yes, therapy helps!
6 keys to avoid absurd couple discussions

6 keys to avoid absurd couple discussions

May 6, 2021

Relationships are often contexts in which all emotions are magnified. It is frequent that in them the emotional impact of an apparently banal fact is much more powerful than in any other situation and type of interaction. Love makes that, simply, our emotional side take the reins of much of our behavior, for better or for worse.

That is why It is very important to learn to solve those absurd discussions that occur within the relationship , so that they do not leave a mark on our way of thinking about (and interacting with) the other person.

Distinguishing absurd disputes from those that are not

Now, the first thing we have to do to prevent these problems is to analyze to what extent the history of discussions with our partner is full of disputes that, effectively, they are absurd if they are analyzed with a certain coldness once they have passed .


How to distinguish meaningless discussions from those that are not? For this we must ask ourselves to what extent the discussions and moments of discomfort are due or not to the communication. If a reasonable explanation for a large part of these discussions can be based on a communication problem and expectations, there are many numbers that a good part of them are "silly" discussions, in the sense that what produces them in a communication deficit and a wrong perception of things.

It may be difficult to reach this conclusion, but for this we have a powerful tool: the opinions of others . Other people, whose interests are not compromised by the existence of our relationship and who have seen first hand much of the discussions we have had and the reasons that have produced them, will help us to have a vision as objective as possible about the topic.


We must combine this resource with a sincere and honest effort on our part when analyzing coldly what has happened to us, and the situations that have been giving rise to the disputes.

Avoiding toxic relationships

What if after this stage of review of past discussions we came to the conclusion that the fundamental problem is not communication? Several things can happen: either we are wrong, which is always possible, or the communication problems are the consequence of other types of more serious problems related or not to our relationship, or we are living in one of the so-called toxic relationships .

Toxic relationships are those in which there are serious structural problems in the functioning of the relationship : problems that are very difficult to correct and that seriously damage the welfare of one or both of the people. This generic category also includes those relationships in which there is a clear mistreatment and an unequal power relationship in which one person dominates the other. To learn more about toxic relationships, you can read this article.


Preventing meaningless arguments

At this point, we already know that silly discussions have too much impact on our relationship, which is why we are interested in preventing them from happening again .

We know, in addition, that this is a problem that can be solved, even in the medium and long term, since unlike what happens in toxic relationships, what produces it is not something structural, but rather superficial and that it can be corrected by learning and unlearning certain behaviors. For this, they are precisely the keys to avoid silly couple discussions presented below.

Keys to avoid discussions of this type

These are some principles to follow in the mission to make the life of a couple enter another relationship dynamic, another phase.

Although what you want to correct is not part of the core of the relationship or can be associated with a toxic relationship, that does not mean that managing it is an easy task, because this is a mission in which both members of the couple have to be involved . Thus, the optimal thing would be to reinforce the application of these keys with couples therapy sessions .

1. The first contact

We start from a situation in which there is an asymmetry: we want to begin to prevent and manage in a more or less systematic way absurd couple discussions, but the other person does not yet know it. The first step of a project based on improving communication between two people is obviously to communicate it to them. And to do so, we must take advantage of a moment of calm, in which the mood of both is good and the samples of affection are possible. It is also necessary to make sure that you have enough time to talk .

In this way the two components of the relationship will associate the beginning of this plan with that pleasant context in which it began to take its first steps, and will interpret this initiative as what it is: a mission based on good will and the re-establishment of strong and solid affective ties . On the other hand, if we start this phase during or just after an argument, the other person will most likely adopt a defensive attitude.

The explanation should be simple, honest and communicated spontaneously, without following a rigid script, so that nonverbal language is fully adapted to what is said.

2. Examining past situations

Once the first step is taken, and immediately after, if possible, the advisable thing is to remember together absurd past discussions and to speak on the own point of view and in what at that time was thought to be seen. This will make us learn things that we did not know about how the other person sees the relationship, and what their expectations are and what they value most.

If this first talk takes place on motivations that may be of interest to both members of the couple equally, the simple fact of having a dialogue of this kind for the first time is in itself very beneficial.

3. Avoiding reproaches

In the remembrance of past discussions, there is a danger that the two components of a couple have to avoid: falling into reproaches .

This does not mean that we can not express things that once caused us anger (in fact, it is advisable to do so), but we have to pay attention to the way in which we communicate them so that they do not sound like a show of revenge in which We mainly seek that the other person repents and recognizes that we are right. That is, it is a question of forms, not of content .

4. Scheduling talks about the status of the relationship

At this point, you may have been talking about it for a while, so the best thing is to end the first talk .

However, the completion of this first session (it is a session of self-therapy, however improvised and informal it may be) both members of the couple have to commit to re-dedicate a moment to talk about how they perceive the relationship , to give their point of view on possible real or potential conflicts, etc.

5. Renouncing the internet as a means to communicate a lot

One of the measures to be implemented is, directly, reach an agreement to use the internet only to communicate the essential and the most objective . The samples of affection sent through a chat can be fine if they are simple, but should not be part of a speech too elaborate. Real communication should be reserved only for situations in which dialogue is face to face.

The objective of this is to eliminate the spaces in which the communication is ambiguous in the moments in which we are learning to adopt the point of view of the other person. Later, when it is perceived that absurd discussions have subsided, you can re-use chats without restrictions.

6. Creating action protocols

In one of these talks you can set protocols to carry out over those discussions that we think are based on nothing , that is, in the lack of dialogue. For example, it may consist of a simple gesture. However, in order not to detract from this symbol, a firm commitment is necessary not to use this as a resource to escape from discussions based on something serious.


10 Early Signs of a Toxic Relationship (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 clés pour éviter des discussions de couple absurdes

6 clés pour éviter des discussions de couple absurdes

Juillet 13, 2022

Les relations sont souvent des contextes dans lesquels toutes les émotions sont amplifiées. Il est fréquent que chez eux l'impact émotionnel d'un fait apparemment banal soit beaucoup plus puissant que dans toute autre situation et type d'interaction. L'amour fait que, tout simplement, notre côté émotionnel prend les rênes d'une grande partie de notre comportement, pour le meilleur ou pour le pire.

C'est pour ça que Il est très important d’apprendre à résoudre ces discussions absurdes au sein de la relation. , afin qu’ils ne marquent pas notre façon de penser (et d’interagir avec) l’autre personne.

Distinguer les différends absurdes de ceux qui ne le sont pas

Maintenant, la première chose à faire pour prévenir ces problèmes est d’analyser dans quelle mesure l’historique des discussions avec notre partenaire est riche en différends qui, effectivement, ils sont absurdes s'ils sont analysés avec une certaine froideur une fois qu'ils sont passés .


Comment distinguer les discussions sans signification de celles qui ne le sont pas? Pour cela, nous devons nous demander dans quelle mesure les discussions et les moments de gêne sont dus ou non à la communication. Si une explication raisonnable pour une grande partie de ces discussions peut être basée sur un problème de communication et sur des attentes, il existe de nombreux chiffres indiquant qu'une bonne partie d’entre elles sont des discussions "stupides", en ce sens que ce qui les produit dans un déficit de communication et une mauvaise perception des choses.

Il peut être difficile d’atteindre cette conclusion, mais pour cela, nous disposons d’un outil puissant: les opinions des autres . D’autres personnes, dont les intérêts ne sont pas compromis par l’existence de nos relations et qui ont été les témoins directs des nombreuses discussions que nous avons eues et des raisons qui les ont motivées, nous aideront à avoir une vision aussi objective que possible. du sujet.


Nous devons combiner cette ressource avec un effort sincère et honnête de notre part lorsque nous analysons froidement ce qui nous est arrivé et les situations qui ont donné lieu aux conflits.

Éviter les relations toxiques

Et si, après cette phase d’examen des discussions antérieures, nous arrivions à la conclusion que le problème fondamental n’était pas la communication? Plusieurs choses peuvent se produire: soit nous nous trompons, ce qui est toujours possible, soit les problèmes de communication sont la conséquence d’autres types de problèmes plus graves liés ou non à notre relation, ou nous vivons dans l'une des relations dites toxiques .

Les relations toxiques sont ceux dans lesquels il existe de graves problèmes structurels dans le fonctionnement de la relation : problèmes qui sont très difficiles à résoudre et qui nuisent gravement au bien-être de l'une ou des deux personnes. Cette catégorie générique comprend également les relations dans lesquelles il existe clairement un mauvais traitement et une relation de pouvoir inégale dans lesquelles une personne domine l'autre. Pour en savoir plus sur les relations toxiques, vous pouvez lire cet article.


Prévenir les arguments sans signification

À ce stade, nous savons déjà que discussions idiotes ont trop d'impact sur nos relations, c'est pourquoi nous souhaitons les empêcher de se reproduire .

Nous savons en outre que c’est un problème qui peut être résolu, même à moyen et long terme, car contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les relations toxiques, ce qui le produit n’est pas quelque chose de structurel, mais plutôt de surface et qui il peut être corrigé en apprenant et en désapprouvant certains comportements. Pour cela, ce sont précisément les clés pour éviter les discussions de couple idiotes présentées ci-dessous.

Clés pour éviter les discussions de ce type

Ce sont quelques principes à suivre dans la mission de faire entrer la vie d’un couple dans une autre relation dynamique, une autre phase.

Bien que ce que vous souhaitiez corriger ne fasse pas partie du cœur de la relation ou puisse être associé à une relation toxique, cela ne signifie pas que la gérer est une tâche facile, car il s'agit d'une mission dans laquelle les deux membres du couple doivent être impliqués . Pour lui, l'idéal serait de renforcer l'application de ces clés lors de séances de thérapie de couple .

1. Le premier contact

Nous partons d'une situation d'asymétrie: nous voulons commencer à prévenir et à gérer de manière plus ou moins systématique des discussions de couple absurdes, mais l'autre personne ne le sait pas encore. La première étape d'un projet basé sur l'amélioration de la communication entre deux personnes consiste évidemment à la leur communiquer. Et pour ce faire, nous devons profiter d'un moment de calme, dans lequel l'ambiance des deux est bonne et où les échantillons d'affection sont possibles. Il est également nécessaire de vous assurer que vous avez assez de temps pour parler .

De cette façon, les deux composantes de la relation associeront le début de ce plan à ce contexte agréable dans lequel il a commencé à faire ses premiers pas et interpréteront cette initiative comme telle.: une mission basée sur la bonne volonté et le rétablissement de liens affectifs forts et solides . D'un autre côté, si nous commençons cette phase pendant ou juste après une dispute, l'autre personne adoptera probablement une attitude défensive.

L'explication doit être simple, honnête et communiquée spontanément, sans suivre un script rigide, pour que le langage non verbal soit parfaitement adapté à ce qui est dit.

2. Examen des situations passées

Une fois la première étape franchie et immédiatement après, si possible, il est conseillé de se souvenir ensemble des discussions absurdes du passé et de parler de son point de vue. et dans ce que l'on pensait alors être vu. Cela nous fera apprendre des choses que nous ne savions pas sur la façon dont l'autre personne voit la relation, quelles sont ses attentes et quelles sont ses valeurs les plus importantes.

Si cette première discussion a lieu sur des motivations pouvant intéresser également les deux membres du couple, le simple fait d'avoir un tel dialogue pour la première fois est en soi très bénéfique.

3. Éviter les reproches

Dans le souvenir des discussions passées, il y a un danger que les deux composantes d'un couple doivent éviter: tomber dans des reproches .

Cela ne signifie pas que nous ne pouvons pas exprimer des choses qui nous avaient jadis provoqué de la colère (en fait, il est conseillé de le faire), mais nous devons faire attention à la façon dont nous les communiquons pour qu'elles ne sonnent pas comme une vengeance. Nous cherchons principalement à ce que l'autre personne se repente et reconnaisse que nous avons raison. C'est-à-dire qu'il s'agit de formes et non de contenu .

4. La planification parle de l'état de la relation

À ce stade, vous en parliez peut-être depuis un moment, alors la meilleure chose à faire est de mettre fin au premier entretien .

Cependant, l'achèvement de cette première session (il s'agit d'une séance d'auto-thérapie, aussi improvisée soit-elle, informelle) les deux membres du couple doivent s'engager à consacrer un moment supplémentaire à la manière dont ils perçoivent la relation , donner leur point de vue sur d'éventuels conflits réels ou potentiels, etc.

5. Renoncer à Internet comme moyen de beaucoup communiquer

L’une des mesures à mettre en œuvre est, directement, conclure un accord pour utiliser Internet uniquement pour communiquer l'essentiel et le plus objectif . Les échantillons d'affection envoyés par le biais d'une conversation peuvent être utiles s'ils sont simples, mais ne devraient pas faire partie d'un discours trop élaboré. La communication réelle ne devrait être réservée qu'aux situations dans lesquelles le dialogue est face à face.

L'objectif est d'éliminer les espaces dans lesquels la communication est ambiguë dans les moments où nous apprenons à adopter le point de vue de l'autre personne. Plus tard, quand il est perçu que les discussions absurdes se sont apaisées, vous pouvez réutiliser les discussions sans restrictions.

6. Création de protocoles d'action

Dans l'un de ces entretiens vous pouvez définir des protocoles pour mener à bien ces discussions que nous pensons ne sont basées sur rien , c’est-à-dire dans l’absence de dialogue. Par exemple, il peut s'agir d'un simple geste. Cependant, afin de ne pas nuire à ce symbole, un engagement ferme est nécessaire de ne pas l'utiliser comme une ressource pour échapper aux discussions fondées sur quelque chose de grave.


Arianna Huffington: What’s is a successful life? - Couple Thinkers - EP 6 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes