yes, therapy helps!
5 basic principles to enjoy a full and satisfying sexuality

5 basic principles to enjoy a full and satisfying sexuality

January 25, 2022

Despite all that has been published on psychology and sexuality, the cultural influence perpetuated by television, advertisements and mass media in general still influences our beliefs about how we should live our sexuality. Today we live surrounded by a distorted hypersexuality through which, especially in young people, the emergence of a desire that prevails over the other's , which is why professionals must approach the issue of sexuality with a gender perspective.

The truth is that our beliefs and fantasies about how life should be as a couple and how we should live our sexuality, are closely related to the difficulties that psychologists encounter in the consultation.


Live a better sexuality

Silvia de Béjar quoted in the book "Tu sexo es tuyo", that The most powerful sexual organ is our brain . Therefore, if we live our sexuality concentrating on thoughts that feed guilt, prejudice and stereotypes, we are condemned to sexual dissatisfaction. The renowned sexologist also reminded us that we live in an era in which we all have television at home but, even today, there are many women who do not know what it means to have an orgasm.

What to do? The 5 principles to enjoy sexuality

Once contextualized the path that remains to be traveled and the cultural influence that conditions us, let's focus on the solutions . The 5 basic principles to enjoy a full and healthy sexuality are the following.


Principle 1: Your sexuality begins with you

This is a principle that points us directly to women, given that we have a history that is a disadvantage in relation to men, in which our predecessors could not choose and lived their sexuality according to what was dictated by a patriarchal society, so they barely knew his body and listened to his needs. The only messages they received related to the sexual issue were about her menstruation, and in some cases not even that, and her duty to please the husband, in an intimate climate, yes, but also clouded by the prejudices and modesty of the time.

Today, certainly, more and more women have practically the same knowledge about their own sexual organs as men , and this self-knowledge is key to being able to talk about orgasm. This is the principle number 1, which states that, whatever gender you are, you must know your own sexuality, and know and accept your body (self-confidence is key). And yes, it also includes the option of practicing autoerotism, masturbation, self-stimulation ... we name it as we name it all, it starts with our own body and our pleasure.


Principle 2: Always subject and never object

Reify it is "treating / converting" a person, a living being, into an object, an inanimate being, for its use or, even, for its abuse. It is true that there are sexual fantasies in which one person is used by the other, but always imply a consent of the supposed "object", so that he or she enjoys this sexual use. The emotions and desires of both people count, and when that is the case, we would not talk about abuse or violence.

Concepció Garriga, renowned psychologist, in her article Goodness in female subjectivity: Implications for the clinic and for sexuality reflects the influence of patriarchy in the construction of our sexuality , emphasizing the kindness that was expected of women, and that materialized in caring for and pleasing the other, putting the emotions, desires and needs of the other above those of the woman. Obviously, this concept of sexuality has been transformed, but as introduced in the article, there are still cultural creepers that slip under the door of our bedrooms and enter our privacy, which we must identify to enjoy a sexuality fury.

Being a subject means being free, being a protagonist and listening and attending to one's own desires . The two people that make up the couple (man-woman, woman-woman, man-man) must be subjects and therefore both needs, subjectivities and lasciviousness must be heard.

Principle 3: Full sexual awareness thanks to Mindfulness

Mindfulness is increasingly known, but little has been said about how much it benefits sexual practices, the usual practice of technique such as meditation or Mindfulness.

The rational and cognitive pressure that can exert our mind if it is not controlled during sexual intercourse, can generate automatic thoughts of insecurity ("I do not do too well", "sure you do not like") that triggers in the absence of erection (dysfunction erectile) in men,or difficulty in reaching orgasm (anorgasmia) in women.

Exercise your mind . Do not let it stop you from enjoying a full and satisfying sexuality.

Principle 4: Sexual generosity, shared pleasure

If both people can be subjects, it means that both can choose what to do, what to want, what to experience, what helps us to enjoy and what we can share . Desire, decide, experiment and enjoy, four verbs that lead to orgasm.

But it does not mean not to please the other party. Sexual relationships must be reciprocal, bidirectional, selfless and generous. That means that to enjoy a healthy sexuality as a couple, the pleasure of the other person has to increase your own pleasure, because it counts for you the enjoyment of the other party and yours in reverse, there is reciprocity . Only by considering relationships in this way can we talk about satisfying relationships.

Obviously if we are not mentalists we can not guess what excites the other person, so it will be important to continue reading the next and last principle.

Principle 5: Communicate, express and trust yourself

Joan Costa, comunicólogo and consultant of companies author of the book "The communication in action: Report on the new culture of the gestión", realizes the following affirmation: "The communication is action and the action is communication". Naturally, Costa uses it in business praxis, but I personally consider that we can also apply it in Sexuality and Human Relations in general. Communicate during sex is action and act is to communicate .

The complicity will be determined by our ability to communicate to the other person what is the path to our orgasm, observe, experiment and our ability to listen to it. Express yourself without prejudice. Without taboos, having confidence in oneself is decisive.

Trust is acquired through self-knowledge and experimentation. Both experiences lead us to feel safe, and for this reason many experts locate the sexual fullness from the 35 years . But as a psychologist, I disagree and believe that the reality is that today, thanks to cultural changes, and especially to the advances of Psychology, it is possible to enjoy sexuality with maturity well before the age of 35, and these five principles are the key to it


The Pleasure Principle: The Secret to a Better Sex Life | Laurie Betito | TEDxMontrealWomen (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 principes de base pour jouir d'une sexualité complète et satisfaisante

5 principes de base pour jouir d'une sexualité complète et satisfaisante

Juillet 25, 2022

Malgré tout ce qui a été publié sur la psychologie et la sexualité, l’influence culturelle perpétuée par la télévision, les publicités et les médias en général continue d’influencer nos convictions quant à la manière dont nous devrions vivre notre sexualité. Aujourd'hui nous vivons entourés d'un hypersexualité déformée à travers lequel, surtout chez les jeunes, l'émergence d'un désir qui prévaut sur celui de l'autre , c’est pourquoi les professionnels doivent aborder la question de la sexualité dans une perspective sexospécifique.

La vérité est que nos croyances et nos fantasmes sur la vie de couple et sur la manière de vivre notre sexualité sont étroitement liés aux difficultés rencontrées par les psychologues lors de la consultation.


Vivre une meilleure sexualité

Silvia de Béjar a cité dans le livre "Tu sexo es tuyo", que Notre cerveau est l'organe sexuel le plus puissant . Par conséquent, si nous vivons notre sexualité en nous concentrant sur des pensées qui nourrissent la culpabilité, les préjugés et les stéréotypes, nous sommes condamnés à l’insatisfaction sexuelle. La sexologue de renom nous a également rappelé que nous vivons à une époque où nous avons tous la télévision à la maison mais, même de nos jours, de nombreuses femmes ne savent pas ce que signifie avoir un orgasme.

Que faire? Les 5 principes pour profiter de la sexualité

Une fois contextualisé le chemin qui reste à parcourir et l’influence culturelle qui nous conditionne, concentrons-nous sur les solutions . Les 5 principes de base pour jouir d’une sexualité complète et saine sont les suivants.


Principe 1: Votre sexualité commence avec vous

C’est un principe qui nous dirige directement vers les femmes, étant donné que nous avons une histoire qui est un désavantage par rapport aux hommes, dans laquelle nos prédécesseurs ne pouvaient pas choisir et vivre leur sexualité selon ce qui était dicté par une société patriarcale, alors ils connaissaient à peine son corps et écoutaient ses besoins. Les seuls messages qu'ils ont reçus concernant la question sexuelle concernaient ses menstruations, et dans certains cas même pas, et son devoir de plaire au mari, dans un climat intime, certes, mais aussi assombri par les préjugés et la modestie de l'époque.

Aujourd'hui, certainement de plus en plus de femmes ont pratiquement les mêmes connaissances de leurs organes sexuels que les hommes , et cette connaissance de soi est la clé pour pouvoir parler d’orgasme. C'est le principe numéro 1, qui stipule que, quel que soit votre sexe, vous devez connaître votre propre sexualité, et connaître et accepter votre corps (la confiance en soi est la clé). Et oui, cela inclut également la possibilité de pratiquer l'autoérotisme, la masturbation, l'auto-stimulation ... nous l'appelons comme nous appelons tout, cela commence avec notre propre corps et notre plaisir.


Principe 2: Toujours soumis et ne jamais objecter

Cosifier c'est "traiter / convertir" une personne, un être vivant, en un objet, un être inanimé, pour son utilisation ou même pour son abus. Il est vrai qu’il existe des fantasmes sexuels dans lesquels une personne est utilisée par une autre, mais implique toujours un consentement du prétendu "objet", de sorte qu’elle profite de cet usage sexuel. Les émotions et les désirs des deux personnes comptent, et quand c'est le cas, nous ne parlerions pas d'abus ou de violence.

Concepció Garriga, psychologue de renom, dans son article Bonté dans la subjectivité féminine: implications pour la clinique et pour la sexualité reflète l'influence du patriarcat dans la construction de notre sexualité , soulignant la gentillesse attendue des femmes et qui se traduit par le souci de l’autre et le plaisir de le faire, mettant les émotions, les désirs et les besoins de l’autre au-dessus de ceux de la femme. De toute évidence, ce concept de sexualité a été transformé, mais comme introduit dans l'article, il y a encore des lianes culturelles qui se glissent sous la porte de nos chambres à coucher et entrent dans notre vie privée, que nous devons identifier pour profiter d'une sexualité. en bonne santé

Être sujet, c'est être libre, être protagoniste, écouter et satisfaire ses propres désirs . Les deux personnes qui composent le couple (homme-femme, femme-femme, homme-homme) doivent être des sujets et donc les deux besoins, subjectivités et lascivité doivent être entendus.

Principe 3: Conscience sexuelle totale grâce à Mindfulness

La pleine conscience est de plus en plus connue, mais peu de choses ont été dites sur les bénéfices qu’elle procure aux pratiques sexuelles, à la pratique habituelle de techniques telles que la méditation ou la pleine conscience.

La pression rationnelle et cognitive qui peut exercer notre esprit si elle n'est pas contrôlée au cours d'un rapport sexuel peut générer des pensées automatiques d'insécurité ("je ne fais pas trop bien", "bien sûr que vous n'aimez pas") qui se déclenchent en l'absence d'érection érectile) chez les hommes,ou difficulté à atteindre l'orgasme (anorgasmie) chez les femmes.

Exercez votre esprit . Ne le laissez pas vous empêcher de profiter d'une sexualité complète et satisfaisante.

Principe 4: Générosité sexuelle, plaisir partagé

Si les deux personnes peuvent être des sujets, cela signifie que les deux peuvent choisir quoi faire, quoi vouloir, quoi expérimenter, ce qui nous aide à aimer et ce que nous pouvons partager . Désirer, décider, expérimenter et s'amuser, quatre verbes qui mènent à l'orgasme.

Mais cela ne signifie pas ne pas faire plaisir à l'autre partie. Les relations sexuelles doivent être réciproques, bidirectionnelles, désintéressées et généreuses. Cela signifie que pour jouir d'une sexualité saine en couple, le plaisir de l'autre personne doit augmenter votre propre plaisir, car il compte pour vous le plaisir de l'autre partie et le vôtre à l'envers. il y a réciprocité . Ce n’est qu’en considérant les relations de cette manière que nous pourrons parler de relations satisfaisantes.

Évidemment, si nous ne sommes pas des mentalistes, nous ne pouvons pas deviner ce qui excite l’autre personne. Il sera donc important de continuer à lire le principe suivant.

Principe 5: Communiquer, exprimer et avoir confiance en soi

Joan Costa, comunicólogo et consultante d'entreprises auteur du livre "La communication en action: Rapport sur la nouvelle culture de la gestión", réalise l'affirmation suivante: "La communication est l'action et l'action est la communication". Bien entendu, Costa l’utilise dans la pratique des affaires, mais j’estime personnellement que nous pouvons également l’appliquer à la sexualité et aux relations humaines en général. Communiquer pendant le sexe, c'est l'action et l'acte, c'est communiquer .

La complicité sera déterminée par notre capacité à communiquer à l’autre personne le chemin de notre orgasme, à observer, à expérimenter et à notre capacité à l’écouter. Exprimez-vous sans préjugés. Sans tabous, avoir confiance en soi est décisif.

La confiance est acquise par la connaissance de soi et l'expérimentation. Les deux expériences nous amènent à nous sentir en sécurité, et pour cette raison de nombreux experts situent la plénitude sexuelle des 35 ans . Mais en tant que psychologue, je ne suis pas d’accord et je pense que la réalité est qu’aujourd’hui, grâce aux changements culturels et en particulier aux avancées de la psychologie, il est possible de jouir de la sexualité bien avant l’âge de 35 ans, et ces cinq principes sont: la clé

Articles Connexes