yes, therapy helps!
7 exercises and activities to develop your Emotional Intelligence

7 exercises and activities to develop your Emotional Intelligence

June 24, 2021

Emotional Intelligence is one of the most popular constructs that has gained in the last decades in the field of psychology, since it has been shown to be key in the work, educational and sports performance; and it is essential for the well-being of people, their happiness and their personal development.

Fundamentally, it is the set of our mental abilities aimed at identifying and regulating our emotions and feelings, as well as recognizing them in other people to better empathize.

If you still do not know what Emotional Intelligence is and you want to know in detail about it, I invite you to read these two articles:


  • "What is emotional intelligence? Discovering the importance of emotions "
  • "The 10 benefits of emotional intelligence"

Exercises and activities to develop your Emotional Intelligence

If you already know what Emotional Intelligence is and what its benefits are, the next step is to put it into practice . Here is a list of activities and tips that will allow you to develop your Emotional Intelligence.

1. Have your emotions diary

To start practicing Emotional Intelligence on a daily basis, there is nothing better than having an emotional diary. This activity is simple, because it is similar to the classic adolescent diary.


To carry out the diary of emotions, you only have to take 10 or 20 minutes a day, preferably before going to bed, to make a review of how your journey has been on an emotional level . If for example you feel you have been experiencing stress and you feel sad, write it down. Check how you have felt during the week and compare it with the previous week.

It is important that you add strategies to feel better, that is, tasks that you can do to avoid the excess of negative emotions . With the diary of emotions it is possible to work on emotional self-knowledge and emotional regulation as you use it. This strategy is useful to understand your emotions and to give you feedback about how you feel.

2. Active listening: observe non-verbal language

Active listening is one of the social skills that we should all possess but that we rarely put into practice. And there is a big difference between listening and hearing. Active listening focuses not only on words , that is, that takes into account non-verbal language and the communication of emotions.


To carry it out in your day to day, it is necessary that you take a few minutes of your conversations to voluntarily listen actively. You may think it's simple, but it's common that instead of pay full attention to the other person's communication , our thoughts and beliefs contaminate our interpersonal communication. So the next time you're in front of someone, take a few minutes to observe their body language, their gestures, their looks, their expressions and the emotions that the other interlocutor tries to convey.

  • Related article: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

3. The wheel of life

The wheel of life is one of the most effective techniques to know ourselves and correct those areas of our life that we are not happy with. Performing this exercise takes no more than 20 minutes and its operation is very simple. Its effectiveness is such that even experts in personal development use this technique.

This technique helps us know what our wishes and needs are , which are often hidden by social demands. Therefore, it is a way to empower ourselves in front of life, to translate into a paper what we really want and what is important for us. Thus we can have a clearer clear vision of where we want to go, from outside our head.

To perform this exercise, we need a sheet of paper that contains a circle so we can put what areas of our life are important to us and we want to work . For example, work, friends, couple, family, leisure ... Afterwards, it is necessary to evaluate each variable with a score that shows our preference. For example, if work is the most important, we will put the number "1". Once we have clear the order of preference, it is necessary to write down different actions to improve our life.

4. Vipassana meditation

There are different types of meditation, and although many people think that this technique only serves to calm us down, some of these meditative practices are really useful to improve the Emotional Intelligence. One of the best known is vipassana meditation . In fact, vipassana is a Pali language term meaning "observation" or "clear vision".


Vipassana meditation emphasizes awareness and attention in breathing , focusing the mind on the air that enters and exits through the nose. When the mind begins to ruminate, it is necessary to label the thoughts and emotions, observe them and let them go, accepting them.

5. Stop a minute

Emotional regulation is also one of the keys of Emotional Intelligence and interpersonal relationships. But it is not always possible to stop a minute of our life to analyze the present moment. Imagine that you are in a collective bargaining at work and things get out of hand. The environment has become tense and you are not reaching an agreement because there is a certain tone of tension. You may want to stop for a moment, clear your mind and respond and negotiate with your head rather than with your heart.


You can learn to relax and control your emotions with one minute meditation. Once you have perfected it, you can use it anytime and anywhere. In the previous example (collective bargaining), if things get out of hand, it is always better to take 5 minutes of rest to get the waters back on track and negotiate can be resumed with serenity . In that situation you could take advantage of that rest to practice this exercise.

5. Read a book

Emotional Intelligence skills can be worked on and improved over time. If you want to enjoy its benefits, it is a good option to read a book on this subject of the many that are on the market. These texts are a good way to acquire both theoretical and practical knowledge , and I'm sure you'll notice the difference. The variety of books is such that you can even help your children develop Emotional Intelligence if you wish.


In the following article you can find a list of editorial works that will surely be useful: "10 books on emotional intelligence that you need to read".

6. Sign up for a workshop

If reading a book on Emotional Intelligence is a great option to improve your emotional and relationship skills with others, Better yet, sign up for a personal growth course on this subject of the many that are available. The truth is that this is a good way to carry out experiential and experiential group practices.

In addition, you can also choose, for example, for The Online Training Course on Emotional Intelligence of the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona, ​​which allows to receive quality training in online format and from anywhere with an Internet connection. Thus, people interested in perfecting the mental abilities related to Emotional Intelligence can get involved in a very accessible and quality training program.

This training plan has a duration of 10 weeks, throughout its development each student has a tutor in charge of tracking their progress both theoretically and practically.

On the other hand, another of its main strengths is the fact that the staff that gives the subject and shape the educational experience has a great experience working in the Intituto Mensalus, one of the best centers of psychology in Spain, very tanned in the development of initiatives of this type. It is possible to access more information related to this course by clicking on this link.

7. Attend coaching sessions

In addition to these last two options, it is possible to attend coaching sessions to develop your Emotional Intelligence. A coach is an expert in personal development that will help you to know yourself better and to develop your emotional skills, as well as accompanying you in the process of change so that you improve your well-being and overcome your limiting beliefs. The coach will provide you with tools that will help you improve your Emotional Intelligence and, in addition, achieve your goals and objectives. If the coach has a university education as a psychologist, much better.

  • Related article: "The 10 benefits of Coaching (keys for your personal development)"

6 Steps to Improve Your Emotional Intelligence | Ramona Hacker | TEDxTUM (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 exercices et activités pour développer votre intelligence émotionnelle

7 exercices et activités pour développer votre intelligence émotionnelle

Juin 5, 2020

Intelligence émotionnelle est l’un des concepts les plus populaires acquis au cours des dernières décennies dans le domaine de la psychologie, car il s’est avéré qu’il était essentiel au travail, à l’éducation et aux performances sportives; et il est essentiel pour le bien-être des personnes, leur bonheur et leur développement personnel.

Fondamentalement, il s’agit de l’ensemble de nos capacités mentales visant à identifier et à réguler nos émotions et nos sentiments, ainsi qu’à les reconnaître chez d’autres personnes afin de mieux les comprendre.

Si vous ne savez toujours pas ce qu'est l'intelligence émotionnelle et vous voulez en savoir plus à ce sujet, je vous invite à lire ces deux articles:


  • "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle? Découvrir l'importance des émotions "
  • "Les 10 avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle"

Exercices et activités pour développer votre intelligence émotionnelle

Si vous savez déjà ce qu'est l'intelligence émotionnelle et quels sont ses avantages, la prochaine étape est de le mettre en pratique . Voici une liste d'activités et de conseils qui vous permettront de développer votre intelligence émotionnelle.

1. Ayez votre journal des émotions

Pour commencer à pratiquer l'intelligence émotionnelle au quotidien, rien de mieux que de tenir un journal intime. Cette activité est simple, car elle ressemble au journal intime classique pour adolescents.


Pour réaliser le journal des émotions, il suffit de prendre 10 à 20 minutes par jour, de préférence avant de se coucher, pour faire un bilan de votre parcours émotionnel . Si, par exemple, vous vous sentez stressé et triste, écrivez-le. Vérifiez ce que vous avez ressenti pendant la semaine et comparez-le à la semaine précédente.

Il est important que vous ajoutiez des stratégies pour vous sentir mieux, c'est-à-dire tâches que vous pouvez faire pour éviter l'excès d'émotions négatives . Avec le journal des émotions, il est possible de travailler sur la connaissance de soi émotionnelle et la régulation émotionnelle à mesure que vous l'utilisez. Cette stratégie est utile pour comprendre vos émotions et vous donner commentaires à propos de comment vous vous sentez.

2. Écoute active: observez le langage non verbal

L'écoute active est l'une des compétences sociales que nous devrions tous posséder mais que nous mettons rarement en pratique. Et il y a une grande différence entre écouter et entendre. L'écoute active ne se concentre pas que sur les mots c'est-à-dire qu'il prend en compte le langage non verbal et la communication des émotions.


Pour le mener à bien au quotidien, il est nécessaire que vous preniez quelques minutes de votre conversation pour écouter volontairement. Vous pouvez penser que c'est simple, mais il est courant qu'au lieu de prêter toute son attention à la communication de l'autre personne , nos pensées et nos croyances contaminent notre communication interpersonnelle. Alors, la prochaine fois que vous serez devant quelqu'un, prenez quelques minutes pour observer son langage corporel, ses gestes, son apparence, ses expressions et les émotions que l'autre interlocuteur tente de transmettre.

  • Article connexe: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

3. La roue de la vie

La roue de la vie est une des techniques les plus efficaces pour se connaître et corrigez les aspects de notre vie qui ne nous satisfont pas. Cet exercice ne prend pas plus de 20 minutes et son fonctionnement est très simple. Son efficacité est telle que même les experts en développement personnel utilisent cette technique.

Cette technique nous aide savoir quels sont nos souhaits et besoins , qui sont souvent cachés par des demandes sociales. C'est donc un moyen de nous responsabiliser face à la vie, de traduire dans un document ce que nous voulons vraiment et ce qui est important pour nous. Ainsi, nous pouvons avoir une vision plus claire de l'endroit où nous voulons aller, de l'extérieur de notre tête.

Pour effectuer cet exercice, nous avons besoin d’une feuille de papier contenant un cercle afin que nous puissions mettre quels domaines de notre vie sont importants pour nous et nous voulons travailler . Par exemple, le travail, les amis, le couple, la famille, les loisirs ... Ensuite, il est nécessaire d’évaluer chaque variable avec un score qui indique notre préférence. Par exemple, si le travail est le plus important, nous allons mettre le nombre "1". Une fois l’ordre de préférence défini, il est nécessaire d’écrire différentes actions pour améliorer notre vie.

4. Méditation Vipassana

Il existe différents types de méditation, et bien que beaucoup de gens pensent que cette technique ne sert qu'à nous calmer, certaines de ces pratiques méditatives sont vraiment utiles pour améliorer l'intelligence émotionnelle. L'un des plus connus est la méditation vipassana . En fait, vipassana est un terme en langue Pali qui signifie "observation" ou "vision claire".


Méditation Vipassana met l'accent sur la conscience et l'attention dans la respiration , concentrant l'esprit sur l'air qui entre et sort par le nez. Lorsque l'esprit commence à ruminer, il est nécessaire d'identifier les pensées et les émotions, de les observer et de les laisser partir, en les acceptant.

5. Arrêtez une minute

La régulation émotionnelle est également l’une des clés de l’intelligence émotionnelle et des relations interpersonnelles. Mais il n'est pas toujours possible d'arrêter une minute de notre vie pour analyser le moment présent. Imaginez que vous participiez à une négociation collective au travail et que les choses deviennent incontrôlables. L'environnement est devenu tendu et vous ne parvenez pas à un accord car il y a un certain ton de tension. Vous voudrez peut-être vous arrêter un instant, vider votre esprit, réagir et négocier avec votre tête plutôt qu'avec votre cœur.


Vous pouvez apprendre à vous détendre et à contrôler vos émotions en méditant une minute. Une fois que vous l'avez perfectionné, vous pouvez l'utiliser à tout moment et n'importe où. Dans l'exemple précédent (négociation collective), si les choses tournent mal, il est toujours préférable de prendre 5 minutes de repos pour remettre les eaux sur les rails et négocier peut être repris avec sérénité . Dans cette situation, vous pourriez profiter de ce repos pour pratiquer cet exercice.

5. Lire un livre

Les compétences en intelligence émotionnelle peuvent être améliorées et améliorées avec le temps. Si vous souhaitez profiter de ses avantages, il est judicieux de lire un livre sur ce sujet parmi les nombreux disponibles sur le marché. Ces textes sont un bon moyen d’acquérir des connaissances théoriques et pratiques. et je suis sûr que vous remarquerez la différence. La variété des livres est telle que vous pouvez même aider vos enfants à développer une intelligence émotionnelle si vous le souhaitez.


Dans l'article suivant, vous trouverez une liste d'ouvrages éditoriaux qui vous seront certainement utiles: "10 livres sur l'intelligence émotionnelle à lire".

6. Inscrivez-vous à un atelier

Si lire un livre sur l’intelligence émotionnelle est une excellente option pour améliorer vos compétences émotionnelles et relationnelles avec les autres, Mieux encore, inscrivez-vous à un cours de croissance personnelle à ce sujet des nombreux qui sont disponibles. La vérité est qu’il s’agit d’un bon moyen de mener des pratiques de groupe expérientielles et expérientielles.

En outre, vous pouvez également choisir, par exemple, pour Le cours de formation en ligne sur l'intelligence émotionnelle de l'Institut Mensalus de Barcelone, qui permet de recevoir une formation de qualité en format en ligne et de n’importe où avec une connexion Internet. Ainsi, les personnes intéressées à perfectionner les capacités mentales liées à l'intelligence émotionnelle peuvent participer à un programme d'entraînement très accessible et de qualité.

Ce plan de formation a une durée de 10 semaines. Tout au long de son développement, chaque élève a un tuteur chargé de suivre leurs progrès à la fois théoriquement et pratiquement.

D'autre part, un autre de ses principaux atouts réside dans le fait que le personnel qui donne le sujet et façonne l'expérience éducative a une grande expérience de travail dans Intituto Mensalus, l'un des meilleurs centres de psychologie d'Espagne, très bronzé. dans le développement d'initiatives de ce type. Il est possible d'accéder à plus d'informations relatives à ce cours en cliquant sur ce lien.

7. Assistez à des séances de coaching

En plus de ces deux dernières options, il est possible d'assister à des séances de coaching pour développer votre intelligence émotionnelle. Un coach est un expert en développement personnel cela vous aidera à mieux vous connaître et à développer vos compétences émotionnelles, ainsi qu'à vous accompagner dans le processus de changement afin que vous amélioriez votre bien-être et surmontiez vos croyances limitantes. Le coach vous fournira des outils qui vous aideront à améliorer votre intelligence émotionnelle et, en plus, à atteindre vos buts et objectifs. Si le coach a une formation universitaire en tant que psychologue, c'est beaucoup mieux.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages du coaching (des clés pour votre développement personnel)"

Exercices pratiques pour maîtriser l’intelligence émotionnelle de Eric Jordan (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes