yes, therapy helps!
6 ways to ruin a relationship that works

6 ways to ruin a relationship that works

August 12, 2022

Whether we want it or not we humans live interconnected both physically and emotionally. Neither our personality nor our actions would be as they are if it were not because throughout our lives we have gone through all kinds of experiences that we have shared with others.

This means that we have an almost automatic tendency to interact with others, to initiate conversations, to be interested in what attracts the attention of the other and, in many cases, to establish an affective bond with people that we select . Both friendship and relationships are normal because we are essentially social animals. But that does not mean that we are always perfectly good at maintaining those relationships.


And as in the essential these links have irrational foundations based on love, sympathy or love, it is also easy to fall into traps that lead us to deteriorate the quality of that emotional connection. Accidents happen in any area of ​​life, but in the case of relationships, in addition, we are prone to not see them coming. We run the risk of falling into one of the many ways to ruin a relationship that worked fine

  • Related article: "The 6 main types of toxic relationships"

Attitudes and actions capable of ruining a relationship

These are the main traps that can transform a healthy relationship into a nightmare that is heading towards self-destruction.


1. Convert the relationship into a competition

Sharing something with someone means enjoying the double of certain experiences, but it also means taking on twice the risks that this relationship ends up breaking. Something that at first seems like a small misstep can grow like a snowball downhill if the dynamics of the dialogue are focused on defending one's pride above anything else, or showing that one is better than the other.

Paradoxically, trying to give the best possible image can have the opposite effect on the other person if it feels that it is being underestimated or treated unworthily .

2. Decide that commitments are no longer valid

The idea that relationships should be free can lead to rejecting those pacts that both people had respected so far. However, in practice there is no relationship that resists the absence of commitments that give shape and stability.


The reason is that the deeper a relationship is, the more it must be done on our part to make it have continuity and perseverance, because without that there may be cases of involuntary emotional blackmail, distrust and fear of opening up to the other . If someone deserves our time and our attention, the logical thing is to show that we value that by modifying our life to make sure that the other will continue to be part of it.

  • Related article: "Emotional blackmail: a powerful form of manipulation in the couple"

3. Forget talking about yourself

Certain forms of friendship can withstand the passage of time without dialogue, but in the case of deeper relationships, falling into this dynamic always leads to very negative results.

And is that if every emotional relationship is based on certain commitments, one of the most undervalued and least talked about is the habit of simply talking .

The most withdrawn people may have become accustomed to not talking about themselves to others, but when you have a loving bond or an intimate friendship, not doing so implies introducing a strong asymmetry in the relationship.

The other person may perceive that she is not valued or even that she is not being listened to (since in a dialogue the normal thing would be to make comments talking about comparisons with one's life), on the one hand, or that things are hidden , for the other. In short, situations can occur in which what should be a deep and stimulating conversation seems more like a monologue.

4. Talk only about oneself

The other side of the coin is to use the relationship to have someone listen to the narration of one's life. This, although it is not noticed, gives the image that the life of the other does not matter at all , or that only interested to know their opinions about what happens to us, but not their own stories and experiences.

Of course, a relationship in which this has happened from the beginning has already begun with serious flaws in its foundations, but there are times when periods of stress cause a person who until now was related normally to become obsessed with what it happens to him and, consequently, to speak only of that.

5. Let the other make all the decisions

It may seem like a very good option for some, but giving the other person the role of decision-maker set a precedent that in the long run tends to be very negative . And no, it's not only because if the decision is wrong, the arguments can appear.

And is that although some people prone to indecision see a relief in the possibility of asking the other to decide for them, this dynamic does not affect only the small details of life.

Over time, the fact of getting used to being one that makes the decisions and that the other is who accepts them can be transformed into an unequal dynamic of power . Little by little the decisions that one is in charge of are more and more important, until there comes a point where if the other disagrees, this is seen as something strange, inappropriate.

6. Try to change the other person so that we like more

Romantic love, that phenomenon that until recently has been accepted without question in relationships, has made many people believe that any sacrifice is good if that entails making the bond that binds two people stronger.

This has many negative effects, and one of them is that we accept as normal that we try to change to please the other more , or even that the other asks us to change not because it is beneficial for oneself, but because it would generate more attraction.

It is one of the ways to ruin a more frequent and harmful relationship because, in the end, the idea that is perpetuated is that someone is owned by someone , and that virtually any sacrifice should have its place in the relationship. Although initially the effects of the idealization of the other make their defects are disguised, at the time they come to light we must decide whether we accept them or are so serious that the relationship must end.


Must-See Video: The Six Quickest Ways to Ruin a Marriage (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 façons de ruiner une relation qui fonctionne

6 façons de ruiner une relation qui fonctionne

Août 11, 2020

Que nous le voulions ou non, nous, humains, vivons interconnectés physiquement et émotionnellement. Ni notre personnalité ni nos actions ne seraient ce qu'elles sont si ce n’était pas parce que tout au long de notre vie, nous avons vécu toutes sortes d’expériences que nous avons partagées avec d’autres.

Cela signifie que nous avons une tendance presque automatique à interagir avec les autres, à entamer des conversations, à s'intéresser à ce qui attire l'attention de l'autre et, dans de nombreux cas, à établir un lien affectif avec les personnes que nous sélectionnons . L’amitié et les relations sont normales car nous sommes essentiellement des animaux sociaux. Mais cela ne signifie pas que nous réussissons toujours parfaitement à maintenir ces relations.


Et comme, dans l’essentiel, ces liens ont des fondements irrationnels basés sur l’amour, la sympathie ou l’amour, il est également facile de tomber dans des pièges qui nous amènent à détériorer la qualité de ce lien émotionnel. Les accidents se produisent dans tous les domaines de la vie, mais dans le cas des relations, nous sommes également enclins à ne pas les voir arriver. Nous risquons de tomber dans l’un des nombreux moyens de ruiner une relation cela a bien fonctionné

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 principaux types de relations toxiques"

Attitudes et actions susceptibles de ruiner une relation

Ce sont les principaux pièges qui peuvent transformer une relation saine en un cauchemar qui se dirige vers l’autodestruction.


1. Convertir la relation en concurrence

Partager quelque chose avec quelqu'un signifie profiter du double de certaines expériences, mais cela signifie aussi prendre deux fois plus de risques que cette relation finit par rompre. Quelque chose qui, au premier abord, semble être un petit faux pas peut se développer comme une boule de neige en descente si la dynamique du dialogue est centrée sur la défense de sa fierté avant toute autre chose, ou sur la démonstration de sa supériorité.

Paradoxalement, essayer de donner la meilleure image possible peut avoir un effet opposé sur l'autre personne s'il estime qu'il est sous-estimé ou traité indignement .

2. Décidez que les engagements ne sont plus valables

L'idée que les relations doivent être libres peut conduire à rejeter les pactes que les deux peuples avaient respectés jusqu'à présent. Cependant, dans la pratique, aucune relation ne résiste à l’absence d’engagement qui donne forme et stabilité.


La raison en est que plus une relation est profonde, plus il faut que nous le fassions pour la maintenir dans la continuité et la persévérance, car sans cela il peut y avoir des cas de chantage émotionnel involontaire, de méfiance et de peur de s’ouvrir à l’autre . Si quelqu'un mérite notre temps et notre attention, la chose logique est de montrer que nous valorisons cela en modifiant notre vie pour nous assurer que l'autre continuera à en faire partie.

  • Article connexe: "Chantage émotionnel: une puissante forme de manipulation dans le couple"

3. Oublie de parler de toi

Certaines formes d’amitié peuvent supporter le passage du temps sans dialogue, mais dans le cas de relations plus profondes, tomber dans cette dynamique conduit toujours à des résultats très négatifs.

Et est-ce que si chaque relation émotionnelle est basée sur certains engagements, l'un des plus sous-évalué et moins parlé est l'habitude de simplement parler .

Les personnes les plus retirées se sont peut-être habituées à ne pas parler d’elles-mêmes à d’autres, mais lorsque vous avez un lien affectif ou une amitié intime, ne pas le faire implique d’introduire une forte asymétrie dans la relation.

L’autre personne peut percevoir qu’elle n’est pas valorisée ou même qu’elle n’est pas écoutée (car dans un dialogue, la chose normale est de faire des commentaires sur les comparaisons avec sa vie), d’une part, ou que les choses sont cachées , de l'autre. En bref, il peut y avoir des situations dans lesquelles ce qui devrait être une conversation profonde et stimulante ressemble davantage à un monologue.

4. Ne parle que de soi

Le revers de la médaille est d'utiliser la relation pour que quelqu'un écoute le récit de sa vie. Ceci, bien que ce ne soit pas remarqué, donne l'image que la vie de l'autre n'a pas d'importance du tout , ou que seulement intéressés à connaître leurs opinions sur ce qui nous arrive, mais pas leurs propres histoires et expériences.

Bien sûr, une relation dans laquelle cela se produit depuis le début a déjà commencé avec de graves failles dans ses fondements, mais il arrive parfois que des périodes de stress poussent une personne qui était jusqu'à présent liée à la normale à commencer à être obsédée par ce que il lui arrive et, par conséquent, de ne parler que de cela.

5. Laisser l'autre prendre toutes les décisions

Cela peut sembler une très bonne option pour certains, mais donner à l’autre personne le rôle de décideur créer un précédent qui à long terme tend à être très négatif . Et non, ce n'est pas seulement parce que si la décision est fausse, les arguments peuvent apparaître.

Et est-ce que bien que certaines personnes sujettes à l'indécision voient un soulagement dans la possibilité de demander à l'autre de décider pour elles, cette dynamique n'affecte pas que les petits détails de la vie.

Au fil du temps, le fait de s'habituer à être l'un des décideurs et l'autre à savoir qui les accepte peut être transformé en une dynamique inégale de pouvoir . Petit à petit, les décisions dont l'un est responsable sont de plus en plus importantes, jusqu'à ce que, si l'autre ne soit pas d'accord, cela soit considéré comme quelque chose d'étrange et de inapproprié.

6. Essayez de changer l'autre personne pour que nous aimions plus

L’amour romantique, phénomène qui jusqu’à récemment était accepté sans aucun doute dans les relations, a amené beaucoup de gens à croire que tout sacrifice est bon si cela implique de renforcer le lien qui unit deux personnes.

Cela a de nombreux effets négatifs, et l’un d’eux est que nous acceptons comme d'habitude d'essayer de changer pour plaire à l'autre plus , ou même que l’autre nous demande de changer non pas parce que cela est bénéfique pour nous-mêmes, mais parce que cela générerait plus d’attraction.

C’est l’un des moyens de ruiner une relation plus fréquente et plus dommageable car, à la fin, l'idée qui se perpétue est que quelqu'un appartient à quelqu'un et que pratiquement tout sacrifice devrait avoir sa place dans la relation. Bien que les effets de l’idéalisation de l’autre aient initialement pour effet de masquer leurs défauts, nous devons décider au moment où ils se révèlent si nous les acceptons ou si nous sommes si sérieux que la relation doit prendre fin.


12 Erreurs de Tenues Qui ne te Mettront Pas à Ton Avantage (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes