yes, therapy helps!
4 misconceptions about optimism (and harsh reality)

4 misconceptions about optimism (and harsh reality)

October 4, 2022

No one can doubt that optimism, in some situations, can be a key to success in some aspect of our lives. But nevertheless, We live in times in which the obsession with happiness makes many people think that optimism is everything .

Being an optimist has its advantages, but as long as it is in tune with the environment and the reality in which we move. Like everything in this life, both excess and lack of optimism are negative.

  • Related article: "125 short positive phrases to live your day to day with optimism"

How is an optimist?

Each person has their own peculiarities and, evidently, being pessimistic is not good at all. In fact, people who are sensible and objective and, in addition, are optimistic, can be considered advantaged.


Optimists are people who look at the positive side of things instead of spending the whole day regretting that they do not care how many times they fall, because from each experience they get positive learnings. Now, the optimist is not that person who always has a smile in his mouth despite adversity, but is one with a high self-confidence and is realistic with the environment that surrounds him.

But, How are optimistic people? This type of individuals present a series of characteristics:

  • They see opportunities for growth and learning in failures. Falling means getting up.

  • They do not deceive themselves, but they have a great capacity for self-reflection and they are sincere with themselves.


  • They are objective and realistic people, reason why they always pretend to be sensible and coherent in their actions.

  • They have a good self-esteem and are valued positively.

  • They do not compare themselves with others, because they have found inner peace.

  • They have a great capacity for self-motivation despite the obstacles that come their way.

  • They fight for what they want and for their own dreams.

  • They live in the here and now and enjoy the present.

  • They are emotionally intelligent.

  • If you want to know more about these characteristics, you can read our article: "11 characteristics of optimistic people"

False beliefs about optimism

While being an optimist is beneficial, some people may have false beliefs about this positive mindset.

1. Being an optimist will make you happy

Happiness depends on many factors, and to think that simply to adopt a positive mentality and be optimistic everything will go on wheels is a mistake . Optimism is not something that imposes itself, but is a way of thinking and behaving that has much to do is the level of self-confidence that a person has and how it relates to the events that occur around him.


Optimism is not to look the other way when negative things happen, but to face reality as it is and accept it. Once accepted, is to get moving and work step by step to achieve what you want.

2. Optimism is an attitude

Optimism is not something that an individual can impose on himself, and as I said, it has to do with building a strong personality and being a realistic person who trusts in himself. It is not about seeing the life of a rose and living oblivious to the problems. It is about analyzing them and accepting them. To observe and detach emotionally from some unpleasant situations.

It's about looking towards the future, but always with your feet on the ground . Optimism is not living in irrational expectations. It is seeing things as they are and learning from them. Optimistic people also fail, but understand that failures are part of life.

3. The problems are solved with optimism

Optimism alone does not solve problems. It can motivate us to get ahead, but we also have to do our part so that everything goes as we wish . Therefore, self-confidence is key in this sense, because it is a psychological variable that refers to the perception of the skills and resources we have when carrying out a task. Believing in oneself does solve problems, not optimism on its own.

  • Related article: "Albert Bandura's self-efficacy: do you believe in yourself?"

4. You can be optimistic all the time

To think that you can be optimistic all the time and to live with the smile in your mouth all the time is something unrealistic, and in this case we would be talking about false optimism. As the humanist psychologist Abraham Maslow said, "False optimism, sooner or later, disappoints, angers and despairs."

False optimism has to do with a low self-esteem and an attempt to hide the insecurity that one feels . In fact, false optimists do not achieve the goals that are proposed, because they are not realistic. In the long run, and as Maslow explains, false optimism ends up frustrating the person.

In short, people with false optimism:

  • They do not value themselves

  • Do not self-motivate

  • They do not live in the here and now nor connect with themselves

  • They are not honest with themselves

  • They are not realistic

  • False optimism is just as bad as pessimism. If you want to know more about this, you can read our article: "False optimism: what is it and what are its negative effects?"


10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Mammoths (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
4 idées fausses sur l'optimisme (et la dure réalité)

4 idées fausses sur l'optimisme (et la dure réalité)

Mai 20, 2022

Personne ne peut douter que l'optimisme, dans certaines situations, puisse être la clé du succès dans certains aspects de nos vies. Cependant, Nous vivons à une époque où l'obsession du bonheur fait penser à beaucoup que l'optimisme est tout. .

Être optimiste a ses avantages, mais tant qu’il est en phase avec l’environnement et la réalité dans laquelle nous évoluons. Comme tout dans cette vie, l'excès et le manque d'optimisme sont négatifs.

  • Article connexe: "125 phrases positives pour vivre au quotidien avec optimisme"

Comment est un optimiste?

Chaque personne a ses propres particularités et, évidemment, être pessimiste n’est pas bon du tout. En fait, les personnes sensées et objectives et optimistes peuvent être considérées comme avantagées.


Les optimistes sont des gens qui regardent le côté positif des choses au lieu de passer toute la journée à regretter de ne pas se soucier du nombre de fois qu’ils tombent, car ils acquièrent un apprentissage positif à chaque expérience. Or, l’optimiste n’est pas celui qui a toujours le sourire aux lèvres malgré l’adversité, mais qui a une grande confiance en soi et qui est réaliste par rapport à l’environnement qui l’entoure.

Mais Comment sont les gens optimistes? Ce type d’individus présente une série de caractéristiques:

  • Ils voient des opportunités de croissance et d'apprentissage dans les échecs. Tomber, c'est se lever.

  • Ils ne se trompent pas, mais ils ont une grande capacité de réflexion personnelle et ils sont sincères avec eux-mêmes.


  • Ce sont des gens objectifs et réalistes, raison pour laquelle ils prétendent toujours être raisonnables et cohérents dans leurs actions.

  • Ils ont une bonne estime de soi et sont valorisés positivement.

  • Ils ne se comparent pas aux autres, car ils ont trouvé la paix intérieure.

  • Ils ont une grande capacité de motivation personnelle malgré les obstacles qui se présentent à eux.

  • Ils se battent pour ce qu'ils veulent et pour leurs propres rêves.

  • Ils vivent ici et maintenant et profitent du présent.

  • Ils sont émotionnellement intelligents.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ces caractéristiques, vous pouvez lire notre article: "11 caractéristiques des gens optimistes"

Fausses croyances sur l'optimisme

Bien que l'optimisme soit bénéfique, certaines personnes peuvent avoir de fausses croyances à propos de cet état d'esprit positif.

1. Etre optimiste vous rendra heureux

Le bonheur dépend de nombreux facteurs, et penser que simplement adopter une mentalité positive et être optimiste, tout ira pour le mieux est une erreur . L'optimisme n'est pas quelque chose qui s'impose, mais une façon de penser et de se comporter qui a beaucoup à faire est le niveau de confiance en soi qu'une personne a et son lien avec les événements qui se déroulent autour de lui.


L'optimisme ne consiste pas à détourner le regard lorsque des choses négatives se produisent, mais à affronter la réalité telle qu'elle est et à l'accepter. Une fois accepté, il faut bouger et travailler pas à pas pour obtenir ce que vous voulez.

2. L'optimisme est une attitude

L’optimisme n’est pas ce qu’un individu peut s’imposer, et comme je l’ai dit, il s’agit de développer une forte personnalité et d’être une personne réaliste qui se fie à elle-même. Il ne s'agit pas de voir la vie d'une rose et de vivre inconscient des problèmes. Il s'agit de les analyser et de les accepter. Observer et se détacher émotionnellement de certaines situations désagréables.

Il faut regarder vers l'avenir, mais toujours les pieds sur terre . L'optimisme ne consiste pas à vivre dans des attentes irrationnelles. C'est voir les choses telles qu'elles sont et apprendre d'eux. Les personnes optimistes échouent aussi, mais comprennent que les échecs font partie de la vie.

3. Les problèmes sont résolus avec optimisme

L'optimisme seul ne résout pas les problèmes. Cela peut nous motiver à aller de l'avant, mais nous devons aussi faire notre part pour que tout se passe comme nous le souhaitons . Par conséquent, la confiance en soi est essentielle en ce sens, car il s’agit d’une variable psychologique qui fait référence à la perception des compétences et des ressources dont nous disposons lors de l’exécution d’une tâche. Croire en soi résout des problèmes, pas l'optimisme en soi.

  • Article connexe: "Efficacité personnelle d'Albert Bandura: croyez-vous en vous-même?"

4. Vous pouvez être optimiste tout le temps

Penser que vous pouvez être optimiste tout le temps et vivre avec le sourire dans la bouche tout le temps est irréaliste, et dans ce cas, nous parlerions de faux optimisme. Comme le disait le psychologue humaniste Abraham Maslow, "Le faux optimisme déçoit, tôt ou tard, la colère et le désespoir".

Le faux optimisme est lié à une faible estime de soi et à une tentative de dissimulation de l'insécurité que l'on ressent . En fait, les faux optimistes n'atteignent pas les objectifs proposés, car ils ne sont pas réalistes. À long terme, comme le dit Maslow, le faux optimisme finit par frustrer la personne.

En bref, les personnes avec un faux optimisme:

  • Ils ne se valorisent pas

  • Ne pas se motiver

  • Ils ne vivent pas dans l'ici et maintenant ni ne se connectent avec eux-mêmes

  • Ils ne sont pas honnêtes avec eux-mêmes

  • Ils ne sont pas réalistes

  • Le faux optimisme est aussi grave que le pessimisme. Si vous voulez en savoir plus à ce sujet, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Faux optimisme: de quoi s'agit-il et quels sont ses effets négatifs?"


Étienne Chouard [EN DIRECT] (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes