yes, therapy helps!
5 techniques to train your social skills

5 techniques to train your social skills

January 29, 2023

The notion of social skills training has evolved over time . In the beginning it was associated with interventions in people with some severe mental disorder, and although this method is still used for such cases, after the emergence of social learning theories, it became an instrument to improve the skills of people in their relationships.

Like any other skill, these communication skills can be learned, practiced and, therefore, considerably improved; without the need that the person must suffer from any type of disorder to be able to benefit from them.

Related article: "14 main social skills to succeed in life"


Social skills: why are they important?

There is no unique and concrete description of what social skills are, however this concept can be explained as the set of behaviors and actions acquired in a natural way, capable of being learned and exercised, which take place in interpersonal contexts; taking into consideration the social norms of this and with the aim of obtaining social support or self-reinforcement.

The importance of social skills is given by its relationship with a better psychosocial adjustment of the person , thus avoiding isolation, lack of affection and possible associated affective disorders.


The usefulness of social skills in the daily life of the person is reflected in the following aspects:

  • Reduce levels of stress and anxiety in front of some social circumstances
  • Act as reinforcement in contexts of interaction with other people
  • Increase reinforcement by people valuable to the person
  • Protect and favor interpersonal relationships
  • Favors the increase of self-esteem

Properties of social skills training

As indicated in the previous point, social skills are behaviors learned throughout the life of the person, so it is possible to train them through appropriate learning experiences.

The particular basis or trait of this training consists in the observation of a third party who performs the objective behavior in an appropriate manner, to later repeat, correct possible errors and gradually improve. For this, the person who tries to learn receives a reinforcement, both positive and negative, from the professional.


The dynamic consists of repeating and practicing the behavior or behavior sought in the greatest number of situations, in the most varied and real way possible.

The main features of social skills training are:

  • Increase and development of the behavior catalog that the person has
  • Participation and active cooperation of the people involved in the training
  • Strategies understood as a learning for the person, not as a therapy.
  • These are exercises that can be carried out in groups, which favors their effectiveness.

The list of own advantages and common to the different types of training, which have made them a reference intervention are:

  • Briefness of the duration of the intervention.
  • The simplicity of the techniques
  • Plasticity and flexibility to adjust to the person and their needs
  • Immediate positive effects
  • Structured, systematized and clear organization
  • System of action and learning similar to that of obtaining other skills

Techniques for the training of social skills

Psychology has developed a series of techniques aimed at improving the skills of the person in terms of their relationship with others. These techniques, explained below, should not be interpreted as serial steps that follow a specific order, but rather as independent elements that allow us to lengthen, extend or repeat them.

These elements are specified in six different techniques. They are the following.

1. Modeling

In this first technique, a person equipped with the skills to be learned performs a series of behaviors in an appropriate manner , so that the apprentice or apprentices imitate them.

The models can perform the behaviors live, or through recordings. The main requirement of the model for the technique to be effective is that it be as similar as possible to the observer. So much for age, gender, reference group, etc.

An important point to keep in mind is that the model does not conduct the behavior in an excessively skillful or expert manner, since it can demotivate the observer. The person who acts as an example to follow should express himself in an affable way and close to the apprentice. The mood of the observer is compensated with positive reinforcements.

Likewise, the effectiveness of the technique increases when the exposed situation is reproduced with the greatest possible clarity and precision, and always in a manner in which the difficulty of it is graduated, from least to greatest.

It is necessary for the viewer to understand that his obligation is to imitate the model, focusing the interest on the behavior of the model, analyzing it and then exercising and rehearsing that behavior.

2. Behavioral test

The behavioral test is the moment in which the person must carry out the actions that have previously been shown by the model. These tests can be:

  • Real : conduct is carried out in real or simulated contexts.
  • Concealed : the behavior is carried out by the imagination in the training place.

These two ways of proceeding are not exclusive, the person can first do the test in a disguised way and, once practiced enough, he goes on to the real test.

As regards the intervention of the participants, the monitor can act as an interlocutor in order to control the situation . In the case that a group intervention is being carried out, the rest of the participants can represent auxiliary tasks or representations.

3. Feedback

Behavior testing is essential after a period of feedback . This feedback is based on the provision of information to the person about how he has carried out the target behaviors, being this as specific and concrete as possible.

It is an indispensable requirement to reinforce what the person has done correctly, how to communicate in what things he should improve; Guiding about how you can improve.

For greater integration of information, it is essential that this feedback be immediate or even simultaneous to the person's performance.

4. Reinforcement

In these cases, Positive reinforcement consists in praising and praising the positive aspects of the apprentice's performance , this being the best way for behavior to be repeated in the future. An important point to keep in mind is that such reinforcements must be valuable and desired by the person.

Two types of reinforcements can be carried out:

  • Material reinforcement , this reinforcement refers to tangible rewards
  • Social reinforcement in the form of compliments and approvals.

Once the reinforcements have been administered in a continuous manner, the intermittent reinforcement of the behavior is passed. The goal of this type of reinforcement is to strengthen the behavior and maintain it in the long term.

5. Generalization

The primary purpose of all this training is not for the person to perform the behavior only in the test space , but that it is able to carry out in real life situations.

Bearing this in mind, the execution of the behavior or behaviors must be extrapolated to all contexts or circumstances in which said behavior is useful for the person.


Improve Your Social Skills in Under 30 Minutes, with Ramit Sethi (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 techniques pour développer vos compétences sociales

5 techniques pour développer vos compétences sociales

Mai 16, 2022

La notion de formation aux compétences sociales a évolué au fil du temps . Au début, elle était associée à des interventions auprès de personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux graves et, bien que cette méthode soit encore utilisée dans de tels cas, elle est devenue un instrument permettant, après l’apparition de théories de l’apprentissage social, d’améliorer les compétences relations interpersonnelles

Comme toute autre compétence, ces compétences en communication peuvent être apprises, mises en pratique et donc considérablement améliorées. sans qu'il soit nécessaire que la personne souffre de tout type de trouble pour pouvoir en bénéficier.

Article connexe: "14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie"


Les compétences sociales: pourquoi sont-elles importantes?

Il n’existe pas de description unique et concrète de ce que sont les compétences sociales. Toutefois, ce concept peut s’expliquer comme un ensemble de comportements et d’actions acquis de manière naturelle, pouvant être appris et exercés, se déroulant dans des contextes interpersonnels; en tenant compte des normes sociales en la matière et dans le but d'obtenir un soutien social ou un renforcement de soi.

L'importance des compétences sociales est donnée par sa relation avec un meilleur ajustement psychosocial de la personne , évitant ainsi l’isolement, le manque d’affection et les éventuels troubles affectifs associés.


L'utilité des compétences sociales dans la vie quotidienne de la personne se reflète dans les aspects suivants:

  • Réduire les niveaux de stress et d'anxiété face à certaines circonstances sociales
  • Agir comme un renforcement dans des contextes d'interaction avec d'autres personnes
  • Augmenter le renforcement par des personnes précieuses pour la personne
  • Protéger et favoriser les relations interpersonnelles
  • Favorise l'augmentation de l'estime de soi

Propriétés de la formation aux compétences sociales

Comme indiqué dans le point précédent, les compétences sociales sont des comportements acquis tout au long de la vie de la personne. Il est donc possible de les former par le biais d'expériences d'apprentissage appropriées.

La base ou le trait particulier de cette formation consiste en l'observation d'un tiers qui exécute le comportement objectif de manière appropriée pour ensuite répéter, corriger les erreurs possibles et s'améliorer progressivement. Pour cela, la personne qui tente d'apprendre reçoit un renforcement, à la fois positif et négatif, du professionnel.


La dynamique consiste à répéter et à pratiquer le comportement ou le comportement recherché dans le plus grand nombre de situations, de la manière la plus variée et la plus réelle possible.

Les principales caractéristiques de la formation aux compétences sociales sont les suivantes:

  • Augmentation et développement du catalogue de comportement que la personne a
  • Participation et coopération active des personnes impliquées dans la formation
  • Les stratégies sont comprises comme un apprentissage pour la personne et non comme une thérapie.
  • Ce sont des exercices qui peuvent être réalisés en groupe, ce qui favorise leur efficacité.

La liste des avantages propres et communs aux différents types de formation qui en ont fait une intervention de référence est:

  • La brièveté de la durée de l'intervention.
  • La simplicité des techniques
  • Plasticité et flexibilité pour s'adapter à la personne et à ses besoins
  • Effets positifs immédiats
  • Organisation structurée, systématisée et claire
  • Système d'action et d'apprentissage similaire à celui de l'acquisition d'autres compétences

Techniques pour la formation des compétences sociales

La psychologie a développé une série de techniques visant à améliorer les compétences de la personne en termes de relation avec les autres. Ces techniques, expliquées ci-dessous, ne doivent pas être interprétées comme des étapes en série qui suivent un ordre spécifique, mais plutôt comme des éléments indépendants nous permettant de les allonger, de les étendre ou de les répéter.

Ces éléments sont spécifiés dans six techniques différentes. Ils sont les suivants.

1. modélisation

Dans cette première technique, une personne dotée des compétences à apprendre exécute une série de comportements de manière appropriée , de sorte que l'apprenti ou les apprentis les imitent.

Les modèles peuvent effectuer les comportements en direct ou à travers des enregistrements. La principale exigence du modèle pour que la technique soit efficace est qu’elle soit aussi semblable que possible à l’observateur. Voilà pour l'âge, le sexe, le groupe de référence, etc.

Un point important à garder à l'esprit est que le modèle ne conduit pas le comportement de manière trop habile ou experte, car il peut démotiver l'observateur. La personne qui sert d'exemple à suivre doit s'exprimer d'une manière affable et proche de l'apprenti. L'ambiance de l'observateur est compensée par des renforcements positifs.

De même, l'efficacité de la technique augmente lorsque la situation exposée est reproduite avec la plus grande clarté et précision possible, et toujours de manière à en graduer la difficulté, du plus petit au plus grand.

Il est nécessaire que le spectateur comprenne que son obligation est d'imiter le modèle, en centrant son intérêt sur le comportement du modèle, en l'analysant, puis en l'exerçant et en le répétant.

2. Test comportemental

Le test comportemental est le moment où la personne doit effectuer les actions précédemment montrées par le modèle. Ces tests peuvent être:

  • Réel : la conduite est effectuée dans des contextes réels ou simulés.
  • Caché : le comportement est réalisé par l'imagination dans le lieu de formation.

Ces deux manières de procéder ne sont pas exclusives, la personne peut d’abord faire le test de manière déguisée et, une fois suffisamment pratiquée, elle passe au test réel.

En ce qui concerne l'intervention des participants, le moniteur peut agir en tant qu'interlocuteur afin de contrôler la situation . Dans le cas où une intervention de groupe est en cours, le reste des participants peut représenter des tâches auxiliaires ou des représentations.

3. Commentaires

Le test de comportement est essentiel après une période de rétroaction . Ce retour d'information est basé sur la fourniture d'informations à la personne sur la manière dont elle a appliqué les comportements cibles, de manière aussi spécifique et concrète que possible.

Il est indispensable de renforcer ce que la personne a fait correctement: comment communiquer ce qu’elle devrait améliorer; Guidant sur comment vous pouvez améliorer.

Pour une meilleure intégration de l'information, il est essentiel que ce retour soit immédiat, voire simultané avec la performance de la personne.

4. Renforcement

Dans ces cas, Le renforcement positif consiste à louer et à louer les aspects positifs de la performance de l'apprenti , c’est le meilleur moyen pour que le comportement se répète à l’avenir. Un point important à garder à l'esprit est que de tels renforts doivent être précieux et désirés par la personne.

Deux types de renforts peuvent être réalisés:

  • Renfort de matériau , ce renforcement fait référence à des récompenses tangibles
  • Renforcement social sous forme de compliments et d'approbations.

Une fois que les renforts ont été administrés de manière continue, le renforcement intermittent du comportement est transmis. L'objectif de ce type de renforcement est de renforcer le comportement et de le maintenir à long terme.

5. Généralisation

L’objectif principal de toute cette formation n’est pas de permettre à la personne d’adopter le comportement uniquement dans l’espace de test , mais qu’il est capable de réaliser dans des situations réelles.

En gardant cela à l'esprit, l'exécution du comportement ou des comportements doit être extrapolée à tous les contextes ou circonstances dans lesquels ledit comportement est utile pour la personne.


1 conseil pour développer ses compétences sociales (2018) n°71 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes