yes, therapy helps!
4 things in modern life that make psychology a future profession

4 things in modern life that make psychology a future profession

May 6, 2021

In the last decades, human beings and the society that we have built has evolved in a very remarkable way , and with the advancement of new technologies, our way of relating to the environment is very different from that of previous generations.

Just 40 years ago no one could imagine the impact that social networks would have on our lives today, nor how an apparatus called "telephone" would evolve, since mobile devices have become our inseparable companions.

The values ​​of our society have changed, and with that our way of thinking . But changes have not always been for the better, and modern society can bring with it different disorders that were not previously the subject of consultation in psychopathology clinics ... unless cultural changes and new ways of managing these novel situations are introduced.


Disorders associated with modern society

But, What facts of modern life make psychology a profession of the future?

These four facts make the figure of the psychologist in the area of ​​health essential in the present and in the days to come:

1. The obsession with digital image

New technologies have burst into our lives with such force that it is almost impossible to live outside this new reality. Disorders of the body image are not new, and in fact they form a quite frequent phenomenon in our society. Our culture rewards those individuals with a body image that borders on perfection, something that leads many people to become obsessed with their body .


The excessive concern for appearance and for the image we give makes certain individuals extremely unhappy people. Access to new technologies and the possibility of being connected all day to social networks causes many problems in people prone to this type of behavior.

We all know someone who spends hours and hours taking photographs and then share them to your Facebook or Instagram profile, becoming obsessive.

In fact, the selfie phenomenon It has become a characteristic feature of modern society. In this sense, the psychiatrist Dr David Veale , from Maudsley Hospital in London, comments in an interview with the British newspaper Sunday Mirror: "Of every three patients who come to my office for Body Dysmorphic Disorder, they are obsessed with selfies." It could be said that access to new information technologies increases this phenomenon. Now, it is important to understand that the main problem is not the new technologies, but the pathological use of them.


Recommended article: "Alert with selfies: they can be a symptom of a mental disorder"

2. Stress and Tecnosestress

Stress is not something new either, but nowadays it has become a very serious problem. It is frequent that people go to the consultation of psychologists suffering from the stress they suffer in their lives .

In fact, in the workplace, chronic stress or burnout causes serious psychological problems. Stress is a complex phenomenon in which variables of the workplace, the expectations of an individual and their ability to cope with complex situations come into play.

Related article: "10 essential tips to reduce stress"

But, recently, some experts claim that a new form of stress is affecting many individuals. The cause? The irruption in our lives of technology in the form of computers, internet, smartphones tablets ... what is known as techno-stress.

For the psychologist Marisa Salanova , a professor at the Jaume I University of Castellón, techno-stress is "a negative psychological state that is associated with the use of information and communication technologies (ICT) or with the threat of its use in the future. The perception of a mismatch between the demands and resources related to the use of ICTs causes this phenomenon that is characterized by a high level of psychophysiological activation, malaise, anxiety, fatigue and the development of negative attitudes towards ICT. "And the fact The fact that the use of smartphones and laptops makes the limits between private life and working life disappear can also cause problems.

To learn more about techno-stress, you can visit our article: "Tecnostros: the new psychopathology of the digital era"

3. The use of smartphones

And of course, when we talk about disorders and syndromes associated with the use of new technologies, it is inevitable to talk about the nomophobia. For a little more than a decade, mobile phones have accompanied us anywhere, they are with us wherever we go. Since the appearance of smartphones we have access to the internet 24 hours a day, and faced with this reality, it becomes almost impossible to disconnect a single moment from the digital world .

Being continuously connected may not be entirely good, and in the long run, for some people, the disconnection can have serious psychological consequences, causing them to be anxious, with great discomfort, and even feel lost in this world dependent on new technologies. Psychologists can reeducate these people in the use of new technologies to overcome their addiction to the mobile phone.

Recommended article: "Nomophobia: the growing addiction to mobile phone"

4. The new ways of relating

In the modern world, our way of relating has changed a lot compared to previous generations. We are always connected to social networks continuously, and we interact with our acquaintances on a daily basis. Being continuously connected to the network has triggered a new phenomenon called FOMO syndrome (fear of missing out) or sensation of missing something. This syndrome has been recognized by psychologists as a disruption caused by the advancement of technology and the number of options that are presented to us today .

People with FOMO feel that their life is much less interesting than that of their acquaintances, which affects their self-esteem and their emotional health. The FOMO, in addition, can produce depression or anxiety. As in the previous cases, education is basic to prevent this type of pathologies associated with the use of new technologies, and psychologists can help people to correct the negative thoughts characteristic of this phenomenon.

Related article: "FOMO syndrome: feeling that the life of others is more interesting"

19 Psychological Tips That Will Change Your Life (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
4 choses dans la vie moderne qui font de la psychologie un futur métier

4 choses dans la vie moderne qui font de la psychologie un futur métier

Juin 20, 2019

Au cours des dernières décennies, les êtres humains et la société que nous avons construite a évolué de manière très remarquable et avec les progrès des nouvelles technologies, notre façon de nous rapporter à l’environnement est très différente de celle des générations précédentes.

Il y a à peine 40 ans, personne ne pouvait imaginer l'impact que les réseaux sociaux auraient sur nos vies aujourd'hui, ni comment un appareil appelé "téléphone" évoluerait, puisque les appareils mobiles sont devenus nos compagnons inséparables.

Les valeurs de notre société ont changé, et avec cela notre façon de penser . Mais les changements ne se sont pas toujours opérés de manière satisfaisante et la société moderne peut entraîner différents désordres qui n’étaient jusqu’à présent pas consultés dans les cliniques de psychopathologie ... à moins que des changements culturels et de nouvelles façons de gérer ces situations inédites ne soient introduits.


Troubles associés à la société moderne

Mais Quels faits de la vie moderne font de la psychologie un métier du futur?

Ces quatre faits font que la figure du psychologue dans le domaine de la santé est essentielle dans le présent et dans les jours à venir:

1. L'obsession de l'image numérique

Les nouvelles technologies ont fait irruption dans nos vies avec une telle force qu'il est presque impossible de vivre en dehors de cette nouvelle réalité. Les troubles de l'image corporelle ne sont pas nouveaux et forment en fait un phénomène assez fréquent dans notre société. Notre culture récompense les individus avec une image corporelle qui frôle la perfection, quelque chose qui conduit beaucoup de gens à devenir obsédés par leur corps .


Le souci excessif de l'apparence et de l'image que nous donnons rend certaines personnes extrêmement malheureuses. L'accès aux nouvelles technologies et la possibilité d'être connecté toute la journée aux réseaux sociaux posent de nombreux problèmes aux personnes sujettes à ce type de comportement.

Nous connaissons tous quelqu'un qui passe des heures et des heures à prendre des photos, puis à les partager sur votre profil Facebook ou Instagram, pour devenir obsessives.

En fait, le phénomène de selfie C'est devenu un trait caractéristique de la société moderne. En ce sens, le psychiatre Dr David Veale , de l'hôpital Maudsley de Londres, commente dans une interview avec le journal britannique Sunday Mirror: "Sur trois patients qui se présentent à mon bureau pour un trouble dysmorphique du corps, ils sont obsédés par les selfies." On pourrait dire que l’accès aux nouvelles technologies de l’information accroît ce phénomène. Maintenant, il est important de comprendre que le problème principal n'est pas les nouvelles technologies, mais leur utilisation pathologique.


Article recommandé: "Alerte avec des selfies: ils peuvent être le symptôme d'un trouble mental"

2. Stress et Tecnosestress

Le stress n'est pas une nouveauté non plus, mais il est devenu un problème très grave de nos jours. Il est fréquent que les gens consultent des psychologues souffrant du stress qu’ils subissent dans leur vie. .

En fait, sur le lieu de travail, le stress chronique ou l’épuisement professionnel cause de graves problèmes psychologiques. Le stress est un phénomène complexe dans lequel les variables du lieu de travail, les attentes d'un individu et leur capacité à faire face à des situations complexes entrent en jeu.

Article connexe: "10 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress"

Mais récemment, certains experts ont affirmé qu'une nouvelle forme de stress affectait de nombreuses personnes. La cause? L'irruption dans nos vies de la technologie sous forme d'ordinateurs, Internet, tablettes de smartphones ... ce qu'on appelle techno-stress.

Pour le psychologue Marisa Salanova Professeur à l’Université Jaume I de Castellón, le techno-stress est «un état psychologique négatif associé à l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) ou à la menace de son utilisation à l’avenir. La perception d’un décalage entre les demandes et les ressources liées à l’utilisation des TIC est à l’origine de ce phénomène caractérisé par un niveau élevé d’activation psychophysiologique, de malaises, d’anxiété, de fatigue et par le développement d’attitudes négatives à l’égard des TIC. " Le fait que l'utilisation de smartphones et d'ordinateurs portables supprime les limites entre vie privée et vie professionnelle peut également poser problème.

Pour en savoir plus sur le techno-stress, vous pouvez consulter notre article: "Tecnostros: la nouvelle psychopathologie de l'ère numérique"

3. L'utilisation des smartphones

Et bien sûr, quand on parle de troubles et de syndromes associés à l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies, il est inévitable de parler de la nomophobie. Depuis un peu plus d'une décennie, les téléphones mobiles nous accompagnent partout, ils nous accompagnent partout où nous allons. Depuis l’apparition des smartphones, nous avons accès à Internet 24 heures sur 24, et face à cette réalité, il devient presque impossible de déconnecter un seul instant du monde numérique .

Être connecté en permanence peut ne pas être tout à fait bon et, à long terme, pour certaines personnes, la déconnexion peut avoir de graves conséquences psychologiques, les rendant anxieuses, très gênées et même se sentir perdues dans ce monde dépendant des nouvelles technologies. Les psychologues peuvent rééduquer ces personnes à l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies pour surmonter leur dépendance au téléphone mobile.

Article recommandé: "Nomophobie: la dépendance croissante au téléphone mobile"

4. Les nouveaux modes de relation

Dans le monde moderne, notre façon de nous raconter a beaucoup changé par rapport aux générations précédentes. Nous sommes toujours connectés aux réseaux sociaux et nous interagissons quotidiennement avec nos connaissances. Le fait de rester connecté en permanence au réseau a déclenché un nouveau phénomène appelé Syndrome FOMO (peur de manquer) ou le sentiment de perdre quelque chose. Ce syndrome a été reconnu par les psychologues comme une perturbation causée par les progrès de la technologie et le nombre d'options qui nous sont présentées aujourd'hui .

Les personnes atteintes de FOMO estiment que leur vie est beaucoup moins intéressante que celle de leurs connaissances, ce qui affecte leur estime de soi et leur santé émotionnelle. De plus, le FOMO peut entraîner une dépression ou une anxiété. Comme dans les cas précédents, l’éducation est fondamentale pour prévenir ce type de pathologies liées à l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies, et les psychologues peuvent aider les gens à corriger les pensées négatives qui caractérisent ce phénomène.

Article connexe: "Syndrome FOMO: sentir que la vie des autres est plus intéressante"

7 diplômes hors du commun (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes