yes, therapy helps!
6 tricks to deal with very competitive people

6 tricks to deal with very competitive people

June 24, 2021

In a society in which productivity has become almost a religion, competitive people seem to have more incentives than ever to remain so .

Taking into account that professional life is increasingly mixed with private life, in addition, This competitive spirit emerges in all kinds of situations : trying to capture the attention of someone influential, making ostentation of wealth, when it comes to being the neighbor with the best public image or even when what you want is to compete with others in the number of followers you have in social networks as Instagram.

The result of this is that, nowadays, almost all of us know a good number of competitive people who value more the fact of overcoming others than the stimulation of the effort itself. This can make these people prone to opportunism, manipulation or even the desire to sacrifice all their work (and that of the people who work with them) to projects that are not very beneficial simply by passing ahead of other competitors.


Ways to deal with competitive people

What has been said above makes competitive people much more than the muscle of companies and organizations; They can also be the spark that initiates unnecessary conflicts, a source of anxiety about friends and family and the propagators of a bad work climate.

Fortunately, there are ways to deal with this type of people so that their most negative side is appeased .

1. Do not let the ego of the other prevail

An effective way to prevent competitive people from always trying to attract the attention of others is, simply, do not reward this type of behavior . For example, when in an informal meeting or a party a person who competes to attract attention all the time interrupting others and talking about their experiences, tastes and opinions, can be politely asked not to interrupt and, to the Once, make the course of the conversation run its course.


In these cases it is a bad strategy to behave in the same way as the competitive person in question, competing with her in a contest to see which monologue is imposed on the other, since this does not break with the logic of competitiveness.

2. To assert itself

When it comes to dealing with competitive people, it is not only important to maintain a framework of favorable relationships for the majority; it is necessary to defend one's own rights .

Therefore, if the arrogance and arrogance of the other undermine our dignity, it is good to call attention so that such situations are not repeated and, in passing, order can be maintained. In these cases, assertiveness is the key.

3. Control the work environment

If the negative effects of having a competitive person nearby are noticed at work, either because they use unethical tricks to reach their objectives or because they set different objectives than planned, One of the strategies that can be followed is to intervene directly on the work climate changing the system of rewards or "penalties". For example, if the person in question tries to make others fall by monopolizing all the bonuses for performance, placing limitations on these motivation mechanisms is a very effective solution.


It is important to note that this is a measure with a collective impact, and that it does not affect only the competitive person. However, this fact can also be an advantage, since it is taken as a fair measure that affects everyone equally.

4. Educate in principles of equality

If the competitive person in question is young and is willing to participate in their education and training, It is good to take her to reflect on the moral values ​​behind her behavior and the way in which they fit into a culture that values ​​equal opportunities. But this is not a task that should be undertaken only from the theory; It can also be taught from the practice of games and group activities in which what matters most is the interest of the collective.

In medium and large companies it is increasingly common to invite all its members to participate in collective games, such as football or paintball, for this reason. In this sense, for example, the media attention has been drawn to the case of a company located in China that has developed a team of castellers (Catalan tradition) in which workers can participate to make the most spectacular human towers.

5. Reverse engineering to discover the origin of competitive behavior

Many times there are cases in which people who do not stand out for being competitive they begin to get involved in behavioral dynamics of extreme individualism .

In these cases it is quite possible that a recent change in the daily context of this person has had this change in attitude.Exploring the reasons for this transformation is one of the ways to manage the way in which this person affects us and, at times, even makes it possible for us to help.

6. Managing fear and paranoia

When you are in a situation that is perceived as dangerous or high risk, One of the first manifestations of anxiety and fear that this produces is competitive behavior .

The fact that you can not trust anyone makes you see others as means to an end or, sometimes, as potential threats that must be protected. In these cases, communication and the establishment of agreements with guarantees are very useful to make this defensive attitude not a problem.


4 Types of Difficult People and How to Deal (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 astuces pour faire face à des gens très compétitifs

6 astuces pour faire face à des gens très compétitifs

Janvier 8, 2023

Dans une société où la productivité est devenue presque une religion, les gens compétitifs semblent avoir plus d'incitations que jamais à le rester .

Considérant que la vie professionnelle est de plus en plus mêlée à la vie privée, Cet esprit de compétition émerge dans toutes sortes de situations : essayer de capter l'attention d'une personne influente, créer une ostentation de la richesse, quand il s'agit d'être le voisin avec la meilleure image publique ou même ce que vous voulez, c'est de rivaliser avec vos concurrents sur le nombre d'abonnés que vous avez dans les réseaux sociaux. comme Instagram.

Le résultat de ceci est que, de nos jours, nous connaissons presque tous un bon nombre de personnes compétitives qui valorisent davantage le fait de vaincre les autres que la stimulation de l'effort lui-même. Cela peut rendre ces personnes enclines à l'opportunisme, à la manipulation ou même au désir de sacrifier tout leur travail (et celui des personnes qui travaillent avec elles) à des projets qui ne sont pas très bénéfiques du seul fait de passer avant les autres concurrents.


Façons de traiter avec des gens compétitifs

Ce qui a été dit ci-dessus fait des gens compétitifs bien plus que le muscle des entreprises et des organisations; Ils peuvent aussi être l’étincelle à l’origine de conflits inutiles, une source d’inquiétude pour les amis et la famille et les propagateurs d’un mauvais climat de travail.

Heureusement il existe des moyens de traiter avec ce type de personnes afin que leur côté le plus négatif soit apaisé .

1. Ne laissez pas l'ego de l'autre l'emporter

Un moyen efficace d'empêcher les concurrents de toujours essayer d'attirer l'attention des autres est, simplement, ne récompensez pas ce type de comportement . Par exemple, lors d’une réunion informelle ou d’une fête, une personne qui se fait concurrence pour attirer l’attention tout le temps en interrompant les autres et en parlant de leurs expériences, de leurs goûts et de leurs opinions, peut être poliment invitée à ne pas interrompre Une fois, faites suivre le cours de la conversation.


Dans ces cas, il est mauvais de se comporter de la même manière que la personne en concurrence, en concurrence avec elle dans un concours pour voir quel monologue est imposé à l'autre, car cela ne rompt pas avec la logique de la compétitivité.

2. S'affirmer

Lorsqu'il s'agit de faire face à des concurrents, il n'est pas seulement important de maintenir un cadre de relations favorables pour la majorité; il faut défendre ses propres droits .

Par conséquent, si l’arrogance et l’arrogance de l’autre portent atteinte à notre dignité, il est bon d’attirer l’attention afin que de telles situations ne se répètent pas et que, en passant, l’ordre puisse être maintenu. Dans ces cas, l'affirmation de soi est la clé.

3. Contrôler l'environnement de travail

Si les effets négatifs de la présence d'une personne compétitive à proximité sont remarqués au travail, soit parce qu'ils utilisent des astuces contraires à l'éthique pour atteindre leurs objectifs, soit parce qu'ils se fixent des objectifs différents de ceux prévus, L’une des stratégies à suivre est d’intervenir directement sur le climat de travail changer le système de récompenses ou "pénalités". Par exemple, si la personne en question tente de faire tomber les autres en monopolisant tous les bonus de performance, la limitation de ces mécanismes de motivation est une solution très efficace.


Il est important de noter qu'il s'agit d'une mesure ayant un impact collectif et qu'elle n'affecte pas uniquement la personne compétitive. Cependant, ce fait peut également être un avantage, car il est pris comme une mesure juste qui affecte tout le monde de manière égale.

4. Éduquer aux principes d'égalité

Si le compétiteur en question est jeune et souhaite participer à son éducation et à sa formation, Il est bon de l’emmener à réfléchir aux valeurs morales derrière son comportement et la manière dont ils s'intègrent dans une culture qui valorise l'égalité des chances. Mais cette tâche ne devrait pas être entreprise uniquement à partir de la théorie; Il peut également être enseigné à partir de la pratique de jeux et d’activités de groupe dans lesquels l’important est l’intérêt du collectif.

Pour les grandes et moyennes entreprises, il est de plus en plus courant d'inviter tous ses membres à participer à des jeux collectifs, tels que le football ou le paintball, pour cette raison. En ce sens, par exemple, l'attention des médias a été attirée sur le cas d'une entreprise basée en Chine qui a développé une équipe de castellers (Tradition catalane) dans laquelle les travailleurs peuvent participer à la fabrication des tours humaines les plus spectaculaires.

5. Reverse engineering pour découvrir l'origine du comportement concurrentiel

Il arrive souvent que des personnes qui ne se distinguent pas pour leur compétitivité ils commencent à s'impliquer dans la dynamique comportementale de l'individualisme extrême .

Dans ces cas, il est fort possible qu'un changement récent d'attitude dans le contexte quotidien de cette personne ait eu lieu.Explorer les raisons de cette transformation est l’un des moyens de gérer la manière dont cette personne nous concerne et nous permet même parfois d’aider.

6. Gérer la peur et la paranoïa

Lorsque vous êtes dans une situation perçue comme dangereuse ou à haut risque, L'une des premières manifestations d'anxiété et de peur qui en résulte est un comportement concurrentiel. .

Le fait que vous ne puissiez faire confiance à personne vous fait voir les autres comme un moyen d'arriver à une fin ou, parfois, comme des menaces potentielles qui doivent être protégées. Dans ces cas, la communication et la conclusion d'accords assortis de garanties sont très utiles pour que cette attitude défensive ne pose pas de problème.


6 Astuces Secrètes Pour Toujours Gagner à Tes Jeux Favoris (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes