yes, therapy helps!
6 reasons why you should talk about sex with your children

6 reasons why you should talk about sex with your children

June 17, 2024

While in Western society sex is no longer a taboo subject, in many homes talking about it is still a complicated issue . Sex appears on television, in the cinema, in magazines and even advertising posters, but from the inside, it is still an uncomfortable and shameful topic, and many parents resist having these kinds of conversations with their children.

The world is changing a lot in the last decades due to the new technologies and exposure and media repercussion that sex has, it makes necessary a correct sexual education from the different educational agents, especially from the family. The classic way of practicing sex has been giving way to more diversified ways of relating sexually.


A study confirms the importance of talking about sex in the family

If you are a father you will be interested to know that a recent study has shown that talking to your children about sex is beneficial for them . This is especially important for adolescents, since treating sex as something forbidden can condition them negatively for the rest of their lives. The correct sex education can prevent sexually transmitted diseases, sexual disorders, improve future relationships, etc., that is, it can improve the emotional and physical health of your children and positively affect their future well-being.

A study conducted by Laura Widman of North Carolina State University and published in JAMA Pediatrics states that talking about sex with parents, especially with mothers, has a positive effect on the safer sexual behavior of adolescents , especially among the girls. To carry out the study, 52 studies of the last 30 years in which more than 25,000 adolescents had participated were reviewed.


Communication about sex between parents and children promotes safe sex

The results of the study carried out by Widman and his collaborators confirm the positive effect of parent-child talks regarding sex. The association between communication with parents and the use of contraceptive methods in adolescents would be significantly more frequent in women than men. Therefore, conversations focused on these issues are a protective factor for youth and is the best way to prevent sexual behaviors that can affect the mental and physical health and well-being of adolescents .

Bad sexual practices and behaviors associated with risky attitudes are a major problem due to the risk of transmission of sexually transmitted diseases or unwanted pregnancies. Therefore, communication between parents and adolescents is one of the factors that could lead to safer sex among young people, including the use of contraceptives . Unfortunately, this does not always happen because of shame or ignorance.


Talking about sex with your children is protecting them

Laura Witman, the study's director, explains: "Talking about sex with your children is a way to protect them. Starting these kinds of conversations, even though they may seem a bit uncomfortable, will help your child and make him feel they can trust you. " In addition, Witman adds: "In the study we found that children of parents who spoke to them about issues such as condoms or sexually transmitted diseases were more likely to take precautions during sex."

The author of the study also explains that the reason why talks about sex in the family are more productive between mother-daughter It is because women have more facility in communicating than boys and men. On the other hand, "it could also be that society is more protective of girls in this sense, so parents try to protect them."

Regarding the role of parents in conversations about sex: "There is really little research in this line that is specifically focused on parents. Even so, this study sends a message to parents: what they say to their children matters, "says Witman.

Reasons to talk about sex with your children

Many parents still find it difficult to give their children a good sex education when they have not received it. Addressing this issue can be difficult and it is necessary to find the way and the way to be able to do it naturally . But it is necessary to address this issue in the family so that children can experience sexuality in all its fullness.

Since talking about sex with your children will benefit them, these are some of the reasons why you should do so:

  • When the children have questions, the parents, thanks to their experience and due to the love they feel for them, are the best source of response.
  • It can be traumatic for a child to live his adolescence without being sexually prepared.
  • Children need to learn about sex. Better to receive education from parents, than to receive bad education from the media.
  • When children do not have enough information, they are easily influenced.
  • Talking about sex creates trust between parents and children.
  • Children need to fully enjoy their sexuality without fears or insecurities.

5 Dangerous Things You Should Let Your Children Do: Gever Tulley at TEDxMidwest (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez parler de sexualité avec vos enfants

6 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez parler de sexualité avec vos enfants

Avril 22, 2019

Dans la société occidentale, le sexe n’est plus un sujet tabou, dans de nombreux foyers en parler reste un sujet compliqué . Le sexe apparaît à la télévision, au cinéma, dans des magazines et même dans des affiches publicitaires, mais de l’intérieur, le sujet reste inconfortable et honteux, et de nombreux parents refusent d’avoir de telles conversations avec leurs enfants.

Le monde a beaucoup évolué au cours des dernières décennies en raison des nouvelles technologies, de l'exposition et de la répercussion des médias sur le sexe, il est nécessaire que les différents agents de l'éducation, en particulier de la famille, dispensent une éducation sexuelle correcte. La manière classique de pratiquer le sexe a cédé le pas à des modes de relations sexuelles plus diversifiés.


Une étude confirme l'importance de parler de sexe dans la famille

Si vous êtes un père, vous serez intéressé d'apprendre qu'une étude récente a montré que Parler de sexualité à vos enfants leur est bénéfique . Ceci est particulièrement important pour les adolescents, car traiter le sexe comme une chose interdite peut les conditionner négativement pour le reste de leur vie. Une éducation sexuelle correcte peut prévenir les maladies sexuellement transmissibles, les troubles sexuels, améliorer les relations futures, etc., c'est-à-dire qu'elle peut améliorer la santé émotionnelle et physique de vos enfants et influer positivement sur leur bien-être futur.

Une étude menée par Laura Widman de la North Carolina State University et publiée dans le JAMA Pediatrics indique que parler de sexualité avec les parents, en particulier avec les mères, a un effet positif sur le comportement sexuel moins dangereux des adolescents , surtout chez les filles. Pour mener à bien cette étude, 52 études réalisées au cours des 30 dernières années et auxquelles ont participé plus de 25 000 adolescents ont été examinées.


La communication sur le sexe entre parents et enfants favorise les rapports sexuels protégés

Les résultats de l'étude réalisée par Widman et ses collaborateurs confirment l'effet positif des discussions entre parents et enfants concernant le sexe. L'association entre la communication avec les parents et l'utilisation de méthodes contraceptives chez les adolescents serait nettement plus fréquente chez les femmes que chez les hommes. Par conséquent, les conversations axées sur ces questions constituent un facteur de protection pour les jeunes et les jeunes. est le meilleur moyen de prévenir les comportements sexuels pouvant affecter la santé et le bien-être physique et mental des adolescents .

Les mauvaises pratiques et comportements sexuels associés à des attitudes à risque constituent un problème majeur en raison du risque de transmission de maladies sexuellement transmissibles ou de grossesses non désirées. Par conséquent, la communication entre les parents et les adolescents est l’un des facteurs susceptibles de favoriser une sexualité à moindre risque chez les jeunes. y compris l'utilisation de contraceptifs . Malheureusement, cela n'arrive pas toujours à cause de la honte ou de l'ignorance.


Parler de sexe avec vos enfants, c'est les protéger

Laura Witman, directrice de l'étude, explique: "Parler de sexualité avec vos enfants est un moyen de les protéger. Commencer ce genre de conversation, même si cela peut sembler un peu inconfortable, aidera votre enfant et lui donnera le sentiment qu'il peut avoir confiance en vous. " En outre, Witman ajoute: "Dans l'étude, nous avons constaté que les enfants de parents qui leur avaient parlé de problèmes tels que les préservatifs ou les maladies sexuellement transmissibles étaient plus susceptibles de prendre des précautions lors de rapports sexuels."

L'auteur de l'étude a également explique que la raison pour laquelle on parle de sexe dans la famille est plus productive entre mère et fille C'est parce que les femmes ont plus de facilité à communiquer que les garçons et les hommes. D'autre part, "il se pourrait aussi que la société protège davantage les filles dans ce sens, alors les parents essaient de les protéger".

Concernant le rôle des parents dans les conversations sur le sexe: "Il existe très peu de recherches spécifiquement axées sur les parents. Malgré tout, cette étude envoie un message aux parents: ce qu'ils disent à leurs enfants est important », déclare Witman.

Raisons pour parler de sexe avec vos enfants

De nombreux parents ont toujours du mal à donner à leurs enfants une bonne éducation sexuelle quand ils ne l'ont pas reçue. Aborder ce problème peut être difficile et il faut trouver le chemin et le chemin pour pouvoir le faire naturellement . Mais il est nécessaire d'aborder cette question au sein de la famille afin que les enfants puissent vivre pleinement la sexualité.

Puisque le fait de parler de sexe avec vos enfants leur sera bénéfique, voici certaines des raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez le faire:

  • Lorsque les enfants ont des questions, les parents, grâce à leur expérience et à l'amour qu'ils ressentent pour eux, sont la meilleure source de réponse.
  • Il peut être traumatisant pour un enfant de vivre son adolescence sans être préparé sexuellement.
  • Les enfants doivent apprendre à connaître le sexe. Mieux vaut recevoir une éducation de ses parents que de recevoir une mauvaise éducation des médias.
  • Lorsque les enfants ne disposent pas d'assez d'informations, ils sont facilement influencés.
  • Parler de sexe crée une relation de confiance entre parents et enfants.
  • Les enfants doivent pouvoir profiter pleinement de leur sexualité sans craintes ni insécurités.

Les 12 phrases que vous ne devez jamais dire à une femme (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes