.

16. adaptabilité

Darwin a déclaré que l'être le plus intelligent est celui qui s'adapte le mieux à l'environnement. Être capable de comprendre les situations et de les vivre de la meilleure façon possible Dans la mesure de nos possibilités, cela évite beaucoup de souffrance.

17. Prendre soin de la façon dont nous nous traitons

Réalisez la façon dont nous nous parlons. Le langage est très important lors de notre évaluation de nous-mêmes, et souvent les verbalisations que nous faisons envers nous-mêmes sont loin d'être affectueuses, tolérantes et réalistes. L’autocritique est utile tant que le résultat est une tentative d’amélioration , pas une automatisation constante qui ne produit rien de productif.

18. Ne vous attendez pas à ce que les autres agissent comme vous le feriez

Nous nous voyons souvent dire "c'est juste que je ne le ferais pas de cette façon", comme si les autres devaient le faire de la même manière que nous le ferions.

19. capacité à transformer

Réalisez le pouvoir que nous avons de transformer la vie des autres et donc aussi la nôtre. Soyez conscient de l'importance des petits gestes et son impact.

20. Ne pas agir quand on veut s'attendre à ce que les autres le fassent

Attendez que des tiers prennent les décisions pour nous, sans penser que nous avons le pouvoir de nos vies pour pouvoir agir . Par exemple, n'appelez pas une personne en espérant que c'est elle qui fait le premier pas. Avec cela, je garde ma vie en suspens et je perds tout pouvoir.

21. Pas auto-punissant

Être plus juste et plus tolérant avec soi-même et se permettre d'échouer sans causer de catastrophe, sans auto-demandes extrêmes . Dans ce genre de chose, je demande toujours "si cela arrivait à un de vos amis, seriez-vous si dur?", Et la réponse est presque toujours un non retentissant. Si vous ne traitiez personne si cruellement, pourquoi le feriez-vous?

22. Sélectionnez les batailles à combattre

Souvent, nous entrons dans des jaleos dont nous ne prenons rien et qui ne font qu’entraîner une usure mentale que nous pouvons éviter. Nous savons très loin de discussions que nous ne le méritons pas. Comme on dit, Parfois, il vaut mieux avoir la paix que d'avoir raison .

23. prendre des décisions

Parfois, nous ne les prenons pas, soit par peur de commettre des erreurs, soit par crainte des conséquences. Prendre des décisions signifie que nous avons le pouvoir sur nos vies et que nous ressentons cela.

24. Fuyez la prison de ce qu'ils vont dire

Que notre vie tourne autour de ce que les autres peuvent dire de nous, donne du pouvoir à des tiers sur nos vies. Par conséquent, n'importe qui peut nous faire du mal. Pour accepter que quoi que nous fassions, il y aura toujours quelqu'un qui nous critiquera, et rester fidèle à nous-mêmes favorise l'estime de soi, la sécurité et la confiance.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 50 meilleures phrases sur l'estime de soi"

25. prendre l'erreur comme apprentissage

Comprendre les erreurs comme un moyen d’apprentissage, et non comme un modèle de défaite, nous donne une valeur négative et globale basée sur cet échec.

26. Savoir prendre sa retraite à temps

Nous avons la fausse idée que prendre sa retraite, c’est perdre, quand parfois savoir quand il faut aller dire au revoir, est la plus grande des victoires . Nous garder là où nous ne sommes plus heureux ou où nous ne sommes plus désirés, c'est prolonger l'agonie.

27. Fixer des limites

Apprenez à dire aux autres dans quelle mesure ils peuvent entrer dans notre espace personnel. Savoir dire "jusqu'ici", "assez", et surtout, apprendre à dire "non", sans que cela n'entraîne un sentiment de culpabilité.

28. Appréciez le présent

Apprendre à vivre ici et maintenant, car c'est la seule chose qui existe vraiment. Nous ne pouvons pas changer le passé et l'avenir peut ne jamais venir et passer la journée dans l’une ou l’autre nous fait perdre ce qui compte vraiment: ce qui se passe.

29. Gérer les peurs

Comprenez que la peur est normale et adaptative, mais que se laisser paralyser par elle enlève notre liberté et nous fait vivre une vie que nous ne voulons pas vivre. La peur de l'inconnu, de l'échec, du changement, de la solitude nous fait rester sans bouger dans un endroit où nous ne sommes vraiment pas heureux .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 16 types de peur et leurs caractéristiques"

30. N'essayez pas d'arriver là où vous ne pouvez pas aller

Autant que nous voulons, nous devons parfois être conscients qu'il y a des choses, des situations ou des personnes avec lesquelles nous ne pouvons pas faire plus.

31. Attentes

À de nombreuses reprises, nous pensons que d’autres ont certaines caractéristiques que nous leur avons données et qu’ils doivent agir de la sorte. Lorsque cela ne se produit pas, nous sommes déçus. Une source de libération consiste à accepter les autres tels qu’ils sont.

32. Dis ce que nous pensons ou ressentons

Tout ce que nous gardons le silence et blesse, reste à l'intérieur, s'accumule et finit par exploser d'une manière qui souille tout sous forme de: dépression, anxiété, etc. Donc, il faut pouvoir se défendre contre les injustices , exprimer nos critères ou ce que nous ressentons.

33. Savoir accepter un non

Comprenez que tout le monde n’a pas à être à notre disposition et qu’en tant qu’êtres libres nous avons tous le droit de dire non. Et cela va dans toutes les directions. Bien souvent, il nous est difficile de comprendre qu’ils nous rejettent, que nous nous sentons blessés et que nous nous engageons dans une lutte interne pour pouvoir nous adapter. Accepter les décisions des autres, même si elles ne sont pas ce que nous voulons C'est une autre façon de montrer du respect.

34. Sachez que vous ne pouvez pas toujours être heureux

Le bonheur n'est pas quelque chose que nous pouvons toujours contrôler. Parfois, il est temps de souffrir. La vie nous donne des situations que nous n'aimerions jamais vivre, mais c'est ce qu'elle touche. Par conséquent, pour comprendre que parfois, il n'y a pas d'autre moyen d'apprendre à gérer les émotions négatives, nous permet de porter plus facilement les mauvais moments .

Sachez ce qui se passera, comme les bons (c’est pourquoi il est recommandé de savoir que lorsque nous allons bien, nous sommes conscients de pouvoir en profiter au maximum). Et essayez de développer la résilience (capacité à sortir plus fort des situations adverses).

35. Ne mettez pas les autres avant les autres

Croire que les autres sont plus importants que nous, toujours penser à la façon de plaire en nous laissant en arrière-plan, se sentir coupable quand on pense à soi-même parce qu'on croit que quelqu'un peut se tromper, expliquer à tout le monde ce qu'on fait ou nous arrêtons de le faire en leur donnant le pouvoir sur nos vies et leur permettant d'obtenir dans notre vie privée et la vie privée , rend notre nain estime de soi.

36. Ne laissez pas notre bonheur dans les mains de quelqu'un d'autre

Croyez que nous serons heureux quand quelqu'un nous écoutera, par exemple. Sans comprendre que le bonheur n'est pas à l'extérieur, mais à l'intérieur. Évidemment, je serai mieux si j'obtiens ce que je veux réaliser, mais penser que les autres sont responsables de mon amélioration me rend indifférent.

37. Ne vous concentrez pas sur ce qui vous manque au lieu de ce que vous avez

Comparez-nous, perdant presque toujours. Ne jamais être satisfait Ne nous permet pas de profiter de ce qui nous entoure, car on cherche ce qui n'est pas .

Apprendre à prendre soin

Je conseille, de temps en temps, de revoir la liste pour voir dans quels aspects nous nous sommes améliorés et dans lesquels nous avons encore du travail à faire. Et développez-le avec tout ce qui vous passe par la tête, qui enlève notre liberté.


8 Signes Qui Indiquent Que tu es en Mauvaise Santé (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes