yes, therapy helps!
5 stages through which loving couples pass by

5 stages through which loving couples pass by

May 6, 2021

The beginning of the end of a relationship may be happening without we have yet realized it ; Many times, the first signs of change are subtle. It is usually after the break when it comes to remembering and understanding what has happened, the way in which events have happened to the point of producing such a complicated experience to face as a break. Thinking about our past relationships in retrospect does not make them rebuild again, but helps us close wounds.

Now, in addition to thinking about the ruptures in the past, we can also try to predict them, recognize their first manifestations effectively . Having the option of knowing if we are in a process of rupture can be very useful to evaluate the health status of the relationship and, in addition, to see with perspective the relationship you have with the couple.


A scale on the stages of the rupture

Of course, it can not be said that there are a series of phases whose first stages make us irremediably fall into a spiral whose only possible ending is the rupture, but it is possible to distinguish different situations that make us more or less likely to consider leaving to our partner

For this, a team of psychologists from the University of Tennessee headed by Kathrin Ritter they have developed a scale in which the 5 phases through which the relations pass are considered that are more likely to be ending. The name of this tool is Stages of Change in Relationship Status (SOCRS) and can be very useful in both couples therapy, and is based on James Prochaska's theory of change.


The SOCRS was initially developed to examine the extent to which people involved in online dating based on fear and violence were close to ending these toxic relationships. However, it has also been shown that it is reliable to evaluate the possibilities of ending a relationship with or without physical or psychological violence in it.

This scale was designed after passing questionnaires with 83 items to a series of people and to decide what kind of issues were most used or meaningful to describe the state of the relationship. After this process, a simplified version of these questionnaires was created.

Is this scale effective?

To test its effectiveness, this research team made a series of young people with a couple fill in the SOCRS questionnaires. Two months later, these people had to fill out the questionnaire again. Thus, after 2 months, it could be verified if the people who according to the scale were in an advanced phase of rupture at the first moment were more likely to have broken with their relationship or to be about to do it after 2 months . The volunteers who participated in the study were young people around 20 years old, so it was not strange that their relationships lasted an average of one year and, after 2 months, many couples had cut.


The results showed that, effectively, the scale was useful to estimate the chances of the relationship ending in the near future depending on which of the 5 phases each person was in. In addition, a disturbing incidence of relationships with physical or verbal violence was observed: 79% of people admitted to committing acts of physical or verbal violence against their partner at some time.

The 5 stages of the rupture according to the SOCRS

These are the 5 phases that couples go through when they finish. What is your relationship?

Factor 1: Precontemplation

In this phase the person is not aware of having any problems especially in their relationship . The items on the scale that correspond to this phase are these:

1. I am happy with my relationship as it is.

2. My relationship is fine, there is no need to change it.

3. My relationship is not so bad.

4. I do not need to do anything about my relationship.

Factor 2: Contemplation

In this phase the person begins to think about aspects of their relationship that should change . Your items are these:

5. Sometimes I think I should end my relationship.

6. I think my relationship is not healthy for me.

7. I begin to see that my relationship is a problem.

8. I begin to notice the harmful effect of my relationship.

Factor 3: Preparation

In this phase the person You have already made the decision to make the relationship end . The items that define this stage are the following:

9. Although it is difficult to end my relationship, I am making plans to do it anyway.

10. I've started working on ending the relationship, but I need some help.

11. I will try to end my relationship during the next month.

12I will try to end my relationship very soon, but I am not sure of the best way to do it.

Factor 4: Action

In this phase the person He has already begun to execute his plans without making excuses or postponing his objectives . The items are:

13. I have told my partner that I want to end the relationship.

14. I talk less with my partner when we are alone.

15. I have started spending more time with other people and less with my partner.

16. I notice that every time I think less about my partner.

Factor 5: Maintenance

In this phase the person acts in a coherent manner with the end of their relationship transforming it into a daily reality . The items are:

17. I have changed my daily routine to avoid any relationship with my partner.

18. I avoid places where I know I will see my partner.

19. I have removed objects belonging to my partner, or taken measures to get rid of elements that remind me of this person.

20. I will never go back with my partner.


5 Stages of Realizing You're in a Love Triangle [5TAGES] (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 étapes par lesquelles passent les couples aimants

5 étapes par lesquelles passent les couples aimants

Juin 23, 2022

Le début de la fin d'une relation peut se produire sans que nous l'ayons compris ; Plusieurs fois, les premiers signes de changement sont subtils. C'est généralement après la pause qu'il faut se rappeler et comprendre ce qui s'est passé, la façon dont les événements sont survenus au point de créer une expérience aussi compliquée à affronter comme une pause. Rétrospectivement, penser à nos relations passées ne les reconstruit pas, mais nous aide à fermer les plaies.

Maintenant, en plus de penser aux ruptures du passé, on peut aussi essayer de les prédire, reconnaître efficacement leurs premières manifestations . Avoir la possibilité de savoir si nous sommes en rupture peut être très utile pour évaluer l’état de santé de la relation et, en outre, pour voir avec perspective la relation que vous avez avec le couple.


Une échelle sur les étapes de la rupture

Bien sûr, on ne peut pas dire qu’il existe une série de phases dont les premières étapes nous ramènent irrémédiablement à une spirale dont la seule fin possible est la rupture, mais il est possible de distinguer différentes situations qui nous rendent plus ou moins enclins à envisager de partir. à notre partenaire

Pour cela, une équipe de psychologues de l’Université du Tennessee dirigée par Kathrin Ritter ils ont développé une échelle dans laquelle les 5 phases à travers lesquelles passent les relations sont considérées qui sont plus susceptibles de se terminer. Le nom de cet outil est Étapes du changement dans le statut de la relation (SOCRS) et peut être très utile dans la thérapie de couple, et est basé sur la théorie du changement de James Prochaska.


Le SOCRS a été initialement conçu pour examiner dans quelle mesure les personnes impliquées dans les rencontres en ligne fondées sur la peur et la violence étaient sur le point de mettre fin à ces relations toxiques. Cependant, il a également été démontré qu'il est fiable d'évaluer les possibilités de mettre fin à une relation avec ou sans violence physique ou psychologique.

Cette échelle a été conçue après avoir passé des questionnaires contenant 83 éléments à une série de personnes. et de décider quels types de problèmes étaient les plus utilisés ou les plus significatifs pour décrire l’état de la relation. Après ce processus, une version simplifiée de ces questionnaires a été créée.

Cette échelle est-elle efficace?

Pour tester son efficacité, cette équipe de recherche a demandé à un couple de jeunes personnes de remplir les questionnaires SOCRS. Deux mois plus tard, ces personnes devaient remplir à nouveau le questionnaire. Ainsi, au bout de 2 mois, on pouvait vérifier si les personnes qui, selon l'échelle, étaient en phase de rupture avancée au premier moment, étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir rompu leur relation ou d'être sur le point de le faire après 2 mois. . Les volontaires ayant participé à l'étude étaient des jeunes de 20 ans environ. Il n'était donc pas étonnant que leurs relations aient duré en moyenne un an et qu'après deux mois, de nombreux couples avaient été coupés.


Les résultats ont montré que, effectivement, l'échelle était utile pour estimer les chances que la relation prenne fin dans un proche avenir en fonction de laquelle des 5 phases chaque personne était. En outre, une incidence troublante de relations avec la violence physique ou verbale a été observée: 79% des personnes ont admis avoir commis des actes de violence physique ou verbale contre leur partenaire à un moment donné.

Les 5 étapes de la rupture selon le SOCRS

Ce sont les 5 phases que les couples passent à la fin. Quelle est votre relation?

Facteur 1: Précontemplation

Dans cette phase la personne n'est pas conscient d'avoir des problèmes en particulier dans leur relation . Les éléments de l'échelle correspondant à cette phase sont les suivants:

1. Je suis heureux avec ma relation telle qu'elle est.

2. Ma relation est bonne, il n'est pas nécessaire de la changer.

3. Ma relation n'est pas si mauvaise.

4. Je n'ai rien à faire avec ma relation.

Facteur 2: Contemplation

Dans cette phase la personne commence à réfléchir aux aspects de sa relation qui devraient changer . Vos articles sont ceux-ci:

5. Parfois, je pense que je devrais mettre fin à ma relation.

6. Je pense que ma relation n'est pas saine pour moi.

7. Je commence à voir que ma relation est un problème.

8. Je commence à remarquer l'effet néfaste de ma relation.

Facteur 3: Préparation

Dans cette phase la personne Vous avez déjà pris la décision de mettre fin à la relation . Les éléments qui définissent cette étape sont les suivants:

9. Bien qu'il soit difficile de mettre fin à ma relation, je prévois quand même de le faire.

10. J'ai commencé à mettre fin à la relation, mais j'ai besoin d'aide.

11. Je vais essayer de mettre fin à ma relation au cours du mois prochain.

12Je vais essayer de mettre fin à ma relation très bientôt, mais je ne suis pas sûr de la meilleure façon de le faire.

Facteur 4: Action

Dans cette phase la personne Il a déjà commencé à exécuter ses plans sans excuses ni report de ses objectifs . Les articles sont:

13. J'ai dit à mon partenaire que je voulais mettre fin à la relation.

14. Je parle moins avec mon partenaire quand nous sommes seuls.

15. J'ai commencé à passer plus de temps avec d'autres personnes et moins avec mon partenaire.

16. Je remarque que chaque fois que je pense moins à mon partenaire.

Facteur 5: Maintenance

Dans cette phase la personne agit de manière cohérente avec la fin de sa relation en la transformant en une réalité quotidienne . Les articles sont:

17. J'ai changé ma routine quotidienne pour éviter toute relation avec mon partenaire.

18. J'évite les endroits où je sais que je verrai mon partenaire.

19. J'ai enlevé des objets appartenant à mon partenaire ou pris des mesures pour éliminer les éléments qui me font penser à cette personne.

20. Je ne reviendrai jamais avec mon partenaire.


COMMENT LES LESBIENNES FONT L'AMOUR???? [fr/eng/esp subs] (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes