yes, therapy helps!
6 keys to overcome a betrayal

6 keys to overcome a betrayal

April 29, 2024

Betrayal is one of those circumstances that we can suffer in silence for a while , and that can hurt the heart of the betrayed person. Whether on the part of the couple, a friend, family members or a co-worker, this situation arouses very intense and painful emotions.

And is that the loss of confidence that occurs with the "traitor" makes it very difficult to reconcile with that person. In fact, in many cases, after the betrayal there is a grieving process in which it is necessary to accept the situation. A complicated grieving process, because circumstances are not ideal to heal wounds.

Over time, however, one can rebuild his life and move on. You can even forgive the other person.


  • Maybe you're interested: "51 phrases about the friendship you should read"

How to overcome a betrayal

Overcoming a betrayal is not easy , and if the person matters to us a lot, it can affect the different areas of our life. Now, these delicate and painful situations can sink for a while, but they can also mean valuable experiences and learning of incalculable value for and for life.

But, What to do when they betray us? How to overcome this delicate moment? In the following lines we give you some keys to do it.

1. Analyze the circumstances in which the betrayal occurred

After a betrayal, and as in any situation of mourning, the first stage that the person experiences is that of shock. Betrayal is such a painful situation that some people experience a knot in the stomach and terrible disappointment and sadness. In this situations it is important to talk to someone close , because channeling this type of emotions may not be easy. Talking to other individuals can also allow you to see things from another perspective.


It is also important that you analyze the context and the reason why the betrayal occurred. For example, if we talk about a couple's infidelity, you may not have taken into account the needs of the other person. It is good to do self-criticism once the phase of denial passes .

2. Do not be hard on yourself

Often, in these situations, anger and sadness appear. Sadness is often experienced when a person begins to recognize the extent of the situation. Despite the pain and the feeling of betrayal, It is also common to remember good things about the relationship and what one misses. If you feel betrayed, it is because the other person was important to you.

The truth is that during the time of sadness you need to release those emotions, and, in fact, this can happen at the same time you feel anger. Emotional instability is frequent in these delicate moments. What you should do is treat yourself with compassion, and if you have to cry, do it! The important thing is that you are not hard on yourself.


  • Related article: "Compassion: a basic tool in our relationships"

3. Do not hold a grudge

While we should treat ourselves with love, we should not hold a grudge against other people either. When we feel anger, we experience a need for relief, especially against the person who hurt us. We want to get revenge.

However, this is not a good way to channel emotions, and what we can achieve with this action also harms us. The best alternative is, in reality, not to hold a grudge .

  • Related article: "Resentful people: 10 traits and attitudes that characterizes them"

4. Accept the situation

Acceptance is one of the best decisions we can make to restore well-being and mental health. Because as I said in the previous point, to recreate ourselves in frustration or anger The only thing that is going to propitiate is that we are the ones who suffer the most . Accepting something like this is not always easy, but in the article "Self-acceptance: 5 psychological tips to achieve it" you can find useful information to achieve it.

5. Take your time

Acceptance can take time because you have to follow a series of stages and you need time to reflect on what happened. Now, as we explained in the article "Does time cure everything? Science responds. " The time is good to see things from another perspective, but to heal emotional wounds we must also do our part .

6. Be honest

It is important that, throughout the process, be honest with yourself and the other person. Connect with oneself and not avoid reality is one of the best ways to deal with problems . On the other hand, if, for example, you want to overcome an infidelity, sincerity is the best way to do it.In this sense, you can learn more in the article "Overcome an infidelity: the 5 keys to achieve it".

7. Excuse me!

Forgiving that person who has betrayed you does not mean that you have to accept it again in your life or that you agree with its behavior, but that it is an act of maturity , in which the situation has been accepted and the person is freed from feeling resentment. In fact, forgiveness has many benefits. In the article "Forgiveness: should I or should I not forgive the one who hurt me?" You can prove it.

What are the ideal situations to forgive? We should forgive a betrayal in the following circumstances.

  • The person recognizes the person the harm he or she has caused and is trying to change the behavior.
  • The individual clearly apologizes and gives evidence that he does not intend to do it again.
  • His performance was the result of anger or disappointment and the person regretted acting in this way.
  • He has learned from that behavior and is unlikely to do it again.
  • It is an isolated behavior, relatively unimportant .

Trust After An Affair - Surviving Infidelity In Marriage (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 clés pour surmonter une trahison

6 clés pour surmonter une trahison

Juillet 23, 2019

La trahison est une de ces circonstances que nous pouvons souffrir en silence pendant un moment , et cela peut blesser le coeur de la personne trahie. Que ce soit pour le couple, un ami, des membres de la famille ou un collègue, cette situation suscite des émotions intenses et douloureuses.

Et est-ce que la perte de confiance avec le "traître" rend très difficile la réconciliation avec cette personne? En fait, dans de nombreux cas, après la trahison, il y a un processus de deuil dans lequel il est nécessaire d'accepter la situation. Un processus de deuil compliqué, car les circonstances ne sont pas idéales pour soigner les blessures.

Avec le temps, cependant, on peut reconstruire sa vie et passer à autre chose. Vous pouvez même pardonner à l'autre personne.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "51 phrases sur l'amitié à lire"

Comment surmonter une trahison

Surmonter une trahison n'est pas facile et si la personne compte beaucoup pour nous, cela peut affecter les différents domaines de notre vie. Maintenant, ces situations délicates et douloureuses peuvent sombrer pendant un certain temps, mais elles peuvent aussi signifier des expériences enrichissantes et un apprentissage d'une valeur incalculable pour la vie.

Mais Que faire quand ils nous trahissent? Comment surmonter ce moment délicat? Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous donnons quelques clés pour le faire.

1. Analyser les circonstances dans lesquelles la trahison s'est produite

Après une trahison et comme dans toute situation de deuil, la première étape vécue par la personne est celle du choc. La trahison est une situation tellement douloureuse que certaines personnes ressentent un nœud dans l'estomac et une terrible déception et une profonde tristesse. Dans ces situations il est important de parler à quelqu'un de proche , car canaliser ce type d’émotions peut ne pas être facile. Parler à d'autres personnes peut également vous permettre de voir les choses sous un autre angle.


Il est également important que vous analysiez le contexte et la raison pour laquelle la trahison a eu lieu. Par exemple, si nous parlons d'infidélité d'un couple, vous n'avez peut-être pas pris en compte les besoins de l'autre personne. Il est bon de faire de l'autocritique une fois la phase de déni passée .

2. Ne soyez pas dur avec vous-même

Souvent, dans ces situations, la colère et la tristesse apparaissent. On ressent souvent de la tristesse lorsqu'une personne commence à reconnaître l'étendue de la situation. Malgré la douleur et le sentiment de trahison, Il est également courant de se rappeler de bonnes choses à propos de la relation et ce qu'on manque Si vous vous sentez trahi, c'est que l'autre personne était importante pour vous.

La vérité est que pendant le temps de tristesse, vous devez libérer ces émotions et, en fait, cela peut se produire en même temps que vous ressentez de la colère. L'instabilité émotionnelle est fréquente dans ces moments délicats. Ce que vous devriez faire est de vous traiter avec compassion, et si vous devez pleurer, faites-le! La chose importante est que vous n'êtes pas dur avec vous-même.


  • Article connexe: "La compassion: un outil de base dans nos relations"

3. Ne gardez pas rancune

Bien que nous devrions nous traiter avec amour, nous ne devrions pas non plus garder rancune envers les autres. Lorsque nous ressentons de la colère, nous éprouvons un besoin de soulagement, en particulier contre la personne qui nous a fait du mal. Nous voulons nous venger.

Cependant, ce n’est pas un bon moyen de canaliser les émotions et ce que nous pouvons réaliser avec cette action nous nuit également. La meilleure alternative est, en réalité, de ne pas garder rancune .

  • Article connexe: "Personnes éprouvées: 10 traits et attitudes qui les caractérisent"

4. Accepter la situation

L’acceptation est l’une des meilleures décisions que nous puissions prendre pour rétablir le bien-être et la santé mentale. Parce que, comme je l'ai dit dans le point précédent, se recréer dans la frustration ou la colère La seule chose qui va se passer est que nous sommes ceux qui souffrent le plus . Accepter quelque chose comme cela n’est pas toujours facile, mais dans l’article "Acceptation de soi: 5 astuces psychologiques pour l’atteindre", vous pouvez trouver des informations utiles à cet effet.

5. Prends ton temps

L'acceptation peut prendre du temps car vous devez suivre une série d'étapes et vous avez besoin de temps pour réfléchir à ce qui s'est passé. Maintenant, comme nous l'avons expliqué dans l'article "Le temps guérit-il tout? La science répond. " Il est temps de voir les choses sous un autre angle, mais pour guérir les blessures émotionnelles, nous devons aussi faire notre part .

6. être honnête

Il est important que, tout au long du processus, soyez honnête avec vous-même et avec l'autre personne. Se connecter avec soi-même et ne pas éviter la réalité est l'un des meilleurs moyens de résoudre les problèmes . Par contre, si vous voulez par exemple surmonter une infidélité, la sincérité est la meilleure façon de le faire.En ce sens, vous pouvez en apprendre plus dans l'article "Surmonter une infidélité: les 5 clés pour y parvenir".

7. Excusez moi!

Pardonner à la personne qui vous a trahi ne signifie pas que vous devez l'accepter à nouveau dans votre vie ou que vous êtes d'accord avec son comportement, mais que c'est un acte de maturité , dans lequel la situation a été acceptée et la personne est libérée du ressentiment. En fait, le pardon présente de nombreux avantages. Dans l'article "Pardon: dois-je ou ne dois-je pas pardonner à celui qui m'a fait mal?" Vous pouvez le prouver.

Quelles sont les situations idéales pour pardonner? Nous devrions pardonner une trahison dans les circonstances suivantes.

  • La personne reconnaît le préjudice qu'elle a causé et tente de modifier son comportement.
  • L'individu s'excuse clairement et témoigne qu'il n'a pas l'intention de le refaire.
  • Sa performance était le résultat de la colère ou de la déception et la personne a regretté d'avoir agi de la sorte.
  • Il a appris de ce comportement et il est peu probable que cela se reproduise.
  • C'est un comportement isolé, relativement sans importance .

Deuil amoureux : Comment surmonter une rupture et avancer dans sa vie sentimentale ? (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes