yes, therapy helps!
5 tips for your first sessions as a psychotherapist

5 tips for your first sessions as a psychotherapist

January 22, 2021

One of the most difficult moments within the professional career of psychotherapists, whether in the clinical or health field, is the realization of EPS (Supervised Professional Exercise). Considering this, maybe you're interested in these little ones tips for your first session as a psychotherapist . Helps to relieve the nerves of the first sessions with your patients or clients.

  • Related article: "Why psychologists do not give advice"

Tips for your first sessions as a psychotherapist

Follow these guidelines to get through this process in the most productive way possible.

1. Nerves are not your enemy

Every first step is scary, and the first encounter with a patient or client questions everything you have learned during the 4 or 5 years of bachelor's degree. Nothing happens, nerves are natural and will be present to a greater or lesser degree regardless of the passage of time and all the experience you accumulate. It's normal, since you do not know what kind of individual will be sitting in front of you and what their life story is.


You must remember that, despite the nerves, if you are offering your help at a professional level, it's something: you've gotten there because your skills have made it possible.

2. Have all the necessary paperwork on hand

This is a very important part, because have all that stationery that helps you collect patient information is key to being able to provide the right service . This includes:

Engagement sheet

Having a commitment sheet is relevant in the professional practice, more if you are in your supervised professional practice (EPS), since you still do not have the official degrees and the active collegiate. This commitment will be the guarantee in which the patient or client gives their consent to begin the data collection stage (anamnesis), evaluation and of course the treatment.


Important fact: you must have a sheet for adults and one for children and adolescents that must be signed by the parents.

Clinical files

This document is like the "cover letter" of your patient / client, it collects: the general data, the reason for consultation, the start date of therapy and the end date, if you feel the need you can include: at what time the problem started, if there is any stimulus or a stressor that is aggravating the situation or the symptoms.

Clinical histories

One type of document key to being able to make a good diagnosis and along with it, a good treatment. This document collects all the life information of the patient / client, that includes:

  • The general information (name, surnames, age, sex, etc).
  • Reason for consultation.
  • Start and factors that aggravate symptoms and signs.
  • Brief history of the problem (important to find out all the details).
  • Family history .
  • Prenatal, perinatal and postnatal history.
  • The history of adolescence.
  • Adult data.
  • Medical history and family history related to emotional problems or mental disorders.
  • Etc.

Collecting all the aforementioned information takes time. As advice, try not to run in the collection of this data, sometimes patients / clients in their first session cry half of it and complain what remains, therefore you must go taking notes of everything you can take "in the air" . If necessary, ask direct questions.


Mental examination

This document is also key to a good diagnosis. In it you will point out or cross out everything related to the signs of the patient or client, for example: his appearance (looks careless, unkempt, has scars), his perception (he has hallucinations, illusions, etc.), his thoughts (he has delusions, ideas of reference, flight of ideas, etc.). You must have it at hand since you see him arrive at the office or you see him in the waiting room .

Evolution sheets

If you want to be a good therapist, you must keep track of all the progress of your patients or clients , from the first session to the last. In the evolution sheets you will note the changes that are taking place during the sessions, for example: "SESSION # 7: Juanita presents a reduction in depressive symptoms, has done homework and enjoys more activities with her family "

Control of appointments

For reasons of order and good management of your patients, you can keep track of appointments in physical or digital (for example, with an App). This way you will know which appointments were missing and which appointments were not, if they have done their pending tasks, if you must unsubscribe them ...

Field diary

East It will be imperative if you are a practitioner . Even so, I suggest it also to all professionals, you will take notes of everything you do in the sessions with each patient / client, it could be key to discover if the treatment is being effective or if perhaps you have made some mistake in the realization of some technique

Therapeutic Plan

Something that makes the patient feel very safe is having everything ready, note that you wait with a whole assortment of activities that they will perform in the short 45 or 60 minutes of the session. This will not only give a good image of you, but also the patient will have very significant advances, especially if they are coming to you for a brief therapy.

Data bank

This is at the discretion of the practitioner or professional. Keep a bank with all the data of the clients that you have attended during the year It will help you to know how you have gone and if it is necessary to improve your marketing plan .

Extras: teacher interviews and reference sheets

Sometimes children come to the consultation referred by the school. For your personal control, ** request that the teacher provide information ** is very useful or anyone who is making the reference of the patient / client to your office.

3. The evaluation and the first setbacks

Something key and very supportive in the therapy processes is undoubtedly the evaluation. It is important that you know and build your own "standard" psychological test batteries . It is not necessary that you be a "machine" and know from memory and literally the instructions of all the tests. That's why I suggest you choose 2 to 4 basic tests

Choose those psychological tests you master that can yield auxiliary information for the diagnosis of your patient. In some cases personality tests are very useful too, so I invite you to investigate more thoroughly which tests are best suited to the population you will serve.

4. Ethics

As professionals or future professionals, we must follow the rules proposed by our deontological code .

The people who come to the consultation, are that ... people, who are requesting not only help but a professional service. For that reason it is good to take care of some details such as clothing, fill out the corresponding paperwork and mentioned above, evaluate and deliver results and to finalize the diagnosis.

It is important to also take into account the therapeutic approach that you will use: the one based on more scientific evidence is Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, although there are different proposed interventions for each of the psychological problems.

5. Empathy

I believe that this is the key for the client to have significant advances. Establishing a good therapeutic relationship, always within a frame of reference, is fundamental. The problem is that at the beginning there is a severe emotional burden, because patients come to relieve themselves and manage to resolve their conflicts, and often this emotional burden begins to affect our private life. It is necessary that the therapeutic relationship be a combination of empathy and professionalism .


  • Related article: "The Rapport: 5 keys to create an environment of trust"

Never forget...

Finally, always remember that it is not only important to use techniques. In my experience, I have known practitioners and professionals who consider techniques as the center of therapy, I must admit that it is partly true that they are very important, but do not forget that you are dealing with a person. Keep empathy and compassion always within the framework of therapy.

Author: Hary Winther


5 Minute Therapy Tips - Episode 01: Anxiety (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 astuces pour vos premières séances en tant que psychothérapeute

5 astuces pour vos premières séances en tant que psychothérapeute

Juin 12, 2024

L'un des moments les plus difficiles de la carrière professionnelle des psychothérapeutes, que ce soit dans le domaine clinique ou dans celui de la santé, est la réalisation de l'EPS (exercice professionnel supervisé). Compte tenu de cela, peut-être que vous êtes intéressé par ces petits conseils pour votre première session en tant que psychothérapeute . Aide à soulager les nerfs des premières séances avec vos patients ou clients.

  • Article connexe: "Pourquoi les psychologues ne donnent-ils pas de conseils"

Conseils pour vos premières séances en tant que psychothérapeute

Suivez ces instructions pour mener à bien ce processus de la manière la plus productive possible.

1. Les nerfs ne sont pas vos ennemis

Chaque premier pas est effrayant, et la première rencontre avec un patient ou un client remet en question tout ce que vous avez appris pendant les 4 ou 5 ans du baccalauréat. Rien ne se passe, les nerfs sont naturels et seront plus ou moins présents indépendamment du temps qui passe et de toute l'expérience que vous accumulez. C'est normal, car vous ne savez pas quel genre de personne va s'asseoir devant vous et quelle est leur histoire.


Vous devez vous rappeler que, malgré les tensions, si vous offrez votre aide à un niveau professionnel, c'est une chose: vous y êtes arrivé parce que vos compétences l'ont rendu possible.

2. Ayez tous les documents nécessaires sous la main

C’est une partie très importante, car vous avez toute cette papeterie qui vous aide à collecter est la clé pour pouvoir fournir le bon service . Cela comprend:

Fiche d'engagement

Avoir une feuille d'engagement est pertinent dans la pratique professionnelle, surtout si vous êtes dans votre pratique professionnelle supervisée (EPS), étant donné que vous n'avez toujours pas les diplômes officiels et le collège actif. Cet engagement sera la garantie dans laquelle le patient ou le client donne son consentement pour commencer l'étape de collecte des données (anamnèse), évaluation et bien sûr le traitement.


Fait important: vous devez avoir une feuille pour les adultes et une pour les enfants et les adolescents qui doit être signée par les parents.

Dossiers cliniques

Ce document est comme la "lettre de motivation" de votre patient / client, il rassemble: les données générales, le motif de la consultation, la date de début du traitement et la date de fin, si vous en sentez le besoin, vous pouvez indiquer: à quelle heure le problème a commencé, s’il existe un stimulus ou un facteur de stress qui aggrave la situation ou les symptômes.

Histoires cliniques

Un type de document clé pour pouvoir faire un bon diagnostic et avec cela, un bon traitement. Ce document recueille toutes les informations sur la vie du patient / client, notamment:

  • Les informations générales (nom, prénoms, âge, sexe, etc.).
  • Motif de consultation.
  • Démarrer et les facteurs qui aggravent les symptômes et les signes.
  • Bref historique du problème (important de connaître tous les détails).
  • Histoire familiale .
  • Antécédents prénataux, périnatals et postnatals.
  • L'histoire de l'adolescence.
  • Données adultes.
  • Antécédents médicaux et antécédents familiaux liés à des problèmes émotionnels ou des troubles mentaux.
  • Etc.

La collecte de toutes les informations susmentionnées prend du temps. À titre de conseil, essayez de ne pas faire partie de la collecte de ces données. Parfois, lors de la première séance, les patients / clients en réclament la moitié et se plaignent de ce qui leur reste. va prendre des notes sur tout ce que tu peux prendre "dans les airs" . Si nécessaire, posez des questions directes.


Examen mental

Ce document est également essentiel à un bon diagnostic. Vous y indiquez ou rayez tout ce qui a trait aux signes du patient ou du client, par exemple: son apparence (l'air négligent, négligé, des cicatrices), sa perception (il a des hallucinations, des illusions, etc.), ses pensées (il a des illusions, des idées). référence, vol d’idées, etc.). Vous devez l'avoir sous la main puisque vous le voyez arriver au bureau ou vous le voyez dans la salle d'attente .

Feuilles d'évolution

Si vous voulez être un bon thérapeute, vous devez suivre tous les progrès de vos patients ou clients , de la première session à la dernière. Dans les fiches d’évolution, vous noterez les changements intervenus au cours des sessions, par exemple: "SESSION 7: Juanita présente une réduction des symptômes dépressifs, a fait ses devoirs et profite de plus d'activités avec sa famille. "

Contrôle des rendez-vous

Pour des raisons d'ordre et de bonne gestion de vos patients, vous pouvez suivre les rendez-vous sous forme physique ou numérique (par exemple, avec une application). De cette façon, vous saurez quels rendez-vous étaient manquants et quels rendez-vous ne l'étaient pas, s'ils ont effectué les tâches en attente, si vous devez les désabonner ...

Journal de terrain

Celui-ci Ce sera impératif si vous êtes un pratiquant . Même dans ce cas, je le suggère également à tous les professionnels. Vous noterez tout ce que vous faites lors des séances avec chaque patient / client. Il peut être essentiel de déterminer si le traitement est efficace ou si vous avez peut-être commis une erreur lors de la réalisation du traitement. une technique

Plan thérapeutique

Pour que le patient se sente en sécurité, il faut que tout soit prêt, notez que vous attendez avec toute une gamme d'activités qu’ils se produiront dans les 45 ou 60 minutes de la session. Cela vous donnera non seulement une bonne image de vous, mais le patient bénéficiera également d'avancées très significatives, notamment s'il vous adresse une brève thérapie.

Banque de données

Ceci est à la discrétion du praticien ou du professionnel. Gardez une banque avec toutes les données des clients que vous avez fréquentés pendant l'année Cela vous aidera à savoir comment vous êtes parti et s'il est nécessaire d'améliorer votre plan marketing .

Extras: entretiens avec les enseignants et fiches de référence

Parfois, les enfants viennent à la consultation référée par l'école. Pour votre contrôle personnel, ** demander à l'enseignant de fournir des informations ** est très utile ou à quiconque fait référence le patient / client à votre bureau.

3. L'évaluation et les premiers échecs

L’évaluation est sans aucun doute un élément clé et très utile dans les processus de thérapie. Il est important que vous sachiez et construisiez vos propres batteries de tests psychologiques "standard" . Il n'est pas nécessaire que vous soyez une "machine" et que vous connaissiez de mémoire et littéralement les instructions de tous les tests. C'est pourquoi je vous suggère de choisir 2 à 4 tests de base

Choisissez les tests psychologiques que vous maîtrisez et qui peuvent donner des informations auxiliaires pour le diagnostic de votre patient. Dans certains cas, les tests de personnalité sont également très utiles. Je vous invite donc à rechercher de manière plus approfondie les tests les mieux adaptés à la population à desservir.

4. éthique

En tant que professionnels ou futurs professionnels, nous devons suivre les règles proposées par notre code déontologique .

Les personnes qui se présentent à la consultation sont des ... personnes qui demandent non seulement de l'aide, mais un service professionnel. Pour cette raison, il est bon de s’occuper de certains détails tels que les vêtements, de remplir les documents correspondants mentionnés ci-dessus, d’évaluer et de fournir des résultats et de finaliser le diagnostic.

Il est important de prendre également en compte l’approche thérapeutique que vous utiliserez: celle qui repose sur des preuves plus scientifiques est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, bien que différentes interventions soient proposées pour chacun des problèmes psychologiques.

5. empathie

Je crois que c’est la clé pour que le client dispose d’avancées importantes. Établir une bonne relation thérapeutique, toujours dans un cadre de référence, est fondamental. Le problème est qu’au début, le fardeau émotionnel est important, car les patients viennent se soulager et parviennent à résoudre leurs conflits. Souvent, ce fardeau émotionnel commence à affecter notre vie privée. Il est nécessaire que la relation thérapeutique soit une combinaison d'empathie et de professionnalisme .


  • Article connexe: "Le Rapport: 5 clés pour créer un environnement de confiance"

Ne jamais oublier...

Enfin, rappelez-vous toujours qu’il n’est pas seulement important d’utiliser des techniques. D'après mon expérience, j'ai connu des praticiens et des professionnels qui considèrent les techniques comme le centre de la thérapie. Je dois admettre qu'il est en partie vrai qu'elles sont très importantes, mais n'oubliez pas que vous traitez avec une personne. Gardez l'empathie et la compassion toujours dans le cadre de la thérapie.

Auteur: Hary Winther


Comment ouvrir son cabinet et créer une patientèle? David Mogiel - Mezael (Juin 2024).


Articles Connexes