yes, therapy helps!
5 historical facts of Mexico highlighted (with explanation)

5 historical facts of Mexico highlighted (with explanation)

January 29, 2023

They say that in order to understand the present we have to know the past, that is the importance of History in our lives. Each country offers, in addition to its culture and its people, a legacy of events that, besides being interesting, allow us to see the origins of their identity.

Here we will take a look at the historical facts of Mexico more representative that marked the course of its history and its place in the world.

  • Related article: "7 customs and traditions of Mexico that you will like to know"

The 5 most relevant historical events in Mexico

From the first century AD to the last decades, the events that have marked the history of this country are fascinating and are a window to the understanding of its cultural richness and legacy to the world.


1. Construction of the pyramid of the sun in Teotihuacan

To this day, the pyramid of the sun is one of the most fascinating and enigmatic constructions in the world, the beginning of its construction dates back to the year I AD and is a reflection of the splendor of the culture that settled there.

It is believed that the arrival of the settlers in this city dates back to 100 BC. ; However, to date, the data on the ethnic origin of its inhabitants and the reason for its decline as a civilization as well as the abandonment of the ceremonial center are uncertain, involving a halo of mysticism in this culture.

The pyramid of the sun and the whole archaeological zone continues in constant investigation, even just a few months ago discoveries were made that could completely change the information that was had when discovering that cultures like the Maya, lived there permanently, data that was unknown completely before this discovery.


For these reasons, the construction of the pyramid of the sun as a symbol of the civilization that settled there and that is full of enigmas, is one of the most interesting historical facts in Mexico.

2. Tenochtitlán Foundation

In this important event in Mexico, the legend is mixed with history . It is said that a tribe arrived in what is now Mexico City guided by the sign that their god Huitzilopochtli had revealed to them: they had to settle in the place where they saw an eagle on a cactus devouring a snake.

Being a passage of history sheltered by the myth, there is no precise data on the founding of the city, however it has been established that it happened around the year 1325 or 1345.

This event is important because over the years the capital of the Mexicas became the largest and most powerful of the time in the whole world and dominated much of Mesoamerica until the arrival of the Spaniards in Tenochtitlan . This fact is linked to the arrival of Hernán Cortés to become two of the most important episodes in the history of Mexico.


  • Maybe you're interested: "That's how the 4 main Mesoamerican cultures were"

3. The conquest

In January of 1517, Hernán Cortés arrived on the shores of Yucatan to start an expedition for exploration and trade purposes ; However, upon its arrival and after several years of alliances, battles and strategies, in 1521 what is known as "The Conquest of Mexico" was concretized by defeating what was at that time the most important capital: Tenochtitlan.

From that moment and officially, the Mexica people formed the first territory, which later with the conquest of the rest of cultures it would be known like Viceroyalty of the New Spain and that would give rise to the mestizo Mexico characterized by the meeting of these two cultures.

For this reason, this event is one of the most representative of the history of Mexico, marking a before and after in the life, culture and organization of the country.

4. The independence of Mexico

Another historical Mexican event occurs almost 300 years after La Conquista, and it is the struggle for the independence of Mexico.

Headed by the priest Miguel Hidalgo , who calls to rise up in arms on September 15, 1810, begins the fight to end Spanish rule over Mexico and September 27, 1821 with the triumphant entry of the Trigarante army, this fight is ended by proclaiming independence .

However, it was not until 1836, after several attempts at reconquest, that Spain recognized the absolute independence of Mexico.

5. Mexican Revolution

After 35 years of a dictatorial government known as Porfiriato, the Mexican population rises in arms to overthrow President Porfirio Díaz , who under his mandate achieved the economic growth of the country but at the expense of the social welfare of the most disadvantaged sectors that were already in great discontent. The latter joined the call of Francisco I.Madero to take the arms obtaining that Porfirio Diaz resigned and fled from the country.

Subsequently, when elections were held, Madero won, generating the dissatisfaction of other revolutionaries who did not see in the new president a solution to the demands of the majority of the population submerged in poverty, so the revolt would not end until the assassination of Francisco I. Madero, the succession of Victoriano Huerta and his eventual resignation before the dissatisfaction of other caudillos such as Francisco Villa and Venustiano Carranza, who in 1917 promulgates the new constitution thus ending this historical fact of Mexico.

Bibliographic references:

  • Clavijero, F. J. (1844). Ancient history of Mexico and its conquest: taken from the best Spanish historians ... Digital library of the Autonomous University of Nuevo Leon: Lara press.

What Are The Most Dangerous Drug Cartels In Mexico? (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 faits historiques du Mexique soulignés (avec explication)

5 faits historiques du Mexique soulignés (avec explication)

Mars 31, 2020

Ils disent que pour comprendre le présent, nous devons connaître le passé, c'est l'importance de l'histoire dans nos vies. Chaque pays offre, en plus de sa culture et de ses habitants, un héritage d'événements qui, en plus d'être intéressants, nous permettent de voir les origines de leur identité.

Ici nous allons jeter un coup d'oeil sur les faits historiques du Mexique plus représentatif qui a marqué le cours de son histoire et sa place dans le monde.

  • Article connexe: "7 coutumes et traditions du Mexique que vous aimerez connaître"

Les 5 événements historiques les plus importants du Mexique

Depuis le premier siècle de notre ère jusqu'aux dernières décennies, les événements qui ont marqué l’histoire de ce pays sont fascinants et permettent de mieux comprendre sa richesse culturelle et son héritage.


1. Construction de la pyramide du soleil à Teotihuacan

À ce jour, la pyramide du soleil est l’une des constructions les plus fascinantes et énigmatiques du monde. Le début de sa construction remonte à l’année I de notre ère et témoigne de la splendeur de la culture qui s’y est installée.

On pense que l'arrivée des colons dans cette ville remonte à 100 av. ; Cependant, à ce jour, les données sur l'origine ethnique de ses habitants et la raison de son déclin en tant que civilisation ainsi que l'abandon du centre cérémonial sont incertains, impliquant un halo de mysticisme dans cette culture.

La pyramide du soleil et l'ensemble de la zone archéologique continuent à faire l'objet d'investigations constantes. Même il y a quelques mois à peine, des découvertes ont été faites qui pourraient complètement changer les informations recueillies lors de la découverte que des cultures comme les Mayas y vivaient en permanence, des données inconnues complètement avant cette découverte.


Pour ces raisons, la construction de la pyramide du soleil, symbole de la civilisation qui s’y est installée et qui regorge d’énigmes, est l’un des faits historiques les plus intéressants du Mexique.

2. Fondation Tenochtitlán

Dans cet événement important au Mexique, la légende se mêle à l'histoire . On raconte qu'une tribu est arrivée dans ce qui est maintenant la ville de Mexico guidée par le signe que leur dieu Huitzilopochtli leur avait révélé: ils ont dû s'installer à l'endroit où ils ont vu un aigle sur un cactus dévorant un serpent.

Passé de l’histoire protégée par le mythe, il n’existe aucune donnée précise sur la fondation de la ville, mais il a été établi que cela s’est passé entre 1325 et 1345.

Cet événement est important car, au fil des ans, la capitale des Mexicas est devenue la plus grande et la plus puissante du monde. a dominé une grande partie de la Méso-Amérique jusqu'à l'arrivée des Espagnols à Tenochtitlan . Ce fait est lié à l’arrivée d’Hernán Cortés, qui est devenu l’un des épisodes les plus importants de l’histoire du Mexique.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Voilà comment étaient les 4 principales cultures mésoaméricaines"

3. La conquête

En janvier 1517, Hernán Cortés est arrivé sur les côtes du Yucatan pour lancer une expédition d'exploration et de commerce ; Cependant, à son arrivée et après plusieurs années d'alliances, de batailles et de stratégies, ce que l'on appelle "la conquête du Mexique" se concrétisa par la défaite de ce qui était à l'époque la capitale la plus importante: Tenochtitlan.

A partir de ce moment et officiellement, le peuple Mexica forma le premier territoire, qui plus tard avec la conquête du reste des cultures on le connaîtrait comme vice-royauté de la Nouvelle-Espagne et cela donnerait naissance au métisse mexicain caractérisé par la rencontre de ces deux cultures.

Pour cette raison, cet événement est l'un des plus représentatifs de l'histoire du Mexique, marquant un avant et un après dans la vie, la culture et l'organisation du pays.

4. L'indépendance du Mexique

Un autre événement historique mexicain se produit presque 300 ans après La Conquista: il s’agit de la lutte pour l’indépendance du Mexique.

Dirigée par le prêtre Miguel Hidalgo , qui appelle à se soulever le 15 septembre 1810, entame le combat pour mettre fin à la domination espagnole sur le Mexique et le 27 septembre 1821 avec l'entrée triomphale de l'armée Trigarante, ce combat se termine par la proclamation de l'indépendance .

Cependant, ce n’est qu’en 1836, après plusieurs tentatives de reconquête, que l’Espagne reconnaît l’indépendance absolue du Mexique.

5. Révolution mexicaine

Après 35 ans d’un gouvernement dictatorial connu sous le nom de Porfiriato, la population mexicaine se soulève pour renverser le président Porfirio Díaz , qui, dans le cadre de son mandat, ont réalisé la croissance économique du pays mais au détriment de la protection sociale des secteurs les plus défavorisés, qui étaient déjà très mécontents. Ce dernier a rejoint l'appel de Francisco I.Madero à prendre les armes en obtenant que Porfirio Diaz a démissionné et a fui le pays.

Par la suite, lorsque les élections ont eu lieu, Madero a gagné, suscitant le mécontentement d’autres révolutionnaires qui ne voyaient pas dans le nouveau président une solution aux revendications de la majorité de la population submergée dans la pauvreté. La révolte ne s’achèverait donc pas. l'assassinat de Francisco I. Madero, la succession de Victoriano Huerta et sa démission éventuelle devant le mécontentement d'autres caudillos tels que Francisco Villa et Venustiano Carranza, qui promulgue en 1917 la nouvelle constitution mettant ainsi fin à ce fait historique du Mexique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clavijero, F. J. (1844). Histoire ancienne du Mexique et de sa conquête: extraits des meilleurs historiens espagnols ... Bibliothèque numérique de l'Université autonome de Nuevo León: Lara press.

5 FAITS PROUVANT que les EXTRATERRESTRES existent ! (Mars 2020).


Articles Connexes