yes, therapy helps!
5 keys to know if a relationship will last

5 keys to know if a relationship will last

July 14, 2024

In a fluid and changing world, increasingly individualistic and in which interpersonal relationships tend to be increasingly superficial, maintaining a stable relationship over time is a task that can be difficult for a large number of people.

Determining if a couple is going to stay in time can be highly complex, although some aspects may allow us to predict in part where the relationship is heading. Therefore, below we offer you a series of 5 keys for know if a relationship will last .

  • Related article: "7 differences between love and obsession"

How to know if a relationship will last

It is difficult to establish if a couple is going to last or not and how much, taking into account that each person thinks, feels and acts differently and has different needs and conceptions of what it means to be a couple. However, as a general rule we can identify some aspects that make a relationship tend to last . Five of them are the following.


1. Relationships of equality, respect and empathy

An essential element for a couple to last and maintain a healthy relationship is that both parties maintain a relationship of relative equality. That is to say, that the two components strive, negotiate and know how to find a balance between their own needs and satisfactions and those of their loved ones. There must be a give and take, a give and take. Respect and be respected , that is contemplated and you have truly taken into account what you want each one is one of the basic pillars of a good relationship.

For the subsistence of a relationship, it is necessary to take into account how the other feels based on what we know about him / her and what emotions and thoughts he / she may experience depending on what happens or what we do, even if those questions are not expressed directly . It is about taking into account the other.


The existence of positions of superiority and inferiority in a relationship makes one of the parties feel aggrieved and underestimated , weakening the union between the members of the couple. The fact that one person does everything for the other while the second does not contribute anything, or that one of them always has to give in to the other's pretensions provokes insane relationships that in the long run will end up breaking, or causing much suffering in the case of staying due to some kind of dependency.

  • Maybe you're interested: "8 truths about love that we should know as soon as possible"

2. Together, but independent

In many films and novels we can see or hear the phrase "We are one". Although this phrase is beautiful in the sense that it reflects a feeling of unity with the couple, taking it to the extreme is highly damaging. The people who make up a couple do not stop being independent beings with their own lives. While spending time together is also essential for the couple as such to exist, it is necessary to maintain the individuality of each of its components.


Do activities separately allows the world not to limit itself to a single relationship , in addition to sharing what each one lives separately is an enriching element that helps to strengthen and introduce new features in the relationship.

Otherwise, patterns of behavior and even thinking may be established to promote a relationship of dependence, which can lead to serious problems when there are conflicts or even if one of the members decides to terminate the relationship.

  • Related article: "11 characteristic symptoms of emotional codependence"

3. Basic characteristics or values ​​are shared

In the study of affective and romantic relationships, one of the most discussed points is whether it is a better predictor of conjugal happiness to have similar traits or whether it is better to have large differences. Although it can not be applied to all cases, the conclusion of this debate and of various investigations related to this topic reflects that although it is true that characteristics very different from one's own may be attractive at first, in general those couples tend to last longer. They have elements in common.

It is not about being identical or having the same personality, but sharing some elements such as expectations regarding what their union entails, the level of interest in the other or vital expectations and being able to make compatible the characteristics that differentiate us . Personality traits that oppose frontally , for example, they tend (we repeat that it is a generalization, there being cases in which the opposite happens) end up destabilizing and eroding the relationship.

4. Devote time and effort

A healthy relationship requires that everyone has their space, but it is necessary to take into account that the couple is not an accessory in our lives either. It is necessary to dedicate time for it to work properly.

Spend time together, experience new things, laugh and enjoy the sense of humor and mutual company, talk and communicate, have sex and ultimately do things together and counting on the other is necessary for our relationship to endure.

If on the contrary, the avoidance of contact is chosen the person is going to feel unimportant and not valued, eroding the relationship and having an unfavorable prognosis.

5. There is a fluent communication

One of the basic pillars of any relationship (and even in other relationships) is communication. But this should not be understood by talking a lot, but by expressing our doubts, fears, thoughts, beliefs and deep emotions. Communicating how we feel or what we think helps the other person participate in our life, while making them feel valued and trustworthy. Also the couple can help to adopt different points of view or motivate to act in a certain way, overcome problems or simply enrich one's life while helping us to better understand each other, strengthening the relationship.

To feel supported and valued the other, worthy of trust, is something fundamental. However, one aspect must be taken into account: Communicating does not refer only to telling us what is good. The existence of conflicts is normal and even healthy in the couple, since it is communicating the presence of elements that make one of its parts do not feel quite right. In fact many couples end up breaking by the fact of not communicating harmful aspects of the relationship in time. Of course, such communication must be carried out with respect to the other's feelings and trying to put themselves in their place.


5 Signs You Are in the Right Christian Relationship (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 clés pour savoir si une relation va durer

5 clés pour savoir si une relation va durer

Janvier 19, 2023

Dans un monde fluide et en mutation, de plus en plus individualiste et dans lequel les relations interpersonnelles tendent à être de plus en plus superficielles, le maintien d'une relation stable dans le temps est une tâche qui peut être difficile pour un grand nombre de personnes.

Déterminer si un couple va rester dans le temps peut être très complexe, même si certains aspects peuvent nous permettre de prédire en partie où va la relation. Par conséquent, nous vous proposons ci-dessous une série de 5 clés pour savoir si une relation va durer .

  • Article connexe: "7 différences entre l'amour et l'obsession"

Comment savoir si une relation va durer

Il est difficile d’établir si un couple va durer ou non et dans quelle mesure, en tenant compte du fait que chaque personne pense, ressent et agit différemment et a des besoins et des conceptions différentes de ce que signifie être un couple. Cependant, en règle générale, nous pouvons identifier certains aspects qui font qu'une relation a tendance à durer . Cinq d'entre eux sont les suivants.


1. Relations d'égalité, de respect et d'empathie

Un élément essentiel pour qu'un couple puisse durer et entretenir une relation saine est que les deux parties entretiennent une relation d'égalité relative. C’est-à-dire que les deux composantes s’efforcent, négocient et savent trouver un équilibre entre leurs propres besoins et satisfactions et ceux de leurs proches. Il doit y avoir un donner et prendre, un donner et prendre. Respecter et être respecté , que vous envisagez et que vous avez vraiment pris en compte ce que vous souhaitez, chacun de ces éléments étant l’un des piliers fondamentaux d’une bonne relation.

Pour la subsistance d'une relation, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte ce que l'autre ressent en fonction de ce que nous savons de lui et des émotions et pensées qu'il peut éprouver en fonction de ce qui se passe ou de ce que nous faisons, même si ces questions ne sont pas exprimées directement. . Il s'agit de prendre en compte l'autre.


L'existence de positions de supériorité et d'infériorité dans une relation fait en sorte que l'une des parties se sente lésée et sous-estimée , affaiblissant l’union entre les membres du couple. Le fait qu’une personne fasse tout pour l’autre alors que la seconde n’apporte rien, ou que l’une d’entre elles doit toujours céder aux prétentions de l’autre provoque des relations insensées qui finiront par se briser ou causer beaucoup de souffrances dans la société. cas de rester en raison d'une sorte de dépendance.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "8 vérités sur l'amour que nous devrions connaître le plus tôt possible"

2. Ensemble, mais indépendant

Dans de nombreux films et romans, on peut voir ou entendre la phrase "Nous sommes un". Bien que cette phrase soit belle en ce sens qu'elle reflète un sentiment d'unité avec le couple, la pousser à l'extrême est extrêmement préjudiciable. Les personnes qui forment un couple n'arrêtent pas d'être des êtres indépendants avec leur propre vie. Bien qu'il soit également essentiel de passer du temps ensemble pour que le couple en tant que tel puisse exister, il est nécessaire de préserver l'individualité de chacune de ses composantes.


Faire des activités séparément permet au monde de ne pas se limiter à une seule relation , en plus de partager ce que chacun vit séparément, est un élément enrichissant qui aide à renforcer et à introduire de nouvelles caractéristiques dans la relation.

Sinon, des schémas de comportement et même des réflexions peuvent être établis pour promouvoir une relation de dépendance, ce qui peut entraîner de graves problèmes en cas de conflit ou même si l'un des membres décide de mettre fin à la relation.

  • Article connexe: "11 symptômes caractéristiques de la codépendance émotionnelle"

3. Les caractéristiques de base ou les valeurs sont partagées

Dans l’étude des relations affectives et romantiques, l’un des points les plus débattus est de savoir si le fait d’avoir des traits similaires est un meilleur prédicteur du bonheur conjugal ou s’il est préférable d’avoir de grandes différences. Bien qu’il ne puisse s’appliquer à tous les cas, la conclusion de ce débat et de diverses enquêtes en rapport avec ce sujet montre que s’il est vrai que des caractéristiques très différentes des siennes peuvent être attrayantes au départ, elles durent généralement plus longtemps. Ils ont des éléments en commun.

Il ne s’agit pas d’être identiques ou d’avoir la même personnalité, mais de partager des éléments tels que les attentes concernant ce que leur union implique, le niveau d’intérêt pour l’autre ou les attentes vitales et de pouvoir rendre compatibles les caractéristiques qui nous différencient. . Traits de personnalité qui s'opposent frontalement par exemple, ils ont tendance (on répète que c'est une généralisation, il y a des cas dans lesquels le contraire se produit) finissent par déstabiliser et éroder la relation.

4. consacrer du temps et des efforts

Une relation saine exige que chacun ait sa place, mais il est nécessaire de prendre en compte que le couple n'est pas un accessoire dans nos vies non plus. Il est nécessaire de consacrer du temps pour que cela fonctionne correctement.

Passez du temps ensemble, vivez de nouvelles choses, riez et appréciez le sens de l'humour et de la compagnie, discutez et communiquez, jouissez sexuellement et ultimement, faites ensemble, et compter sur l'autre est essentiel à la durabilité de notre relation.

Si au contraire, on évite le contact la personne va se sentir sans importance et non valorisée, érodant la relation et ayant un pronostic défavorable.

5. Il y a une communication fluide

L'un des piliers de base de toute relation (et même dans d'autres relations) est la communication. Mais cela ne devrait pas être compris en parlant beaucoup, mais en exprimant nos doutes, nos peurs, nos pensées, nos croyances et nos émotions profondes. Communiquer ce que nous ressentons ou ce que nous pensons aide l’autre personne à participer à notre vie, tout en lui permettant de se sentir valorisée et digne de confiance. Aussi le couple peut aider à adopter différents points de vue ou motiver pour agir d'une certaine manière, surmonter des problèmes ou simplement enrichir sa vie tout en nous aidant à mieux nous comprendre, en renforçant la relation.

Se sentir soutenu et valorisé par l'autre, digne de confiance, est fondamental. Cependant, un aspect doit être pris en compte: Communiquer ne signifie pas seulement nous dire ce qui est bon. L'existence de conflits est normale et même en bonne santé dans le couple, puisqu'il communique la présence d'éléments qui font que l'une des parties ne se sent pas très bien. En fait, beaucoup de couples finissent par se briser par le fait de ne pas communiquer à temps les aspects néfastes de la relation. Bien sûr, une telle communication doit être réalisée en respectant les sentiments de l'autre et en essayant de se mettre à leur place.


Est ce qu'on est compatible ? Savoir si le couple va durer... (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes