yes, therapy helps!
7 fears and fears that slow your personal and work success

7 fears and fears that slow your personal and work success

January 6, 2023

Fear is a sensation that produces great anguish and suffering to the person who suffers it , and that can be originated by a real cause, because it is an adaptive emotion that has helped the human species survive over the centuries.

However, people can experience irrational fears towards objects or thoughts. Regarding the latter, some fears may be a consequence of dysfunctional beliefs and unreal expectations.

  • Not everyone is afraid of the same stimuli. In our article "The 16 types of fear and their characteristics" you can know the different kinds of fear that exist.

The relationship of fear with personal development

Fear is closely linked to the personal development of a person, because some of these fears force people to behave in a way that they do not really want. For example, fear of the unknown can cause a person to reject a job that they like because they do not know what they will find , or makes you avoid leaving a country you want to discover since you do not think you can survive far from your home.


These fears are limiting beliefs that do not allow individuals to change or surpass themselves even when they feel they want or should. These fears, in fact, are very frequent, and sometimes it is necessary to have the help of an expert in personal development to help the person to experience in their own skin that the beliefs that they have are limiting their true potential.

Fears that prevent growth and development

But what types of fear affect a person's personal and work development? In the following lines we explain them to you.

1. Fear of failure

Fear of failure is one of the most paralyzing fears that most affect the personal and work development of a person . It is a fear that causes much suffering and has its origin in the irrational expectations that a person has.


It can also be caused by what others think of him if he does not achieve what he proposes, that is, is related to the opinion of others. It is characteristic perfectionists, and affects the welfare of these.

  • You can delve into this type of fear in our article: "Fear of failure: when anticipating defeat immobilizes us"

2. Fear of uncertainty

The fear of uncertainty is related to vital projects or tasks that a person can perform . For example, when someone has to accept a job but because they believe they will not be ready, they reject it. On the other hand, the fear of uncertainty is a concept that is related to the comfort zone or that mental place in which we feel safe, whether or not we are happy in it.

The fear of uncertainty affects personal development and produces a great anxiety in the face of change, not so much because of failure or not, but because of the fear that it will be worse what comes from what we already have. It is irrational because even if what we have is bad, it immobilizes the person in the face of change.


In short, it refers to the fear of the unknown, to the fear that appears when it is difficult for us to visualize the future we want.

3. Fear of rejection

Fear of rejection is a type of fear that affects interpersonal relationships and that is intimately related to low self-esteem. It usually affects the person especially when it comes to finding a partner, but also to other types of interpersonal relationships such as friendship or co-workers. The fear of rejection is also associated with the fear of ridicule and being bad in front of others.

4. Fear of loneliness

The fear of loneliness is also a fear that does not allow us to grow , since it makes us have dependency behaviors towards other people, and that is why we can get to annul ourselves and we can set aside our own needs and interests to not be alone. People with fear of loneliness can end up immersed in traumatic relationships and continue in them despite the pain they feel.

5. Fear of commitment

The fear of compromise is the opposite of the previous fear, because what The person is worried about committing to the wrong person . This does not mean that we should be with someone by force because you can live happily when you are single, but it can mean that when you meet someone interesting, we can back off and avoid having intimacy with that person and giving them our confidence.

  • It is possible to be happy and be single as we tell you in our article "Is it possible to be single and be happy? The 8 benefits of not having a partner "

6. Fear of criticism

One of the fears that are related to the evaluation that others make of us is the fear of criticism . This fear consists of fearing the disapproval of others and that what we do does not please others. It is very disabling, for example, for people who try to succeed in the world of entertainment.Being afraid of criticism can lead a person to perform below their true potential.

7. Jonah Complex

The Jonah complex is also known as fear of success , and it is a phenomenon that has been studied from the point of view of humanistic psychology. In fact, it is a term that Abraham Maslow spoke of in his book The Farther Reaches of Human Nature published in 1971.

The Jonas complex has to do with the highest part of the "Pyramid of human needs" proposed by this psychologist, that is, the concept of self-realization "or that of achieving the maximum potential that an individual possesses. For Maslow, the Jonah complex manifests itself when the person is afraid to express their best version.

  • You can learn more in our article: "Jonas complex: the curious fear of success"

Why it Pays to Be Hungry | Les Brown | Goalcast (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 peurs et peurs qui ralentissent votre réussite personnelle et professionnelle

7 peurs et peurs qui ralentissent votre réussite personnelle et professionnelle

Avril 15, 2021

La peur est une sensation qui produit une grande angoisse et une grande souffrance pour la personne qui la subit et cela peut être dû à une cause réelle, car il s’agit d’une émotion adaptative qui a aidé l’espèce humaine à survivre au cours des siècles.

Cependant, les gens peuvent éprouver des peurs irrationnelles envers des objets ou des pensées. En ce qui concerne ces dernières, certaines craintes peuvent être la conséquence de croyances dysfonctionnelles et d’attentes irréelles.

  • Tout le monde n'a pas peur des mêmes stimuli. Dans notre article "Les 16 types de peur et leurs caractéristiques", vous pouvez connaître les différents types de peur qui existent.

La relation de la peur avec le développement personnel

La peur est étroitement liée au développement personnel d'une personne, car certaines de ces peurs forcent les gens à se comporter d'une manière qu'ils ne souhaitent pas vraiment. Par exemple, la peur de l'inconnu peut amener une personne à refuser un travail qu'elle aime parce qu'elle ne sait pas ce qu'elle va trouver , ou vous évite de quitter un pays que vous souhaitez découvrir car vous ne pensez pas pouvoir survivre loin de chez vous.


Ces peurs limitent les croyances qui ne permettent pas aux individus de se changer ou de se surpasser même lorsqu'ils se sentent désirés ou devoir le faire. En fait, ces peurs sont très fréquentes et il est parfois nécessaire de faire appel à un expert en développement personnel pour permettre à la personne de faire valoir, à sa manière, que ses convictions limitent son potentiel réel.

Peurs qui empêchent la croissance et le développement

Mais quels types de peur affectent le développement personnel et professionnel d'une personne? Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous les expliquons.

1. Peur de l'échec

La peur de l'échec est l'une des peurs les plus paralysantes qui affectent le plus le développement personnel et professionnel d'une personne. . C'est une peur qui cause beaucoup de souffrances et trouve son origine dans les attentes irrationnelles d'une personne.


Cela peut aussi être causé par ce que les autres pensent de lui s'il n'atteint pas ce qu'il propose, c'est-à-dire s'il est lié à l'opinion des autres. Il est caractéristique des perfectionnistes et affecte leur bien-être.

  • Vous pouvez plonger dans ce type de peur dans notre article: "La peur de l'échec: anticiper la défaite nous immobilise"

2. Peur de l'incertitude

La peur de l’incertitude est liée aux projets ou tâches vitaux qu’une personne peut effectuer. . Par exemple, quand quelqu'un doit accepter un emploi mais parce qu'il croit qu'il ne sera pas prêt, il le rejette. D'autre part, la peur de l'incertitude est un concept lié à la zone de confort ou à cet endroit mental dans lequel nous nous sentons en sécurité, que nous y soyons heureux ou non.

La crainte de l'incertitude affecte le développement personnel et génère une grande anxiété face au changement, non pas tant à cause d'échec ou non, mais à cause de la crainte que ce que nous avons déjà ne soit pire. C'est irrationnel car même si ce que nous avons est mauvais, cela immobilise la personne face au changement.


En bref, il fait référence à la peur de l'inconnu, à la peur qui apparaît lorsqu'il est difficile pour nous de visualiser l'avenir que nous souhaitons.

3. Peur du rejet

La peur du rejet est un type de peur qui affecte les relations interpersonnelles et cela est intimement lié à une faible estime de soi. Cela concerne généralement la personne, en particulier lorsqu'il s'agit de trouver un partenaire, mais également d'autres types de relations interpersonnelles telles que l'amitié ou les collègues. La peur du rejet est également associée à la peur du ridicule et de la méchanceté devant les autres.

4. Peur de la solitude

La peur de la solitude est aussi une peur qui ne nous permet pas de grandir , car cela nous oblige à avoir des comportements de dépendance vis-à-vis des autres et c’est pourquoi nous pouvons arriver à nous annuler nous-mêmes et mettre de côté nos propres besoins et intérêts pour ne pas être seuls. Les personnes qui craignent la solitude peuvent finir par être plongées dans des relations traumatiques et y rester malgré la douleur qu'elles ressentent.

5. Peur de l'engagement

La peur du compromis est le contraire de la peur précédente, parce que ce qui La personne craint de s'engager envers la mauvaise personne . Cela ne signifie pas que nous devrions être de force avec quelqu'un parce que vous pouvez vivre heureux quand vous êtes célibataire, mais cela peut vouloir dire que lorsque vous rencontrez quelqu'un d'intéressant, nous pouvons reculer et éviter d'avoir une intimité avec cette personne et lui donner notre confiance.

  • Il est possible d'être heureux et d'être célibataire comme nous vous le disons dans notre article "Est-il possible d'être célibataire et d'être heureux?" Les 8 avantages de ne pas avoir de partenaire "

6. Peur de la critique

L’une des craintes liées à l’évaluation que les autres font de nous est la peur de la critique . Cette peur consiste à craindre la désapprobation des autres et le fait que ce que nous faisons ne plaît pas aux autres. C'est très handicapant, par exemple, pour ceux qui essaient de réussir dans le monde du divertissement.Avoir peur des critiques peut amener une personne à se montrer sous son véritable potentiel.

7. complexe de Jonas

Le complexe Jonah est également connu comme la peur du succès et c’est un phénomène qui a été étudié du point de vue de la psychologie humaniste. En fait, c'est un terme dont Abraham Maslow a parlé dans son livre, Le plus loin de la nature humaine, publié en 1971.

Le complexe de Jonas a à voir avec la partie la plus haute de la "pyramide des besoins humains" proposée par ce psychologue, à savoir le concept de réalisation de soi "ou celle de réaliser le potentiel maximum qu'un individu possède. Pour Maslow, le complexe de Jonas se manifeste lorsque la personne a peur d'exprimer sa meilleure version.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus dans notre article: "Complexe Jonas: la curieuse peur du succès"

13 ERREURS fatales à ÉVITER lorsqu’on est entrepreneur [VIDÉO À REGARDER!!] (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes