yes, therapy helps!
4 fundamental therapeutic skills in Psychology

4 fundamental therapeutic skills in Psychology

November 27, 2021

Psychotherapy, according to the Spanish Federation of Associations of Psychotherapists (1992), consists of a scientific treatment of a psychological nature that promotes the achievement of changes in the way of acting, physical and psychological health, coherence and integrity of identity and the welfare of both groups and individuals.

Its effectiveness lies in the therapeutic change that allows the patient to live his life in a more functional and healthy way. What factors encourage this change?

Numerous studies indicate that the quality of the therapeutic alliance, which is therelationship established between the patient and the therapist in therapy, It is the most robust predictor of treatment, being less important the type of therapy used to not present significant differences between them, since they are fundamentally moderated by contextual and relational factors.


So that, Different characteristics, attitudes and therapeutic skills are especially relevant in the effectiveness of the intervention. Which are the most important?

Characteristics of the therapist

Among the personal characteristics of the professional who favor change of his patients, the following stand out.

  • Cordiality : express (verbally and non-verbally) interest, appreciation, encouragement and approval by the patient.
  • Competition : ability to help people solve their problems and improve their self-confidence.
  • Trust The patient's perception that the therapist will work to help him, without deceiving or trying to harm him.
  • Attraction It can be physical or interpersonal. The first influences especially the initial phase of therapy, while the second is much more important throughout the entire process.
  • Directivity : degree to which the therapist gives instructions, delimits tasks, asks questions to obtain information, provides information and feedback ... Both the excess and the directivity defect are negative in therapy.

Essential therapeutic skills

The fundamental attitudes for the establishment of the therapeutic alliance are active listening, empathy, unconditional acceptance and authenticity.


1. Active listening

Knowing how to listen is fundamental in therapy since it encourages patients to talk about themselves and their problems, increasing the possibility of understanding them and encouraging them to be responsible for their change process, seeing the therapist as a collaborator rather than as an expert .

Active listening involves three activities: receiving the message (through verbal, non-verbal and vocal communication and attitude), processing the information (knowing how to discriminate what is important and establishing its meaning) and issuing listening responses.

  • Related article: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

2. Empathy

Empathy consists in the ability to understand the thoughts and feelings of people from their own frame of reference. it implies attend to the manifest and also to the latent , capturing and understanding the meaning of emotional, cognitive and behavioral implications beyond what is expressed. In addition, it requires knowing how to communicate to the other person that we understand it.


Some empathic strategies are: active listening (previously defined), clarification (formulating questions to know what the patient expresses), the use of paraphrasing, synthesis and recapitulations (collecting and expressing the ideas previously expressed by the patient) and the reflex (collect and capture the emotional component presented).

3. Unconditional acceptance

Accepting the patient as is , valuing it without judging him.

Among the components of unconditional acceptance we find: commitment towards the patient (interest and willingness to help him), effort to understand it and non-evaluative attitude.

4. Authenticity

Authenticity implies being oneself, communicating their own feelings and inner experiences . The therapeutic situation requires knowing what to say or express, how and at what time so as not to harm the patient or the therapeutic relationship.

Some of its main elements are: non-verbal behaviors (such as smiling, eye contact and body orientation towards the patient), little emphasis on the authority's role of the therapist, spontaneity (ability to express oneself naturally, without deliberation especially what is said and done) and self-disclosure (controlled offer, by the therapist, of information about himself and his reactions to the situation in therapy).

  • Related article: "The basic therapeutic skills in Gestalt Therapy"

Bibliographic references:

  • Campbell, L.F., Norcross, J.C., Vasquez, M.J., & Kaslow, N.J. (2013).Recognition of psychotherapy effectiveness: the APA resolution. Psychotherapy, 50 (1), 98
  • Corbella, S. and Botella, L. (2004). Research in Psychotherapy. Process, results and common factors. Madrid: Vision Net.

Essential Counseling Skills (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
4 compétences thérapeutiques fondamentales en psychologie

4 compétences thérapeutiques fondamentales en psychologie

Septembre 18, 2019

Selon la Fédération espagnole des associations de psychothérapeutes (1992), la psychothérapie consiste en un traitement scientifique de nature psychologique qui favorise la transformation des comportements, de la santé physique et psychologique, de la cohérence et de l'intégrité de l'identité et le bien-être des groupes et des individus.

Son efficacité réside dans le changement thérapeutique qui permet au patient de vivre sa vie de manière plus fonctionnelle et plus saine. Quels facteurs encouragent ce changement?

De nombreuses études indiquent que la qualité de l’alliance thérapeutique, qui est larelation établie entre le patient et le thérapeute en thérapie, C'est le prédicteur de traitement le plus robuste, car il est moins important que le type de traitement utilisé ne présente pas de différences significatives entre eux, car ils sont fondamentalement modérés par des facteurs contextuels et relationnels.


Donc, Différentes caractéristiques, attitudes et compétences thérapeutiques sont particulièrement pertinentes dans l'efficacité de l'intervention. Quels sont les plus importants?

Caractéristiques du thérapeute

Parmi les caractéristiques personnelles du professionnel qui favoriser le changement Parmi ses patients, les suivants se démarquent.

  • La cordialité : exprimer (verbalement et non verbalement) l'intérêt, l'appréciation, les encouragements et l'approbation du patient.
  • Concours : capacité à aider les gens à résoudre leurs problèmes et à améliorer leur confiance en eux-mêmes.
  • La confiance La perception du patient que le thérapeute travaillera pour l'aider, sans le tromper ni essayer de lui faire du mal.
  • Attraction Cela peut être physique ou interpersonnel. La première influence en particulier la phase initiale du traitement, tandis que la seconde est beaucoup plus importante tout au long du processus.
  • Directivité : degré avec lequel le thérapeute donne des instructions, délimite des tâches, pose des questions pour obtenir des informations, fournit des informations et un retour d’information… L’excès et le défaut de directivité sont négatifs en thérapie.

Compétences thérapeutiques essentielles

Les attitudes fondamentales pour l'établissement de l'alliance thérapeutique sont l'écoute active, l'empathie, l'acceptation inconditionnelle et l'authenticité.


1. écoute active

Savoir écouter est un élément fondamental de la thérapie, car elle encourage les patients à parler d’eux-mêmes et de leurs problèmes, leur permet de mieux les comprendre et les encourage à assumer la responsabilité de leur processus de changement. thérapeute en tant que collaborateur plutôt qu'en tant qu'expert .

L'écoute active comprend trois activités: recevoir le message (par le biais d'une communication et d'attitudes verbales, non verbales et vocales), traiter les informations (savoir distinguer ce qui est important et en établir le sens) et émettre des réponses à l'écoute.

  • Article connexe: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

2. empathie

L'empathie consiste en la capacité de comprendre les pensées et les sentiments des personnes à partir de leur propre cadre de référence. Implique assister au manifeste et aussi à la latente , capturant et comprenant la signification des implications émotionnelles, cognitives et comportementales au-delà de ce qui est exprimé. De plus, cela nécessite de savoir comment communiquer à l'autre personne que nous le comprenons.


Certaines stratégies empathiques sont: l'écoute active (définie précédemment), la clarification (formuler des questions pour savoir ce que le patient exprime), l'utilisation de paraphrases, de synthèses et de récapitulations (rassembler et exprimer les idées précédemment exprimées par le patient) et réflexe (collecter et capturer la composante émotionnelle présentée).

3. Acceptation inconditionnelle

Accepter le patient tel quel , le valorisant sans le juger.

Parmi les composantes de l'acceptation inconditionnelle, on trouve: engagement envers le patient (intérêt et volonté de l'aider), effort pour le comprendre et attitude non évaluative.

4. Authenticité

L’authenticité implique d’être soi-même, communiquer leurs propres sentiments et expériences intérieures . La situation thérapeutique nécessite de savoir quoi dire ou exprimer, comment et à quel moment pour ne pas nuire au patient ou à la relation thérapeutique.

Certains de ses éléments principaux sont: les comportements non-verbaux (tels que le sourire, le contact visuel et l'orientation du corps envers le patient), peu d'accent mis sur le rôle du thérapeute de l'autorité, la spontanéité (capacité à s'exprimer naturellement, sans délibération) surtout ce qui est dit et fait) et la divulgation de soi (offre contrôlée, par le thérapeute, d’informations sur lui-même et sur ses réactions à la situation en thérapie).

  • Article connexe: "Les compétences thérapeutiques de base en Gestalt Therapy"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Campbell, L. F., Norcross, J. C., Vasquez, M. J., et Kaslow, N. J. (2013).Reconnaissance de l'efficacité de la psychothérapie: la résolution de l'APA. Psychothérapie, 50 (1), 98
  • Corbella, S. et Botella, L. (2004). Recherche en psychothérapie. Processus, résultats et facteurs communs. Madrid: Vision Net.

Interview Psychologie Identifier le besoin de suivi (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes