yes, therapy helps!
7 supplements that help improve intelligence

7 supplements that help improve intelligence

July 26, 2022

The study of intelligence Psychologists have always been interested, and for this reason many studies have been carried out to try to understand what this quality really is and how we can improve it.

While most efforts by specialists have been focused on the mission to better understand the nature of intelligence and the genetic and educational factors that can influence it, some research has sought to know what nutrients can improve intellectual performance .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The theories of human intelligence"

Nutrients and supplements that improve our intelligence

There are many investigations that seem to indicate that feeding influences our intellectual performance. An example of this is a study carried out by Holford and Lawson, in which they observed that there is a strong positive correlation between a diet with high sugar content and simple carbohydrates and low intelligence.


In this sense, there are also abundant studies that have tried to find the relationship between the intake of certain nutrients and improve the performance of some cognitive functions.

In the following lines you can find a list with the nutrients and supplements that can help improve intelligence or better preserve it over time.

  • Related article: "Nootropics: what are they and how do they enhance your intelligence?"

1. Creatine

Those people who are in contact with the world of physical exercise have probably heard about creatine, an organic substance found in the muscles and nerve cells of living organisms . It has a structure similar to amino acids.


Creatine increases sports performance, especially when working with anaerobic resistance, strength, speed or power. It is also used by people who want to increase their muscle mass because it retains fluid in the muscle, which allows a more muscular image.

According to some research, creatine also improves cognitive performance. The data suggest that it improves memory and attention, in addition to playing a decisive role in cellular energy.

2. Caffeine + L-Theanine

Caffeine is a well-known and consumed stimulant throughout the world. It provides a series of benefits for people; for example, it increases wakefulness and decreases fatigue, has a protective effect against dementia, accelerates metabolism and helps to lose weight. It also has a diuretic effect.

However, studies suggest that caffeine by itself does not improve performance on tasks that affect learning and memory , but it does if it is combined with L-Theanine, an amino acid that can be found in green tea. It also produces other benefits such as improvements in working memory, attention, concentration and attention focus change, as well as visual processing.


3. Spanish Salvia (Salvia Lavandulifolia)

This perennial herbaceous plant is found in Spain and in the south of France. Is an aromatic herb that increases acetylcholine levels . As a result, it produces memory benefits and improves mood. Scientific studies also conclude that it is beneficial in cases in which a person suffers from Alzheimer's. It also produces an antidepressant, anxiolytic, estrogenic and anti-inflammatory effect.

4. Rodiola Rosea

This plant grow in the cold regions of the northern hemisphere and belongs to the Crassulaceae family. The scientific data seem to indicate that it improves cognition and memory, in addition to producing other psychological benefits such as the decrease in the levels of mental fatigue and anxiety. Also, its benefits appear in situations in which it is necessary to use memory, calculation, ability to concentrate and speed in audio-visual perception .

5. Panax Ginseng (Asian Ginseng)

It is easy to find Ginseng in any country, it is a very popular supplement that has been used for centuries as part of Chinese medicine, but which is also used in the West today. Studies suggest that it improves working memory and attention span. It also has an invigorating sexual function, reduces fatigue and improves mood.

6. Gingko Biloba

As in the previous case, another of the best-known supplements of our days is the Gingko Biloba. It is a unique and native tree of China associated with improvements in memory, attention and concentration. Studies indicate that it is effective in use with patients with dementia. It also has an anxiolytic effect.

7 Omega-3 fatty acids

Although fats tend to have a bad reputation, especially saturated and trans-saturated fats, because they favor obesity and cardiovascular diseases, there are also healthy fats .

Among the healthy fats we find the polyunsaturated fats, and some of the best known are the Omega-3 fatty acids, which are found mainly in fish, but also in nuts. Its consumption is associated with a lower cognitive decline related to age, which favors the prevention of Alzheimer's. Research indicates that it improves memory, the ability to focus and attention. It also improves the mood.


TOP 15 BRAIN FOODS (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 suppléments qui aident à améliorer l'intelligence

7 suppléments qui aident à améliorer l'intelligence

Juillet 19, 2022

L'étude de l'intelligence Les psychologues ont toujours été intéressés et pour cette raison, de nombreuses études ont été menées pour tenter de comprendre en quoi consiste réellement cette qualité et comment l’améliorer.

Alors que la plupart des spécialistes ont concentré leurs efforts sur la mission consistant à mieux comprendre la nature de l’intelligence et les facteurs génétiques et pédagogiques pouvant l’influencer, certaines recherches ont cherché à savoir quels nutriments peuvent améliorer les performances intellectuelles .

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Des nutriments et des suppléments qui améliorent notre intelligence

De nombreuses enquêtes semblent indiquer que l'alimentation influence notre performance intellectuelle. Holford et Lawson ont notamment constaté qu’il existait une forte corrélation positive entre un régime riche en sucres, les glucides simples et une intelligence faible.


Dans ce sens, de nombreuses études ont également tenté de déterminer le lien entre l’apport en certains nutriments et l’amélioration des performances de certaines fonctions cognitives.

Dans les lignes suivantes, vous trouverez une liste avec nutriments et suppléments qui peuvent aider à améliorer l'intelligence ou mieux le conserver au fil du temps.

  • Article connexe: "Nootropics: que sont-ils et comment améliorent-ils votre intelligence?"

1. créatine

Les personnes qui sont en contact avec le monde de l'exercice physique ont probablement entendu parler de la créatine, une substance organique présente dans les muscles et les cellules nerveuses d'organismes vivants . Il a une structure similaire aux acides aminés.


La créatine augmente les performances sportives, en particulier lorsque vous travaillez avec une résistance, une force, une vitesse ou une puissance anaérobie. Il est également utilisé par les personnes qui souhaitent augmenter leur masse musculaire car il retient les liquides dans le muscle, ce qui permet une image plus musclée.

Selon certaines recherches, la créatine améliore également les performances cognitives. Les données suggèrent qu'il améliore la mémoire et l'attention, en plus de jouer un rôle décisif dans l'énergie cellulaire.

2. Caféine + L-théanine

La caféine est un stimulant bien connu et consommé dans le monde entier. Il offre une série d'avantages aux personnes. par exemple, il augmente l'état de veille et diminue la fatigue, a un effet protecteur contre la démence, accélère le métabolisme et aide à perdre du poids. Il a également un effet diurétique.

Cependant, des études suggèrent que la caféine en soi n'améliore pas la performance sur les tâches qui affectent l'apprentissage et la mémoire , mais c’est le cas si elle est associée à la L-théanine, un acide aminé que l’on trouve dans le thé vert. Il présente également d'autres avantages, tels que des améliorations de la mémoire de travail, de l'attention, de la concentration et du changement de la focalisation de l'attention, ainsi que du traitement visuel.


3. Salvia espagnole (Salvia Lavandulifolia)

Cette plante herbacée vivace se trouve en Espagne et dans le sud de la France. C'est une herbe aromatique qui augmente les niveaux d'acétylcholine . En conséquence, il produit des avantages de mémoire et améliore l'humeur. Des études scientifiques ont également conclu que cela est bénéfique dans les cas où une personne est atteinte de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Il produit également un effet antidépresseur, anxiolytique, œstrogénique et anti-inflammatoire.

4. Rodiola Rosea

Cette plante pousse dans les régions froides de l'hémisphère nord et appartient à la famille des Crassulaceae. Les données scientifiques semblent indiquer qu'il améliore la cognition et la mémoire, en plus de produire d'autres avantages psychologiques tels que la diminution des niveaux de fatigue mentale et d'anxiété. Ses avantages apparaissent également dans les situations où il est nécessaire d’utiliser mémoire, calcul, capacité de concentration et rapidité dans la perception audiovisuelle .

5. Panax Ginseng (ginseng asiatique)

Il est facile de trouver du ginseng dans n’importe quel pays, c’est un supplément très populaire utilisé depuis des siècles dans le cadre de la médecine chinoise, mais qui est également utilisé dans l'Ouest aujourd'hui. Des études suggèrent que cela améliore la mémoire de travail et la capacité d'attention. Il a également une fonction sexuelle revigorante, réduit la fatigue et améliore l'humeur.

6. Gingko Biloba

Comme dans le cas précédent, le Gingko Biloba est un des suppléments les plus connus de nos jours. C'est un arbre unique et indigène de la Chine associé à des améliorations de la mémoire, de l'attention et de la concentration. Des études indiquent que son utilisation est efficace chez les patients atteints de démence. Il a également un effet anxiolytique.

7 acides gras oméga-3

Bien que les graisses tendent à avoir une mauvaise réputation, en particulier les graisses saturées et transsaturées, parce qu'elles favorisent l'obésité et les maladies cardiovasculaires, il y a aussi des graisses saines .

Parmi les graisses saines, on trouve les graisses polyinsaturées, et les plus connues sont les acides gras oméga-3, que l'on trouve principalement dans les poissons, mais aussi dans les noix. Sa consommation est associée à un plus faible déclin cognitif lié à l'âge, ce qui favorise la prévention de la maladie d'Alzheimer. La recherche indique que cela améliore la mémoire, la capacité de concentration et d'attention. Cela améliore également l'ambiance.


You can grow new brain cells. Here's how | Sandrine Thuret (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes