yes, therapy helps!
6 activities to enhance executive functions

6 activities to enhance executive functions

January 22, 2021

After the boom in recent decades of scientific research based on neuroimaging techniques and computational methodologies, it has been possible to establish the mechanisms on how the human mind operates when activating cognitive reasoning procedures.

In this way, today there is a great consensus in define executive functions (FFEE) as a set of processes whose ultimate purpose is to monitor the execution and determine the control of said cognitive activity and, therefore, behavioral, in the individual.

  • Related article: "The 11 executive functions of the human brain"

Executive functions and their importance in mental processes

The so-called executive functions are located in the frontal lobes and intervene fundamentally in specific cognitive operations such as memorization, metacognition, learning and reasoning.


On a practical level, therefore, executive functions allow actions such as planning events or situations, choosing and deciding between different options, discriminating between relevant stimuli and discarding irrelevant ones, keep the attention on a task in a sustained manner , decide what type of motor movement is appropriate at each moment, etc. All of them are included in three classes of more general functions (Tirapu-Ustárroz et al, 2008):

  • Ability to formulate goals.
  • Power to plan processes and establish strategies to achieve these objectives.
  • Ability to carry out purposes and pose them effectively.

It seems, therefore, that Good performance of executive functions allow for greater competition for the individual when it comes to regulating their behavior and carrying it out efficiently.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

Activities to train and enhance executive functions

Let's see how this type of faculty can be trained through the implementation of simple exercises and daily activities:

1. Description of the appearance of an object or a person

In this activity, numerous capacities are implicated the establishment of differential characteristics, elaboration of categories , structuring of the linguistic discourse, vocabulary, focus of attention on the relevant details. On the other hand, alternative thinking is encouraged, since this object is valued from an objective perspective (according to its origin, material, history, current and future use) eliminating prejudices or subjective evaluations.

2. Discovery of guidelines

The continuation of incomplete series, for example, implies processes of abstract deductive and inductive reasoning. Thus, our mind must analyze all the physical characteristics of the available elements to find common patterns and features in order to deduce what the next component will be. This process is fundamental for the human being since it becomes a great resource in the generation of expectations and in decision making , both essential capacities for our psyche and our survival.


3. Generation of alternative action plans

One of the basic procedures of executive functions is linked to mental flexibility when it comes to reflect about day-to-day situations or events. Therefore, a practice that greatly exercises this ability is to develop various alternative explanations about the causes of the experiences that are presented or to contemplate other options than an initial plan established.

When we generate several perspectives on an event, we are able to adopt a more objective stance, since we once again resort to an in-depth analysis of the pros and cons of each of the options and allow us to draw more rationally based conclusions. Thus, the fact of detailing all the steps to follow in each proposed plan also involves the implementation of processes such as abstract reasoning, the search for analogies, categorization or the creation of expectations.

4. Practice of creative ability

Research shows how creativity becomes a central component of human intelligence. This skill can be stimulated on a daily basis simply performing a normal task in a different way, altering the procedures that are automated in its execution.

An example of this would be to go to work using different paths, solve a problem in an innovative way or modify the route in the supermarket when making the purchase. It is said that the creative process consists of the phases of exploration and application. A) Yes, the fact of looking for alternative methodologies to solve situations It is essential for the implementation of the first of the phases indicated.

At the biological level, this facilitates the generation of new neuronal connections and, consequently, new learning. It should be noted that the automatisms and routines are forms of energy saving to which our brain resorts due to the large volume of mental activity that must constantly process. That is can be considered as adaptive mechanisms , At first. Even so, an excess in this style of operation based on inertia diminishes the competence in the optimal exercise of our intellectual capacity.

5. Use of metaphors

The use of this type of resource when we communicate our ideas implies a previous process where different complex skills are combined. On the one hand, the recovery procedures of the information stored in our memory relative to past experiences and referred to the elements used in the metaphor must be executed. On the other hand, the establishment of analogies is activated where the similarities between the information contained in the concrete message and the content of the metaphor are linked. For this, common aspects must be analyzed, categories established and attention capacity activated. to discriminate between the relevant irrelevant information.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 types of attention and what are their characteristics"

6. Exercise of selective and sustained attention capacity

All new activity requires, among other processes, the investment of a great intensity of the attention and concentration capacity. Activities such as finding differences between received stimuli, learning a new language or playing a musical instrument, for example, involve:

  • A great activation of the working memory, which is the one that operates with the information that is in front of it for a certain time and allows to generate a concrete result or response - memorize a phone number to mark it in a few seconds, for example.
  • The creation of new connections which favors an increase in cognitive flexibility and the volume of new and discrepant information to be stored.
  • The implementation of the so-called inhibitory control (ability to control impulsive or inappropriate responses to the situation in question) The inhibitory control is closely related to discriminatory attention ability, since when there is no relevant stimulation, the executive functions are those responsible for sending the order not to react to such information.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kolb, B. & Wishaw I. Q. (2006) Human Neuropsychology, 5th edition. Editorial Panamericana Medical: Madrid.
  • Tirapu-Ustarroz, J., & Luna-Lario, P. (2008). Neuropsychology of executive functions. Neuropsychology Manual, 219-249.
  • Wujec, T. (2006). Mental Gymnastics Planet Editions: Madrid.

InBrief: Executive Function: Skills for Life and Learning (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 activités pour améliorer les fonctions exécutives

6 activités pour améliorer les fonctions exécutives

Septembre 26, 2022

Après le boom des dernières décennies de recherche scientifique basée sur les techniques de neuroimagerie et les méthodologies de calcul, il a été possible d’établir les mécanismes sur le fonctionnement de l'esprit humain lors de l'activation des procédures de raisonnement cognitif.

De cette manière, il existe aujourd’hui un grand consensus définir les fonctions exécutives (FFEE) en tant qu'ensemble de processus dont le but ultime est de surveiller l'exécution et de déterminer le contrôle de ladite activité cognitive et, par conséquent, comportementale chez l'individu.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 fonctions exécutives du cerveau humain"

Fonctions exécutives et leur importance dans les processus mentaux

Les fonctions dites exécutives sont localisées dans les lobes frontaux et interviennent fondamentalement dans des opérations cognitives spécifiques telles que la mémorisation, la métacognition, l'apprentissage et le raisonnement.


Sur le plan pratique, par conséquent, les fonctions exécutives permettent des actions telles que la planification d'événements ou de situations, le choix et la sélection de différentes options, la distinction entre les stimuli pertinents et l'élimination de ceux qui ne le sont pas, garder l'attention sur une tâche de manière soutenue , décidez quel type de mouvement moteur est approprié à chaque instant, etc. Tous font partie de trois classes de fonctions plus générales (Tirapu-Ustárroz et al, 2008):

  • Capacité à formuler des objectifs.
  • Pouvoir de planifier des processus et d’établir des stratégies pour atteindre ces objectifs.
  • Capacité à réaliser des buts et à les poser efficacement.

Il semble donc que Les bonnes performances des fonctions exécutives permettent une plus grande concurrence pour l'individu quand il s'agit de réguler son comportement et de le mettre en œuvre efficacement.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Activités de formation et d'amélioration des fonctions exécutives

Voyons comment ce type de faculté peut être formé par la mise en œuvre d'exercices simples et d'activités quotidiennes:

1. Description de l'apparence d'un objet ou d'une personne

Dans cette activité, de nombreuses capacités sont impliquées l'établissement de caractéristiques différentielles, l'élaboration de catégories , structuration du discours linguistique, vocabulaire, focalisation de l'attention sur les détails pertinents. D'autre part, la pensée alternative est encouragée, puisque cet objet est évalué dans une perspective objective (en fonction de son origine, de sa matière, de son histoire, de son utilisation actuelle et future) en éliminant les préjugés ou les évaluations subjectives.

2. Découverte des lignes directrices

La poursuite de séries incomplètes, par exemple, implique des processus de raisonnement abstrait déductif et inductif. Ainsi, notre esprit doit analyser toutes les caractéristiques physiques des éléments disponibles pour trouver des modèles et des caractéristiques communs afin de déduire quelle sera la prochaine composante. Ce processus est fondamental pour l’être humain, car il devient une ressource précieuse pour la génération d'attentes et dans la prise de décision , deux capacités essentielles pour notre psychisme et notre survie.


3. Génération de plans d'action alternatifs

Une des procédures de base des fonctions exécutives est liée à la flexibilité mentale quand il s'agit de réfléchir sur les situations ou les événements quotidiens. Par conséquent, une pratique qui exerce grandement cette capacité consiste à développer diverses explications alternatives sur les causes des expériences présentées ou à envisager d’autres options qu’un plan initial établi.

Lorsque nous générons plusieurs perspectives sur un événement, nous pouvons adopter une position plus objective, car nous recourons encore une fois à une analyse en profondeur des avantages et des inconvénients de chacune des options et nous permettons de tirer des conclusions plus rationnelles. Ainsi, le fait de détailler toutes les étapes à suivre dans chaque plan proposé implique également la mise en œuvre de processus tels que le raisonnement abstrait, la recherche d'analogies, la catégorisation ou la création d'attentes.

4. Pratique de la créativité

La recherche montre comment la créativité devient un élément central de l'intelligence humaine. Cette compétence peut être stimulé quotidiennement effectuer simplement une tâche normale d’une manière différente, en modifiant les procédures automatisées lors de son exécution.

Un exemple de cela serait d'aller au travail en utilisant différents chemins, de résoudre un problème de manière innovante ou de modifier l'itinéraire dans le supermarché lors de l'achat. On dit que le processus de création comprend les phases d’exploration et d’application. Ainsi, le fait de rechercher des méthodologies alternatives pour résoudre des situations C'est essentiel pour la mise en œuvre de la première des phases indiquées.

Au niveau biologique, cela facilite la création de nouvelles connexions neuronales et, par conséquent, un nouvel apprentissage. Il convient de noter que les automatismes et les routines sont des formes d’économie d’énergie auxquelles notre cerveau a recours en raison du volume important d’activité mentale qu’il doit traiter en permanence. C'est que peut être considéré comme un mécanisme d'adaptation , en principe. Même dans ce cas, un excès dans ce style d'opération basé sur l'inertie diminue la compétence dans l'exercice optimal de nos capacités intellectuelles.

5. Utilisation de métaphores

L'utilisation de ce type de ressource lorsque nous communiquons nos idées implique un processus préalable dans lequel différentes compétences complexes sont combinées. D'une part, les procédures de récupération des informations stockées dans notre mémoire relatives aux expériences passées et faisant référence aux éléments utilisés dans la métaphore doivent être exécutées. D'autre part, l'établissement d'analogies est activé lorsque les similitudes entre les informations contenues dans le message concret et le contenu de la métaphore sont liées. Pour cela, il faut analyser les aspects communs, définir les catégories et activer la capacité d’attention. établir une distinction entre les informations non pertinentes pertinentes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 types d'attention et leurs caractéristiques"

6. Exercice d'une capacité d'attention sélective et soutenue

Toute nouvelle activité nécessite, entre autres processus, l’investissement d’une grande intensité d’attention et de capacité de concentration. Des activités telles que la recherche de différences entre les stimuli reçus, l’apprentissage d’une nouvelle langue ou la pratique d’un instrument de musique, par exemple, impliquent:

  • Une grande activation de la mémoire de travail, celle qui fonctionne avec les informations qui lui sont présentées pendant un certain temps et permet de générer un résultat ou une réponse concret - mémoriser un numéro de téléphone pour le marquer en quelques secondes, par exemple.
  • La création de nouvelles connexions qui favorise une augmentation de la flexibilité cognitive et le volume d’informations nouvelles et divergentes à stocker.
  • La mise en œuvre du contrôle dit inhibiteur (capacité à contrôler les réponses impulsives ou inappropriées à la situation en question) Le contrôle inhibiteur est étroitement lié à la capacité d'attention discriminatoire, car en l'absence de stimulation pertinente, les fonctions exécutives sont responsables de l'envoi de la commande de ne pas réagir à ces informations.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kolb, B. & Wishaw I. Q. (2006) Neuropsychology Humain, 5ème édition. Éditorial Panamericana Medical: Madrid.
  • Tirapu-Ustarroz, J. et Luna-Lario, P. (2008). Neuropsychologie des fonctions exécutives. Manuel de neuropsychologie, 219-249.
  • Wujec, T. (2006). Gymnastique mentale Planet Editions: Madrid.

Rééduquer les difficultés d'attention, de concentration et de mémoire de travail de votre enfant (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes