yes, therapy helps!
7 techniques and tips to reduce anxiety

7 techniques and tips to reduce anxiety

May 7, 2021

The SAR defines anxiety as: "The state of agitation, restlessness or anxiety of the mind". However, really those who have ever suffered, suffer sporadically or for those who is their great companion day to day is something that deserves a definition of more than nine words.

In the first place, not all anxiety is harmful to our body and mind, there is a certain level of positive anxiety, that little restlessness that helps us in difficult situations to succeed. That is, it helps us to be alert to possible dangers or attentive to relevant events. It works as a kind of "guardian angel" inside.

Anxiety can also be negative

On the other hand, we find negative anxiety... How is it different from the previous one? This type of anxiety causes an exaggerated and irrational fear of an event (such as fear of speaking in public, going up in an elevator, etc.) that, apart from the obvious psychological reactions, is accompanied by physical reactions (sweating, palpitations, tremors, gastric discomfort ...) in the expectation that Something catastrophic happens even though this is very unlikely.


Various disorders are derived from negative anxiety, such as:

  • Panic disorder
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Social phobia (or social anxiety disorder)
  • Specific phobias
  • Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)

Techniques to reduce anxiety

Although each of them has a specific treatment, we can add a series of techniques that help improve anxiety states:

1. Physical exercise

Physical exercise It will help us to avoid excess activation of the nervous system and to achieve a more restful sleep . If our physical condition does not allow us to exercise, we can opt for soft rhythms at short intervals.


2. Sleep and eating habits

An unbalanced diet can harm some gastrointestinal symptoms associated with some anxiety states, a healthy and balanced diet will help us control it . Regarding sleep, the benefits of good sleep are obvious, if we see that anxiety does not let us sleep (or worse, the thought that we can not sleep, does not let us sleep) we can choose to read something boring until the dream comes to visit us.

3. Modeling (observation)

As we learned from Albert Bandura, we can use the modeling observing other people who do not show anxiety before events that to us if they do not show those feared sensations. Even talking to people who have managed to overcome anxiety problems and tell you the techniques that have worked for them will make you recover hope that you can control it.


4. Sense of humor

Our tendency towards situations that provoke anxiety is to react negatively and take it too seriously. Sometimes a person with anxiety can not realize how ridiculous their reaction can be. It is important to also see the fun and optimistic part of the issues . For example, in the face of recurrent thinking, we can try to sing it or to tell it in another language.

5. Meditation and Mindfulness

It is likely that you have already heard of the Mindfulness, is a meditation technique that will help you get mindfulness . In a relaxed environment, where you make sure no one is going to bother you, focus on your breathing, body sensations, sound or object, and practice mindfulness. If you want to know different ways to practice Mindfulness, you can read our article: "5 Mindfulness exercises to improve your emotional well-being".

6. Methods of distraction

If we employ adequate distractions we can interrupt, even temporarily, the thought that causes us anxiety : stop thinking, reading, leisure, walking, among others.

7. Psychotropic drugs

It is possible that your anxiety has a physical component. If your doctor confirms that your condition is not physical but mental, you can request an appointment with a psychiatrist and that anxiolytics can help you. Medications can be very useful but you must also do your part. Do not think about self-medicating although another person has told you that it has gone well.

Relapses when one suffers anxiety

If you have been or are attending psychotherapy do not take relapse as a failure, but something that we can learn and know better to prevent in the future.

Before finishing, a tip ...

And remember, of course, that anxiety is like our inner guardian. Learn from her, learn to manage it, can help us to be alert to the right situations and to overcome our personal challenges from day to day. With these seven techniques and strategies to reduce anxiety you can be closer to putting a new direction in your life.


7 Tips To Beat Exam Anxiety (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
7 techniques et astuces pour réduire l'anxiété

7 techniques et astuces pour réduire l'anxiété

Février 21, 2019

Le SAR définit l'anxiété comme: "l'état d'agitation, d'agitation ou d'anxiété de l'esprit". Cependant, ceux qui ont déjà souffert, souffrent sporadiquement ou qui sont leur meilleur compagnon au jour le jour méritent une définition de plus de neuf mots.

En premier lieu, l’anxiété n’est pas toujours préjudiciable à notre corps et à notre esprit; il existe un certain niveau d’anxiété positive, ce petit trouble qui nous aide à réussir dans des situations difficiles. En d’autres termes, cela nous aide à rester vigilants face aux dangers potentiels ou aux événements pertinents. Cela fonctionne comme une sorte d'ange gardien à l'intérieur.

L'anxiété peut aussi être négative

D'autre part, on trouve anxiété négative... En quoi est-ce différent du précédent? Ce type d’anxiété provoque une peur exagérée et irrationnelle d’un événement. (comme la peur de parler en public, de monter dans un ascenseur, etc.) qui, en plus des réactions psychologiques évidentes, s'accompagnent de réactions physiques (transpiration, palpitations, tremblements, malaises gastriques, etc.) dans l'espoir que Quelque chose de catastrophique se produit même si c'est très improbable.


Divers troubles découlent de l’anxiété négative, tels que:

  • Trouble panique
  • Trouble obsessionnel compulsif (TOC)
  • Trouble de stress post-traumatique (SSPT)
  • Phobie sociale (ou trouble d'anxiété sociale)
  • Phobies spécifiques
  • Trouble d'anxiété généralisée (TAG)

Techniques pour réduire l'anxiété

Bien que chacun d’entre eux ait un traitement spécifique, nous pouvons ajouter une série de techniques qui aident à améliorer les états d’anxiété:

1. exercice physique

L'exercice physique Cela nous aidera à éviter une activation excessive du système nerveux et à obtenir un sommeil plus réparateur. . Si notre condition physique ne nous permet pas de faire de l'exercice, nous pouvons opter pour des rythmes doux à intervalles rapprochés.


2. sommeil et habitudes alimentaires

Un régime déséquilibré peut nuire à certains symptômes gastro-intestinaux associés à certains états d'anxiété, une alimentation saine et équilibrée nous aidera à le contrôler . En ce qui concerne le sommeil, les avantages d'un bon sommeil sont évidents. Si nous constatons que l'anxiété ne nous laisse pas dormir (ou pire, la pensée que nous ne pouvons pas dormir ne nous laisse pas dormir), nous pouvons choisir de lire quelque chose d'ennuyeux jusqu'à ce que le rêve vienne nous rendre visite

3. Modélisation (observation)

Comme nous l’avons appris d’Albert Bandura, nous pouvons utiliser le modélisation observer d'autres personnes qui ne manifestent pas leur anxiété avant les événements, mais qui ne nous montrent pas ces sensations tant redoutées. Même en parlant à des gens qui ont réussi à surmonter leurs problèmes d’anxiété et à vous expliquer les techniques qui ont fonctionné pour eux, vous récupérerez l’espoir de pouvoir le contrôler.


4. sens de l'humour

Notre tendance aux situations qui provoquent l’anxiété est de réagir négativement et de la prendre trop au sérieux. Parfois, une personne anxieuse ne peut pas réaliser à quel point sa réaction peut être ridicule. Il est important de voir aussi la partie amusante et optimiste des problèmes . Par exemple, face à une pensée récurrente, nous pouvons essayer de le chanter ou de le dire dans une autre langue.

5. Méditation et pleine conscience

Il est probable que vous ayez déjà entendu parler du Pleine conscience, c'est une technique de méditation qui vous aidera à rester vigilant . Dans un environnement détendu, où vous vous assurez que personne ne vous dérangera, concentrez-vous sur votre respiration, les sensations corporelles, le son ou les objets, et pratiquez la pleine conscience. Si vous souhaitez connaître différentes façons de pratiquer la pleine conscience, vous pouvez lire notre article: "5 exercices de pleine conscience pour améliorer votre bien-être émotionnel".

6. Méthodes de distraction

Si nous employons des distractions adéquates nous pouvons interrompre, même temporairement, la pensée qui nous cause de l'anxiété : arrêter de penser, lire, se détendre, marcher, entre autres.

7. Drogues psychotropes

Il est possible que votre anxiété ait une composante physique. Si votre médecin confirme que votre état n'est pas physique mais mental, vous pouvez demander un rendez-vous avec un psychiatre et les anxiolytiques peuvent vous aider. Les médicaments peuvent être très utiles, mais vous devez également faire votre part. Ne pensez pas à l'automédication bien qu'une autre personne vous ait dit que cela s'était bien passé.

Rechutes quand on souffre d'anxiété

Si vous avez déjà fréquenté une psychothérapie ou si vous y participez, ne prenez pas la rechute comme un échec, mais comme une chose que nous pourrons mieux apprendre à mieux prévenir et à l'avenir.

Avant de finir, un conseil ...

Et rappelez-vous, bien sûr, que l’anxiété ressemble à notre gardien intérieur. Apprendre d'elle, apprendre à le gérer, peut nous aider à rester vigilants face aux bonnes situations et à surmonter nos défis personnels de jour en jour. Avec ces sept techniques et stratégies visant à réduire l’anxiété, vous pouvez être plus proche d’une nouvelle direction dans votre vie.


7 trucs pour vaincre l'anxiété (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes