yes, therapy helps!
5 basic exercises to prevent and cure scoliosis

5 basic exercises to prevent and cure scoliosis

June 30, 2024

Back problems can cause a lot of pain to the person who suffers, and hinder the realization of activities of daily life. One of these problems of this area of ​​the body is scoliosis, a lateral deviation of the spine that can be seen in a frontal view of the individual.

If you have been diagnosed with scoliosis, you probably want to know what you can do to improve your situation . In this article we propose a series of exercises that you can perform if you are affected with this condition.

What is scoliosis?

Scoliosis is a serious health problem, it is a lateral deviation of more than 10º of the spine , which is characterized by an "S" shaped curve or "C" shape, and causes anatomical alterations that the person suffering from it can not change voluntarily.


The severity and symptoms of this condition depend on the age of onset , the characteristics of the lesion, the location and the magnitude of the curve, since some are pronounced than others. In severe cases, scoliosis is corrected through surgery, but in mild cases exercises can be performed to help improve symptoms. In moderate cases it is possible to make corrector corset

If a person suspects that they have scoliosis, they should consult their doctor in order to receive treatment.

Causes

Scoliosis is usually seen in childhood, but it can also occur in adulthood. Nowadays, the exact causes are unknown , although it may occur due to a variety of reasons, including genetic motives, uneven pelvic position, spinal surgeries, malposition of the knee or foot, etc.


This condition usually has a good prognosis in most cases, and the improvement has much to do with the time of detection and treatment applied. When earlier it is detected and treated better.

Types of scoliosis

Scoliosis can be classified in different ways. They are the following:

  • Idiopathic scoliosis : Its cause is not known, but it is the most frequent. It is usually seen between 10 and 15 years, and is diagnosed in more women.
  • Congenital scoliosis : Appears after malformations in the spine or by a poor development of the vertebrae before birth.
  • Neuromuscular scoliosis : It is associated with different neurological or muscular diseases. For example, muscle atrophy or cerebral palsy.
  • Scoliosis from different origins : Connective tissue diseases, bone infections or trauma can cause scoliosis.

Useful tips for those affected

If you have scoliosis you need to be aware of your body, especially the spine. Being aware helps you to correct the posture during the activities of daily life.


  • Practices swimming , because it is one of the best sports to prevent and treat this condition. It causes axial traction of the entire spine and, therefore, straightens it.
  • Do Mindfulness . This millennial practice has shown that it is key to reducing pain. To learn more, you can read our article "Chronic pain: the role of Mindfulness and Biofeedback in the treatment of persistent pain"
  • Take care of the posture in the different activities of the day to day : when sitting, at work, when catching something, etc.
  • Pay special attention when doing physical activity and sport.
  • Take care of general stress and health . As conditions like stress can cause a worsening.
  • Perform exercises regularly , whether they are stretching or muscle strengthening.

Basic exercises to take care of your back

There are different exercises that you can practice to stretch and strengthen your back like the ones shown below.

1. Pelvic tilt

One of the best exercises for people suffering from scoliosis is the pelvic tilt.

To do this, you should lie on the floor on your back and bend your knees. The arms should be relaxed on the sides. You must bring the pressure or force to the abdominal area to release tension in the lower back area. Then you should lift the pelvic area up with a natural movement, and when the back is straight, stop for 5 seconds. Then return to the starting position.

2. Cat-camel

The cat-camel exercise is very popular in yoga. To do it, you must get on all fours with your hands and knees on the ground. The abdominals should be tight and the head straight. Breathe deeply and lift the lower rib cage, arching the back and relaxing the neck. Exhale outwards, lowering the chest towards the inside of the body and looking slightly upwards. Return to the starting position and repeat.

3. Superman

The superman exercise simulates the action of this character when flying, and is extremely beneficial, being a movement similar to swimming. To do this, lie on your stomach with your body extended and relaxed, and with your hands in front, the exercise consists in raising your arms while your trunk remains on the ground.

4. Iron

The iron is an exercise that brings many benefits for the back and its posture. A group of isometric exercises belongs, so it is necessary to keep the tense muscle in a certain position. When the iron is done well, the shoulders, the abs and, of course, the back notice the results.

5. Back extension

It is a very good exercise for the back. It consists of lying on your stomach and lifting the upper body only with your hands. To see how you perform the exercise, you can see the following audiovisual content.


Non-Surgical Management of Scoliosis - Boston Children's Hospital - Orthopedic Center (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 exercices de base pour prévenir et guérir la scoliose

5 exercices de base pour prévenir et guérir la scoliose

Juillet 15, 2022

Les problèmes de dos peuvent causer beaucoup de douleur à la personne qui en souffre et entraver la réalisation des activités de la vie quotidienne. L'un des problèmes de cette région du corps est la scoliose, une déviation latérale de la colonne vertébrale qui peut être vue de face.

Si vous avez reçu un diagnostic de scoliose, vous voudrez probablement savoir ce que vous pouvez faire pour améliorer votre situation. . Dans cet article, nous proposons une série d'exercices que vous pouvez effectuer si vous êtes affecté par cette maladie.

Quelle est la scoliose?

La scoliose est un grave problème de santé, c'est une déviation latérale de plus de 10º de la colonne vertébrale , qui se caractérise par une courbe en "S" ou en "C", et provoque des modifications anatomiques que la personne qui en souffre ne peut pas modifier volontairement.


La gravité et les symptômes de cette maladie dépendent de l'âge d'apparition , les caractéristiques de la lésion, la localisation et la magnitude de la courbe, certaines étant plus prononcées que d’autres. Dans les cas graves, la scoliose est corrigée par une intervention chirurgicale, mais dans les cas légers, des exercices peuvent être effectués pour aider à améliorer les symptômes. Dans des cas modérés, il est possible de fabriquer un corset correcteur

Si une personne soupçonne une scoliose, elle devrait consulter son médecin afin de recevoir un traitement.

Les causes

La scoliose est généralement observée dans l'enfance, mais elle peut également se produire à l'âge adulte. Actuellement, les causes exactes sont inconnues , bien que cela puisse être dû à diverses raisons, notamment des motifs génétiques, une position pelvienne inégale, des chirurgies de la colonne vertébrale, une mauvaise position du genou ou du pied, etc.


Cette condition a généralement un bon pronostic dans la plupart des cas, et l’amélioration a beaucoup à voir avec le moment de la détection et du traitement appliqué. Quand plus tôt, il est détecté et traité mieux.

Types de scoliose

La scoliose peut être classée de différentes manières. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Scoliose idiopathique : Sa cause n'est pas connue, mais c'est la plus fréquente. Il est généralement observé entre 10 et 15 ans et est diagnostiqué chez plus de femmes.
  • Scoliose congénitale Apparaît après des malformations de la colonne vertébrale ou par un développement médiocre des vertèbres avant la naissance.
  • Scoliose neuromusculaire : Il est associé à différentes maladies neurologiques ou musculaires. Par exemple, l'atrophie musculaire ou la paralysie cérébrale.
  • Scoliose d'origines différentes : Les maladies du tissu conjonctif, les infections osseuses ou les traumatismes peuvent provoquer une scoliose.

Conseils utiles pour les personnes concernées

Si vous avez une scoliose, vous devez être conscient de votre corps, en particulier de la colonne vertébrale. Être conscient vous aide à corriger la posture pendant les activités de la vie quotidienne.


  • Pratiquer la natation , car c’est l’un des meilleurs sports pour prévenir et traiter cette affection. Il provoque une traction axiale de toute la colonne vertébrale et, par conséquent, le redresse.
  • Faire la pleine conscience . Cette pratique millénaire a montré qu’elle était essentielle pour réduire la douleur. Pour en savoir plus, vous pouvez lire notre article "La douleur chronique: le rôle de la pleine conscience et du biofeedback dans le traitement de la douleur persistante"
  • Prendre soin de la posture dans les différentes activités du jour au jour : assis, au travail, attraper quelque chose, etc.
  • Faites particulièrement attention lorsque vous faites de l'activité physique et le sport.
  • S'occuper du stress général et de la santé . Comme des conditions telles que le stress peuvent causer une aggravation.
  • Effectuer des exercices régulièrement , qu’il s’agisse d’étirement ou de renforcement musculaire.

Exercices de base pour prendre soin de votre dos

Vous pouvez pratiquer différents exercices pour étirer et renforcer votre dos, comme ceux illustrés ci-dessous.

1. Inclinaison pelvienne

L'inclinaison du bassin est l'un des meilleurs exercices pour les personnes souffrant de scoliose.

Pour ce faire, vous devez vous allonger par terre sur le dos et pliez les genoux. Les bras doivent être détendus sur les côtés. Vous devez appliquer la pression ou la force sur la région abdominale pour relâcher la tension dans le bas du dos. Ensuite, vous devez soulever la région pelvienne avec un mouvement naturel et, lorsque le dos est droit, vous arrêter pendant 5 secondes. Revenez ensuite à la position de départ.

2. chat-chameau

L'exercice chat-chameau est très populaire en yoga. Pour ce faire, vous devez vous mettre à quatre pattes, les mains et les genoux au sol. Les abdominaux doivent être tendus et la tête droite. Respirez profondément et soulevez la cage thoracique inférieure, cambrant le dos et détendant le cou. Expirez vers l'extérieur, en baissant la poitrine vers l'intérieur du corps et en regardant légèrement vers le haut. Revenez à la position de départ et répétez.

3. Superman

L’exercice Superman simule l’action de ce personnage en vol et est extrêmement bénéfique, car il s’agit d’un mouvement semblable à celui de la natation. Pour ce faire, allongez-vous sur le ventre avec votre corps étendu et détendu et avec vos mains devant vous, l'exercice consiste à lever vos bras pendant que votre tronc reste au sol.

4. fer

Le fer à repasser est un exercice qui apporte de nombreux avantages pour le dos et sa posture. Un groupe d'exercices isométriques appartient, il est donc nécessaire de maintenir le muscle tendu dans une certaine position. Quand le fer est bien fait, les épaules, les abdominaux et, bien sûr, le dos notent les résultats.

5. Extension du dos

C'est un très bon exercice pour le dos. Il consiste à se coucher sur le ventre et à soulever le haut du corps uniquement avec les mains. Pour voir comment vous effectuez l'exercice, vous pouvez voir le contenu audiovisuel suivant.


Voici 6 remèdes naturels à base de plantes pour traiter la scoliose (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes