yes, therapy helps!
6 consequences of pollution on health and society

6 consequences of pollution on health and society

July 19, 2024

All humans share everything on Earth with all living beings on the planet. In this way, no matter how far a living being from the other is, what impacts negatively on the planet potentially affects each and every species.

It is obvious that there are consequences of pollution on health and society . Pollution in our environment is one of the agents that are negative for the ecosystems in which we live, having a significant impact on the lives of people and all living beings.

  • Related article: "Psychology and Nutrition: the importance of emotional feeding"

Main consequences of pollution for health and society

Pollution is one of the main concerns of the world for its contribution to the destruction of the world as we have known it. In addition, it has a serious impact on human health and the environment.


Most people think of water pipes from industrial waste, oil spills or toxic waste containers left in the environment. Even so, the sources of contamination are generally more subtle and the most dangerous pollution.

When we live in an environment without pollution we have a better quality of life. There are different types of pollution, if air and water pollution stand out from all of them. Next we will see what are the main consequences of pollution on health and society.

1. Water poisoning

In addition to industrial waste and motorized vehicles , there are other sources of pollution closer to our activity than we think. Fertilizers used in our gardens, oil discarded by the sink or used batteries without recycling are an example of this.


During heavy rains, all the material can seep into the subsoil with water, and can poison the ecosystems in which we live, affecting plants and animals. For example, water pollution ends up affecting marine life, which is one of our food sources.

The breeding of farm animals also involves many problems for the subsoil because of the waste of these animals. These can provide products derived from nitrogen or phosphorus, while at the same time cations such as potassium or magnesium that are fixed in the subsoil and contaminate it, harming other species in the environment.

Bacteria, viruses and parasites are also biological agents that can contaminate the water that is used for human consumption. Pathogens can come from human or animal faecal material due to inadequate water treatment.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 types of ecosystems: the different habitats we find on Earth"

2. Harmful food

Although they have not been intentionally added, natural contaminants or chemical substances can be found in foods. If the presence is mainly due to the result of several stages of production, processing or transport, as well as environmental pollution.

Due to environmental pollution, some heavy metals can be part of our food . Their effects depend on the concentration in which they are found and is due to their presence naturally or due to pollution from polluting sources such as the motors of motor vehicles.

Arsenic, mercury, lead, cadmium and aluminum are the main causes of environmental contamination in food naturally, but they are joined by other metals or the same from global industrialization.

3. Large pollution in cities

The consequences of pollution affect the whole population by health issues and also at the society level, being the people most directly affected those who live in large cities . Cough and sibilants are common symptoms that are observed in the people of the city.

It is estimated that 7 million people die every year in the world due to pathologies related to air pollution. In urban areas with a high concentration of population is where there is more pollution, Product of transportation means, industry, heating systems , etc.

In a city there is the emission of large amounts of gases that are harmful to our health. Scientifically, a very close relationship has been found between poor air quality in large cities and the increasing rate of disease. Highlights cardiovascular and respiratory diseases, as well as other organic complications, cancer, and low birth weight and complications in fetal growth.

4. Injury with physical exercise

Having contaminated air is a cause for concern even if we want to take care of ourselves by doing physical exercise. When it comes to physical activity is always better to do away from the pockets of air pollution. If we do not do it like that we can suck up many harmful particles , and that is that before the great demands of oxygen of our body we need more breaths per minute.

In this way, more contaminants can reach our respiratory tract, where they can remain thereafter.

If there is no possibility of going to sport outside the city, it is better to select the zones and hours with the least pollution index. For example, the first hours of the morning are more suitable for exercise, because during the night there has been no traffic. There are also people who wear masks with special filters , which allows them to perform the exercise where they want.

5. Disease development

Exposure to toxic substances, either short or long term, It has a toxicological impact on living beings, and obviously this includes us as humans .

Air pollution is one of the main types of pollution. Diseases such as asthma, lung cancer, ventricular hypertrophy, autism, retinopathy or degenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's have a higher incidence and progression if the person is exposed to this type of contamination. It also damages the immune system and the endocrine and reproductive systems.

On the other hand, water contaminated by chemicals can also cause hormonal and reproductive problems, damage to the nervous system, liver and kidney damage and cancer. Being exposed to water contaminated with substances such as mercury can lead to Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's, heart disease and even death in very high concentrations.

6. Extinction of species

Pollution destroys ecosystems and causes trophic chains to be destabilized, leading to extinction of all kinds of life forms.

Bibliographic references:

  • Díaz-Fierros Tabernero, F., Díaz-Fierros Viqueira, F. and Peña Castiñeira, F.J. (2000) Problems and perspectives of environmental health. Bioethics Notebooks, 9 (42), 169-176.
  • Ferrer A, Nogué S, Vargas F. and Castillo O. (2000). Toxicovigilance: a useful tool for public health. Med Clin, 115, 238.
  • Smith, K.R., Corvalan, C.F., Kjellstrom, T. (1999). How much global ill health is attributable to environmental factors? Epidemiology 10 (5), 573-84.
  • Weiland, S.K., Husing, A., Strachan, D.P., Rzehak, P. and Pearce, N. (2004). Climate and the prevalence of symptoms of asthma, allergic rhinitis, and atopic eczema in children. Occup Environ Med, 61 (7), 609-615.

Long-term effects of air pollution (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 conséquences de la pollution sur la santé et la société

6 conséquences de la pollution sur la santé et la société

Janvier 17, 2022

Tous les humains partagent tout sur la Terre avec tous les êtres vivants de la planète. De cette manière, quelle que soit la distance qui sépare un être vivant de l'autre, ce qui a un impact négatif sur la planète affecte potentiellement chaque espèce.

Il est évident que la pollution a des conséquences sur la santé et la société . La pollution dans notre environnement est l’un des agents négatifs pour les écosystèmes dans lesquels nous vivons, ayant un impact significatif sur la vie des personnes et de tous les êtres vivants.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie et nutrition: l'importance de l'alimentation émotionnelle"

Principales conséquences de la pollution pour la santé et la société

La pollution est l’une des principales préoccupations du monde pour sa contribution à la destruction du monde tel que nous l’avons connu. De plus, cela a de graves répercussions sur la santé humaine et l'environnement.


La plupart des gens pensent aux conduites d'eau des déchets industriels, des déversements d'hydrocarbures ou des conteneurs de déchets toxiques laissés dans l'environnement. Même comme ça, les sources de contamination sont généralement plus subtiles et la pollution la plus dangereuse.

Lorsque nous vivons dans un environnement sans pollution, nous avons une meilleure qualité de vie. Il existe différents types de pollution si la pollution de l’air et de l’eau se démarque de toutes. Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont les principales conséquences de la pollution sur la santé et la société.

1. intoxication par l'eau

En plus des déchets industriels et des véhicules motorisés , il existe d’autres sources de pollution plus proches de notre activité que nous le pensons. Les engrais utilisés dans nos jardins, les huiles jetées par l'évier ou les piles usagées sans recyclage en sont un exemple.


Lors de fortes pluies, tout le matériel peut s'infiltrer dans le sous-sol avec de l'eau et peut empoisonner les écosystèmes dans lesquels nous vivons, affectant ainsi les plantes et les animaux. Par exemple, la pollution de l’eau finit par affecter la vie marine, qui est l’une de nos sources de nourriture.

L'élevage d'animaux de ferme pose également de nombreux problèmes pour le sous-sol à cause du gaspillage de ces animaux. Ceux-ci peuvent fournir des produits dérivés de l'azote ou du phosphore, tandis que des cations tels que le potassium ou le magnésium, fixés dans le sous-sol, le contaminent et nuisent aux autres espèces de l'environnement.

Les bactéries, les virus et les parasites sont également des agents biologiques susceptibles de contaminer l’eau utilisée pour la consommation humaine. Les agents pathogènes peuvent provenir de matières fécales humaines ou animales en raison d'un traitement inadéquat de l'eau.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les 6 types d'écosystèmes: les différents habitats que nous trouvons sur Terre"

2. Nourriture nuisible

Bien qu'ils n'aient pas été ajoutés intentionnellement, des contaminants naturels ou des substances chimiques peuvent être trouvés dans les aliments. Si la présence est principalement due au résultat de plusieurs étapes de production, de transformation ou de transport, ainsi que de pollution de l'environnement.

En raison de la pollution de l'environnement, certains métaux lourds peuvent faire partie de notre nourriture . Leurs effets dépendent de la concentration dans laquelle ils se trouvent et sont dus à leur présence naturelle ou à la pollution provenant de sources polluantes telles que les moteurs de véhicules automobiles.

L’arsenic, le mercure, le plomb, le cadmium et l’aluminium sont les principales causes de contamination de l’environnement par les aliments, mais ils sont rejoints par d’autres métaux, voire similaires, issus de l’industrialisation mondiale.

3. Grande pollution dans les villes

Les conséquences de la pollution touchent l’ensemble de la population par des problèmes de santé mais également au niveau de la société, car les personnes les plus directement touchées par celles qui vivent dans les grandes villes . La toux et les sibilants sont des symptômes courants observés chez les citadins.

On estime que 7 millions de personnes meurent chaque année dans le monde en raison de pathologies liées à la pollution de l'air. Dans les zones urbaines à forte concentration de population, il y a plus de pollution, Produit de transport, industrie, systèmes de chauffage etc.

Dans une ville, il y a émission de grandes quantités de gaz nocifs pour la santé. Scientifiquement, une relation très étroite a été établie entre la mauvaise qualité de l'air dans les grandes villes et le taux croissant de maladies. Met en évidence les maladies cardiovasculaires et respiratoires, ainsi que d'autres complications organiques, le cancer, l'insuffisance pondérale à la naissance et les complications de la croissance du fœtus.

4. Blessure avec l'exercice physique

Avoir de l'air contaminé est une source de préoccupation même si nous voulons prendre soin de nous en faisant de l'exercice physique. En matière d'activité physique, il est toujours préférable d'éviter les poches de pollution de l'air. Si on ne le fait pas comme ça nous pouvons aspirer de nombreuses particules nocives et c’est qu’avant les grandes demandes en oxygène de notre corps, nous avons besoin de plus de respirations par minute.

De cette manière, davantage de contaminants peuvent atteindre nos voies respiratoires, où ils peuvent rester par la suite.

S'il n'y a aucune possibilité de faire du sport en dehors de la ville, il est préférable de sélectionner les zones et les heures avec le moins de pollution. Par exemple, les premières heures de la matinée sont plus propices à l'exercice, car il n'y a pas de circulation pendant la nuit. Il y a aussi des gens qui portent des masques avec des filtres spéciaux , ce qui leur permet d’effectuer l’exercice où ils le souhaitent.

5. Développement de la maladie

Exposition à des substances toxiques, à court ou à long terme, Cela a un impact toxicologique sur les êtres vivants et, évidemment, cela nous concerne en tant qu'êtres humains. .

La pollution de l'air est l'un des principaux types de pollution. Des maladies telles que l'asthme, le cancer du poumon, l'hypertrophie ventriculaire, l'autisme, la rétinopathie ou des maladies dégénératives telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer et la maladie de Parkinson ont une incidence et une progression plus élevées si la personne est exposée à ce type de contamination. Il endommage également le système immunitaire et les systèmes endocrinien et reproducteur.

D'autre part, l'eau contaminée par des produits chimiques peut également causer des problèmes hormonaux et reproductifs, des lésions du système nerveux, des lésions du foie et des reins et des cancers. Être exposé à de l'eau contaminée avec des substances telles que le mercure peut conduire à la maladie de Parkinson, la maladie d'Alzheimer, une maladie cardiaque et même la mort en très fortes concentrations.

6. Extinction des espèces

La pollution détruit les écosystèmes et déstabilise les chaînes trophiques, entraînant l’extinction de toutes sortes de formes de vie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Díaz-Fierros Tabernero, F., Díaz-Fierros Viqueira, F. et Peña Castiñeira, F.J. (2000) Problèmes et perspectives de la santé environnementale. Cahiers de bioéthique, 9 (42), 169-176.
  • Ferrer A, Nogué S, Vargas F. et Castillo O. (2000). La toxicovigilance: un outil utile pour la santé publique. Med Clin, 115, 238.
  • Smith, K. R., Corvalan, C. F., Kjellstrom, T. (1999). Dans quelle mesure les problèmes de santé mondiaux sont-ils attribuables à des facteurs environnementaux? Epidemiology 10 (5), 573-84.
  • Weiland, S. K., Husing, A., Strachan, D. P., Rzehak, P. et Pearce, N. (2004). Climat et prévalence des symptômes d'asthme, de rhinite allergique et d'eczéma atopique chez les enfants. Occup Environ Med, 61 (7), 609-615.

Milieu de vie en santé - les polluants atmosphériques (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes